View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 11 March)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

poster
13/03/2011, 4:21 PM
Well, I'd be more worried for the LOI than yerselves. Ye'll win the league this year, but ye can can play alot better than last night.

hoopy
13/03/2011, 4:33 PM
but ye can can play alot better than last night.

Isn't that what I was pointing out by saying we were only in first gear at the moment and still winning? Keep up.

redobit
13/03/2011, 5:45 PM
I'm sure you'd be worried for us. Bottom line is that Sligo are supposed to be our main challengers this season and we're too good for you. Nothing 'modest' about it, just telling the truth and enjoying the weekend.

Come on. Manus was probably your MOTM which says a lot about how we done. In fairness if we took our chances we could have easily won that game. But we didnt and remember the season is long and we still have to play ye three more times. We still have Ndo to come back into that team.

hoopy
13/03/2011, 7:47 PM
Come on. Manus was probably your MOTM which says a lot about how we done. In fairness if we took our chances we could have easily won that game. But we didnt and remember the season is long and we still have to play ye three more times. We still have Ndo to come back into that team.

You know the saying that goes 'if my Auntie had b***s she'd be my Uncle'?

13/03/2011, 7:59 PM
Funny that HulaHoop, most shams fans on line come across as righteous dudes and pillars of society, yet every time they come to the Showgrounds many of them act like a shower of tramps. In fact, there is one common denomonator with crowd trouble in the LOI, and thats your club.

?

That's the biggest away crowd Sligo will get all season. No problems, no arrests, but I'm sure you'll be happy with the tiny amount everyone else will bring.

Sean South
13/03/2011, 8:20 PM
?

That's the biggest away crowd Sligo will get all season. No problems, no arrests, but I'm sure you'll be happy with the tiny amount everyone else will bring.

Two arrests mypost. I'd say Derry could bring that big of a crowd depending on how they are doing this year, they have before.

redobit
13/03/2011, 8:46 PM
You know the saying that goes 'if my Auntie had b***s she'd be my Uncle'?

Youre some dose you know that.

If you want to think that we werent good enough for ye, best a luck to ya.

harleyleeds
13/03/2011, 9:17 PM
Lads its early days yet . It was a terrible loss so we just have to deal wiyh that . Only a complete moron would consider the league over after two games . Couple of positives were a great crowd and rovers wern't a total disgrace . Hopefully the Showgies will have many more decent crowds this season and also it will be brilliant if they bring large away support too like at Derry . If rovers win the next three this will all be forgotten untill they meet Shams again so lets look forward .

stand up .

PartySaint
13/03/2011, 9:26 PM
Only a complete moron would consider the league over after two games . .

Ah shucks that means im a complete moron:( they will win the league comfortably

13/03/2011, 9:44 PM
Basically the game was the big chance for the Brazilians of the Northwest to demonstrate that they were going to justify the hype and be more than the cup team of last season. And they didn't succeed. It can be dressed up whatever other way people like.

poster
13/03/2011, 9:55 PM
It can be dressed up whatever other way people like.

Long way to go. Shams will have their crisis at some point and then it's up to the likes of Sligo Rovers to catch up.

colinf
13/03/2011, 10:37 PM
model club, league over already

sligo rovers are twice the club shams will ever be. id rather finish mid table than act like absolute thugs on and off the pitch. im proud of our club, im proud of our team. we brought 800 to derry last week. we always bring a good away crowd, and never cause any hassle, we enjoy the experience, and dont need to act like complete idiots when we go to a game.

was only 3 years ago shams were homeless, struggeling to get 1000 fans to home games. a move to a new ground, and they all come crawling back. thats not passion. thats jumping on the bandwagon.

2 games into the league, and they display they're complete arrogance saying the leagues over already. cant wait to see them try and throw it away like the end of last season. and then everyone call for o'neills head again, anytime they have a bad run.

i dont think we'll win the league this season, but at least i know we'll still have a club for years to come, still have the respect of the vast majority of other supporters in the country, have a set of passionate and respectable fans who'll be here through the good and bad times. we might not have a perfect all seater ground with 4000 bandwagoners, may not have money to throw away on any player we want, we probably wont win the league, but we're not going to be hated by everyone and we wont act like thugs every other week, at least we be respected, and we can be proud of our club

PartySaint
13/03/2011, 10:57 PM

sligo rovers are twice the club shams will ever be. id rather finish mid table than act like absolute thugs on and off the pitch. im proud of our club, im proud of our team. we brought 800 to derry last week. we always bring a good away crowd, and never cause any hassle, we enjoy the experience, and dont need to act like complete idiots when we go to a game.

was only 3 years ago shams were homeless, struggeling to get 1000 fans to home games. a move to a new ground, and they all come crawling back. thats not passion. thats jumping on the bandwagon.

