View Full Version : Series 13 - Fri 13/Sat 14 - Updates

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

OneForTheFuture
14/05/2011, 9:38 AM
The people around the incident were saying they were Rovers fans singing about the Hoops!

Now people saying Bohs.

The lads causing trouble were the 8-10 in the Cork section who were nearest the Shels singing section in the first half. Don't think they looked at the game once.

Other Cork fans must know if they are from Cork or not.

Easily recognisable. One larger gent even took his tops off to be greeted by the "Philly Hughes" song.

Anyway its a disgusting end to the night and I hope all involved are caught and punished.

passerrby
14/05/2011, 10:14 AM
I know your trying to make a point and one i agree with LTID but would you not use that term

GalwayRed
14/05/2011, 11:22 AM
Wasn't able to make it back to Dublin for the match last night so I cant pass comment on the incident(s). Hope the Cork fan pulls through. Nobody deserves to have their health put at risk following a football club and hopefully whoever is responsible is caught.

dong
14/05/2011, 11:25 AM
There are two sides to every story of course but I was at this game and it was obvious who the aggressors were. They (one in particular) got a bit more than they deserved but like the Pats fan in Sligo that time, you have to accept that if you act like a thug then some bigger thug is eventually going to hammer you.
The sad part for me is the pathetic loyalty of some fans who are telling lies just to save the reputation of their fans instead of condemning what was perpetrated by a small section of their own support (I use that term lightly in this case).

I hope that lad is okay, but he brought every bit of this on himself I'm afraid.

14/05/2011, 1:39 PM
I know your trying to make a point and one i agree with LTID but would you not use that term

I'm not sure which exact term you're on about but I went back to edit a few posts for a small bit for decency anyway because by all accounts this youngfella is actually genuinely still in a very bad way and it's not something I'm going to try and use for internet point scoring.

On a more general note though, Shels and Cork need to do something about this element and be seen to do it quickly, they're actually going to cost other clubs a fortune with this kind of rubbish.

14/05/2011, 1:43 PM
I wasn't at the game and theres two sides to every story, but I find it interesting that Bohs fans may have been involved. Wasn't it a young Shels fan who was bottled by a Bohs fan outside Tolka a year or two ago and lost his eye?

That's a very strange one if it's true, the season before last in Tolka myself and four or five of the lads were actually asked by a group of Shels fans if we'd walk out with them because there was Bohs fans waiting to beat them up!! (We said no!) My impression was they always hated one another but then who knows the "politics" of the Oirish "hoolie" "scene"

14/05/2011, 1:50 PM
That's a very strange one if it's true, the season before last in Tolka myself and four or five of the lads were actually asked by a group of Shels fans if we'd walk out with them because there was Bohs fans waiting to beat them up!! (We said no!) My impression was they always hated one another but then who knows the "politics" of the Oirish "hoolie" "scene"

I remember on that night Bohs and Shels fans where fighting each other outside Tolka that night also and we where kept inside the ground for a further 15 minutes till it calmed down.

Terrible to hear about that young fella. It should be an example to all those young fellas out there causing trouble. There are consequences.

Interesting to see from the post above from the Cork forum that a Cork fan is defending the young fella saying he is a genuine fan and never causes problems but then a total neutral Sligo fan says he brought it on himself (not that anyone is condoning what happened). Looks like the Cork fan is covering up for someone else.

Also agree it was good to see last night no segregation in Jackman and no trouble but in fairness last season Shels came down for their first visit to Jackman last season and there was no segregation either and I was pretty much surrounded by Shels fans but there was no hassle. Same goes for when Cork came up last season. Surrounded by Cork fans and not an ounce of trouble. The only trouble that is ever caused is when one or two break off from the main support and try cause a bit of hassle with the other fans which has happened in small incidents in Jackman.

Everyone knows the only people that cause any trouble are the few young fellas from different teams who think they are at school and want to show they are harder than the other young fellas supporting the other teams. Pathetic stuff.

bluewhitearmy
14/05/2011, 2:00 PM

At other games Bohs fans asked us to hep fight the Shels fans.Again we said no..

Always seems be Bohs trying to fight Shels when we are up there so cant see them joining up to attack Cork fans being honest.

OneForTheFuture its sickening that your young lad had to see that and i hope he isnt put off going to games in the future.

14/05/2011, 2:03 PM

if youre talking about him using the term mongoloid, i totally agree. Wise up LTID.

I also find it pretty unfair that our name is now being dragged into this. That said, i think that any of these so called schooligans are not fans of any team or even football. They are just young, bored gurriers looking for a fight and attaching themselves to a club for the sake of identity.

