View Full Version : Markets Field Renovations??

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

18/10/2012, 5:53 PM
Plenty of space alright but the problem is pumping money into a ground that won't be ours to use there afterwards. It will probably be pretty expense to extend the dressing rooms, make the hill safe for temporary stands, rent the stands and make another secure entrance.

18/10/2012, 5:57 PM
Do you really think Delaney is going to make exceptions for Limerick? Hes out to get them anyway he can, and all he has to do is follow the licensing rules. The irony here is that the fudge in this case will be not fudging it.

precedent has allready been set with Harps and Droghada

18/10/2012, 6:02 PM
what upgrades? where would you put a temporary stand? honestly? where could you conceivably put a temporary stand? on the hill? Come on be serious here, where will you add an extra entrance? Theres so much more that would be required, licensing is much more than just having 500 covered seats and two entrances.

as has been mentioned there is a half a mile of flats to be knocked in Jan and an entrance anywhere along there if not two, three or as many as we like can go there. also at that end a stand similar to wexford or Bray can be put in the wedth of the pitch. No matter how bad we build a stand nothing and i mean nothing can be as bad as that ****tte st annes end yee did in cork.

El-Pietro
21/10/2012, 10:25 AM
theres a 46 page document on licensing requirement for Stadium infrastructure alone
http://www.fai.ie/images/stories/FAI_Stadium_infrastructure_Criteria_2011.pdf

bluewhitearmy
21/10/2012, 1:00 PM
theres a 46 page document on licensing requirement for Stadium infrastructure alone
http://www.fai.ie/images/stories/FAI_Stadium_infrastructure_Criteria_2011.pdf

Ill leave that to the lads who actually need to know it... Jackman will get work done and then it will have everything it needs for licencing i have no worries about that at all.

bluewhitearmy
21/10/2012, 11:52 PM
Looking like Jackman http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/business/call-fast-track-limerick-fc-return-to-markets-field-1-4391361

NeverFeltBetter
22/10/2012, 12:09 AM
More nonsense from city Councillors. Leddin was opposing the plans a few months ago, now talking about how they can be "fast-tracked". Now that Limerick have been promoted, I guess they don't want the possible stigma of damaging that process. 2014 isn't that far away.

Really dissapointing if it is Jackman though, improved or not.

22/10/2012, 7:59 AM
I thought Limerick FC said it would be available to the local community already?

Do the councilors not realise that it's the LEDP that own the Markets Field and surely it's them who will ultimately decide what else the Markets Field can be used for. I'm pretty sure Limerick FC can't turn around and say "right this is only for soccer and the local community can't use it".

It looks like to me they are just letting everyone know this can be fast tracked.

Gerrard1
31/10/2012, 10:31 AM
Any news on this ? is it looking more and more likely that we won't see Prem football in the Markets field next season ?

LFC Blue
31/10/2012, 11:35 PM
Well lads has the field been laid yet up there...

NeverFeltBetter
01/11/2012, 12:02 AM
Planning permission hasn't gone through yet.

blueblood
01/11/2012, 7:44 PM
Surely they dont need planning permission to lay new grass where the existing grass is do they? Could seating be put into the stand and refurbish or get temporary changing rooms (portacabins) and tidy the place up a bit. Surely this would bring the ground up to standard while waiting for planning permission and would be money better spent than doing up Jackman Park, id imagine it would be easier get a prem licence for the Markets Field Than Jackman.

01/11/2012, 7:49 PM
shur lets give galway back prem football and go to terryland for a year kills two birds etc etc

patrickccfc
01/11/2012, 7:51 PM
what would the capacity of markets field be when ye move in?

01/11/2012, 8:38 PM
what would the capacity of markets field be when ye move in?

Not sure, would that be up to the fire Marshall to decide when the time comes?

NeverFeltBetter
01/11/2012, 10:27 PM
The aim is somewhere around 4'000 I think, with longer term proposals for double that.

geezer
01/11/2012, 10:34 PM
shur lets give galway back prem football and go to terryland for a year kills two birds etc etc

Galway United Supporters Trust could offer some services like stewarding, programme, event promotion etc which could help us continue to re establish Galway United and rehabilitate the club back into the league for a small fee of course

patrickccfc
01/11/2012, 11:19 PM
The aim is somewhere around 4'000 I think, with longer term proposals for double that.

ah that would be grand for ye.. first game there will be special

bluewhitearmy
02/11/2012, 1:06 AM

It would kill two birds alright. No hope of it happening i would think/hope though.

redron
08/11/2012, 9:42 AM
http://virtualglobetrotting.com/map/jackman-park/view/?service=1

If you look at it there you can see there is massive space for a temp stand behind the goal opposite the club house and when those apartments are knocked there is more then enough room for an entrance.

That aerial photo was taken in late 2007, I reckon (the roof of the stand was replaced in 2009).

Regardless of what Limerick FC would need for Jackman Park, the LDMC needs to upgrade the dressing rooms and toilets for themselves. I believe they have planning permission for this work, so it's just a matter of them allocating a budget and seeking tenders for the job.

I really hope Limerick will not be playing there next season, but it's easy to see how a Bray- or Wexford-type stand (something lightweight and cheap) could be put in at the Station side.
As for behind the goal at the City end, I would go for something more substantial which could be moved to the Markets Field afterwards. It might be possible to get a stand that would go into Jackman Park temporarily, but could then be converted/upgraded to a permanent structure in the Markets Field.

peadar1987
19/12/2012, 12:51 PM
Thomond Park confirmed: http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/9371/limerick-announce-thomond-as-home-venue/

El-Pietro
20/12/2012, 7:35 AM
honestly, that just looks like hes basing that on the fixture list. No quotes from anyone, the headline is they announce it, but the article then doesn't touch on this at all.

