29/03/2011, 2:24 PM
Achill Rovers
Ballyvary Blue Bombers
Charlestown Athletic
Claremorris ‘B’.
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd.
Urlaur Utd.
Westport Utd. ‘C’

Any ideas on whats happening as regards to replacing Inver?

Charlestown the ones to watch in this league on last seasons record alone.

They should never have been dicked over by the league the way they were - not just them mind you but all that has been covered loads of times here.

Thunderblaster
29/03/2011, 7:24 PM
I heard that Charlestown are training very hard and their fitness levels are superior to last year. Also, they are going to blood in some young talent. Definitely the side to beat in the division!!

Footy Mad
29/03/2011, 8:41 PM
Mulranny have replaced Inver and somehow Celtic B who were relegated last season to League 2 are now in Premier B.
So this is League 1 for this season.

Achill Rovers
Ballyvary Blue Bombers
Charlestown Athletic
Claremorris ‘B’.
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd.
Urlaur Utd.
Westport Utd. ‘C’
Mulranny United

Round Tower
29/03/2011, 9:03 PM
Mulranny have replaced Inver and somehow Celtic B who were relegated last season to League 2 are now in Premier B.
So this is League 1 for this season.

Achill Rovers
Ballyvary Blue Bombers
Charlestown Athletic
Claremorris ‘B’.
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd.
Urlaur Utd.
Westport Utd. ‘C’
Mulranny United

Are u sure about that as this mean that Mullraney drops down a division from Premier B to Division 1,so who takes their place in Premier B this season.

Footy Mad
29/03/2011, 9:09 PM
Celtic B have taken their place, see Mayo League General Topics Thread for full list of Divisions for 2011.
Don't understand how Celtic B end up there but they are definitely in Premier B

Round Tower
29/03/2011, 10:17 PM
Celtic B have taken their place, see Mayo League General Topics Thread for full list of Divisions for 2011.
Don't understand how Celtic B end up there but they are definitely in Premier B

Thanks if this is right i expect that its because Castlebar Celtic pulling out of the national league they go into the super league with last league super league team going into Premier B. I notice that they dont have a C team this season so they have 2 junior teams only as some had on this forum that they would have 3 teams in the league this season.If these divisions are right how can they put Mullraney into League 1 and Moy Villa in to Premier B although Mullraney finished ahead of Moy Villa in last year's division 1.
Any word when the league fixtures and the divisional cups will be published.

Gavs Up
31/03/2011, 10:10 AM
Hey lads first of all good luck for new year. ya some of the lads are training hard this year so far, but alot not back yet through injuries and collage commitments. couple of good young lads comin through this year and we have one of our main players back from a couple of seasons ago but taylor is givin it a year out so he is gonna be a major loss for us as he guarntees over 20 goals a season. Pre season has being mixed this year so we hoping to keep it lit following last year. League very tight and far better than last year and could see any team bar ballyvary winnin it

achillrover
01/04/2011, 1:16 PM
10/04/2011

Achill Rovers -----V -----Westport United C Fr O Brien Park
Ballyvary Blue Bombers -----V ----- Urlaur United Keelogues
Charlestown Athletic -----V ----- Mulranny United Bellaghy Park Charlestown
Claremorris B -----V ----- Kiltimagh/Knock United Concannon Park

Jablonski #9
03/04/2011, 3:53 PM
Shaping up to be an interesting year, I just got "Charlestown 2010 - Season Review" out on DVD there last night. I watched it over a steak, waffles and of course, a glass of scotch; and was well impressed. Taylor will be a big loss alright.. Lynchie re-signing for Rovers is huge for us, as well as Kris putting pen to paper (finally) on a lucrative 1-year deal. I'm following a couple of the Bluebombers on Twitter, heres what one of them had to say: "@GavsUp how dare you write us off pre-season, you don't know whats in store in Keelogues for you"... That's fightin' talk lads..Rovers fitness levels are pretty poor to be honest and with a squad of 37 players it's going to be hard for Pep Francis to ascertain his best 11. For the curtain-raiser I'd go with the following (presuming Steve Caff hasn't recovered):
(4-1-3-1-1) GK Crystal Swing LB Boy George McGinty RB Bad Egg Connors CB Cleansheets & The Twin (is he around? if not, Sicknote Lavelle) DM Shad Michael Michaels RW 07 LW Mikey Mytherer CM Davitt AM Jablonski ST T-Bone Steak Dever

