View Full Version : Markets Field Renovations??

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

redobit
15/09/2013, 12:46 PM
LEDP said it hasnt been lodged. No way ye will be in for next season (only 6 months) unfortunately

15/09/2013, 1:46 PM
LEDP said it hasnt been lodged. No way ye will be in for next season (only 6 months) unfortunately

We'd be pushing it alright so would be shocked to be in there for next season.

NeverFeltBetter
15/09/2013, 5:19 PM
There certainly was some form of planning paper work lodged, sure weren't the local morons in the city council going on about it at one point?

15/09/2013, 10:55 PM

Where do the LEDP tell you that a planning application hasn't been lodged?? No planning permission required for laying a pitch on top of an existing pitch. No planning permission required for internal workings such as drainage of said pitch, cleaning up works or seating the stand. No planning permission required for putting in dressing rooms where existing dressing rooms are. Seed planting months are September and March. If seed does not take then a pitch (grass pitch) can be rolled out within a month of seasons start. I believe there is a company in co limerick who grow pitches and have been shipped to many stadiums around the world. After pitch is seeded (before end of sept) we will see if the LEDP are doing anything to the other parts of the ground

16/09/2013, 11:01 AM
http://m.limerickleader.ie/news/community/work-underway-at-the-markets-field-in-limerick-1-5489313

blueblood
16/09/2013, 11:18 AM
There is no planning application lodged yet as LEDP still don't know who will also use the ground, the plan is to make MF self sustainable ie not loose money.

Could LFC help financially with renovating the stand and temporary portacabin style changing rooms, surely this is enough to get a licence, would probably work out cheaper than renting Thomond Pk anyway.

redobit
16/09/2013, 12:53 PM
Where do the LEDP tell you that a planning application hasn't been lodged?? No planning permission required for laying a pitch on top of an existing pitch. No planning permission required for internal workings such as drainage of said pitch, cleaning up works or seating the stand. No planning permission required for putting in dressing rooms where existing dressing rooms are. Seed planting months are September and March. If seed does not take then a pitch (grass pitch) can be rolled out within a month of seasons start. I believe there is a company in co limerick who grow pitches and have been shipped to many stadiums around the world. After pitch is seeded (before end of sept) we will see if the LEDP are doing anything to the other parts of the ground

Mentioned a couple of times here http://www.ledp.ie/news/654/ plus its very easy to do a Planning search to see if planning has been lodged (as they need to be visible to the public for observations)

will be done in conjunction with a planning application being made towards the development of the ground ...

LEDP will be lodging a planning application to encompass the overall development of the ground ...

Rennovations and new pitch seem to be the first 'phase' and probably should get ye a Premier Licence, hopefully anyway, cause TP is sh*te for LOI football.

blueblood
16/09/2013, 12:56 PM
There is no planning application lodged yet as LEDP still don't know who will also use the ground, the plan is to make MF self sustainable ie not loose money.Could LFC help financially with renovating the stand and temporary portacabin style changing rooms, surely this is enough to get a licence, would probably work out cheaper than renting Thomond Pk.

16/09/2013, 1:15 PM
There is no planning application lodged yet as LEDP still don't know who will also use the ground, the plan is to make MF self sustainable ie not loose money.Could LFC help financially with renovating the stand and temporary portacabin style changing rooms, surely this is enough to get a licence, would probably work out cheaper than renting Thomond Pk.

If say the changing rooms already there could be brought up to scratch surely. Then the seats in the stand and the pitch. Would be enough to get a license I would think.

blueblood
16/09/2013, 1:28 PM
If say the changing rooms already there could be brought up to scratch surely. Then the seats in the stand and the pitch. Would be enough to get a license I would think.

Hopefully it can be done but could the pitch be ready, I believe it could take between 6 and 12 months to seed and that's ledp intentions as from what I heard but that could change easily enough I suppose

LFC Blue
19/09/2013, 1:20 PM
Great to see up to date pictures of the work being done at the markets field on the LEDP website. Plenty of scope for devolpment by the looks of things. The removal of the track provides ample room for terracing etc on all sides. They should be ready to seed the pitch by next week judging by the progress being made.

redobit
19/09/2013, 6:28 PM

How many seats would it be able to have as it is

19/09/2013, 7:16 PM
How many seats would it be able to have as it is

Total guess but if the one in Jackman had 250-300 (can't remember the exact number) then I'd say between 500-600.

redobit
20/09/2013, 12:18 PM
Total guess but if the one in Jackman had 250-300 (can't remember the exact number) then I'd say between 500-600.

Id be suprised if that would get a Premier licence. You have to provide designated seating for away fans too.

NeverFeltBetter
20/09/2013, 12:36 PM
And two entrances/exits. I wouldn't want the job rushed just to get a half-arsed Premier license sufficient place ready.

20/09/2013, 6:13 PM
1200 is the amount of seats youd fit on the grandstand side.