2 games into the league, and they display they're complete arrogance saying the leagues over already. cant wait to see them try and throw it away like the end of last season. and then everyone call for o'neills head again, anytime they have a bad run.

i dont think we'll win the league this season, but at least i know we'll still have a club for years to come, still have the respect of the vast majority of other supporters in the country, have a set of passionate and respectable fans who'll be here through the good and bad times. we might not have a perfect all seater ground with 4000 bandwagoners, may not have money to throw away on any player we want, we probably wont win the league, but we're not going to be hated by everyone and we wont act like thugs every other week, at least we be respected, and we can be proud of our club

Ok I can't believe im about to do this but there average was still about 1,700 in Tolka and what do you call bringing 10,000 fans to a Cup Final when your average is less than 2,000 yes thats also jumping on the bandwagon

Now im off for a shower and to stay off the internet for a few days because it obviously makes me do horrible things

harleyleeds
13/03/2011, 11:23 PM
Wow Party Saint how far up the shams a$$ can you crawl . Change your listed club for gods sake the Saints fans I know would be disgusted with your lack of support for your stated club . Didn't Pats only missd out on 3rd in the last game of season . Even if your club were total rubbish why would you be bending over backwards to sing Shams praises .

PartySaint
13/03/2011, 11:43 PM
Wow Party Saint how far up the shams a$$ can you crawl . Change your listed club for gods sake the Saints fans I know would be disgusted with your lack of support for your stated club . Didn't Pats only missd out on 3rd in the last game of season . Even if your club were total rubbish why would you be bending over backwards to sing Shams praises .

Not singing their praises but at this stage even im sick at the retarded posts by Sligo fans on here, Are yous going to do this every time they beat yous? Because there is a possibility of yous playing 8 times this season so its gonna get really annoying

There is alot to have a go at Rovers for so why bother lying?

EDIT: Also how am I showing a lack of support for my team?

monkey9
13/03/2011, 11:57 PM
The Brazilians!! For the love of Christ!! Inter Milan knocked the pretty football of Barcelona out of the Champions League last season even though Barca are a clearly better side and play better football.

Not that i'm saying that Rovers are a better side than Shams, but don't start thinking that the football of Rovers can't overcome the hoofball of Shams!

14/03/2011, 12:12 AM
Supporting your own club doesn't mean disparaging your so-called rivals at every available opportunity. I have huge respect for Sligo and the way they play despite being a Rovers fan. The ranting of a few insufferable forum members on each side shouldn't change that.

colinf
14/03/2011, 12:24 AM
its just the arrogance that gets us. its so annoying. its hard not to react. why do shamrock fans have to be such cocky arrogant idiots.

14/03/2011, 1:02 AM
There is a section of most clubs' fans that believe they are morally superior to everyone else. The irritating section of Shamrock Rovers fans go on about all the trophies we've won and the irritating section of Sligo fans go on about the style of football you play. It's banter to a point but online it tends to just bear itself out as endless bickering between people who are determined to slap themselves on the back for their ability to show up at football matches. Most fans of the respective Rovers are fine and have few problems with the others' fans.

14/03/2011, 1:20 AM

No, it's the natural order of LOI-football restored. We set the standards, others follow.

cant wait to see them try and throw it away like the end of last season.

Throw what away?

i dont think we'll win the league this season, but at least i know we'll still have a club for years to come, still have the respect of the vast majority of other supporters in the country, have a set of passionate and respectable fans who'll be here through the good and bad times. we might not have a perfect all seater ground with 4000 bandwagoners, may not have money to throw away on any player we want, we probably wont win the league, but we're not going to be hated by everyone, at least we be respected, and we can be proud of our club

When you win nothing, (bar a few Cups) in decades, everyone will respect you, and no-one will hate you.

Unfortunately, in this game, it pays to win. Success breeds success. Winning means more money, more crowds, more trophies, and in turn more success. 5 years ago, we were kicking a bit of leather every week against Cobh, Monaghan, and Limerick. 5 years of painstaking rebuilding later, we're attracting better players, playing better football, drawing more crowds, winning more accolades and dining at the top table of the European game. It's not arrogance, it's not accident, it's hard work that has us where we are, on and off the pitch. You can either recognise that, or settle for bringing a big crowd to one away game and being respected by everyone, as a barometer of success.