I wish the young fella a speedy recovery and I hope that he has learnt his lesson.

OneForTheFuture
14/05/2011, 2:35 PM
if youre talking about him using the term mongoloid, i totally agree. Wise up LTID.

I also find it pretty unfair that our name is now being dragged into this. That said, i think that any of these so called schooligans are not fans of any team or even football. They are just young, bored gurriers looking for a fight and attaching themselves to a club for the sake of identity.

I wish the young fella a speedy recovery and I hope that he has learnt his lesson.

I wouldn't worry about it. It seems there are a few Red Herrings been thrown about to deflect blame.....They were from Cork....unless you have exiles travelling for a row....long term exiles.

14/05/2011, 2:49 PM
On another note, Harps were beat again last night 2-1 by Mervue and are sitting pretty at the bottom of the whole LOI. Yay. Great times to be a Harps fan. I can't remember in about 12 years of supporting Harps where we were this bad. It's utterly embarrassing.

CSFShels
14/05/2011, 2:53 PM

bluewhitearmy
14/05/2011, 3:30 PM
On another note, Harps were beat again last night 2-1 by Mervue and are sitting pretty at the bottom of the whole LOI. Yay. Great times to be a Harps fan. I can't remember in about 12 years of supporting Harps where we were this bad. It's utterly embarrassing.

Hopefully stays that way for next week.

14/05/2011, 3:55 PM

http://412.laxallstars.com/files/2011/03/dawson_crying.gif

I edited all the posts the first chance I got to get to a computer, a couple of hours before you posted, but congrats on making yourself heard all the same though.

Also I reckon Bohs and Rovers are being (totally unfairly) dragged into it because they also have well documented schooligan problems that they've done precious little to deal with. I haven't seen anyone trying to drag UCD or Bray into it for example.

It's wierd to see Harps that bad. Fear not though, we here in Limerick have a tradition of giving struggling teams a generous hand. :)

14/05/2011, 4:02 PM
people who think it is somehow okay to use that phrase deserve to be called out on it. Sorry. Its just pig ignorant.

Maybe you will have another oh so hilarious gif for this post too.

14/05/2011, 4:06 PM
people who think it is somehow okay to use that phrase deserve to be called out on it. Sorry. Its just pig ignorant.

I changed it before you called me on it, you called me on something which i'd already done myself, realised was wrong and rectified myself, in effect you ask me to change something I'd already changed. :bulgy:

Still, if it made you feel warm inside, yay for you man.

14/05/2011, 4:13 PM
hopefully this will have taught you not to consider it acceptable at all in the first place next time you decide to go off on one.

Yay for me.

14/05/2011, 4:15 PM
I haven't learned a single, solitary, thing.

bluewhitearmy
14/05/2011, 4:53 PM
hopefully this will have taught you not to consider it acceptable at all in the first place next time you decide to go off on one.

Yay for me.

Young lad kicked half to death and your problem is with LTID saying something that he has then changed before you even commented on it.

Well done.

Red Army
14/05/2011, 4:59 PM
Corks casuals were acting like bellends one boy who fancied himself as a lad gets a serious beating. Hope he gets over it but you can hardly feel sorry for the boy. He learned a valuable lesson yesterday hope his mates learned a lesson too. Mugs game.

14/05/2011, 5:00 PM
Firstly, regardless of the cause or aggressors, thoughts are with the kid. Fingers crossed he pulls through.

On the point about blaming the clubs, Im not sure what they can be expected to do. I know in Cork, anyone caught involved in ****/fighting, home or away, has been banned. They don't get into the cross and their pictures are sent to the away clubs before games. Sometimes a steward is sent from us to help point them out. If clubs let them in regardless, something I've seen, there's not much we can do.

I agree with a zero tolerance policy, if your seen/proven to be involved in trouble you will be banned, and deserve it, but it's not always easy for it to be implemented at away games.

14/05/2011, 5:02 PM
Corks casuals were acting like bellends one boy who fancied himself as a lad gets a serious beating. Hope he gets over it but you can hardly feel sorry for the boy. He learned a valuable lesson yesterday hope his mates learned a lesson too. Mugs game.

He won't have learned anything if he doesn't pull through! Plenty of kids act like dicks at 16, most get a chance to grow up and get over it. I don't know the details but even if he did start it, hopefully this kid gets the same chance.

Agree that I hope the others, and the leagues scum element in general, realise that it's just not bloody worth it!

14/05/2011, 5:13 PM
Young lad kicked half to death and your problem is with LTID saying something that he has then changed before you even commented on it.