juan pablo
03/04/2011, 4:01 PM
Well that last post just wasted 1 minute of my life. Pure ****e talk.

achillrover
03/04/2011, 4:04 PM
on a side-note, steve caff has recovered
he's fit, but can he hucklebuck??

Jablonski #9
03/04/2011, 4:16 PM
Cheers Juan Pablo Angel, you had better stick me on the ould "Ignore" list buck or man up and get used to it..achillrover, he can't hucklebuck no but he showed at the mock wedding that he can tango with the very best of them...Marty Andy, Catherine Seoighe, etc. On a serious note, Mulranny United (albeit our fiercest rivals) have been the victim of a terrible coup by the Mayo League..I could not foresee that happening to a more urban club, once again the small clubs are victimised and a chance for Mulranny to knock us off our 30 year perch and play in a higher division than us for the first time in their history has been savagely ripped from their pink-tinted claws

ARFCtoCC07
04/04/2011, 8:02 AM
Hey Juan Pablo or can i just call you Juan or Yan would be more appropriate. Identify yourself you old shoe string!!!!!!!!! Signed Achill Rovers ball on its way to you mate. welcome to hell

Round Tower
04/04/2011, 10:18 AM
Hey Juan Pablo or can i just call you Juan or Yan would be more appropriate. Identify yourself you old shoe string!!!!!!!!! Signed Achill Rovers ball on its way to you mate. welcome to hell

Are u back playing with Achill rovers this year,thankfully we dont have to travel back to Achill or Mullrany this season,a trip to Clew Bay.Any signs of oficial fixturtures yet.

achillrover
06/04/2011, 10:44 AM
Predictions

Charlestown Athletic
Achill Rovers
Mulranny United
Westport Utd. ‘C’
Claremorris ‘B’
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd..
Urlaur Utd.
Ballyvary Blue Bombers

Seasider
10/04/2011, 10:13 AM
Charlestown 2 mulranny 2, sneaked a late draw. Tough place to go, not many in this division will pick up points there. how did the other games go?

Jablonski #9
11/04/2011, 9:54 AM
2-2 is a fine result awat to a promotion favourites Charlestown. Rovers struggled to a 1-1 draw at home to Westport 'C'. They took the lead in the first half with a tame header which probably should have been saved. Truth be told, we had the lion's share of possession but never looked like breaking down a stubborn side who really parked the bus in the 2nd half. A lucky (and according to the man himself after a blast of pints; definite handball) goal from a goalmouth scramble gave us an undeserved share of the points.

Gavs Up
11/04/2011, 1:28 PM
No real surprises on first day out Wesport done well comin out of achill with a share of the spoils although as we know from last year for a c team they have great side and are very well organised at the back and rarely concede. We were disappointed not to have held out for the win saturday after goin ahead twice and then missin two chances at the end that ould have won it for us but Mulranny a strong outfit and will be tough beat this year.

spectator
11/04/2011, 3:22 PM
As my name would suggest, at that stage now turned spectator. I saw part of the Charlestown game on Saturday, a good game it was, Charlestown appear to have blooded a few younger players into their fold and they feel right at home there too. Their No. 10 looks to have a promising future as does the young lad who came in at centre back. Mulranny looked fresh ahead of their Connaught Shield semi-final, I'd say Charlestown would have got the three points but for injuries towards the end. It was a game worthy of a top of the table clash, but Charlestown would appear to have a bit to do yet to have a roll like last season.

