View Full Version : Weekends Latest (w/e 15 April)

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Jicked
15/04/2011, 8:43 PM
he is an egotistical freak and he's got form which makes McCabes actions even more stupid. And going on the replay, he deffo said more than two words to him!!!

I'm sure he did say more than two words to him, but you'll see players do that to linesmen and referee's all the time without a yellow card being given. Not only does Douglas always call over the referee making a ceremony of waving his flag to attract his attention, he's consistently the only one who demands a red. At the risk of sounding like the blokes on Match of the Day, consistency is whats needed.

A N Mouse
15/04/2011, 8:45 PM
Not when it's Douglas, the guy is pathetic and shouldn't be allowed near games. Telling a lino to f*ck off isn't a yellow card in most situations, with Douglas it's always a red, followed by him grinning away to players and fans afterwards. it didn't affect today's game but that's besides the point, the guy is an egotistical freak.

Surely that makes McCabe even more of a fool - he knows yer man's form.

But I'm agree about he ego bit, as Flexy said Hancock last week was totally different from the Sligo game where he wanted to be centre of attention.

Also seemed to me that cd was right - lino got initial decision wrong.

Candystripe
15/04/2011, 8:46 PM
Galway fortunate to lose 4-1 with Derry dominate most of the game including hitting the woodwork twice.

Thats two excellent perforances in two games and now we are unbeaten in seven games!

Awaiting 25 pages here now from the Boh's Shams game.

Jicked
15/04/2011, 8:48 PM
I'm not sure about Douglas' history with Sligo, but it really shouldn't be a case of having to tell players when they sign for a new club to treat one individual different from all others. I'm all for having respect for officials Flexo, but if a player is sent off for saying one thing, when no other cards were given for dissent (even the RTÉ cameras picked up three or four f*ck offs from the bench, MON was seen abusing officials, Fenlon too) it gives the impression of one lunatic loving the attention. Which is what it is.

15/04/2011, 8:55 PM
I would love to see FIFA, UEFA or even the FAI come out and issue a directive whereby anyone swearing at an official would be sent off. The game would be so much better for it.

A N Mouse
15/04/2011, 8:58 PM
I would love to see FIFA, UEFA or even the FAI come out and issue a directive whereby anyone swearing at an official would be sent off. The game would be so much better for it.

Attendances would be hit, given the number of seats that would need to be take out of general circulation.

15/04/2011, 9:07 PM
Fupping mons!

Jicked
15/04/2011, 9:08 PM

That's not the point though, I agree it would be great, but to send off a particular player for it, or in this case for one particular person to enforce a zero tolerance rule instead of the rest of the league's officials is a joke.

15/04/2011, 9:08 PM
Awaiting 25 pages here now from the Boh's Shams game.

i dont see why there should be Cndystripe - it was a very exciting derby match that had everything, was played in pretty good spirits and it looks like the fans behaved themselves inside the ground for the most part. The only real point of contention was the red card and McCabe has only himself to blame for that in my opinion. We shaded it i think, would have deserved the three points but will take the one.

15/04/2011, 9:23 PM
El Clasico - Dublin Style (http://fmcphotos.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/el-clasico-dublin-style/) courtesy of Fergus McNally

Ministry of Funny Walks
http://fmcphotos.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/fmc_1841.jpg

15/04/2011, 9:37 PM
Pats 1 up (Anto Murphy) on UCD, all over them obviously.
At that stage, they really were. Had been for at least ten minutes. But they eased up second half and we got back into it. Credit to Rusty taking off our best player (but not on the night) and putting on an untried kid - worked a treat. Pat's passed up three or four great chances before Rusky scored in the 94th minute. I think we've had more injury time goals against in Richmond than anywhere else (2001 when we were 1-0 up going into injury time and still lost particularly rankles), so delighted with this favourable stroke! Especially against a side who had 8 of our players from recent years on the pitch at one stage, any one of whom would make our current team I think.

Also good to see we can play a bit on a vaguely decent pitch. This season mayn't be as depressing as I thought!

