View Full Version : Mayo League Divison 1 2011

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

achillrover
05/07/2011, 1:27 PM
utter muck that mulranny awarded a handy 8points. makes a mockery off other teams working to earn their points. League table not a true reflection of teams. Ctown by far the best footballing team in the league here, well able to hold their own... part and parcel of having such a large catchment area for players though!

Sheep Farmer
05/07/2011, 10:02 PM
utter muck that mulranny awarded a handy 8points. makes a mockery off other teams working to earn their points. League table not a true reflection of teams. Ctown by far the best footballing team in the league here, well able to hold their own...
A LARGE CATCHMENT AREA.. what on the sligo border between urlar claremorris swinford and chafpool who play in sligo who also pool from mayo, please explian...what other side can you think of roscommon eg ballaghaderreen

Seasider
05/07/2011, 10:44 PM
mulranny got a handy 6 points cause teams wouldn't travel, not really our fault, and the other two were awarded when charlestown were hard done by the mayo league over their mistake, not ours. we'd rather play games and earn the points but when teams don't show what can we do.

Gavs Up
06/07/2011, 12:06 PM
Nobody will dispute Seasider ye are not to blame we are just making the point that because of these teams not showing it turns league one into a farce and ye are now 5 points clear leaving it hard for anyone to catch ye and ye are not even being made work for the points. If knock and urlar want togo play Gaelic every few weeks dont know why they bother puttin in teams atal. They should definately now be deducted 3 points for not showing for the games as is the rule of the league which can be viewed on the offical page. Why urlar havnt been deducted 3 points yet is anyones guess as they didnt show up in Mulranny several weeks ago and still havnt been deducted the 3 points. Rumour has it if other teams that play urlar know what we do over the last few weeks they would be gettin deducted far more than 3 points aswel....

achillrover
06/07/2011, 1:18 PM
Rumour has it if other teams that play urlar know what we do over the last few weeks they would be gettin deducted far more than 3 points aswel....

if you're not going to expand on that its pointless even saying that here

Sheep Farmer
06/07/2011, 5:30 PM
mulranny got a handy 6 points cause teams wouldn't travel, not really our fault, and the other two were awarded when charlestown were hard done by the mayo league over their mistake, not ours. we'd rather play games and earn the points but when teams don't show what can we do.

Fair point seasider cant argue wit that, but is it true what back in the game was saying about 2 teams not turning up for away games to mulranny. first i heard of it really. Was it a wlak over were th egames cancelled or postponed....

swinfordfc
06/07/2011, 8:29 PM
They were both walk overs ....

CCFC1924
08/07/2011, 10:13 PM
When is your Divisional Cup final lads? And who is in it this year?

Sheep Farmer
09/07/2011, 4:34 PM
When is your Divisional Cup final lads? And who is in it this year?

Urlar v Charlestown on Sunday the 17th. Played each other a few weeks ago in the league and drew 2-2 so should be a tight game..

CCFC1924
09/07/2011, 6:35 PM
Cheers SF :)

Back n the game
16/07/2011, 6:44 PM
Best of luck to Charlestown in the Tonra Cup final tomorrow........ Time to end the Milebush jinx

Seasider
16/07/2011, 7:17 PM
best of luck to both teams in the final tomorrow, hope ye play some decent football and prove the high standard that has been in this division this year. may the best team win.

Gavs Up
17/07/2011, 8:05 AM
Cheers lads hopefully will be a good specticle and a good game will prove as seasider says that there not much difference between the divisions. Good luck to urlar and may the best team on the day win....

swinfordfc
17/07/2011, 5:46 PM
Congrats to Urlar Utd ... wasn't expecting it but fair play ...... that's cup football for ya

Back n the game
18/07/2011, 8:48 AM
Well done Urlar, hard fought game which could have gone either way but congrats on your victory

Sheep Farmer
19/07/2011, 7:30 PM
Congrats Urlar good win..Back to fight for second spot in the league now!!