14/03/2011, 2:27 AM
i hope someone bookmarks this thread just on the off chance that they dont win the league next season and we can quote a few of these gems!

And to think we were considered arrogant in our heyday!

Good fun this. :)

14/03/2011, 3:09 AM
I'd say most Rovers fans like myself are slightly surprised by how well the season has started and are still slightly concerned about how quickly the team will start to gel and play a strong 90 minutes. Again, fans on message boards tend to be more boastful than normal people.

superjohnny
14/03/2011, 8:16 AM

You my friend are a delusional fool of the highest order, you are the one being arrogant calling yourselves Brazilians. Every time your team loses to rovers
You come on here crying about about this and about that, you obviously no nothing about the LOI. Rovers had on average 1700 a year in tolka in their bad times as party saint points out while in your height you have 2000? Will you quote the facts and take the blinkers off.

Plus you always bring a disgraceful amount of fans to the Carlisle.

White Horse
14/03/2011, 8:23 AM
Is the league two games old, or has two games to go?

Some of the recent posts got me thinking that it was the latter.

14/03/2011, 8:37 AM
Lock this please. It hurts my brain.

passerrby
14/03/2011, 8:50 AM
Unfortunately, in this game, it pays to win. Success breeds success. Winning means more money, more crowds, more trophies, and in turn more success. 5 years ago, we were kicking a bit of leather every week against Cobh, Monaghan, and Limerick. 5 years of painstaking rebuilding later, we're attracting better players, playing better football, drawing more crowds, winning more accolades and dining at the top table of the European game. It's not arrogance, it's not accident, it's hard work that has us where we are, on and off the pitch. You can either recognise that, or settle for bringing a big crowd to one away game and being respected by everyone, as a barometer of success.

slow down there bob the builder "painstaking rebuilding" my arse lets clear this up you when tits up ,burned your creditors became tenants of the local authority and inticed a bunch of scrots to follow your club
hardly a planned set of events more like falling into a bucket of **** and coming out in a new suit (louis Copland)

Ezeikial
14/03/2011, 9:19 AM
I'd say most Rovers fans like myself are slightly surprised by how well the season has started and are still slightly concerned about how quickly the team will start to gel and play a strong 90 minutes. Again, fans on message boards tend to be more boastful than normal people.

A single voice of reason in a cacophony of arrogance and chest beating.

Rovers has a fine away victory and are odds on to win the league, but the league table in my morning paper still shows them 2nd in the table and only 3 points above 6 other teams.

14/03/2011, 9:40 AM
Seeing as there were other games on at the weekend too...

Derry weren't great at all on Friday; if we had someone who could take a set-piece properly, we'd more than likely have taken a point. We played better than against Drogheda (though still not great), but still had bugger all cutting edge up front, so the set-piece deficiency was doubly disappointing. Pitch was brutal too, which didn't help.

Bohs only beating Drogheda 1-0 was a bit of a surprise. Was it a case of Drogheda holding out resolutely, or are Bohs just bad this year?

Some strange results so far - Bohs struggle to beat Drogheda at home but beat Bray easily enough in Bray, who themselves then beat Pat's in Richmond. Derry by all accounts (that I heard from people last Friday) put it up to Sligo in the Brandywell and were unlucky not to win, but were then very sluggish against us. Could be a more open league than was expected (bar top spot, which I think is odds on).

14/03/2011, 9:52 AM
I have been staying out of this so far but just want to pick up on this post

You my friend are a delusional fool of the highest order, you are the one being arrogant calling yourselves Brazilians.Where has CF refered to us as Brazilians? If you're talking about Rovers fans in general on here calling us Brazilians then show me where? It was actually Shams fans who have been calling us that.
Plus you always bring a disgraceful amount of fans to the Carlisle.We always bring more than ye do to the Showgrounds(presuming you're a Bray fan?) so you're hardly far from a 'disgrace' yourselves. However, think of it from our point of view, we have a massive amount of games around the Dublin area. Dublin clubs rarely have to leave Dublin therefore it's easier for them to go to a game outside Dublin(even just for the novelty factor of getting the train/bus etc. to a game as opposed to just going to the other side of the city). So with the number of games we play around Dublin, Bray wouldn't be high on the list for a lot of fans to go to (poor standard of game) as opposed to playing the likes of Bohs or Shams, so people will pick and choose which Dublin area game to go to as more than likely they cant make them all and Bray wouldn't be highly rated as I said.