Nothin to stop you puttin up a bray wanderers stand behind the left hand goals for away fans then with home fans entering via garryowen side and away fans via markets field terrace.

Simple maths would suggest we d have a tilt at the league title if we moved in next year

Reckon it ll probably come too soon for us though

LFC Blue
24/09/2013, 5:59 AM
Great weather for it anyway lads. Surely get The pitch sorted anyway

NeverFeltBetter
24/09/2013, 8:49 AM
1200 is the amount of seats youd fit on the grandstand side.

Nothin to stop you puttin up a bray wanderers stand behind the left hand goals for away fans then with home fans entering via garryowen side and away fans via markets field terrace.

Simple maths would suggest we d have a tilt at the league title if we moved in next year

Reckon it ll probably come too soon for us though

Steady on!

LFC Blue
26/09/2013, 11:41 AM
Some more excellent photos of the ongoing developments at the Markets Field were posted up yesterday on www.ledp.ie. The drainage system seems all but finished so things are progressing nicely.

NeverFeltBetter
26/09/2013, 11:44 AM
It's actually happening.

26/09/2013, 12:37 PM
Fair play to them for keeping the public updated, even if they did use horrible grammar.

LFC Blue
24/10/2013, 4:29 PM
Thanks to the fantastic weekly updates on the LEDP website it can be seen that the Markets Field picth relaying is almost complete. Judging by the photos and information provided it would appear that the project is being carried out to the highest of standards with leveling, sanding and drainage etc. This week shows pictures of the roll out pitch which is being used which would indicate that the playing surface will be ready much quicker that if the surface was seeded. Therefore is it possible the stand and dressing rooms could be brought up to standard in time for the 2014 season...

24/10/2013, 5:21 PM
I would think if the money is there then the dressing rooms and stand could be sorted fairly quick. Certainly within 4 months.

The roll out pitch looks excellent and should really give shape to the place when a pitch can be seen.

gufc2000
24/10/2013, 7:29 PM
Great to see it starting to become a reality. Having finished the season strongly, there's a solid base to build off both on and off the pitch next season. Best of Luck with it

blueblood
02/11/2013, 2:10 PM
Markets Field coming along nicely, there's a good lot of grass laid and planning permission is lodged, now we'll just have to wait and see who has to object!!! Hopefully we could be there for start of next season with temp seating and portacabin changing rooms.

02/11/2013, 3:09 PM
Pitch most likely finished being laid by the end of next week. Planning permission going in but I presume they can sort out the current stand, bar and maybe dressing rooms without planning permission.

No clue though what state the old dressing rooms would be in or if the structure of them even still exists.

03/11/2013, 5:35 PM
One would assume that no planning permission would be needed for the main stand area. One side of the ground would surely be enough for one season. Anything with a capacity close to 2,000 should be plenty. Be better than an empty Thomond Park anyway.

mrman
04/11/2013, 8:33 PM
is it grass or false turf thats been laid

04/11/2013, 8:37 PM
is it grass or false turf thats been laid
Neither, they're just painting the mud green.

No, seriously, I believe it's real grass. Limerick fans might be able to confirm.

04/11/2013, 8:43 PM
Ya it's real grass. Its basically that turf you can get that rolls out.

Thats three samples the ledp got to choose from.

http://www.ledp.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/IMG_65671.jpg

This is a picture uploaded by a lad today to Facebook.

https://scontent-a-ams.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/1460018_10151665753811459_396058600_n.jpg

bluewhitearmy
06/11/2013, 5:23 PM
Had a look at it today looked from where i was that it was about 75% covered now.

redron
13/11/2013, 11:01 PM
Here's the link to the Planning Application:
http://www.limerickcity.ie/ePlan/FileRefDetails.aspx?file_number=13141&LASiteID=0

Looks like the large drawings aren't scanned properly though!

14/11/2013, 12:53 AM
http://stream1.gifsoup.com/view4/2040967/hindenburg-o.gif

4tothefloor
14/11/2013, 12:55 PM
Markets Field coming along nicely, there's a good lot of grass laid and planning permission is lodged, now we'll just have to wait and see who has to object!!! Hopefully we could be there for start of next season with temp seating and portacabin changing rooms.
Judging by the plans just submitted to the Limerick City Council I'd imagine there will be a raft of objections based on how incredibly s**t and sub standard the whole thing is. I'm just hoping it's just phase 1 of many phases.

14/11/2013, 1:02 PM
Judging by the plans just submitted to the Limerick City Council I'd imagine there will be a raft of objections based on how incredibly s**t and sub standard the whole thing is. I'm just hoping it's just phase 1 of many phases.

Can you object though just because you think it's a crap plan?

