View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 11 March)
harleyleeds
15/03/2011, 5:05 PM
Only seats on that aer aarann plane ............... better hurry . How much to lease one of those anyway , you know and then its there for the way home too . Really lads .......if ye really want it .
In fairness, Aer Arann have increased their fares on their Dublin - Sligo - Dublin service to cope with the demand to see Sligo play football, so definitely best by coach. Even the DART will struggle to handle the loads next weekend
sligo23
15/03/2011, 6:00 PM
As long as its doesn't interfer with dole day, the shams boys will be there.
Can't wait 'til Bray on friday!
poster
15/03/2011, 7:40 PM
To be fair Poster SJ has you there.
Well my original point still stands about people working from 9-5. If the bus leaves at 3.30 alot of people will find it hard to get the two hours extra off. I'd expect about 150 or so in Bray Friday SJ.
harleyleeds
15/03/2011, 8:06 PM
deffo going over from NY for that one so lets see hmmmm ....... $495 one way (might get lift back) , flight leaves day before so time shouldnt be a problem cos it gets in at 6 am , so far so good , 20 mins through airport yeah and what , airport bus to bray yeah , couple of bucks ok . should get to bray by 8 am .
Darn bray wont be open .........oh well thats that then back to the drawing board .
15/03/2011, 8:39 PM
And you still can't get from the plane to the front of Dublin Airport in five minutes even without waiting for baggage reclaim.
I've tried it many a time - absolutely impossible to do.
Saying that - I stopped taking anything myspoof says seriously ever since Vaduz-gate. Truly he is a mercury drinker of the highest order
16/03/2011, 8:44 AM
Ah, Vaduz-gate. Thanks for reminding me!
We should do a top ten of mypost's insanities.
de bowez
16/03/2011, 11:04 AM
No buses from Tallaght to Phibsboro-gate.
16/03/2011, 1:23 PM
Ah, Vaduz-gate. Thanks for reminding me!
We should do a top ten of mypost's.
Every one of them will be defended and contested.
Again.
bluemovie
16/03/2011, 3:05 PM
Separate thread for helpful Shamrock Rovers fans wanting to assist Sligo supporters' travel plans?
passerrby
16/03/2011, 3:07 PM
I was once on a plane landing in dublin were a passinger had a heart attack ,amublance came and rushed him off it took at least ten minutes.. but then he was not going to the match
harleyleeds
16/03/2011, 10:30 PM
c'mon now youse are not taking this seriously .
19/03/2011, 8:34 AM
was only 3 years ago shams were homeless, struggeling to get 1000 fans to home games. a move to a new ground, and they all come crawling back. thats not passion. thats jumping on the bandwagon.
we might not have a perfect all seater ground with 4000 bandwagoners
It's not about what city the games are in, it's about the distance. Dundalk, Drogs, Bray, Pat's, UCD, Bohs and Shams are all around 2 and 1/2-3 hours drive from Sligo.
Also your point about the Lansdowne game, that was a cup final, all the sunshiners were out for that one no matter where it was the country and obviously the €10 to the new stadium was gonna be an attraction too.
Right, so when the "standard" of Sligo game is deemed worthy of attending, their fans are "sunshiners", yet when we have the biggest attendance in the league, (and the second biggest) we're called "bandwagoners".
Mad.
Rasputin
19/03/2011, 8:56 AM
Mad.
Your class.
Can someone here point me to the Vaduz-gate affair please?
I already had the pleasure to witness the No Bus from Tallaght to Phibsborough affair.
Comedy gold.
19/03/2011, 11:05 AM
Basically can be summed up by him thinking that Vaduz are a pub team who have no place in European Football
http://foot.ie/threads/37400-Gretna-fans-and-Co?p=514356&#post514356
I agree that they would do well, in the A League. A semi-decent match fit NL side would and should wallop bus drivers and brickies from the then Swiss second division.
So you honestly think losing to Vaduz - a team who've progressed the past three years now and who boast numerous internationals - is a worse result than losing to Maltese, Estonian or Welsh opposition? Or losing 10-0 to Moldovans?
Give it over, will you?
So you honestly think Pats would have lost by that score if they had 17 league games under their belt, do you?
I'm not denying Vaduz have internationals, Liechtenstein ones. :o Shels have an excuse, they were winning their game until the last minute of it, last minute defeats can happen to anyone.
Actually, their current squad (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Vaduz#Current_Squad) lists only four Liechtenstein nationals. They do boast a Macedonian international with Premiership experience, and in their lats campaign had a player with SPL experience as well.
In addition, the Liechtenstein national team isn't that bad, having gotten results in the past four years against Portugal, Luxembourg (7-1 on aggregate), Latvia, Iceland, Macedonia and Slovakia.
LOL at the notion that the Shels result was grand until Hibs scored. Sure isn't every result a 0-0 until someone scores?
Want to keep digging?
I see you haven't answered the Pats question. We'll take that as a no then, shall we??
