View Full Version : Markets Field Renovations??

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14

18/12/2014, 3:39 PM
I reckon so. I had totally forgotten about ye lot joining the league that season. Cork City joined that season too I think?
yep correct donnrua!

LFC Blue
18/12/2014, 3:58 PM
Some excellent publicity for the Markets Field return in today's media.the build up will have reached fever pitch by March 7th.

18/12/2014, 7:17 PM
He'll need to make some quality signings rather then the shiit he unvailed today or people wont show up

da bishop
18/12/2014, 7:58 PM
He'll need to make some quality signings rather then the shiit he unvailed today or people wont show up

plenty room in our many ..student...villages, Gael for all the ex ..students..coming to our city of culture.

Cuyahoga
18/12/2014, 8:30 PM
Are there any pics of the redevelopment work in Markets Field? When was the last time Lims played there?
Lims ? WTF!

LFC Blue
31/12/2014, 2:17 PM
Some great artist impression pics of what the Markets Field will look like on the Markets Field Facebook page. Really whets the appetite for March 7th. It looks great.exciting couple of months ahead....https://www.facebook.com/Marketsfield/posts/634377093356053:0

bluewhitearmy
31/12/2014, 3:20 PM
If thats how it looks in March then its a way better start to what I was expecting tbh. Only concern now is will it be done March 7th nothing even started yet.

donnrua
31/12/2014, 4:50 PM
If thats how it looks in March then its a way better start to what I was expecting tbh. Only concern now is will it be done March 7th nothing even started yet.

It will take a major workforce working in unseasonably good weather to get that done by March 7th. Or a miracle!

31/12/2014, 5:14 PM
The weather that is expected is surely going to set it back.

The artist impression looks good to me and the wall not being the whole way around the pitch looks good. Seems like it will just be advertising hoarding rather than a stone wall all the way around closing in the pitch. At the very least the walls look like they will be small.

31/12/2014, 5:31 PM
The most pleasing aspect has to be the away stand. What was imagined to be a disgraceful little yoke thrown behind the goal, in the artists impression looks to be a fine stand.

31/12/2014, 5:43 PM
Ya it certainly looks far bigger than the plans showed. The artists impression has it just slightly smaller than the 18 yard box but the technical plans we saw a year ago had it about the width of the 6 yard box. It might have been one of the alterations made to the plans as I believe there was a few changes.

bluewhitearmy
31/12/2014, 10:26 PM
I know there was a delay cos of tender process and all that but could they not have went to tender far earlier or was there something stopping that? Just a shame that now it looks like it could actually be a decent ground as a start that it seems it will be tight to be done in time.. If its not ready for first game its a disaster.

fieldofmarkets
01/01/2015, 10:18 AM
Presumably the final plans got rid of the second little home stand and allowed them to double the size of the away stand. Sensible move, get one decent stand instead of 2 Jackman type stands. As long as they get moving straight away there should be time to get what is a modest amount of construction done.

NeverFeltBetter
01/01/2015, 9:07 PM
Its good to see that those in charge are capable of changing their plans. There was a point where the MF really was going to be little better than Jackman, but if that impression is carried out, it'll be fine.

LFC Blue
05/01/2015, 3:07 PM
Surely today was day 1 in the Markets Field 9 week revamp?!

bluewhitearmy
05/01/2015, 4:15 PM
Passed it at about half 8 quarter to 9 this morning and it was all locked up anyway but would probably have started later than that if it did start.

LFC Blue
05/01/2015, 8:13 PM
Seeing is believing sometimes with Limerick FC.i remember listening to Father Joe saying on local radio one christmas in the 90's that the first blocks in the new clubhouse in Rathbane would be laid in January! I have a lot more faith in the LEDP though to get this job done.

06/01/2015, 9:09 AM
is that a 2 tier stand behind the goal?

donnrua
06/01/2015, 10:13 AM

A 2nd tier? We'll be lucky to have players on the subs bench!