15/04/2011, 9:51 PM
i dont see why there should be Cndystripe - it was a very exciting derby match that had everything, was played in pretty good spirits and it looks like the fans behaved themselves inside the ground for the most part. The only real point of contention was the red card and McCabe has only himself to blame for that in my opinion. We shaded it i think, would have deserved the three points but will take the one.
Except for decent football!

If McCabe did swear at the linesman he can have no complaints about the red. I know it's not enforced uniformly but that's no excuse, especially when it's a linesman who has a reputation for not taking **** from anyone. Even with McCabe, I think the best we could have done would have been a draw and we got that, so can't really complain. We approached the game far too cautiously and got punished for it, so you have to salute the team and (belatedly) O'Neill for throwing the kitchen sink at the end.

cestlavie
15/04/2011, 9:52 PM
I know we dont really have a strong enough squad but the team are not playing for Gallagher so he has to go, sorry to say it but its over James.

15/04/2011, 10:25 PM
Ha

(I'm sure people will understand that there is a time for eloquence and clarity and that this is not one of them :angel: :sweat:)

monutdfc
15/04/2011, 10:47 PM
Absolute cracker in Tolka tonight. We had our share of luck, Shels hit the bar 3 times, but we deserved a draw (in my totally biased opinion) and nicked a win. Coming back from behind twice to win, the sweetest of away victories. Roddy has us playing decent football too.

sheao
15/04/2011, 11:42 PM
City 5-0 Harps

Brilliant game and also a fantastic atmosphere.
All the goals were very well taken.
Great hat-trick from Graham, arguebly the goal of the night from Davin and Vincent Escude Candeau's first goal for the club .
One of those nights you wished MNS covered first division football .

15/04/2011, 11:52 PM
Going to be a long hard season if you are a Galway fan.

Not only will it be tough to pick up points with that team, but you'll have to listen to the Spoofer as well. Nice celebration by McClean to tell him to button it....

Olander
16/04/2011, 1:05 AM
Going to be a long hard season if you are a Galway fan.

Not only will it be tough to pick up points with that team, but you'll have to listen to the Spoofer as well. Nice celebration by McClean to tell him to button it....
Must hve missed the celebration Kev.. what did McClean do?

Connor upset Derry fans?

16/04/2011, 1:12 AM
2 points dropped by us. Should have won, should have had a penalty. Not a great match.

Hawkins was good craic though, header.

16/04/2011, 1:42 AM
only in the door and all I can say is wow. We were losing 2-1 and I was settling for a draw if we could score but when we did...it was a oh we can win this moment. Rare to win in Tolka never mind by 3-2. Feck ya harps, could ya not do us a favour and draw with Cork?

16/04/2011, 1:44 AM
Feck ya harps, could ya not do us a favour and draw with Cork?

They went close tbf.

bullit
16/04/2011, 1:58 AM
2 points dropped by us. Should have won, should have had a penalty. Not a great match.

Your Hard to please ??
I Thought it was a good game,good chances for either side to win the match and two teams trying to play passing footie on the deck. Peno shout was a biggg dive.All in all a well deserved share of the spoils.

bullit
16/04/2011, 2:16 AM
Byrne (audio) re-action V Sligo tonight
http://www.dundalkfc.com/we-did-enough-to-win-byrne

16/04/2011, 2:34 AM
17 years since we won in Tolka last....17 years! holy god.

GalwayRed
16/04/2011, 2:48 AM
Absolute cracker in Tolka tonight. We had our share of luck, Shels hit the bar 3 times, but we deserved a draw (in my totally biased opinion) and nicked a win. Coming back from behind twice to win, the sweetest of away victories. Roddy has us playing decent football too.
Never mind deserved a draw Monaghan deserved the win.
First half we got the early goal and then just invited Monaghan on to us. Thought we were going to sneak in with a half time lead but it was a lovely strike from Brennan.
Second half we came out very strongly and Casso after hitting the bar in the first half had a great chance which should have been headed rather than volleyed. We got our second and should have closed the game out from that point especially with a couple of the chances we had. But we didn't and we paid the price. Monaghan were more clinical and stepped up at just the right time. Some of our defending was shocking though and that was highlighted by the last two goals. We had our chances at the end but again we weren't clinical enough.
That Monaghan team looks much stronger than the one that came to Tolka last season.

