View Full Version : Here we go again.

Pages : 1 2 [3]

28/05/2004, 3:33 PM
To be fair Max wasnt accusing Derry fans of breaking seats he was just saying (rightly or wrongly) in response to what Maribor posted about having a photo of unsecured seating that how did we know it was Flancare, he didnt say anything about Derry fans doing anything. I was sat near ye, over the far side, I would've heard ye breaking them!!

Candystripe
28/05/2004, 3:39 PM
I stand by what I said in that Derry were wrong in trying to look for something extra. Derry got an A licence, great, Derry went out and spent €20,000 on a player, plus bringing in a bigish squad and now lie near the bottom of the table and are playing terrible football. So they decide that they were unfairly treated etc.... As I said, if Derry were near the top of the league then we would have not heard a whisper from them.

As Derry fans have already mentioned we have a fan forum every months where the manager, chairman, other bord members and players answer questions from supporters.

We have been talking about this issue even before the season started, saying that it was not fair for other teams to play in the Premier Division (and hence qualify for Europe again) as they didn't have the Licence.

To say we are now using this as an excuse for our poor season is simply factually incorrect, as we have been trying to get this sorted with the FAI since before a ball was kicked this season.

28/05/2004, 3:46 PM
I was tempted to get involved in this debate but reading posts from the likes of 'macy' i didn't bother, as talking to him would be a terrible waste of my time.

What a sad little person.

Long time since I've been called little.... Infairness some of the things I brought up were clearly wind-up's, however I do think some of the points were valid. Like the point about what would Derry be saying if it was Ollie threatening such action? Or the point it should stand to Derry that they were first to get the licence - the money they've spent this season is proof of that, if not the results on the pitch.

28/05/2004, 5:15 PM
This mad debate brings back great memories of the time Gavin Dykes moved to Derry City from Sligo Rovers eight years ago when Sligo were lookin for a fee and didnt because Derry woulddnt pay up due to an EU LAW(think it was Bosman) allowing for a free movement for out of contract players.

rem the big rumpus that caused! ah the memories! :p :p

28/05/2004, 5:23 PM
Following a meeting of the FAI Licencing Appeals Body this morning, UEFA ‘A’ Licences have been awarded to Shelbourne, Cork City and Bohemians to participate in UEFA competitions this year.

Longford Town have also been awarded a Licence to play in Europe at an alternative licenced ground.

FAI Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Fran Rooney, congratulated the clubs concerned and said that the decision was extremely important for the future development of the game in Ireland. "I now look forward to more clubs achieving the ‘A’ Licence standard in the coming months and we will continue to work with the clubs in this regard’ Mr. Rooney said.

That's that over with than. Where will Longford end up playing?

Enda M
28/05/2004, 5:46 PM
out of those id pick dalymount

28/05/2004, 5:48 PM
Well remember Marthinho

The fact that we got Keddy, Purdy and O'Dowd as well meant we had the league ranged against us

dortie
28/05/2004, 6:03 PM
you'll be sooooooooooooooo welcome at all ell grounds this season....

Do you think we are fecking worried mate ?? Particularly not by a group of Longford slabbers. You in particular with your FG political views...

BTW: WEL DONE to Bohs and even $hels.....Im sure Cork will be there abouts soon.

corkharps
28/05/2004, 9:54 PM
:D :D
Roddys at it again!He'll do anything to get the Derry lads talking about something other than the disasterous last few seasons.And ofcourse the Derry wans are going to defend their club,the same as the rest of us would do,even when the actions are indefencable(We at Harps know a thing or two bout that! :o )
He's made bad decisions on managers and its costing Derry a small fortune in gate receipts etc.But hey its not his fault the whole FAI and El are out to get you!
Can Roddy publish exactly how much Derry spent on gaining the A licence, and what it was spent on? I doubt it very much.

Smokescreens boys!

BTW youre ****e! :D

dortie
29/05/2004, 6:57 AM
BTW youre ****e! :D

Again, Harps fans being smug.

May I remind you that your always ****e, year after year.

29/05/2004, 10:08 AM
:when the actions are indefencable

Aye, see them indefencable actions :D :D :D

29/05/2004, 10:19 AM
From today's Indo

"UEFA may examine FAI over new licences to thrill
Saturday May 29th 2004
ADVERTISEMENT

UEFA may order an investigation into the awarding of A Licences to Ireland's four eircom League representatives for this season's European club competitions.

That follows the decision of the FAI Licensing Appeals Body to award UEFA A Licences to Shelbourne, Bohemians and Cork City and to allow Longford Town play in the UEFA Cup, albeit at an alternative licenced ground after Flancare Park failed to pass muster.

FAI Chief Executive Fran Rooney, who has been involved in extensive negotiations with UEFA's Club Licensing Department, said last night he would welcome any queries. "I hope they (UEFA) do that because there is nothing to hide," said Rooney.

The four European representatives received First Division, or B Licences, last February from the FAI and were entitled to apply for an A Licence.

The FAI Appeals Body met on Thursday to discuss the four applications but could not make a decision because they didn't have a quorum.

They met yesterday morning at 7am and a new member was co-opted onto the Appeals Body even though section 2.2.3. of the Licensing Manual states that vacancies must be filled by the FAI's Board of Management.

According to Rooney, FAI President Milo Corcoran had sought the approval of the Board for the co-option.

Rooney added that he has yet to see a letter from Derry City's solicitors demanding compensation from the FAI for their failure to benefit from becoming the first club to attain an A Licence.