06/01/2015, 10:17 AM

Hard to tell from the artist impression but the original plans just had it as one tier.

06/01/2015, 1:19 PM
Would imagine it's a raised stand, similar to that of new stand in Terryland and the new Finn Park plans.

06/01/2015, 3:36 PM
Would imagine it's a raised stand, similar to that of new stand in Terryland and the new Finn Park plans.

didnt know Terryland was gettin a new stand?

06/01/2015, 4:11 PM
didnt know Terryland was gettin a new stand?

The new stand there. The eh..old, new stand. I've no idea what they call it, Comer stand or something isn't it?

bluewhitearmy
06/01/2015, 9:50 PM
Passed again today and this time there were people in there so thats a bit of good news at last.

bluewhitearmy
09/01/2015, 3:58 PM
A lot of people in there today they were clearing the opposite end to the away end looked like they were starting on taking on the wooden up in the top left corner as you look at the stand and there were lads going in below the stand.

bluewhitearmy
14/01/2015, 4:16 PM
More good news stories for us this off season Neil O Reardon in the Sun yesterday claiming the club made tentative contact with Bohs to switch the first game of the season to an away game. Also says they may have to ask for the minimum licencing requirements of 1500 and seperate area for away fans to be waived.

LFC Blue
16/01/2015, 5:46 PM
The lads on the Limerick FC Independent supporters facebook page have posted up the latest Markets Field pic from today. While it is a bit far away and no major improvement is visible it is encouraging to see plenty of activity in and around the stand. One would presume the dressing room refurbishment is well under way. https://www.facebook.com/limerickisc/photos/a.1463152800579906.1073741828.1462301793998340/1610463842515467/?type=1

donnrua
17/01/2015, 10:41 PM
More good news stories for us this off season Neil O Reardon in the Sun yesterday claiming the club made tentative contact with Bohs to switch the first game of the season to an away game. Also says they may have to ask for the minimum licencing requirements of 1500 and seperate area for away fans to be waived.
Well if Neil wrote that it must be true;)

bluewhitearmy
17/01/2015, 10:52 PM
Well if Neil wrote that it must be true;)

Well considering I already knew about the Bohs thing I think its safe to assume the rest is true aswell. Id believe his word over anything that comes from the club thats for sure.

LFC Blue
23/01/2015, 2:49 AM
By all accounts building work is well on schedule which is great news. Just a pity there isn't a couple of signings to report on the playing front.

LFC Blue
28/01/2015, 4:17 PM
Very little traffic on this thread which presumably is a good thing!! The doom and gloom merchants would surely be posting if the Markets Field redevelopment wasn't going to plan. Squad development might not be going too well but judging by the Markets Field facebook site things seem to be going smoothly at the famous Garryowen venue.

28/01/2015, 4:53 PM
Good bit of talk going on elsewhere. Independent supporters club have uploaded some of their own pics as well to Facebook. The markets field page is good for updates alright.

28/01/2015, 5:23 PM
According to Markets Field page heavy machinery gone in on site. Suspect it's for floodlights as surely there's not a huge amount of groundwork to be done?

bluewhitearmy
28/01/2015, 6:32 PM
According to Markets Field page heavy machinery gone in on site. Suspect it's for floodlights as surely there's not a huge amount of groundwork to be done?

Doing the base for the floodlights with it.

blueblood
09/02/2015, 5:09 PM
Does anybody know when the FAI announce licences for Premier & First divisions, hope we get a premier one!! !

Battery Rover
10/02/2015, 10:21 PM
Meeting is Monday

bluewhitearmy
13/02/2015, 11:00 AM
I pass Markets Field every morning and have stopped once or twice a week every week since it started and to my untrained eye it looks like nothing has progressed on the outside since about 2 weeks ago. Things were going at a great pace at the start now if there is any differences in there they are not noticeable. Looking at it yesterday I have serious doubts about having it for Bohs. Anyone know about this stuff know how much you could actually get done in 3 weeks?

