View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 11 March)
Town Legend
11/03/2011, 8:55 PM
Thanks Verdebianco!
11/03/2011, 8:58 PM
FT Wexford Youths 0-2 Longford Town
Get in, very pleased with that. Wexford are always awkward.
Town Legend
11/03/2011, 9:00 PM
Yeah was a good result to get out of there. Onwards and upwards from here...........hopefully!
sean r
11/03/2011, 9:04 PM
bohs 1-0 drogs drogs seem to be hard to beat!!! in the mons game did roddy do anything exciting?????
11/03/2011, 10:27 PM
He won his first game....that's enough excitement for one nite.:-D
bullit
11/03/2011, 10:48 PM
He won his first game....that's enough excitement for one nite.:-D
I heard he arrived and left by helicopter,stopping only to drop off and pick up Sean Connor at Oriel Park ??
Any truth in that one ?? ;)
11/03/2011, 11:10 PM
Seanie robbed his coat.. :D
Ezeikial
11/03/2011, 11:47 PM
Seannies sartorial taste has always been in question, but the tactics and committment from a limited Galway team was excellent.
Although Dundalk deserved the win, even if it took a late goal to snatch it, most teams will have to play well against Galway to get 3 points. Dundalk did enought, just about, without really playing to the standards shown in most competitive matches so far. The highlight, yet again was a stunning strike from about 30 yards from Mark Quigley. Sean Kelly also scored a cracker for Galway. It was good to see Shaun Kelly back in Oriel and he had a fine game.
Ezeikial
12/03/2011, 12:03 AM
A comprehensive report on Dundalk V Galway already up on www.dundalkfc.com
http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-galway-report-march-2011
Valentine
12/03/2011, 12:08 AM
G'wan the Bray! Coming back from 2-0 behind and winning away from home, well done.
legendz
12/03/2011, 11:18 AM
Some result by Bray to turn it around like they did. I've written them off for the season but to be fair, good result for them. Good result for Boh's as well picking up another win. They would have hoped for two wins from the first two games. Should help ease fears of a big slides but definitely many more challenges to come. Good wins also for Dundalk and Derry. Both should do well this season. 13 goals in 4 games last night is good going. It's a pity LoI highlight are shown over the weekend.
El-Pietro
12/03/2011, 11:35 AM
we were poor. we should have been out of sight by half time but didnt take our chances and i worry where our goals will come from
saying that. the referee should be ashamed of himself. Im not making excuses because we've only ourselves to blame that we didnt get the three points on offer last night but I have never in my life seen a more one sided refereeing performance last night.
defenders hanging off Cummins and Sullivan last night and nothing given. the slighest touch to a Mervue player and the whistle goes. Gavin Kavanagh was left in a heap on the floor in the corner and ref does nothing. It got comical towards the end last night, to the point where we were suprised if we got a throw in.
the weather didn't help last night. but i wont be going back to Fahys field. Like Drom its a fantastic set up and I'm quite jealous of these clubs, I wish City had something similar as a training facility.
However, if they can play their league games there, then we should move back out to Bishopstown, or any random field with a fence around it in Cork. Nothing remotely resembling a shelter for home or away fans. No hot food, though in fairness to them they had soup and tea which was a godsend.
I really dont understand what the point to licensing is when clubs like Cobh cant get one but Salthill and Mervue can say pretty please and the FAI turns a blind eye
12/03/2011, 11:37 AM
Cobh's exclusion has nothing to do with their ground in fairness.
12/03/2011, 12:23 PM
Athlone v Harps game is off - waterlogged pitch.
stunning result for Bray. Fair play.
Any coverage of the Sligo game tonight?
sean r
12/03/2011, 5:17 PM
good for harps why would of gotten destroyed anyway
12/03/2011, 6:42 PM
good for harps why would of gotten destroyed anyway
Google translator doesn't comprehend.
12/03/2011, 6:53 PM
Google translator doesn't comprehend.
Don't know what you mean, I thought he made perfect sense.
blue til i die
12/03/2011, 7:01 PM
McCabe 1-0
Dillonman
12/03/2011, 8:24 PM
Oman got away with murder before ht and Oneill took him off during the break...typical.