Well done.

er, no. It was a small part of my original post.

My thoughts are with the kid.

bluewhitearmy
14/05/2011, 5:37 PM

Bit harsh no? Apparently the young lad is still in a coma.

Yes you can feel sorry for him quite easily actually.

Few slaps surely would have thought him something with out leaving him needing CPR on the road....According to Limerick lad that gave him CPR injuries were so bad that he first thought the lad had been knocked down hardly deserves that for acting the fool.

Why no guards at the game i wonder usually a nice few when Limerick are up and Cork would bring a bigger crowd then us.

MeathDrog
14/05/2011, 5:59 PM
This Setanta commentator is so bad...

de bowez
14/05/2011, 6:01 PM
Also I reckon Bohs and Rovers are being (totally unfairly) dragged into it because they also have well documented schooligan problems that they've done precious little to deal with. I haven't seen anyone trying to drag UCD or Bray into it for example.

Bohs havent had a schooligan problem in years, its now nearly impossible to get into a game if you're under 18 and not with an adult. Once they got banned from the ground they started harrasing Shels fans outside Tolka but afaik they got bored of that aswell.

Red Army
14/05/2011, 6:04 PM
Might sound cold but lads have died in the uk, Holland, Italy etc etc who were involved in this nonsense over the years. Unless your completely retarded you will know the risks, If you go around looking for trouble and it gets outta control you've no one to blame but yourself. Like I said hope he gets well but it's in the same league as drink drivers getting involved in crashes when it comes to sympathy for me.

14/05/2011, 6:40 PM
Michael Hector LOL

El-Pietro
14/05/2011, 7:55 PM

just want to clarify again that I wasn't at the game, and have no clue of what happened but for what I've read here and on ccfcforum.com

I have no idea who is telling the truth, just thought it would be strange for bohs and shels fans to gang up on anyone else when they don't have the best relationship or history

bullit
15/05/2011, 2:55 AM
They never learn !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vG-bgXKokNE&sns=em

15/05/2011, 9:05 AM
In the midst of all the other drama, Roddy did it again. 0-3 to Mons against Athlone. 2nd Place is niiiice! :D

passerrby
15/05/2011, 9:17 AM
The mons had an unbelievable easy run out last night

Rasputin
15/05/2011, 2:53 PM
The Rodster does it again.

15/05/2011, 3:42 PM
Well he is the man, he gave the thumbs to signal that the Bin Laden mission should begin, thats how important a man he is.

15/05/2011, 7:52 PM
It's been reported that the young Cork fan died earlier today.

15/05/2011, 8:07 PM
Regardless of the boy's condition (hopefully the reports aren't true), there'll need to be some inquiry into how a group of fans were isolated like that outside the ground with no police presence.

15/05/2011, 8:43 PM
He's still alive supposedly.

15/05/2011, 9:07 PM
Regardless of the boy's condition (hopefully the reports aren't true), there'll need to be some inquiry into how a group of fans were isolated like that outside the ground with no police presence.

All abuzz over on ShelsChat that the rumours are true. However they are also rumours. So take from that what you will... Here's hoping they aren't true.

But yeah Charlie, there's serious questions that need to be asked as to how the hell what happened was able to happen. When we played Bohs a couple of weeks ago I counted near on 40 Gardaí inside Tolka and not to mention the roadblocks and filtering and segregation that were in place for that game and it's hard to believe that what happened would have happened if the vigilance that was in place that day were in place for last Friday's game. I thankfully missed it and only for a girl in work's leaving do intervening I would have been there with my 10 year old brother. My normal last minute process is to get down to the gate at 85 and get ready to leg it when the whistle goes. Seems like I could've been walking into the s**tstorm. I count by blessings now.

born2bwild
15/05/2011, 9:47 PM
I think everyone knows why there were no cops in Tolka Park the other night. But can you make the argument that the cops are responsible for what happened? Money's tight, the Queen's coming, Shels had to do their own security. Shels did their own security; there was no trouble inside the ground. Sure, the roadblocks that were there for the bohs league cup match may have prevented that incident but that bohs match was the only game this year at Tolka with such security.
That incident took place because there is an element that does not care about the game being played on the pitch. These tribalistic, moronic scumbags are in most clubs and they are a cancer on the league. Most people don't believe it but there is a cure for cancer: communication between clubs followed by liaison with the police. Hope that youngfella lives to learn his lesson.

