View Full Version : Weekends Latest (w/e 15 April)
Jicked
16/04/2011, 4:54 PM
Strange and unstable?! Do you actually believe for no reason he started "spitting fire" at some random fan, and had to be "dragged away" from this same bloke? Seriously? Considering about 10 posts later on the Bohs forum there's another sensible poster suggesting our sub keeper should be arrested for inciting racial hatred because as a "coloured" player him kissing the Rovers crest will naturally result in racial insults being thrown at him, so that same poster who works for Bohs is filing a complaint with the FAI.
Maybe not the most objective reporting going on Stu.
Its a shame we have to wait until May for the next outragous, unstable and disturbing act from Rovers. Lets see, we've had children's entertainer in a giant suit dancing too close to Bohs fans, sprinklers being put on before a game, the disgraceful playing of "this town aint big enough for the two of us" before a game, Rovers players inciting racial hatred by being black and kissing a crest, the attempt on a linesman's life when a coke bottle was thrown near him, now a child being accidentally hit with a football and despite the offender immediately raising his hand in apology/acknowledgement, he still waited minutes before personally making an apology and shaking the child's hand.
I hope you and Réiteoir are compiling a file to be sent to the DPP, perhaps a second hand report on the Bohs forum in May that ketchup was not made available to travelling fans might be enough to finally hang this unstable and disturbing lot once and for all.
bluewhitearmy
16/04/2011, 5:01 PM
Strange and unstable?! Do you actually believe for no reason he started "spitting fire" at some random fan, and had to be "dragged away" from this same bloke? Seriously? Considering about 10 posts later on the Bohs forum there's another sensible poster suggesting our sub keeper should be arrested for inciting racial hatred because as a "coloured" player him kissing the Rovers crest will naturally result in racial insults being thrown at him, so that same poster who works for Bohs is filing a complaint with the FAI.
Maybe not the most objective reporting going on Stu.
Its a shame we have to wait until May for the next outragous, unstable and disturbing act from Rovers. Lets see, we've had children's entertainer in a giant suit dancing too close to Bohs fans, sprinklers being put on before a game, the disgraceful playing of "this town aint big enough for the two of us" before a game, Rovers players inciting racial hatred by being black and kissing a crest, the attempt on a linesman's life when a coke bottle was thrown near him, now a child being accidentally hit with a football and despite the offender immediately raising his hand in apology/acknowledgement, he still waited minutes before personally making an apology and shaking the child's hand.
I hope you and Réiteoir are compiling a file to be sent to the DPP, perhaps a second hand report on the Bohs forum in May that ketchup was not made available to travelling fans might be enough to finally hang this unstable and disturbing lot once and for all.
Was that seriously said?
What do Rovers fans think of O'Neill by the way. Assembling a large squad of such talent and playing that rubbish. Must grind a little bit, no? Honest question and if it gets results, fair enough, i suppose. You'd expect a bit more decent football for the quality of player youse have brought in.
With a bit of luck he'll get the job in Scotland he craves at the end of the season.
Jicked
16/04/2011, 5:08 PM
Here's the quote, addressing another poster giving out that Ryan 'Godda' Thompson kissed the Rovers crest
And he did it as i was announcing our racism policy,i have asked for this to be reported but have to wait and see if it is in the match delegates report,but I'm sure there are plenty of witnesses,he made a complete mockery of the statement,if this happened in England he would have been arrested after the game,he was almost inviting a racial comment from the Bohs support during an anti racist announcement,i don't know,your threatened with a fine if you dont make the announcement,and when you do you have a coloured player winding up the opposing fans.
and that's obviously a bloke who's been promoted to some sort of position of match day responsibility. Worth bearing in mind when we think about how MON was supposedly "dragged away". Hmmm.
great post Jicked. Impossible to have even a whiff of a laugh on this forum sometimes. I cannot confirm one way or the other whether O'Neill was doing a dragon impression last night.
since YOU raised it, here is the reference to your sub-keeper from our stadium announcer - though quite what this has to do with my original post im not so sure. He was giving the Bohs fans the "come on", cupping his ear signs as the statement was being read. For further clarity, we were reported by Rovers to the FAI last season for not having read out the anti-racism statement.
And he did it as i was announcing our racism policy,i have asked for this to be reported but have to wait and see if it is in the match delegates report,but I'm sure there are plenty of witnesses,he made a complete mockery of the statement,if this happened in England he would have been arrested after the game,he was almost inviting a racial comment from the Bohs support during an anti racist announcement,i don't know,your threatened with a fine if you dont make the announcement,and when you do you have a coloured player winding up the opposing fans.