passerrby
16/04/2011, 9:18 AM
we seem to be able to step it up when we need to and get a goal but our defending was poor at time, you were 2 1 up at philly hit the crossbar which would have ended the game but we got out of jail and came back.
on another note i heard sean brennan was taken away to hospital hope all is well with him
oh and its a lovely pint in the bar sweet taste or maybe thats the victory

16/04/2011, 9:54 AM
Don text me this morn and Seanie is ok. Scary stuff.

Ezeikial
16/04/2011, 10:28 AM
2 points dropped by us. Should have won, should have had a penalty.

Either side could have won and most would agree a draw was a fair result. Penalty claim was dodgy, but the fact that Connolly did not give it provides no clue to it's legitimacy - at his normal card-happy inept standard.

Not a great match.

Were you there?

Seems like the journos present saw it different to you -
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0415/dundalk_sligoovers.html

Dundalk and Sligo Rovers played out a thrilling 1-1 draw at Oriel Park on Friday with Gavin Peers' 33rd-minute header ensuring Paul Cook's men returned west with a point.http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12541/2/

Dundalk and Sligo Rovers played out an entertaining 1-1 draw at Oriel Park on Friday night after a Gavin Peers header cancelled out Jason Byrne’s early strike.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/peers-pressure-secures-draw-2621345.html

Fixtures between Dundalk and Sligo Rovers (http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Sligo_Rovers) always tend to be entertaining affairs and this one at Oriel Park last night was no different as the sides played out a thrilling draw.

16/04/2011, 10:53 AM
Either side could have won and most would agree a draw was a fair result. Penalty claim was dodgy, but the fact that Connolly did not give it provides no clue to it's legitimacy - at his normal card-happy inept standard.

Were you there?

Seems like the journos present saw it different to you -

Why do you bother?

If a Sligo fan says the game was crap, then the game WAS crap.

If a Sligo fan states the ref was rubbish - he could ref like Collina - then the ref WAS rubbish.

If a Sligo fan accuses you of playing hoofball - it don't matter if you pass them off the park - you played hoofball.

If a Sligo fan says you were awful - ignoring your 17 shots on target - then you WERE awful, and there's no arguing about it.

etc, etc, etc......

TenaciousDee
16/04/2011, 11:07 AM
Derry again looked fantastic at Galway. After a tough opening 15 minutes we started to find our stride with great passing football, something we missed last time we were in the Premier Division. Not really sure how we came about scoring our first two, seemed the defence just stopped dead with disinterest. McClean's Second was a cracker and Eddie's cross for McGlynn was a thing of beauty. Connor I reckon will have went on a serious rant on the Galway boys and to be honest some of them deserve it for Goal 1 and 2 however Derry in the last two games have looked a great team and I reckon top 3 is obtainable.

16/04/2011, 11:14 AM
Why do you bother?

If a Sligo fan states the ref was rubbish - he could ref like Collina - then the ref WAS rubbish.

If a Sligo fan accuses you of playing hoofball - it don't matter if you pass them off the park - you played hoofball.

If a Sligo fan says you were awful - ignoring your 17 shots on target - then you WERE awful, and there's no arguing about it.

etc, etc, etc......

I completely agree. Good post

Strawberry
16/04/2011, 11:17 AM
Why do you bother?

etc, etc, etc......

And if a Shamrock Rovers fan is posting on the internet, then hes usually talking ****e.

Rasputin
16/04/2011, 11:35 AM
Why do you bother?

etc, etc, etc......
http://www.mobileapptesting.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/et-phone-home.gif
Good point, next caller...

Bray-Z
16/04/2011, 11:43 AM
Ehh...just in case anyone was wondering...Bray won 2-1 last night...