15/05/2011, 10:22 PM
I think everyone knows why there were no cops in Tolka Park the other night. But can you make the argument that the cops are responsible for what happened? Money's tight, the Queen's coming, Shels had to do their own security. Shels did their own security; there was no trouble inside the ground. Sure, the roadblocks that were there for the bohs league cup match may have prevented that incident but that bohs match was the only game this year at Tolka with such security.
That incident took place because there is an element that does not care about the game being played on the pitch. These tribalistic, moronic scumbags are in most clubs and they are a cancer on the league. Most people don't believe it but there is a cure for cancer: communication between clubs followed by liaison with the police. Hope that youngfella lives to learn his lesson.

No one is putting the entire blame on the cops here. The thing is certain teams attract a certain element... I mean you're hardly gonna have segregation between us and Harps or Mons etc... but knowing the team involved have that element; a bit of foresight would have ensured that what happened may not have happened to the extent that it did.
Regardless whether the guy involved instigated anything or not we can't use the whole "He got what he deserved attitude either".
Even when we played ye lads and there was only 60-100 etc of ye (not trying to take the p1ss but you know what I mean) it was made sure that we would keep you in the ground and the guards made sure most of our crets had gotten bored and wandered off by the time ye were alowed out.

Anyway, I'm only going on what I've been reading here and on ShelsChat so it's hard for me to really talk about the ins and outs of what happened with any certainty.

Also... when ya changing your avatar? :)

sheao
15/05/2011, 10:31 PM
He's still alive supposedly.

Hearing that he's after waking up thankfully.

Red Army
15/05/2011, 11:13 PM
You'd have to wonder about the mentality of the people spreading those rumours. If it wasn't tragic enough without that.

bullit
15/05/2011, 11:47 PM
You'd have to wonder about the mentality of the people spreading those rumours. If it wasn't tragic enough without that.
It spread from that MNS Facebook page.I see they have shut it up now.

total hoofball
15/05/2011, 11:53 PM
But yeah Charlie, there's serious questions that need to be asked as to how the hell what happened was able to happen. When we played Bohs a couple of weeks ago I counted near on 40 Gardaí inside Tolka and not to mention the roadblocks and filtering and segregation that were in place for that game and it's hard to believe that what happened would have happened if the vigilance that was in place that day were in place for last Friday's game.

Shels and Bohs for obvious reasons is classified as a high risk fixture to have that amount of gardai. I can't recall any reported incidents between Shels and any Cork team in previous years to warrant a substantial police presence.

Obviously there are 15,493 different eyewitness 'reports' floating around the internet so until the exact details over what actually happened reach the public domain there is no point in trying to analyse whether an increased police presence would have prevented this particular incident.

16/05/2011, 12:01 AM
Well it's not necessarily a question of numbers of gardai - it's security as a whole. Who let the fans out of the stadium? If there was a shortage of Gardai, and they were keeping away fans in after the game for safety reasons, then it's all the more imperative that those fans are kept in a controlled space for the entire game. It's a failure of organisation at some link in the chain and it could (and might still) have cost a young man his life.

16/05/2011, 9:38 AM
Irish Times reporting he's out of intensive care.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0516/1224297038451.html

A teenager who was attacked on Friday night in Dublin has been moved out of intensive care, the Mater hospital has said.
The 16-year-old was assaulted while at a bus stop on Lower Drumcondra Road, close to the Bishop’s Palace.
The attack happened on Friday night opposite well-known pub Fagans at about 10pm. The young man sustained serious head injuries and was rushed to the Mater hospital in a critical condition. He spent most of the weekend in intensive care on a life-support machine.
A spokeswoman for the hospital said he was moved out of intensive care yesterday evening and the hospital was delighted with his progress.
The bus stop and surrounding property was sealed off for a few hours for forensic examination. Gardaí have appealed for anyone who witnessed the assault to contact Fitzgibbon Street Garda station.

Red Army
16/05/2011, 12:07 PM
Were Corks idiot brigade or 'casuals' giving shels ultras right hand salutes during the first half? I'd hate to see that creeping in if things weren't bad enough.

marinobohs
16/05/2011, 1:14 PM
Glad to see the young lads condition is improving. Now could we stop referring to these clowns as Shels or Cork fans or indeed football or LOI fans, they are not. Why should the decent fans that support our teams week in week out be tarnished by assossiation with a few utter cretins ?
This was, after all, a public order issue that happened on a public road.

16/05/2011, 1:25 PM
I don't understand how the second somebody does something out of order they're automatically not fans of the club. They clearly are.

born2bwild
16/05/2011, 1:26 PM
Also... when ya changing your avatar? :)

I'm still in mourning.