Sheep Farmer
24/07/2011, 6:01 AM
Charlestown 3 Ballyvary B.B 0. Tough physical game with Charlestown always coming out on top even though they left it late to score the last 2.. a performance from the ref like i never seen before, terrible, and ill leave it at that !!
Good result for westport c over Mulranny, well done...
Any othert results from the weekend?

towner
24/07/2011, 1:59 PM
Charlestown 3 Ballyvary B.B 0. Tough physical game with Charlestown always coming out on top even though they left it late to score the last 2.. a performance from the ref like i never seen before, terrible, and ill leave it at that !!
Good result for westport c over Mulranny, well done...
Any othert results from the weekend?

Agreed!! More frustrating even, despite all the referees, that same referee has officiated at 5 (3 home & 2 away) out of the 10 league games Charlestown has played.

Urlaur 2 Kiltimagh Knock 2
Claremorris 1 Achill Rovers 2

Thunderblaster
24/07/2011, 11:27 PM
The league is well and truly blown wide open with the results this weekend.

Gavs Up
25/07/2011, 6:19 PM
Is surely wide open massive games now coming up after the break and you would think now that any losses for teams in those games would be massive and would blow the league wide open if urlar were to beat Mulranny with nearly every team in with a chance of winnin it. Well done westport on result in Mulranny shows that if teams actually bother to go down they could get a result.... Still fancy Achill (if they can find there scorin boots) to get promotion. Word aswel to wish brad and blondie who received two horrible injuries in the last two games a speedy recovery they will be a massive loss for the rest of the season...

Thunderblaster
26/07/2011, 10:32 PM
Word aswel to wish brad and blondie who received two horrible injuries in the last two games a speedy recovery they will be a massive loss for the rest of the season...

I never knew that Debbie Harry could play football...:D

achillrover
09/08/2011, 12:17 PM
some excellent results from a rovers point of view! too tight to call it. What happened ye GavsUp?

Gavs Up
09/08/2011, 1:04 PM
Same thing thats being happenin since the cup final we just missin sitter after sitter in front of goal. Take nothin away from westport they were value for the win but in last 20 minutes alone we could have had 4or5 and we just not puttin the ball in the net now. Makes life tough for us now cause if we won wed be top. As i said when wport were bottom they a very good side and must now be favourites for title and will be hard beat. It a shame their b team is lookin like relegated so looks like 3rd might be ok now for promotion in our division. Think ye will beat Mulranny which will have winnin league wide open and possibility of us ye and Mulranny level in 2nd leavin a 3 way playoff cause goal difference dsnt come into play tho judgin by Mayo league they will judge it alphabetically and ye will go up and we will stay put AGAIN:-)

achillrover
17/08/2011, 4:28 PM
As i said when wport were bottom they a very good side and must now be favourites for title and will be hard beat. It a shame their b team is lookin like relegated so looks like 3rd might be ok now for promotion in our division. Think ye will beat Mulranny which will have winnin league wide open and possibility of us ye and Mulranny level in 2nd leavin a 3 way playoff cause goal difference dsnt come into play tho judgin by Mayo league they will judge it alphabetically and ye will go up and we will stay put AGAIN:-)

any sign of clarification coming on this cause its a pretty big issue! clubs need to go into the last few games knowing what they need to do! not like last season, same old ****e, not knowing who was promoted/safe/relegated

the wise one
17/08/2011, 8:27 PM
is it not always a play off, so much for attacking football

Back n the game
18/08/2011, 11:41 AM
As it stands

pts
19 Mulranny
17 Westport
16 Achill
16 Charlestown
16 Urlaur
14 Knock/kiltimagh
13 Claremorris
6 Ballyvary

Very close with 3 games to play. this weekend should put a better shape on things

(here are my predictions for the remaining games)

Tonight
Urlaur v Westport draw

Saturday
Claremorris v Charlestown away
Mulranny v Achill draw
Knock/Kiltimagh v Ballyvary home

Then

Achill v Urlaur home (if Urlaur travel)
Ballyvary v Mulranny away
Charlestown v Knock/Kiltimagh home
Westport v Claremorris home

And Finally

Knock/Kiltimagh v Claremorris draw
Urlaur v Ballyvary home
Westport v Achill draw
Mulranny v Charlestown draw

therefore

pts
24 Mulranny
23 Charlestown
21 Westport
21 Achill
20 Urlaur
18 Knock/kiltimagh
14 Claremorris
6 Ballyvary

Only my opinion ...... open to suggestions

Gavs Up
18/08/2011, 4:45 PM
No clarification on it but its always ben a playoff. think if wport win v urlar tonight they will win league otherwise whoever comes out best after the weekends games will take it in my opinion.