Hibs4Ever
16/04/2011, 12:37 PM
Why do you bother?

etc, etc, etc......

and if a Shamrock fan tells you every stadium in every league in Europe is sold out every weekend because they play on Saturdays and Sundays..........etc, etc, etc

Jicked
16/04/2011, 1:04 PM
George Hamilton believed the Fenlon poor mouth routine about poor old Bohs' bunch of plucky children defying the odds in the Premier Division. When actually

Some stats.
Average age of Rovers XI last night: 24.9
Fenlon's young kids starting line up : 25.9

Players who've won a league title in their starting line up,
Rovers: 5
Bohs: 6

I reckon that Bohs team will pick up more points than say Pats or Dundalk did last year, quite comfortably. The temptation must be huge for Nutsy to bring in a striker.

wexfordned
16/04/2011, 2:13 PM
George Hamilton believed the Fenlon poor mouth routine about poor old Bohs' bunch of plucky children defying the odds in the Premier Division. When actually

I reckon that Bohs team will pick up more points than say Pats or Dundalk did last year, quite comfortably. The temptation must be huge for Nutsy to bring in a striker.

Owen Heary is 36 so take him out & average drops.

Also a big shout out to Michael O'Neill. what a pri*k

Smacks a football into bohs mascot after the game & has to be shamed into coming out of the dressing room by journalists to offer an apology.

Wonder will the model club take any action over this:rolleyes:

Jicked
16/04/2011, 2:19 PM
What action did Bohs take over one of their fans gobbing in MONs face? To answer your question, if it happened then presumably Rovers wont take any action considering it was presumably accidental and he apologised for it.

As for the Hearey thing, Bohs had the three oldest players on the pitch (Hearey, Burns and Price, as far as I know). Obviously if you take them out the average drops. The point still stands, it's a very experienced Bohs team. Besides, Heary is 34 not 36

poster
16/04/2011, 2:24 PM
should have had a penalty.

Doyle made too much of it for Connolly to give the penalty. There was contact though, but not enough.

16/04/2011, 3:04 PM
As for the Hearey thing, Bohs had the three oldest players on the pitch (Hearey, Burns and Price, as far as I know). Obviously if you take them out the average drops. The point still stands, it's a very experienced Bohs team. Besides, Heary is 34 not 36

experience or not, we fielded the most experienced team we had available for the biggest game of our season - nothing wrong with that in my opinion. It is clear that outside of the 6 or so players with the huge experience you refer to we have a lot of youngsters in our squad. Thats not even up for debate in my opinion.

What do Rovers fans think of O'Neill by the way. Assembling a large squad of such talent and playing that rubbish. Must grind a little bit, no? Honest question and if it gets results, fair enough, i suppose. You'd expect a bit more decent football for the quality of player youse have brought in.

maksimir
16/04/2011, 3:09 PM
Was at the Cork v Harps game last night and it was a bit of a strange one. Watching from the Shed end I was actually impressed with Harps' passing football but they need someone to help the short lad out up front - McMenamin? Cummins is a natural finisher and it was very obvious City targeted the left flank with Davin O'Neill going on a few great runs. I did'nt see the Harps penalty shout just after half time but the City one was right in front of me and it was a definite pen. Best goal of the night was O'Neills blinding curler into the top corner. In the long run City's central defence will be tested by pace and at away games as they look a tad static at times - however a clean sheet and five goals is a great effort. Fair play to the 9/10 Harps fans who came along - hope ye're player who went off injured will be ok, and that all black kit is one of the smartest I've seen in many a year; good luck for the rest of the season.

MMVIII
16/04/2011, 3:13 PM
Why do you bother?

etc, etc, etc......

Once again, obsessed.

Boots9
16/04/2011, 3:33 PM
Owen Heary is 36 so take him out & average drops.

Also a big shout out to Michael O'Neill. what a pri*k

Smacks a football into bohs mascot after the game & has to be shamed into coming out of the dressing room by journalists to offer an apology.

Wonder will the model club take any action over this:rolleyes:

Get over it ye aul one, the bohs mascot isn't the first person to get hit by a football by accident and won't be the last.