Jicked
16/04/2011, 5:12 PM
The reason I raised it is because you brought up a ridiculous post from your forum to suggest MON is "unstable". Considering the quality of stuff posted on that forum and that thread, I'm not too sure if that's quite enough for him to be carted off to the looney bin just yet.
Considering the quality of stuff posted on that forum and that thread....
What I found most disturbing is that some of them wanted Rovers to lose :sad: Can't understand that mentality at all at all....
Cuyahoga
16/04/2011, 5:41 PM
why do you bother?
If a sligo fan says the game was crap, then the game was crap.
If a sligo fan states the ref was rubbish - he could ref like collina - then the ref was rubbish.
If a sligo fan accuses you of playing hoofball - it don't matter if you pass them off the park - you played hoofball.
If a sligo fan says you were awful - ignoring your 17 shots on target - then you were awful, and there's no arguing about it.
Etc, etc, etc......
welcome to planet sligo !!!
16/04/2011, 6:33 PM
Yes, Mypost, it is gratifying that you recognise that you accept facts when presented by the intelligentsia :o BTW, terrific match in Dundalk.
Rasputin
16/04/2011, 7:25 PM
Considering the quality of stuff posted on that forum and that thread, I'm not too sure if that's quite enough for him to be carted off to the looney bin just yet.
In comparison to the fountains of wisdom on the Always Ultra forum who not so long ago were shouting about an alleged "financial investigation".
Any word on when this "financial investigation" that your lot were banging on about for months will be published?
Or do we just chalk it down to more of your lots utter ****e they spew without any factual basis what so ever and ignore when they have been proven to be talking our their hole.
HulaHoop
16/04/2011, 7:35 PM
In comparison to the fountains of wisdom on the Always Ultra forum who not so long ago were shouting about an alleged "financial investigation".
Any word on when this "financial investigation" that your lot were banging on about for months will be published?
Or do we just chalk it down to more of your lots utter ****e they spew without any factual basis what so ever and ignore when they have been proven to be talking our their hole.
Every time you bring this up (which is quite a lot) I keep pointing out to you that these rumours first appeared on the Bohs message board before they were ever posted on the Ultras forum or voiced here. Perhaps you're a bit slow on the uptake or perhaps it just doesn't suit your agenda. Anyway nice of you to pop by and stick your oar in, nothing to say on O'Neill no?
A N Mouse
16/04/2011, 8:22 PM
I know they said they'd be showing the sligo match next week.
But by my calculations that will make four games in April (Pats 1st, Derry 8th, Bohs 15th, Sligo 22nd), and they said they'd show 5.
5 mins looking was unproductive.
So have they announced which match they're showing April 29th?
blue til i die
16/04/2011, 10:10 PM
Apologies for interrupting the usual bohs/rovers sh1tefest, but Waterford Utd beat Longford Town 6-3 tonight www.extratime.ie (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/101/2011/12750/1/) :)
16/04/2011, 11:04 PM
Apologies for interrupting the usual bohs/rovers sh1tefest, but Waterford Utd beat Longford Town 6-3 tonight www.extratime.ie (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/101/2011/12750/1/) :)
Now, that's what I call strange and unstable.
blue til i die
16/04/2011, 11:07 PM
Now, that's what I call strange and unstable.
Aye, but all the rubbish spouted before about bohs/rovers, i thought i'd continue it :D
16/04/2011, 11:12 PM
this is pretty mild btid! Theres, somehow, as much Rovers v Rovers stuff as Bohs v Rovers in the last few pages!
16/04/2011, 11:40 PM
anyway wahoo
L.T.F.C.
16/04/2011, 11:47 PM
Made to work for our win, but we should have went in at half time three or four ahead. Good performance all round. I thought some of the Waterford players were carrying some weight though...
placid casual
17/04/2011, 4:10 PM
http://fmcphotos.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/fmc_2260.jpg?w=648
that fan is gently reminding bohs fans of the time Rovers beat bohs 3:2 back in 1985/6.
As for the game -bohs defended for 90 mins and played well enough to draw with the champions.
The same champions who had their star striker missing through injury hence the bohs back 4 could approach the game in a much more positive frame of mind.
to the odd(and i mean ODD!) sligo fans piping up -- you have small man syndrome and are attention seeking which is to the detriment of the forum in general
17/04/2011, 5:17 PM
Oh God.
that fan is gently reminding bohs fans of the time Rovers beat bohs 3:2 back in 1985/6.
i thought he was playing rock, paper, scissors with himself, lost his bearings due to the massive impact this had on his brain and just meandered onto the pitch.
gufcfan
17/04/2011, 10:52 PM
Galway United v Derry City highlights
HD quality (http://youtu.be/LiTGW7xkoMM?hd=1)
Normal quality (http://youtu.be/LiTGW7xkoMM)
L.T.F.C.