0-1 result
So does the game go to penalties now too?
placid casual
12/03/2011, 8:43 PM
That is why we are champions.
get it up yehs!
Dave_SRFC
12/03/2011, 8:52 PM
[QUOTE=placid casual;1463594]That is why we are champions.
get it up yehs![/QU
Get in there...
legendz
12/03/2011, 10:18 PM
Good result alright for Shamrock Rovers. They are now level on points, goals scored and conceded with Boh's. In any other season, it would seem both clubs are picking up where they left off last season, very little between them. Of their respective position, Boh's have probably beat two clubs who'll be in the bottom three. Shamrock Rovers have probably beaten two clubs who'll be in the top 3 at the season's end.
Dublin Red
12/03/2011, 11:19 PM
What we seen tonight in the showgrounds is testament to why shams will win the league. Simple as that. And there is nothing any of us can do about it.
colinf
12/03/2011, 11:37 PM
laughable refereeing tonight, truly unbelievable stuff
poster
13/03/2011, 12:05 AM
Any of the Shams fans know who won the fight between the two lads in the green and white scarves behind the Shed End, after the game?
Shams were terrible tonight, we were worse :disappointed:
Early days, come on Rovers!
hoops1
13/03/2011, 12:14 AM
Sligo a bit unlucky to go in at half time behind. But apart from the time added on were Sligo could have scored we totally dominated the second half.
redobit
13/03/2011, 12:52 AM
Sligo a bit unlucky to go in at half time behind. But apart from the time added on were Sligo could have scored we totally dominated the second half.
You must have left with 10 minutes to go so.
If we were there for another hour we wouldnt have scored, it was one of those nights. Gifted Shams a goal in the first half with Mannus making a few very good saves in the first half. The second half, for half an hour was very tight with both teams playing some decent stuff without creating any real chances from play. We tried our best to score toward the end but its wasnt to be.
Oman got one yellow card in the first half when he should have got three - best move of the match was MON replacing him for Flynn at half time. A draw would have be a fair result (as said by me chating to a few Shams fans after the game, to their credit). 4 or 500 Shams down but not the 2 thousand that one lad told me would be at the game in the pub before hand.
HulaHoop
13/03/2011, 1:13 AM
So the Brazilians from the north west failed to score again against the Wimbledon of Tallaght and I think that leaves "bad manager" O'Neill with an unbeaten league record of 7 wins and 2 draws against the brilliant Paul Cook. All down to dodgy refs of course.
pauliek
13/03/2011, 1:16 AM
Shams wont win anything with those mutants at the back, I nearly cried with laughter when he tryed to fix the problem with Pat Flynn
HulaHoop
13/03/2011, 1:27 AM
Shams wont win anything with those mutants at the back, I nearly cried with laughter when he tryed to fix the problem with Pat Flynn
I'm sorry, did I miss something or did "those mutants" plus Pat Flynn keep a clean sheet against supposedly the best footballing team in the country?
13/03/2011, 3:05 AM
The best part about beating Sligo is reading the reactions afterwards.
Fair play to the vast majority of Sligo fans who are completely sound.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/03/2011, 8:04 AM
Pretty sure you said the same thing last season. They're a lot more solid at the back then we are. I think Foran should be starting before McGuinness. And of course the sooner we get Ventre off the team the better.
sundance kid
13/03/2011, 10:16 AM
4 shams fans in the pub toilets doing coke aswell beforehand. nice bunch of lads
8 Sligo fans doing coke in the pub toilets beforehand, lovely bunch of lads. Those lemons aren't bitter by any chance?
Mario
13/03/2011, 10:38 AM
Great game to watch, first half was toe to toe, end to end, both teams getting stuck in!
Rovers scored early on after that Sligo had the better of the first half but looked a bit ropey at the back at times. Rovers giving Sligo too much space in front of our defence, and they got around us a few times but Mannus made three great saves.