Sheep Farmer
14/04/2011, 2:43 AM
Predictions

1. Mulranny United
2. Charlestown Ath
3. Kilt/Knock
4. Achill
5. Westport C
6. Urlar
7. Claremorris B
8. Ballyvary

Sheep Farmer
14/04/2011, 3:03 AM
As my name would suggest, at that stage now turned spectator. I saw part of the Charlestown game on Saturday, a good game it was, Charlestown appear to have blooded a few younger players into their fold and they feel right at home there too. Their No. 10 looks to have a promising future as does the young lad who came in at centre back. Mulranny looked fresh ahead of their Connaught Shield semi-final, I'd say Charlestown would have got the three points but for injuries towards the end. It was a game worthy of a top of the table clash, but Charlestown would appear to have a bit to do yet to have a roll like last season.

Fair comment, was at the game myself. felt overall that Charlestown were the better team JUST. Good game though played in good spirit. Ref was a bit dodge at times. Div 1 should be a close fought battle im thinking?

Thunderblaster
15/04/2011, 9:43 PM
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd v Westport United C Home
Urlaur Utd. v Charlestown Athletic Away
Achill Rovers v Ballyvary Blue Bombers Home

achillrover
16/04/2011, 12:31 PM
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd v Westport United C away
Urlaur Utd. v Charlestown Athletic Away
Achill Rovers v Ballyvary Blue Bombers Home

Sheep Farmer
16/04/2011, 1:24 PM
Achill Rovers v Ballyvary Home
Urlar v Charlestown Away
Kiltimagh/Knock v Westport C Home

MayoLeague5
16/04/2011, 4:58 PM
Heard Westport C team is different this year as a lot have moved up to B team and a few to A team.... Hard to know what their team will be like this year.. Seen Charlestown on Sunday and looked very average compared to last year...

spectator
16/04/2011, 9:01 PM
its going to be a hard one to call an outright favourite at this stage in this division, no more than all the other divisions. nearly all the teams have different teams than last year or at least several players. when colleges close for the summer, are lads going to hang around for long, given the amount of players leaving mayo each day, its enivatable teams are going to suffer.

Jablonski #9
18/04/2011, 10:30 AM
Rovers 1-1 Ballyvary Bluebombers
Another substandard performance by the Islanders culminated in a second successive 1-1 home draw with Ballyvary. Rovers dominated early proceedings and went into a deserved lead, Spáirt crossing from the left for Mark Davitt to finish with a spectacular diving header. Rovers (as so often in the past 2 years) then proceeded to take their foot off the gas and allowed the Bombers a foothold in the game. The Bombers were restricted to one speculative 35-yard effort from their impressive CM, well tipped over by returning Rovers No.1 Stevie Caff. The second half started well for Rovers with Mark Davitt firing just over and the introduction of 07 provided a much-needed boost to an already tiring midfield. A stupid sending off for Shad Michael Michaels (dissent) resulted in a change of momentum midway through the second half. Rovers failed to adapt to the loss of their main midfielder and it was one-way traffic for the 3rd quarter; culminating in a Ballyvary equaliser after Rovers failed to clear. Rovers then took the initiative for the final 15minutes and had a couple of terrific efforts (07 & Mikey) well saved by the Bomber's 'keeper, but it was not to be. 4 points dropped from the first 2 games (both at home) and a tricky away fixture to Charlestown next weekend.

taztkblue
18/04/2011, 11:03 AM
What did ye make of ballyvary? will they pose problems for other teams

Jablonski #9
18/04/2011, 11:50 AM
I really doubt it. They have one good striker who didn't hurt us at all in the first half as he had to keep dropping into midfield. One very good midfielder who dictates their whole game (our main midfielder stifled him handy enough though til he got sent off). We found their defence hard to break down but I think thats more down to our ineptness in the final third at the moment because of injuries. Urlaur beat them comfortably on the first day.