Despite the busmen's apparantly great results lately, (still losing btw), they walloped fellow part-timers Luxembourg, (not difficult :o) however I should point out that they're also the only team to lose to San Marino as well. (not included of course :rolleyes:)
Re Shels: Everyone remembers them beating Hajduk Split, while forgetting to mention that they barely scraped past an Icelandic team in the previous round on away goals. There's a reason for that.
You're not still pandering to the pathetic notion that Vaduz are of the calibre of Libertas or Carmarthen even after all they've achieved in the past couple of years?!
Yes. Probably the LOI's worst result in European history.
Rasputin
19/03/2011, 11:55 AM
Basically can be summed up by him thinking that Vaduz are a pub team who have no place in European Football
http://foot.ie/threads/37400-Gretna-fans-and-Co?p=514356&#post514356
Ahh brilliant, not as comical as the Tallaght-Phibsborough thread or even this one but still comedy gold.
Just a quick point for Mypost.
For us our away trips this season being Derry 2 hours, 2 and a half hours to Galway and usually 3 to Dublin.
Now if Shams fans had this sort of travelling every season on every other FRIDAY to the same repatative urban area would you still continuously bring the guts of 600 to the showgies?
In my opinion you wouldnt and its utter fantasy to suggest otherwise.
Financial implications in this current economic context, times of games be they on saturday or friday, repetative journeys to much the same destination etc all are factors in fans making away games.
We dont bring the biggest numbers to Dublin but I do know from experience we bring some of the biggest crowds to Galway and this season to Derry (neither of them under 2 hours), last season we brought an enormous crowd to Harps.
It may usually only be about 200 at a Dublin fixture but in reality if shams fans faced the same circumstances we did then their away crowds would be much the same.
HulaHoop
19/03/2011, 12:49 PM
It may usually only be about 200 at a Dublin fixture but in reality if shams fans faced the same circumstances we did then their away crowds would be much the same.
When we were in the discover Ireland first division we brought large away crowds all over the country every other week and that was pre Tallaght when we averaged 1200 at home games.
Rasputin
19/03/2011, 1:15 PM
When we were in the discover Ireland first division we brought large away crowds all over the country every other week and that was pre Tallaght when we averaged 1200 at home games.
True but it is not the same context.
If shams were in our context there would be little to no difference.
19/03/2011, 6:40 PM
Ahh brilliant, not as comical as the Tallaght-Phibsborough thread or even this one but still comedy gold.
Vaduz are still a crap side that any half-decent team should be beating, and there's still no direct bus from Tallaght to Phibsborough. Meanwhile...
Just a quick point for Mypost.
For us our away trips this season being Derry 2 hours, 2 and a half hours to Galway and usually 3 to Dublin.
Financial implications in this current economic context, times of games be they on saturday or friday, repetative journeys to much the same destination etc all are factors in fans making away games.
We dont bring the biggest numbers to Dublin but I do know from experience we bring some of the biggest crowds to Galway and this season to Derry (neither of them under 2 hours), last season we brought an enormous crowd to Harps.
When we had to travel every week out of Dublin in 2006, we usually gave the home side their biggest crowd of the season.
Rasputin
19/03/2011, 7:07 PM
When we had to travel every week out of Dublin in 2006, we usually gave the home side their biggest crowd of the season.
In our promotion season we also brought very big crowds around the country.
But as I stated before both situations vary considerably so it is moot point.
poster
19/03/2011, 7:24 PM
Right, so when the "standard" of Sligo game is deemed worthy of attending, their fans are "sunshiners", yet when we have the biggest attendance in the league, (and the second biggest) we're called "bandwagoners".
Mad.
Where did any Sligo Rovers fan say that a large part of our crowd weren't sunshiners?
Do you honestly think if Shamrock Rovers had moved to Tallaght in 2005, ye'd be getting gates of 4k+? BTW, we're the exact same as is every club. Going up a division is always gonna improve attendances from both home and away crowds.
20/03/2011, 2:35 AM
When we moved to Tallaght, we had sellouts instantly. With the second stand open, we get 4-5k+ regularly. There is huge appetite for senior football in the area, and we provide it.
im just glad you've finally found a community that wants you and yet you can all still be kept at a relatively safe distance. Congratulations. I believe its known as a win-win situation.
placid casual
20/03/2011, 9:21 AM
I guess you'd know all about that skstu, eh ?
Why does every Thread on here end up in stupid slagging matches.
20/03/2011, 9:48 PM
Because Nick Leeson is running GUFC and Sean Connor is managing the team;):msn_online::shake:
sundance kid
20/03/2011, 10:44 PM
Probably because the regulars on here aren't really representative of the majority of their clubs supporters. Myposts insanity or hoopys arrogance is not in any way representative of how the majority of rovers fans think. And the sligo lot are so far removed from the real sligo fans i meet every year in sligo it's not even funny. Maybe they spout off their hundreds of posts of nonsense on here because in reality nobody would really take them seriously.
21/03/2011, 8:28 AM
Probably because the regulars on here aren't really representative of the majority of their clubs supporters. Myposts ** or hoopys arrogance is not in any way representative of how the majority of rovers fans think.
It's not a measuring tape competition, nor does it have to represent what people think. It's an opinion. A different opinion is not insanity. If you want insane opinions, Jim Corr is my suggestion.