Nothing on their official site.

20/12/2012, 10:42 AM
honestly, that just looks like hes basing that on the fixture list. No quotes from anyone, the headline is they announce it, but the article then doesn't touch on this at all.

Nothing on their official site.

Was thinking that myself but was talking to someone involved with the club this morning and he said the deal is signed with Thomond Park.

legendz
06/03/2013, 10:00 PM
Is it a shame that Limerick aren't starting off in the Markets Field this weekend or a good move all round to be based in Thomond Park and raise the profile of the club. The move to Thomond has sparked a fair bit of interest and hype to the games. I hope it fills through to a good turn out behind the team on Sunday.

redron
13/03/2013, 12:25 PM
On MNS the other night, the build-up piece for Limerick included a peek through the gap in one of the gates at the Market's Field.
You can watch it on the RTE Player (http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10119417/) (Limerick piece starts at 1:30).

NeverFeltBetter
05/05/2013, 9:22 PM
Any forward momentum on the Market's Field in the last while?

redron
06/05/2013, 9:31 AM
Any forward momentum on the Market's Field in the last while?

The club wasn't giving anything away when asked at the Q&A after the Supporters Club AGM. Just said there was hope of an announcement of some sort in the next month.
Only one question asked about Markets Field that night.

gufc2000
01/08/2013, 12:53 AM
Any new developments on this lately lads?

01/08/2013, 7:02 AM
Any new developments on this lately lads?

Not a peep and I have a feeling it will be a while till we hear anything more.

NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2013, 8:42 AM
Thomond next year then.

01/08/2013, 9:06 AM
Thomond next year then.

Ya just before the season kicked off the club said we'd be there till the end of the 2014 season.

bluewhitearmy
01/08/2013, 12:38 PM
Ya just before the season kicked off the club said we'd be there till the end of the 2014 season.

Ill be shocked if we are actually out of there then either.

01/08/2013, 5:08 PM
Looking forward to bringing the grand kids to the opening.

01/08/2013, 7:51 PM
I know the feeling lads.

da bishop
01/08/2013, 9:21 PM
hogan park.....again?

02/08/2013, 8:10 AM
hogan park.....again?

As a fan i wouldn't say no but for the overall advance of the club its a non runner. But so too is Thomond. We have to get out of there ASAP. No problem renting the ground but i cant see where we are able to generate one cent of revenue other then ticket sales as i doubt we have any say on the bars or food places.

blueblood
30/08/2013, 10:20 AM
The LEDP have announced on their website that work is due to start on the PITCH soon. Are there any plans to do the ground itself, surely the pitch should be done after.Who will use the pitch as soon as it's done. I phoned LEFT but the told me send an email

30/08/2013, 10:27 AM
Pitch takes quite a long time to do. They'll do work on the pitch and I'd assume do up the old grandstand to get it open and get out of thomond asap.

30/08/2013, 3:35 PM
Will still be sceptical till the day we see the diggers move in. At least now we can see the LEDP are making some kind of a move with it though.

06/09/2013, 10:57 PM
Something going on in there today. Trucks comming and going

mrman
13/09/2013, 2:19 PM
I heard to-day that the Markets field HAS to be ready for next season as thomond park are not giving Limerick the lease next season, something to do with flares been lit.

bluewhitearmy
13/09/2013, 2:53 PM
I heard to-day that the Markets field HAS to be ready for next season as thomond park are not giving Limerick the lease next season, something to do with flares been lit.

Dont think there has been a single flare lit at Thomond Park this season. May have been one by Dundalk fans but i cant remember 100%.

13/09/2013, 2:53 PM

If it causes a push on for the markets field then happy days.

I'm sure the cost of the lease, the security they are tied into and the lack of food and drink sales mean the sooner we are in the markets field the better.

In saying that has there been a flare lit at a home game? I'm pretty sure there hasn't so that parts not true.

bluewhitearmy
13/09/2013, 2:54 PM
If it causes a push on for the markets field then happy days.

I'm sure the cost of the lease, the security they are tied into and the pack of food and drink sales mean the sooner we are in the markets field the better.

In saying that has there been a flare lit at a home game?

By home fans 100% no.

13/09/2013, 5:08 PM

A load of ****e. its limerick that want out. if flares is whats making the MF getting built then im getting tons of um

bluewhitearmy
13/09/2013, 5:44 PM
Loads of work not just the pitch being done about an hour ago when i was down there.

blueblood
13/09/2013, 6:17 PM
Loads of work not just the pitch being done about an hour ago when i was down there.

There are a few pictures on the LEDP website.

LFC Blue
14/09/2013, 9:46 PM
It warms the heart to see those pictures. Fantastic to finally see physical work happening in the markets field. A permanent home is more important than any on field success as it safeguards the future of our club. It would be great if someone could provide weekly picture updates of the progress

redobit
15/09/2013, 12:26 PM
Is there not even a planning application lodged yet?

Earthworks like moving some soil around is one thing, and without trying to burst your bubble lads, it could be a wait before 'real' works begins if there is not even planning in place ...

15/09/2013, 12:31 PM
Is there not even a planning application lodged yet?

Earthworks like moving some soil around is one thing, and without trying to burst your bubble lads, it could be a wait before 'real' works begins if there is not even planning in place ...

Supposed to have been lodged ages ago. Never heard anything official though.