As for the journo's, they should have been told to **** off and leave Michael to do his job.

16/04/2011, 3:36 PM
What do Rovers fans think of O'Neill by the way. Assembling a large squad of such talent and playing that rubbish. Must grind a little bit, no? Honest question and if it gets results, fair enough, i suppose. You'd expect a bit more decent football for the quality of player youse have brought in.
To be expected, I think. Played great at Sligo during the week but the midfield he picked seemed designed to soak up pressure. There was no real link play between the back four and the forwards so it was just hoofball, which is a complete waste of O'Neill's talents. Dennehy hasn't been playing well but Sheppard and Kelly are both strikers and we don't exactly attack like Barcelona so they're of limited use.

16/04/2011, 3:42 PM
Get over it ye aul one, the bohs mascot isn't the first person to get hit by a football by accident and won't be the last.

As for the journo's, they should have been told to **** off and leave Michael to do his job.

it is a bit more unusual of a story than that Boots. Im not enraged by it to the extent that some on the Bohs mb are - accidents happen - but it does smack of the actions of a somewhat strange and unstable guy.

this is from the Bohs mb - posted by a very reliable and sensible person.

In a fit or anger as he walked off the pitch tonight he kicked a ball with full force towards the tunnel, Unfortunately for him it hit James (our super mascot who has down syndrome) with full force and hurt him badly. He saw what happened and continued on into the dressing room.Apparently after it was said to him by some press or players in the dressingroom he came out and started saying sorry to me, so I made him aware that James is fully aware of his surroundings (as any of you who have ever spoken to him will know) and he should say sorry to him. He then shook his hand and said sorry. He then turned to me and said that Bohs were **** and that rovers dominated the game. He said and I quote'sure you only scored from a corner'. My reply of course was 'so did you'. He lost the head completely and was dragged away by one of the coaching staff whilst spitting fire towards me.
In fairness, I have got a few messages, indirectly, of goodwill from rovers players and staff who were appalled at his behavior.
James was very upset all the way home and so were his parents on seeing the bruising.
I hope you are proud of yourself Michael O'Neill.

16/04/2011, 4:01 PM
Must hve missed the celebration Kev.. what did McClean do?

Connor upset Derry fans?

Did you see the incident where Zayed and Fleming clashed in the first half?

Well McClean was closest to the Galway dugout at the time and Connor and him had an "exchange of views". Connor wouldn't leave it and every time McClean went down that side Connor was out, having a wind up.

When McClean scored his first he celebrated with our subs, then pointed at Connor, cupped his ear and then did the aul "fingers on lips" while point at Seany.

I thought it was amusing, Seany was on to the fourth official moaning. If you can't take it, don't give it.

Boots9
16/04/2011, 4:03 PM
it is a bit more unusual of a story than that Boots. Im not enraged by it to the extent that some on the Bohs mb are - accidents happen - but it does smack of the actions of a somewhat strange and unstable guy.

this is from the Bohs mb - posted by a very reliable and sensible person.

Down syndrome or not. He's still a person that got hit by a football by accident. It happens.

Maybe he is a strange and unstable guy. I didn't know managers have to pass a psychiatric assessment. He's there to manage the team, which he was trying to do

16/04/2011, 4:28 PM

We're all strange and unstable at the end of the day, especially Bohs fans, particularly Bohs MB members - that's depraved behaviour :)

16/04/2011, 4:39 PM
Down syndrome or not. He's still a person that got hit by a football by accident. It happens.

Maybe he is a strange and unstable guy. I didn't know managers have to pass a psychiatric assessment. He's there to manage the team, which he was trying to do

I stated that accidents happen and the downs syndrome is totally irrelevant if you ask me! So we agree that MON is strange and unstable. Fine by me, that was my point all along.

16/04/2011, 4:45 PM
We're all strange and unstable at the end of the day, especially Bohs fans, particularly Bohs MB members - that's depraved behaviour :)

http://fmcphotos.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/fmc_2260.jpg?w=648