Gavs Up
19/04/2011, 9:06 AM
Heard Westport C team is different this year as a lot have moved up to B team and a few to A team.... Hard to know what their team will be like this year.. Seen Charlestown on Sunday and looked very average compared to last year...

Our first competitive game out in months and your calling us very average, a bit premature dont you think? We have a few changes from last year, like everyone else has im sure, and it will take a few games to gel and for the new members in the squad to find their feet but once that happens i have no doubt we will be playing good football and challenging for the title come the end of the season (as Urlar found out on their home turf last Sunday). Im sure the likes of Achill is in the same boat, everyone expecting them to have 6 points by now but only have 2. No doubt in my mind they will be challenging for promotion come the end of the season.

spectator
19/04/2011, 9:13 PM
A 2-2 against Mulranny and a 4-1 derby win against Urluar away, these would be the last teams Charlestown would want to have met in their first two rounds! Seems to me new members are quickly finding their feet! (4 different scorers on Sunday!!!!!!). Who was that fella Taylor again??????!!

Seasider
20/04/2011, 7:45 PM
Tough start for us as well, Charlestown away first day of the season and away again on Saturday to Urlar. Its looks as though it could be a tight league

Thunderblaster
20/04/2011, 9:01 PM
Seen Charlestown on Sunday and looked very average compared to last year...

Charlestown are blooding in young guys and some of them played at county level. For the division they are in, Charlestown are not average....they are formidable. Do not write these guys off.

Gavs Up
20/04/2011, 9:45 PM
Charlestown are blooding in young guys and some of them played at county level. For the division they are in, Charlestown are not average....they are formidable. Do not write these guys off.

Not a whole pile of them Thunder, as with alot of the time in Charlestown, GAA takes alot away from soccer once they start to impress and Castlebar Celtic have M Owens who not only has county caps but international ones also.

Thunderblaster
21/04/2011, 5:08 PM
I know M Owens well and I know his international achievements. Off the pitch, he is a great musician.

Seasider
22/04/2011, 10:18 AM
Has anybody got any idea on cup fixtures for this division or the connaught gold cup??

Sheep Farmer
24/04/2011, 7:59 PM
Has anybody got any idea on cup fixtures for this division or the connaught gold cup??

Just heard the following, Charlestown at home to Ballyvary and Westport C Play Urlar, not sure where game is though. any one else finish that off ??

achillrover
24/04/2011, 8:35 PM
Mulranny Utd.
v
Achill Rovers
2.30pm
M. Halligan

Charlestown Athletic
v
Ballyvary Blue Bombers
2.30pm
A. English

Claremorris ‘B’
v
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd.
11.30am
M. Moran

Urlaur Utd.
v
Westport Utd. ‘C’
2.30pm
J. Mulroe

Thunderblaster
25/04/2011, 9:48 AM
WELCOME INN HOTEL LEAGUE 1
Team P W D L F A Pts
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd 3 2 1 0 4 2 7
Charlestown Ath 3 1 2 0 6 3 5
Ballyvary Blue Bombers 3 1 1 0 3 5 4
Achill Rovers 3 0 3 0 2 2 3
Claremorris B 2 1 0 1 4 2 3
Urlaur Utd 3 1 0 2 5 8 3
Westport Utd C 3 0 2 1 3 4 2
Mulranny Utd 2 0 1 1 3 4 1

ARFCtoCC07
26/04/2011, 4:05 PM
Another week over and a new one just begun (taken from a famous xmas song which was actually penned about the mayo league). stalemate was the result for Rovers v Charlestown on sat nite on the heavy pitch of bellaghy park. Stevie clean sheets mcnulty returned to form and with conor mcginty were the main reason Rovers kept a clean sheet. The return of Kris Jablonski proved crucial, the flambuyant polish porn star excelled in his role on sat nite, god to see the captain picking up where he left off with a token yellow for dissent. Mark davitt punched in another whole hearted display along side terencer dever. The charlestown crowd were hostile, ala Galatassary at time sin the second half. sorr its 5.05 i finished work at 5, must dash

achillrover
01/05/2011, 5:35 PM
1-0 to the rovers

Jablonski #9
01/05/2011, 7:02 PM
Rovers through to the semis, a spirited 1-0 win against a side who looked hungover from the royal wedding in that shameful kit. They prodded and prodded but they just couldnt get past a typically stubborn Rovers rearguard. The return of Lynchiel Messi in the No.10 jersey was pivotal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-4EZy****Y