NeverFeltBetter
14/11/2013, 1:10 PM
It should be noted that this is all out of Limerick FC's hands, its the LEDP's affair.

bluewhitearmy
14/11/2013, 4:06 PM
The maximum attendance going by the plans are smaller then crowds we got last season. The whole thing is horrendous tbh

14/11/2013, 5:16 PM
The maximum attendance going by the plans are smaller then crowds we got last season. The whole thing is horrendous tbh

Wasn't it said that the estimate is 2,700? We averaged out around 1,200 by seasons end and to be honest next season we'd be doing very well to hit 2,700.

I still can't view those files though and tried downloading Internet Explorer and DjVu to do it but supposedly Internet Explorer isn't supported anymore.

bluewhitearmy
14/11/2013, 5:20 PM
Wasn't it said that the estimate is 2,700? We averaged out around 1,200 by seasons end and to be honest next season we'd be doing very well to hit 2,700.

I still can't view those files though and tried downloading Internet Explorer and DjVu to do it but supposedly Internet Explorer isn't supported anymore.

We wont be there next season anyway but what if we manage to put together a run for europe or better still a title challenge ? We could easily get higher then that then.

14/11/2013, 5:29 PM
We wont be there next season anyway but what if we manage to put together a run for europe or better still a title challenge ? We could easily get higher then that then.

Would be mad if we ended up having more demand than space but if it were to happen is there not scope there to add more stands or turn the terraced area into a seated stand when the time comes? Or build a stand like Sligo have done behind the other goals.

Maybe the LEDP said to themselves that there was no way they were putting money into building stands to have them empty. The crowds we got in Thomond may have helped sway them towards a more conservative ground.

bluewhitearmy
14/11/2013, 5:35 PM
Would be mad if we ended up having more demand than space but if it were to happen is there not scope there to add more stands or turn the terraced area into a seated stand when the time comes? Or build a stand like Sligo have done behind the other goals.

Maybe the LEDP said to themselves that there was no way they were putting money into building stands to have them empty. The crowds we got in Thomond may have helped sway them towards a more conservative ground.

LEDP have said they wont be adding any more anyway so it would be on us if they would even let us.

Its not just the capacity the plans themselves are horrible a smaller stand built next to the current stand on one side will look ridiculous. The stand behind the goal is not much bigger then the one in Jackman and looks a good distance away from the pitch. The placing of the terrace behind the other goal is baffling too.

bluewhitearmy
14/11/2013, 5:37 PM

This was put on facebook by someone else. Will have to save it to be able to get a proper view id say.

14/11/2013, 6:01 PM
Going by that it looks like a bigger version of Jackman Park. The stand behind the goal looks tiny. Going by those drawings the stand is pretty much the same width as the 6 yard box :confused:. They should either go full length of the end line with the stand or forget about it.

If you take Limerick FC's plans and just simplified them i.e take out the stands behind the goals and just have them on either side of the pitch it would still be a huge improvement on that.

Did they get any input from people involved with the club or involved with any sport for that matter. I'm sure Munster will get a good giggle looking at the plans. Even Musgrave Park is light years a head of that.

I wonder how the LEDP feel about the fans reaction to the plans. We may not own it but if the one main group that are set to use it don't like it how is it going to attract more people in?

bluewhitearmy
14/11/2013, 6:03 PM
Going by that it looks like a bigger version of Jackman Park. The stand behind the goal looks tiny. Going by those drawings the stand is pretty much the same width as the 6 yard box :confused:. They should either go full length of the end line with the stand or forget about it.

If you take Limerick FC's plans and just simplified them i.e take out the stands behind the goals and just have them on either side of the pitch it would still be a huge improvement on that.

Did they get any input from people involved with the club or involved with any sport for that matter. I'm sure Munster will get a good giggle looking at the plans. Even Musgrave Park is light years a head of that.

Now you see what i meant by horrendous haha.

blueblood
14/11/2013, 6:23 PM
I wouldn't even call that horrendous, it's just patethic

14/11/2013, 9:40 PM

Wouldn't you prefer to have demand for space than a half empty stadium though?

14/11/2013, 10:27 PM
If you get to Europe, rent out Thomond again. There isn't any rugby in July.

If you're selling the place out every week, even the most conservative bank in Ireland would still lend you the money for an expansion, if LEDP themselves didn't see fit to back it.

donnrua
14/11/2013, 10:41 PM
I think 2,700 capacity is just about right. I'd rather be in a packed ground than a near empty one. As someone old enough to remember matches in the Markets Field I can tell ye one thing I didn't see it full all that often. The season we won the league you could have counted the spectators at the first few home games without much trouble. In the last 30 years how many times have we had gates of 3000+ at home games? Maybe 4 or 5 I'd guess.

14/11/2013, 10:58 PM
Limerick only broke 2,700 three times the whole season past. All three games were within the first four of the season. Two of them were only at the 3,000 mark too. 2,700 is comfortably big enough considering the next highest gate in Thomond was 1,862.

bluewhitearmy
14/11/2013, 11:29 PM
The maximum attendance is actually the smallest problem i have with the plans.