17/04/2011, 11:33 PM
Nice footage there. Derry look to be very good.
marinobohs
18/04/2011, 10:12 AM
As for the game -bohs defended for 90 mins and played well enough to draw with the champions.
The same champions who had their star striker missing through injury hence the bohs back 4 could approach the game in a much more positive frame of mind.
to the odd(and i mean ODD!) sligo fans piping up -- you have small man syndrome and are attention seeking which is to the detriment of the forum in general
Dont worry no one at tallaght will recognise him so you wont need a pretend ban. yet again hilarious how anyone commenting about shams has "small man syndrome" yet they feel free to wax lyrical about everyone else:rolleyes: .
Usual bull analysis of the game but hey, Twiggy was the ONLY player out injured on friday so (despite having the biggest first team squad in the League) it was a very gallant display from little old shams to "nick" a late point.
As ever, seeing shams trying to defend/justify the vermin (pitch invader) they bring to matches reminds everyone else what their club is about. No doubt the inevitable fines for pitch invasion, fireworks, flares etc will soon see them back in 4% territory :o.
Saw that Bohs goalscorer headed off at full time to work in a city centre bar, no doubt the graduate of the Tallaght adult learning class will be writing a letter to the FAI.
Jicked
18/04/2011, 10:45 AM
Bohs fans invaded the pitch too for what its worth. Why do you think Gary Twigg was the ONLY player out injured? Chris Turner, Stephen O'Donnell and Craig Sives were all out, the first two definitely would have started, Sives has been our best defender over the last two seasons.
marinobohs
18/04/2011, 11:10 AM
Bohs fans invaded the pitch too for what its worth. Why do you think Gary Twigg was the ONLY player out injured? Chris Turner, Stephen O'Donnell and Craig Sives were all out, the first two definitely would have started, Sives has been our best defender over the last two seasons.
Jicked, both teams had players out (Bohs undoubtadly more impacted than shams given our smaller squad). PC was the one that raised the twigglet absence (see post I quoted) and I was pointing out that he was far from the only absence (as you just confirmed).
Personally thought a draw probobly a fair result, although conceeding such a late goal always a bit of a sickner (possibly should be under "grounds I got sick in" thread:)). While shams had a lot of the ball they didnt do much with it and seemed to hoof it long a lot more than I would have expected. Bohs battled hard without creating much, playing one striker (due to injury !!!!!!:rolleyes:) meant we didnt have many chances.
PartySaint
18/04/2011, 3:02 PM
Still haven't gotten over the game on Friday but just about ready to post about it, UCD deserved their point and maybe even a win, Dominated the second half once Mulcahy went off injured, They didn't create too much but had control of the game, Some really tidy players on their books especially their number 6 and number 10 (sorry don't know their names), Once again our lack of a proven goalscorer cost us, Danny North missed a sitter just before the UCD equliser that would have wrapped up the game
Now to the Brandywell on Friday, Oh God it gets worse, Its going to be a long season
18/04/2011, 3:08 PM
Corry was 6; he was subbed off - was ineffective enough on Friday, though is probably our best player.
10 was Dean Marshall. Let the Sligo abuse begin on that one! :p
And to keep up the theme of the betting thread, there's no way we deserved a win. Ye had about four open goals and what I thought was a clear cut penalty. We had I think four efforts on target in the entire game, of which two anyway were very tame.
Bit surprised to see Davey Mac dropped instead of North/other fella. Reckon he'd have scored at least one of those chances. But then I'm biased obviously.
18/04/2011, 10:16 PM
Dundalk V Sligo highlights:
http://www.vimeo.com/22525822
18/04/2011, 10:32 PM
Dundalk V Sligo highlights:WTF? No goals? :confused:
bullit
18/04/2011, 10:57 PM
WTF? No goals? :confused:
Pay-per-view was never this bad :D
19/04/2011, 6:43 AM
Naw Rafa sitting on his ass every 5 mins screaming at the lines'person' - performance of the season missing to all ....
born2bwild
19/04/2011, 7:31 AM
With a bit of luck he'll get the job in Scotland he craves at the end of the season.
It's crazy how MON is persisting with hoofball. Talk about pig's ears and silk purses.
born2bwild
19/04/2011, 7:52 AM
great post Jicked. Impossible to have even a whiff of a laugh on this forum sometimes. I cannot confirm one way or the other whether O'Neill was doing a dragon impression last night.
since YOU raised it, here is the reference to your sub-keeper from our stadium announcer - though quite what this has to do with my original post im not so sure. He was giving the Bohs fans the "come on", cupping his ear signs as the statement was being read. For further clarity, we were reported by Rovers to the FAI last season for not having read out the anti-racism statement.