Ezeikial
14/03/2011, 9:59 AM
Some strange results so far - Bohs struggle to beat Drogheda at home but beat Bray easily enough in Bray, who themselves then beat Pat's in Richmond. Derry by all accounts (that I heard from people last Friday) put it up to Sligo in the Brandywell and were unlucky not to win, but were then very sluggish against us. Could be a more open league than was expected (bar top spot, which I think is odds on).

I think that you can put Pats and Dundalk into that 'uncertain' category.

Pats turn over Galway comprehensively and then come undone against Bray at home. Trouncing by Cliftonville 3-0 despite apparently dominating the game.

Dundalk have major defensive question marks. A single clean sheet in 5 competitive games. Conceded 4 in the 3 Setanta games and 5 in two league games. Guthrie has been very poor so far and Nathan Murphy struggling at left back (Osborn out with a hamstring injury). Thankfully the goals are being put away at the other end - Quigley 4, Kearns 3, Byrne 2, and 1 each from Gaynor and Guthrie.

The next few weeks will be very interesting to give us more of a clue about the likely contenders for order of the league from 1st to 7th places.

HulaHoop
14/03/2011, 9:59 AM
I certainly wouldn't be of the opinion the league is wrapped up after two games. What I've seen so far is us being the poorer side against Dundalk when it was 11 v 11 and unlucky not to have been 2 down before Dundalk's keeper was sent off. Then in the second game we have Mannus to thank for Sligo not scoring goals against us. Both games could have had very different results so in no way do I believe we are going to have it all our own way this season however I don't believe it was an accident we won both games.

harleyleeds
14/03/2011, 10:22 AM
well said HH very true so the others need to do the same . Rovers had a win in Derry that was by all accounts very similar and Im sure there will be many shocks to come during the season . Anyway heres to an entertaining season .

14/03/2011, 10:26 AM
I think that you can put Pats and Dundalk into that 'uncertain' category.
Yep - was surprised to see ye struggle against Galway (going purely on the score, mind). Are they any good? And I had mentioned Pat's (albeit briefly), but yeah - they go and win easily in Galway and lose to Bray, while ye do well against Rovers with 11 men, get a superb away win against Linfield and then struggle against Galway.

Could be a fun season.

marinobohs
14/03/2011, 11:24 AM
Seeing as there were other games on at the weekend too...
Bohs only beating Drogheda 1-0 was a bit of a surprise. Was it a case of Drogheda holding out resolutely, or are Bohs just bad this year?

Bohs were actually quite comfortable against Drogs on every barometer EXCEPT the one that counts - Goals. And far more dominent on friday than we were at Bray. Bohs still gelling as a team and far from contenders for anything. Drogheda looked very limited and I suspect a long, difficult, season ahead for them.
Pats result a real surprise, especially with a two goal lead, I suspect many teams are still gelling and it will be another couple of weeks before we get anything like consistency,

dublinred
14/03/2011, 12:07 PM
I certainly wouldn't be of the opinion the league is wrapped up after two games. What I've seen so far is us being the poorer side against Dundalk when it was 11 v 11 and unlucky not to have been 2 down before Dundalk's keeper was sent off. Then in the second game we have Mannus to thank for Sligo not scoring goals against us. Both games could have had very different results so in no way do I believe we are going to have it all our own way this season however I don't believe it was an accident we won both games.

Entertaining game in the showgrounds big crowd good atmosphere , McGuinness gifted Shams the first goal and looked very nervous all night looks like the sort of player who would inspire heart attacks we will badly miss Jim Laughlan. We had some great chances in the first half but could not get past MOM Mannus , considering how attack minded we are Shams did not create many chances hopefully this will be their downfall against teams who park the bus in front of them . Shocking refereeing again standards seem to be getting worse , Oman should of walked in first half , twigg should of had a peno bizarre decision near the end when we fouled a shams player the ref played advantage then lino flagged for offside when the next shams player touched the ball.

poster
14/03/2011, 12:45 PM
Plus you always bring a disgraceful amount of fans to the Carlisle.