I heard the DSE were singin this one after their early game..get a sense of humour moderator. Any other scores/craic? No? Didn't think so. Jablonski out.

Sheep Farmer
02/05/2011, 6:44 PM
Charlestown Ath 2 Ballyvary 2 (4-2 AET). Charlestown made hard work of this game. although they went 2 down in the first half they never looked like losing. had most of the possession from seconh half on.

secerts
03/05/2011, 10:11 AM
cmoris 1- 3 k/kU. any word on mayo cup draw yet

Sheep Farmer
03/05/2011, 11:31 PM
[QUOTE=secerts;1482081]cmoris 1- 3 k/kU. any word on mayo cup draw yet

Waht was this game like secerts ?? K/K seem handy enough !

secerts
04/05/2011, 9:14 PM
hi sheep, cmoris missing good few lads so hard 2 tell, there pitch is n great nick.

we'r going ok so far but long way 2 go let, alot lads away for summer......

Round Tower
05/05/2011, 9:46 AM
cmoris 1- 3 k/kU. any word on mayo cup draw yet

The Mayo cup draw is on the Mayo league web-site with the other divisional cup draws.

Gavs Up
05/05/2011, 7:43 PM
News that will delight all in league here. We have been deducted 3 points and lost the point we won against Mulranny in the first game (presume they have been awarded the three). All this is a result of a gunuine error in sending away a registration form before a game for our keeper that day (which is a real kick in the teeth cause he is never around to play anyway due to gaelic commitments for another club). As soon as this was realised by our club on the day after the game our club contacted the league to admit the offence and informed them it was an honest mistake but unfortunately for us surprise surprise they inflicted the maxium punishment and fine on us. Given what went on a couple of years ago they were never going to do us any favours but this is a total different situation and given the fact that we immediately owned up we were hoping only to concede the game to Mulranny and get a lesser fine but iv a feeling the Mayo league were licking there fingers at the thaught of inflicting maxium punishment. We now find ourselves last on one point with a mountain to climb but we have good bunch of lads who determined to turn things around and try get in the mix again near the end of the season to push for promotion... Happy Easter league one:-(

Seasider
05/05/2011, 8:44 PM
sorry to hear that, especially when ye owned up to the mistake. Typical of the ML milk every club for all they're worth as long as it doesn't effect the big teams

taztkblue
05/05/2011, 10:24 PM
News that will delight all in league here. We have been deducted 3 points and lost the point we won against Mulranny in the first game (presume they have been awarded the three). All this is a result of a gunuine error in sending away a registration form before a game for our keeper that day (which is a real kick in the teeth cause he is never around to play anyway due to gaelic commitments for another club). As soon as this was realised by our club on the day after the game our club contacted the league to admit the offence and informed them it was an honest mistake but unfortunately for us surprise surprise they inflicted the maxium punishment and fine on us. Given what went on a couple of years ago they were never going to do us any favours but this is a total different situation and given the fact that we immediately owned up we were hoping only to concede the game to Mulranny and get a lesser fine but iv a feeling the Mayo league were licking there fingers at the thaught of inflicting maxium punishment. We now find ourselves last on one point with a mountain to climb but we have good bunch of lads who determined to turn things around and try get in the mix again near the end of the season to push for promotion... Happy Easter league one:-(

should've said nothing. they don't seem to take much heed in what goes on in the lower divisions anyway