Derry would have been nominated by the FAI to play in Europe this season had any of the four qualifiers failed in their applications to the Appeals Body. A copy of Derry's letter has also been sent to UEFA and its understood that they are closely monitoring events in Ireland.

If a licence has been awarded incorrectly, the club concerned could face a European ban.

Gerry McDermott"

29/05/2004, 1:20 PM
They met yesterday morning at 7am and a new member was co-opted onto the Appeals Body even though section 2.2.3. of the Licensing Manual states that vacancies must be filled by the FAI's Board of Management.

The FAI breaking their own rules....surprise, surprise. Hopefully because they're messing with UEFA this time it won't be swept under the carpet like what usually happens. For once, I'd love to see an FAI rule actually being enforced.

If a licence has been awarded incorrectly, the club concerned could face a European ban.

Harsh.

29/05/2004, 7:28 PM
Harsh.

You can say that again !!

29/05/2004, 10:17 PM
Derry City have a neck to look to qualify for Europe via the back door.
When they only embarrass the League every time they do qualify
and they only avoided relegation by a whisker last season in the bargain.

dortie
30/05/2004, 1:56 PM
When they only embarrass the League every time they do qualify

You embarrass the league with your very existance.

Saturday morning league clubs in Derry have more support.

UCD=JOKE

30/05/2004, 3:24 PM
Every club that was awarded a Licence had to comply with the manual, there was definitely no rules being broken there. If they want to follow procedures again, the same decisions will be made so i dont see why any club should be punished

30/05/2004, 6:34 PM
So it's the old support chestnut is it?
Where for that matter have all your crowds disappeared to ?
I seem to remember when your lot had a travelling support.
Ah that was back in the days when you used to win things ... now I get it.

Supporters do not guarantee the quality of the team. They don't on the whole play for the team ( except maybe for Limerick Under 21's)
And we have held our own for the past 25 years in the League and have never gone bankrupt. We manage our internal affairs correctly and do not have asbestos anywhere in our ground.

And we shall survive a spell in Division One. I wonder how well your club will manage when they eventually go back to Division One/

What is your capacity again 2,300?
Well it's just as well as your fairweather support has vanished as quickly as it appeared in 1985.

30/05/2004, 7:09 PM
Lads, dont go down that road ... FFS .... they aren't a whole lot of club doing ANYTHING to draw in support from the general public.

corkharps
30/05/2004, 10:18 PM
Aye, see them indefencable actions :D :D :D

Maribor,
I bow to your Queens University knowledge of the Queens English! :p

How much did Derry spend and on what?

BTW I hope youre not studying Law up there if you think ye have a case with this bull! :D

01/06/2004, 1:37 PM
only Derry and Galway to question the FAI's handling of the appeal process and i believe other clubs are up in arms over the way Fran Rooney brought in a lady outside assessor the night after the first appeals commitee meeting was cancelled and she was allowed sit in despite after only getting the UEFA regulations less than 12 hourds before the 7am meeting on friday.

Ive said before the UEFA licence committee has to be totally seperate from the influence of the clubs and the FAI for it to sort out the mess that is the eircom league but unfortunately taht looks like its not the case anymore.

If we are to move forward as a league that can go to Government for Grants and to Businesses for Sponsorship we have to have credibility and proper governance hopefully the chance that the UEFA Licence gave us to achieve this has not been thrown away for the short term solution to 4 clubs problems. :mad: :mad: :mad:

01/06/2004, 3:33 PM
You could be treading on thin ice there t. If that is the case, it doesn't necessarily mean that the clubs didn't achieve the required standard.

Did other clubs go in for the Licence again?

And all the conspiracy theories relating to the timining of the meeting - it was as late as it could be due to the UEFA deadlines, and that could've been the reasoning for co-opting someone onto the board late.

In any case, one member could've been outvoted, or are you saying we can't trust the rest of the board that you held in such high esteem only a couple of weeks ago.

At this stage, it's hard to believe anything you say, given you've had it in for Rooney since he even took over, and inparticular since the Dillon resignation. You're constantly spinning on MB's for the anti-Rooney side.

01/06/2004, 4:08 PM
It doesnt matter what they harp on about, the manual was being fully enforced. Another club was in for an appeal for an A licence and they didnt get it. As i've said on numerous occasions what is so difficult about the concept that other clubs could be up to standard? If your clubs came out and publicly stated what you're suggesting, they'd be open to a slander/defamation suit so you're on thin ice..

01/06/2004, 8:16 PM

I have no problem with them getting people on the board in order to ensure a quorum but to seemingly disregard their own rules for this has to leave questions in the air as regards their motives

02/06/2004, 8:10 AM

I have no problem with them getting people on the board in order to ensure a quorum but to seemingly disregard their own rules for this has to leave questions in the air as regards their motives
But Maribor, it was urgent as they had to give UEFA the list of clubs competing. It doesn't mean that the clubs didn't meet the standards. Thought you'd been around enough MB's to have copped gufct's stance on all things Rooney by now - Mr Impartial he ain't.

02/06/2004, 10:55 PM

I wasn't using gufct's post as a base for a comment, merely that you have to say that that Indo article as well as the rumours of the last few days suggests that there are questions to be answered.

I have no problem with the urgency of the meeting- if the clubs had done to work for the original deadline there would have been no need for this meeting

Any club in our situation would have done the same, as most people in Derry don't really care about a European spot, it is about not getting shafted any more by a League who profess for professionalism then disregard it