13/02/2015, 11:40 AM
I suppose you could get the seats in the main stand, the away stand up (seen it mentioned elsewhere it basically comes made just a matter of putting it together), maybe get the popular side done also. Turnstiles would most likely only take a few days also. The Markets Field Facebook page said about a week ago that the dressing rooms were nearly done so at the moment it could be a lot of tradesmen in doing the interior like the dressing rooms, corporate area etc....

I would imagine it will not have one or two sides open first game.

Thomond Park was open for a few games during construction, just at reduced capacity.

bluewhitearmy
13/02/2015, 12:45 PM
Big blow if we have to have sides of it closed for first game given our current circumstances. Will probably get a fairly big crowd first game of the season given the whole going back there thing if that has to be limited cos the ground isn't done at a time when we need all the money we can get it will be dissapointing considering with the squad we have the buzz will more than likely be well gone by the time its done.

But I suppose on the other side its far better to have it usable for first game than having to go back out to Thomond for a while. Just a bit of a sickener that at a time the club needs good news stories and good publicity they will probably be blamed if the ground isn't ready even though its nothing to do with em.

13/02/2015, 12:52 PM
Ya would be nice to have it fully opened but if the capacity can be anywhere near accommodating for 1,800 that could prove to be a lot more than is needed. I wouldn't imagine we can expect anymore than that and if anything could be a lot lower than it. If the capacity is reduced then the club could really push for people to buy tickets early to avoid disappointment. Would be good to see it marked as sell out, even at a smaller capacity.

bluewhitearmy
13/02/2015, 12:57 PM
Ya would be nice to have it fully opened but if the capacity can be anywhere near accommodating for 1,800 that could prove to be a lot more than is needed. I wouldn't imagine we can expect anymore than that and if anything could be a lot lower than it. If the capacity is reduced then the club could really push for people to buy tickets early to avoid disappointment. Would be good to see it marked as sell out, even at a smaller capacity.

Ya I can't remember what the stand is supposedly gonna be able to hold but I think its over 1000 anyway so if could manage to get that away stand and popular side done should be enough.

13/02/2015, 1:40 PM
F**king painful reading through this thread and seeing yet another opportunity being ****ed away.

13/02/2015, 8:27 PM
what was market field used for over the years since 1984 lads?

13/02/2015, 9:46 PM
what was market field used for over the years since 1984 lads?

Greyhound track up to around 2007.

NeverFeltBetter
13/02/2015, 11:02 PM
With my current work schedule, it actually looks like I'll be missing most home games for most of the season. But on the bright side, more chance that my first Markets Field experience will be in the completed stadium...

bluewhitearmy
14/02/2015, 12:18 PM
With my current work schedule, it actually looks like I'll be missing most home games for most of the season. But on the bright side, more chance that my first Markets Field experience will be in the completed stadium...

Can't make it down for a year or 5? :p

17/02/2015, 5:10 PM
http://www.limerickfc.ie/statement-from-the-chairman-markets-field

Club statement on delay to Markets Field move.

The Donie Forde
17/02/2015, 5:22 PM
Limerick v Cork City coming up soon in the Munster Senior Cup - any idea where that might be played? Jackman?

bluewhitearmy
17/02/2015, 5:25 PM
Very little traffic on this thread which presumably is a good thing!! The doom and gloom merchants would surely be posting if the Markets Field redevelopment wasn't going to plan. Squad development might not be going too well but judging by the Markets Field facebook site things seem to be going smoothly at the famous Garryowen venue.

Those damn doom and gloom merchants sher wasn't it clear to everyone that it was all just fine. :rolleyes:

faceoff
17/02/2015, 7:03 PM
No huge surprise there.Place is no where near ready and people who thought it would should get their heads examined.Where they gonna go now.Jackman prob only option.