Round Tower
20/08/2011, 9:59 AM
If two teams finish level on points its is a playoff, what happens if Westport B get relegated from Premier A and Westport C win or finish 2nd in league 1,does B team go down and 3rd team in league 1 get promoted.

jim_bob
20/08/2011, 12:39 PM
if westport b get relegated westport c will stay where they are in league 1 cos the cant play in same division as b team. so next best team in league 1 goes up

Back n the game
25/08/2011, 1:42 PM
Squeeky bum time

Gavs Up
26/08/2011, 1:32 PM
Massive games again this week any predictions?Achill need win against urlar for any chance of promotion which i reckon they will get Mulranny will stroll past ballyvary, westport should win against Claremorris at home and we hope to win v Knock but know it gonna be a very close as a loss or a draw no good for either. All them would leave it to close to call on the last day of the season...

Sheep Farmer
31/08/2011, 6:23 PM
Good wins for Charlestown, Achill, Mulranny and esp Claremorris. That win for Claremorris just might keep them in Division 1 ? Did Mulranny get another walk over v The Blue Bombers??

Seasider
01/09/2011, 9:26 PM
it was another walkover, unfortunately. Ballyvary rang sunday morning to say they couldn't field a team. poor form with only two games left and them playing at home. what can we do??

towner
01/09/2011, 9:49 PM
Seasider, no one can blame ye for teams not willing to travel, im sure ye would have preferred the game, if only for teams to show courtesy to ye for having travelled to them. Its a mystery all the same that no disciplinary action seems to have been taken against the teams that couldnt or wouldnt travel to away games this season, we witness sanctions relating to discipline, pitches, kits, etc, but not travelling to a game, I would deem as serious as any. It isnt fair on teams or the division that this is allowed happen unpunished, when clubs strive to have their pitch and everything else prepared for matchday.

Sheep Farmer
01/09/2011, 10:19 PM
poor form with only two games left and them playing at home. what can we do??[/QUOTE]

Your right, nothing you can do its the teams not turning up that's at fault and it seems to be happening quiet a bit lately..

Thunderblaster
01/09/2011, 10:59 PM
The league should be won on the pitch, 11 v 11 week in week out. It is not Mulranny's fault that they win a league with a number of walkovers, if they do get a draw or better on Sunday, but I'm sure that other sides outside of Charlestown may feel a bit aggrieved on being denied possible promotion on account of the walkovers. If Charlestown win on Sunday to force a playoff, at least everyone can say that the league was won on a pitch with two teams.

Gavs Up
03/09/2011, 1:46 PM
All to play for tmoro its gonna be anyones guess who joins Mulranny goin up judgin by the way the season has gone so far. We have a terrible record down there which we will hope to change and on another note if someone from urlar and knocks club want to come down with us we can show ye the way down if ye want, its not to bad a journey and very scenic....... will be a farce if anyone other than them two gets relegated tomorrow as for some reason they have escaped a further 3 point deduction for not fulfilling a fixture as clearly stated on the league website so going by that one of them two wud definately be goin down. AGM at the start of next season will be intresting after the new 8 team divisions ran so smoothly......NOT

Sheep Farmer
03/09/2011, 3:57 PM
AGM at the start of next season will be intresting after the new 8 team divisions ran so smoothly......NOT[/QUOTE]

With all these potential playoff’s for promotion and relegation how has this new 8 team format improved the divisions or standard of football as the Mayo League suggested it would ?

Thunderblaster
03/09/2011, 4:13 PM
The competiveness of a football division reflects on the quality and the ability of a football team. If the standards are even between teams, a league would always be competitive; if there is too much variation in footballing standards, you have sides out of their depth as being either too good or too poor for the division they are in. If you want to improve the footballing standards of a league, you need to work on the raw product, which is the footballer. With the new format this year, I cannot find any evidence that the quality has improved, it just resulted in teams having a lesser margin of error if they wanted to be successful. The priority should be to improve the quality of our underage footballers to close the gap on technical ability, which would eventually make the leagues more competitive.