I think bringing our usual 150-200 to Bray, a three hour journey on a Friday night is pretty respectable.:dazed:

hoopy
14/03/2011, 12:46 PM
Hilarious stuff on here. You try to tell the truth and it's arrogance. Perhaps I should've just said the usual soundbyte we hear from managers, and fans who haven't the b****s to say what's looking them in the face. If we don't win the league this season it'll be a total shock, everyone knows that so why not just say it as it is? We've hugely improved our side from an already title winning one, while our supposed nearest rivals from Sligo are no better. Unfortunately the usual bitter reds on here as per usual just can't take it when we beat them and try to blame everyone else on it. And as usual they're joined by the same Rovers haters from other clubs who will gladly jump in at any moment to have a go. All the talk of it being the refs fault on Saturday from Sligo, I'd have a bit of respect if one of them came on and questioned why their players were sent out to dive at every chance, ably assisted by the 'aul wan shouts from the stands and their manager in trying to get players carded for any physical contact whatsoever. Roll on friday and a proper rivalry.

poster
14/03/2011, 1:15 PM
Unfortunately the usual bitter reds on here as per usual just can't take it when we beat them and try to blame everyone else on it.

Where's this?

hoopy
14/03/2011, 1:31 PM
Where's this?

I assumed reading this thread it was all the refs fault, and our fans arrived in Sligo just like the Vikings arrived in Dublin and did the same damage, which obviously affected the result. Never ming the blatant peno Twigg didn't get or the clash of heads with Oman and your player that Sligo fans continue to see as a deliberate elbow.
Interesting contrasting this thread to the cup final one and the different reactions to a defeat. Anyhow, May 6th isn't really that far away to get your revenge.

poster
14/03/2011, 1:41 PM
Noone blamed Shams or the ref. We played one up front against a slow defence, hoofed balls from the line into Blinkhorn, got our tactics all wrong. We'll see the incident again tonight but from what I saw Oman should have gone for both incidents. If it was rolls reversed I'd consider Alan Keane a very very luck boy to stay on the field.

No Sligo Rovers fan on here, or on our own forum is blaming anyone else but our team and our bad luck.

hoopy
14/03/2011, 1:51 PM
Give Colinf a ring when you get a chance, just to make sure he didn't do anything drastic last night after his rant :doctor:

poster
14/03/2011, 1:59 PM
No,I'm still searching for the posts that say it was the refs fault.

bluemovie
14/03/2011, 2:13 PM
Lock this please. It hurts my brain.

Mine too. I think the gist of it is either "Rovers will win the league and Sligo are sore losers" or else it's "Rovers play the best football and Shams are arrogant thugs". Wait, no, that's still confusing :(

hoopy
14/03/2011, 2:14 PM
I misunderstood, reading this and other website comments from Sligo fans I didn't realise you were all just making a general point in slaughtering the ref and our fans. I had stupidly assumed you were just being your bitter selves and couldn't accept losing to us. My mistake so :sarcastic:

14/03/2011, 2:26 PM
Twigg's fall looked like a dive to me.

Glad to see the Shams boycott of foot.ie going from strength to strength

14/03/2011, 3:32 PM
Mine too. I think the gist of it is either "Rovers will win the league and Sligo are sore losers" or else it's "Rovers play the best football and Shams are arrogant thugs". Wait, no, that's still confusing :(

I think it's a great thread...the humour that can be had when Rovers win in Sligo is never-ending :cool2:

14/03/2011, 3:37 PM
I still reckon Limerick were lucky to get out of Finn Park with a point.............................

14/03/2011, 3:44 PM
I still reckon Limerick were lucky to get out of Finn Park with a point.............................

I agree, Sam, but if Oman had been sent off, it would have been different:party:

hoopy
14/03/2011, 3:52 PM
I agree, Sam, but if Oman had been sent off, it would have been different:party:

Get that man a beer :D

PartySaint
14/03/2011, 4:02 PM
On our indifferent start to the season, The first game against Clifftonville we dominated the game but just couldn't take our chances, Dominated the second game even more but that was to be expected as they were missing a lot of players and were perfectly happy to let us have the ball and just sit back ( they didn't have 1 shot in the whole game), The Galway game we were poor in the first half and despite talk of trying to plya a different style of football this season we hoofed it for the whole first half, Came out in the second half and played some really nice stuff and deserved the win

This is what I was expecting to see against Bray but every player to a man was poor even at 1 and 2-0, Twas the same hoofball we had seen in the first half against Galway

Personally im dreading Friday but living in the hope the team surprises me again and get a result out of the game