I expected us to win the league last year. We won it. I therefore expect us to retain it this year with a much stronger squad available, and we're clear of the field already. That's expectancy, not insanity.
Ezeikial
21/03/2011, 9:44 AM
I therefore expect us to retain it this year with a much stronger squad available, and we're clear of the field already. That's expectancy, not insanity.
"I don't have expectations. Expectations in your life just lead to giant disappointments"
Michael Landon
Your expectations might well be met, but then again ask Bohs fans about how that can work out.
Optimism and hope tends to serve a fellow better. It also tends to dull the arrogance that often goes with expectation
21/03/2011, 10:23 AM
In fairness, while most of us think mypost is insane, it's nothing to do with him reckoning Rovers will win the league this year.
21/03/2011, 12:08 PM
Regardless of the outcome of mypost's sectioning, Not since The Leps "We're alright here folks" comments re Spingal last season have I laughed so much and caused so many people on one dart to consider my need for sectioning.
Huzzah and kudos to all involved
21/03/2011, 12:16 PM
Regardless of the outcome of mypost's sectioning, Not since The Leps "We're alright here folks" comments re Spingal last season have I laughed so much and caused so many people on one dart to consider my need for sectioning.
I'll read that post and add my observations to it when I've been up to the airport and back to pick up a mate flying in from the West.
Give me about 20 minutes or so...
bluemovie
21/03/2011, 1:52 PM
So's your face! :p
21/03/2011, 2:37 PM
In fairness, while most of us think mypost is insane, it's nothing to do with him reckoning Rovers will win the league this year.
Had to look twice at that bit, only thinking to myself "aren't most of his posts insane?"
22/03/2011, 12:31 AM
Regardless of the outcome of mypost's sectioning
There is no outcome.
only thinking to myself "aren't most of his posts insane?"
That is insane.
marinobohs
22/03/2011, 11:20 AM
I'll read that post and add my observations to it when I've been up to the airport and back to pick up a mate flying in from the West.
Give me about 20 minutes or so...
..... stopping off for a pint Reiteoir ? :o
brilliant thread - especially as the irony of the "no direct bus to Phibsboro" theory coming from the same source as the "Sligo to Dublin for 35 euro - easy" and the poster does not even cop it ! :rolleyes: Truely a classic.
hoopys arrogance is not in any way representative of how the majority of rovers fans think.
Once again it's arrogance to state what's looking you in the face:rolleyes:. There's not one Rovers fan alive(except you maybe) who doesn't expect to win the league this season so that statement is bull.
22/03/2011, 10:50 PM
..... stopping off for a pint Reiteoir ? :o
Bottle I'd say... the settling of the stout would waste a minute and a half.
25/03/2011, 3:39 PM
Sorry to bump this but on arrival back to Dublin Airport last night all I could think about was how long it takes to get from the runway to the arrivals hall.
With a delay of 8minutes when we landed it took 20 in total. That was at midnight.
5minutes Mehole.
Rasputin
25/03/2011, 3:45 PM
Sorry to bump this but on arrival back to Dublin Airport last night all I could think about was how long it takes to get from the runway to the arrivals hall.
With a delay of 8minutes when we landed it took 20 in total. That was at midnight.
5minutes Mehole.
Your rationality is not welcome here.
Take your logic and leave.
25/03/2011, 3:56 PM
Your rationality is not welcome here.
Take your logic and leave.
Surely it's irrational that the first thought I had on arrival back to Dublin after a flight from Leeds that was delayed for 3 hours, was this thread! Logic that!
25/03/2011, 4:31 PM
5minutes Mehole.
There's a direct bus from the runway to the arrivals hall.
25/03/2011, 4:54 PM
I missed it. It only runs for flights from sligo.
The Lep
25/03/2011, 8:25 PM
We were at the time :)
26/03/2011, 12:31 PM
We were at the time :)
Touche. :P
27/03/2011, 4:57 AM
Right, last word on this blx.....
Only seats on that aer aarann plane ............... better hurry
5minutes Mehole.
I missed it. It only runs for flights from sligo.
If Ireland were playing in Europe on a Friday night at short notice, you'd all be busy discussing ways of travelling to obscure airports at mad hours day and night, willingly paying ripoff flight fares, finding places of accommodation, how to get tickets and discussing whether to take long-distance buses, or trains, if needed in order to see the game. That's what being resourceful is. When someone suggests exploring EVERY single avenue in order to play a few hours away in the league on a Friday night though, suddenly people then hit "The Wall", claiming this and that stops them going.
I was serious in my arguments. I'll miss my fair share of trips this year, but I've genuinely tried to be helpful to people. You can take it or leave it.
OneForTheFuture
27/03/2011, 10:26 AM
I think I'll leave it.
Rasputin
27/03/2011, 12:00 PM
I've read the replies. At least I was serious in my arguments. I've genuinely tried to be helpful to people. You can take it or leave it.
Haha oh god, your some craic mypost.
Mypost how come you didnt apply the same ingenuity in getting to Balleybofey a few years ago as we should getting to every league game?