Round Tower
05/09/2011, 1:14 PM
Congrats to Mullranny on wining the league after going so close last season and back to where they should have been this season.

towner
07/09/2011, 6:54 PM
Does anyone have any thoughts as to why the league decided only now to punish the 3 teams that didnt travel to Mulranny.Why do this when the season is over, that is unless there was another hidden agenda. These games were May 21st (Urlaur), July 2nd (K/K) and the Ballyvarry home game was August 28th. Another unfair and unjust, make it up as you go along ruling, as per some of the latest sanctions.

Seasider
07/09/2011, 8:52 PM
cheers round tower, however have to feel for the charlestown lads they played really well all year and only denied a play-off by a 95th minute equalizer. at least they have got promoted as well and we can do battle again next year. They are a sound bunch of lads and should be commended on their reaction after the match when they applauded us to the dressing room.

swinfordfc
07/09/2011, 9:33 PM
Lads,

I believe K+K Utd are going to be playing in Division 2 next year and not Claremorris B.

Back n the game
07/09/2011, 9:56 PM
Serves them right for not fulfilling fixtures, Urlaur and the bombers deducted points too for their travel sickness. Just dissapointing that Mulranny got 11 points this season without kicking a ball.... again let me state that this no slight or sour grapes on Mulranny as they played all their games with intent, deremination and passion and can not be blamed for the clubs who couldnt afford the flights to the further reaches of our vast county. However I feel that the best 2 sides were promoted and the worst 2 relegated. Why did it take the ML so long to inforce their sanctions ?? would K/K have known their fate going into the last game and if not surly they were entitled to be made aware that there was a decision pending ............... that said ive no sympathy as they should have fulfilled the fixture... shame Urlaur didnt go too !!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Sheep Farmer
09/09/2011, 7:02 PM
Cheers seasider, yeah feel a little hard done by but time is a great healer ha!. that's football for ya and it was a great game to finish out the season even if the pitch was a bit soft.. congrats anyway hope ye had a good drink on it and roll next year so we can we can have a go at ye again!!..

Thunderblaster
11/09/2011, 7:17 PM
Serves them right for not fulfilling fixtures, Urlaur and the bombers deducted points too for their travel sickness. Just dissapointing that Mulranny got 11 points this season without kicking a ball.... again let me state that this no slight or sour grapes on Mulranny as they played all their games with intent, deremination and passion and can not be blamed for the clubs who couldnt afford the flights to the further reaches of our vast county. However I feel that the best 2 sides were promoted and the worst 2 relegated. Why did it take the ML so long to inforce their sanctions ?? would K/K have known their fate going into the last game and if not surly they were entitled to be made aware that there was a decision pending ............... that said ive no sympathy as they should have fulfilled the fixture... shame Urlaur didnt go too !!!!!!!!!!!!!1

If there is one club that would be aggrieved with Urlaur, Kiltimagh/Knock United and Ballyvary Bluebombers, it would be Achill Rovers as they would have been in the mix for promotion, had Mulranny dropped points from these games. Mulranny at least made a 100% effort to fulfill their fixtures. However, it is hypothetical to say what would have actually happened with them three games.....Mulranny could easily have won them anyway. The three clubs that failed to fulfill them fixtures deserve a rap on the knuckles for that anyway.

Sheep Farmer
20/09/2011, 1:58 AM
Anyone hear a whisper about a playoff between Westport C and Charlestown for second spot??

Back n the game
20/09/2011, 8:30 AM
Whats the point of that???? Its not like Westport will go up if they win or there is any reward for it? Where did you hear that?

Sheep Farmer
23/09/2011, 12:34 PM
Its official now, date and venue yet to be confirmed. Medals to be played for !

swinfordfc
23/09/2011, 1:56 PM
Its official now, date and venue yet to be confirmed. Medals to be played for !

Is there medals for runners up? ....... i doubt it.....