Second half Rovers sat a bit deeper and Sligo couldnt break us down, Ryan was having to drop deep to get the ball but then wasnt able to then do much with it when faced with a wall of defenders. Plenty of sloppy passing by Sligo giving us chances to break and Twig shoulda won a peno. Sligo started to go long for the final ten minutes and won a few corners and frees but Rovers held out.
Cooks poor league record against ONeill continues thanks to man of the match Alan Mannus.
born2bwild
13/03/2011, 10:51 AM
When all the guff about bottles being thrown, bad refs and Ken Oman is said and done, one thing is left: Mannus was the difference between the teams.
HulaHoop
13/03/2011, 11:16 AM
Fair play to the vast majority of Sligo fans who are completely sound.
Have to agree with that, any time I've been up there over the years they have been really sound. They're good to have a bit of friendly banter with and can talk Irish football all day. As a Hoop I always find the contrast between the friendliness we're treated with in the flesh in Sligo compared to the open hostility from many Sligo fans towards us on the internet astonishing.
I thought Murray looked as graceful as a ballerina last night compared to the Jaycist to be honest. Shocking performance from him. I believe he can do a good bit better than that.
Thought it was even enough really. Shams were worthy of the win, as we couldn't take the few good chances we had.
bingoballs
13/03/2011, 11:55 AM
Have to agree with that, any time I've been up there over the years they have been really sound. They're good to have a bit of friendly banter with and can talk Irish football all day. As a Hoop I always find the contrast between the friendliness we're treated with in the flesh in Sligo compared to the open hostility from many Sligo fans towards us on the internet astonishing.
Funny that HulaHoop, most shams fans on line come across as righteous dudes and pillars of society, yet every time they come to the Showgrounds many of them act like a shower of tramps. In fact, there is one common denomonator with crowd trouble in the LOI, and thats your club.
Having said all that, it was a big win for ye and fair play. No medals being handed out yet but we have a lot of work to do if we are to challenge for the top 3 again this season.
hoopy
13/03/2011, 12:02 PM
Just wondering will Paddy Power start paying out on us now?
hoopy
13/03/2011, 12:13 PM
Is that like the time you said Rovers are nothing to fear?
Heading to the bus after the game and I heard one Sligo fan say to another "we've nothing to worry about with Shams this season". It capped an already hilarious evening:D
poster
13/03/2011, 12:27 PM
Go on the foot.ie lads.
PartySaint
13/03/2011, 12:46 PM
League could be wrapped up by August
HulaHoop
13/03/2011, 1:06 PM
Lets hope our players don't start thinking like that after only 2 games of the season or else we'll end up with nothing come November.
poster
13/03/2011, 2:32 PM
Have to agree with that, any time I've been up there over the years they have been really sound. They're good to have a bit of friendly banter with and can talk Irish football all day.
Bit like the majority of yer fans are grand and easy to talk to. Then there's the scumbag minority. Sorry, but it's true!
Lets hope our players don't start thinking like that after only 2 games of the season or else we'll end up with nothing come November.
No point downplaying things just for the sake of it or to save face, I'd rather tell it as it is. We're playing in first gear at the moment and are cruising. It would be the equivalent of Celtic or Rangers not winning the SPL this season if we don't win the league. O'Donnell to come in beside the superb Finn aside, when we click up a notch some teams are gonna get a hiding. No doubt, like all leagues theyr'll be the odd blip along the way, but not enough to stop us winning the league.
poster
13/03/2011, 4:13 PM
No point downplaying things just for the sake of it or to save face, I'd rather tell it as it is. We're playing in first gear at the moment and are cruising. It would be the equivalent of Celtic or Rangers not winning the SPL this season if we don't win the league. O'Donnell to come in beside the superb Finn aside, when we click up a notch some teams are gonna get a hiding. No doubt, like all leagues theyr'll be the odd blip along the way, but not enough to stop us winning the league.
You're very modest. If that's yer first gear I'd genuinely worry for ye if ye come up against a decent team in Europe.
I'm sure you'd be worried for us. Bottom line is that Sligo are supposed to be our main challengers this season and we're too good for you. Nothing 'modest' about it, just telling the truth and enjoying the weekend.