Footballers and people involved in football are never going to win any prizes for political correctness but this is downright idiocy: a stadium announcer using the term 'coloured' to refer to a black man at the same time as criticising that black man for inviting a 'racial' comment. I don't know which is worse: his ignorance of the language or the fuzziness of his thinking.
Rovers were blessed to get a point out Dalymount, which when you think about the on-paper quality of their line up, is a scandal.
It's crazy how MON is persisting with hoofball. Talk about pig's ears and silk purses.
Very poor alright. Think he had a wobble with is team selection. Got a bit anxious bless him. This rovers team will win the title though, as they should with the players they have. But it will be won despite him. If they don't win that league by a double digit margin, O'Neill should be shot.
Re his actions after full time - very dissapointing if whats reported above is true. Take away the scenario, the circumstances the football bias etc for a second. In any circumstances if a grown man kicks a ball into a child's face with enough force to cause bruising and has to dragged out and shamed into offering some sort of grumbling apology. Thats just pathetic. And no, a limp wave of the hand as you walk away doesn't suffice. Would that suffice if you did the same to some kid on the road outside your house? Classless.
poster
19/04/2011, 7:54 AM
Naw Rafa sitting on his ass every 5 mins screaming at the lines'person' - performance of the season missing to all ....
Cretaro? ;)
He learned that in Phibsboro. :p Before he left us the last time it was just the players he did that too.
jafrazer
19/04/2011, 10:24 AM
HD Highlights of Shels v Monaghan, including a post-match interview with everyone's favourite former MNS pundit.
http://vimeo.com/22515573
19/04/2011, 11:44 AM
There was enough highlights in that one game to fill an entire MNS show! Mons could have been clear first half - 2nd half well how Shels didnt equalise or win? I am very very glad we are not still trying to get out of that Division, Thank you Mr Scanlon!!!
El-Pietro
19/04/2011, 11:51 AM
Cretaro? ;)
He learned that in Phibsboro. :p Before he left us the last time it was just the players he did that too.
he was very adept at that when he was at sligo the first time.
i distinctly remember a cup replay above in the showgrounds where Rafael scored a couple but I'm still confused as to how he found the time considering how much time he spent on the floor
poster
19/04/2011, 12:01 PM
I'm still confused as to how he found the time considering how much time he spent on the floor
He's liked it down there since 2009.
cestlavie
19/04/2011, 8:49 PM
Harps couldnt score in a brothel with a huge bag of cash at the moment, afraid James may be a nice lad but time to go. If I could clear some of the players out too I would.
19/04/2011, 8:53 PM
Rovers were blessed to get a point out Dalymount, which when you think about the on-paper quality of their line up, is a scandal.
MON went there for a point, and got it. We also scored our first goal there in 3 years, and stayed top of the table.
A successful night's work.
MON went there for a point, and got it.
do you really believe that? And, if so, do you not think that shows a huge lack of ambition on your managers part?
19/04/2011, 9:51 PM
I knew before both games there last season, that he went looking for a point. It worked first time so he went for it again the next time. After all, a point then would have been good enough in the bigger picture. He went for another point on Friday, took a while admittedly, but he got it. So his tactics there usually work.
19/04/2011, 10:03 PM
i suppose ill be a little clearer, I dont think any manager of the champions should ever play for a point. The "best team in the league" should always play to win.
19/04/2011, 10:24 PM
Harps couldnt score in a brothel with a huge bag of cash at the moment, afraid James may be a nice lad but time to go. If I could clear some of the players out too I would.
It looked so promising at the start of the year. Certainly that ye where going to be a big tough physical team that would be hard to beat. Didn't see those results coming for ye I must say. A few on here where saying the current team where better than the one that got ye promoted. It doesn't look like it at the moment but I'm sure it will be sorted up there and ye will start to pick up a few points.
HulaHoop
19/04/2011, 11:49 PM
i suppose ill be a little clearer, I dont think any manager of the champions should ever play for a point. The "best team in the league" should always play to win.
Very true but the only person saying O'Neill went for a point is mypost so make of that what you will.
20/04/2011, 2:42 AM
Mypost's view of all things Shamrock Rovers
http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS3-qrFhkSdioCkR1LrTnlSvxNuBJJhMm6VYGxUpwOZ_FBWs7gG
20/04/2011, 9:33 AM
Very true but the only person saying O'Neill went for a point is mypost.
The league is decided over 36 games. We can't win them all. So it's important that the ones you don't win, you don't lose either. With MON's tactics, we won't lose very many.