View Full Version : Here we go again.
From the Times...
Derry City yesterday informed the FAI, through their solicitors, that the club will take legal action in the event that it does not receive either one of Ireland's places in next season's UEFA Cup or compensation. Club officials claim they are entitled to the place on the basis that the Brandywell was the only one in the EL to achieve UEFA's A licence standard
Derry can fúck off back to the Irish League - everyone gives out about Ollie, but this really is as low as a club can go. Might as well not bother with actually playing the league or cup if this is the way forward.
Jim Roddy, now officially a bigger dick than Ollie.
dortie
27/05/2004, 8:44 AM
From the Times...
Derry can fúck off back to the Irish League - everyone gives out about Ollie, but this really is as low as a club can go. Might as well not bother with actually playing the league or cup if this is the way forward.
Jim Roddy, now officially a bigger dick than Ollie.
Why you so worried, that brilliant stadium of yours should get the A license no bother, or is it that your finances are all fecked up.
As for your pathetic 'fúck off back to the Irish league'.....the only reason Id consider it as a fan would be to avoid travelling to the ****hole that is Longford.
27/05/2004, 8:51 AM
Club officials can claim all they want, the fact is they're wrong.
You can only get into European competition based on League or Cup success. You may be excluded if your stadium is not up to scratch, but you can't be included just because you have the licence.
Informing the FAI of their plans through their solicitors implies that they're willing to go down the legal road, I hope they do, then lose and it costs them so much they lose their A licence, it's what the board there deserve for this rubbish.
dortie
27/05/2004, 8:57 AM
Club officials can claim all they want, the fact is they're wrong.
You can only get into European competition based on League or Cup success. You may be excluded if your stadium is not up to scratch, but you can't be included just because you have the licence.
Informing the FAI of their plans through their solicitors implies that they're willing to go down the legal road, I hope they do, then lose and it costs them so much they lose their A licence, it's what the board there deserve for this rubbish.
Tell me this.........What was the point in us obtaining an A license ? You people are in fact contributing to the amateur nature of this league, think about it. I sat in the City hotel in Derry 2 years prior to the license and listened to the biggest pile of crap about what the FAI/Eircom League would do to any club who failed to meet the criteria. We actually believed them, how foolish....we should have spent all the money on players wages, sure what the hell is the point of an A license anyway.
we should have spent all the money on players wages, sure what the hell is the point of an A license anyway.
Now you've got the licence, and spending money on players you're doing so much better :rolleyes:
The FAI should not be held to ransom by one club, and if it comes to a choice of that club in the league or not, then you can fúck off. It's all about self-interest as much as anything else, something Derry have been quick to accuse the league and other clubs of. Double standards? Bringing a case to court is hardly for the good of the league.
btw Roddy is obviously bottling out of taking on Ollie - if he really believed in the arguement he's putting forward he'd be going for the Champions League qualifier spot wouldn't he?
27/05/2004, 9:21 AM
Tell me this.........What was the point in us obtaining an A license ?
why quote me? your post has nothing to do with what I had written, but to answer your question... :confused:
the point of you having an 'A' licence is so that minimum standards are improved across european leagues and so that you can play in Europe WHEN YOU QUALIFY through a league or cup competition. :eek:
27/05/2004, 9:46 AM
We're probably going to be informed that we've achieved A standard in the other criteria apart from the ground on Monday (fingers crossed), all we have to do is cover 67 more seats, put in a medical room and a control room, all of which we should get done by mid June..Hey presto A licence, a la half closed Brandywell.We can nominate a ground which is up to Euro standard to play our game in and should our ground be ready before the game we can apply to have it switched back to Longford up to one week before the game.As regards UEFA Cup the rules of the competition, as Fran Rooney pointed out in very clear terms to Roddy last time he got on his high horse, state that you must have qualified ON the field..As a previous poster said you can be excluded for not being up to standard but you cant be included simply because you are up to standard, despite not having qualified on the field no matter what Roddy may think
Drogman.
27/05/2004, 9:57 AM
Same old Derry. If they can't do it fairly then they want to bring in the legal boys! This has been happening since Jim and his buddies tried to get us kicked out of the league because Derry were in danger of relegation and we were not.
All this A Licence bo**ox, we passed all the criteria except the ground, and we are in the middle of sorting that out AFAIK. This is just another attempt by a sh**e club to cheat their way into getting more money!
trevy
27/05/2004, 10:26 AM
He seems like a right p****k.He was on the Star a few months ago moaning that they were the only team to get an A license and that other clubs weren't happy for them.What did he want,a premier league with just one team in it.If they were daft enough to think the FAI were going to enforce this,thats their own tough.They closed down most of the ground to get the license anyway.If they finish bottom of the table,he'll probably want to avoid relegation because'we got an A license first'.Football should be decided on the pitch and Derry are struggling on it so its a handy way out.
dortie
27/05/2004, 10:29 AM
Same old Derry. If they can't do it fairly then they want to bring in the legal boys! This has been happening since Jim and his buddies tried to get us kicked out of the league because Derry were in danger of relegation and we were not.
All this A Licence bo**ox, we passed all the criteria except the ground, and we are in the middle of sorting that out AFAIK. This is just another attempt by a sh**e club to cheat their way into getting more money!
Sure if there is nothing illegal in 'our claim' it wont go anywhere, whats the problem.
Im laughing at a Drogheda fan calling us a ****e club. Who are Drogheda ?? Where they a big club once or are they good now because they are in the premier league for 3 years in a row.
dortie
27/05/2004, 10:34 AM
They closed down most of the ground to get the license anyway..
WRONG......We closed down half the ground for Health and Safety purposes in compliance with the Derry City Council.
BTW: Our terrace is 100 times better than the likes of Drogheda, Waterford and Pats grounds.........so if we had to close it down because of the A license these clubs are truly fecked.
Drogman.
27/05/2004, 10:59 AM
Fair enough Dortie, you may have a better history than us but its the present that counts and I'm only going on current and recent form.
Put it this way, if Derry were in the top 3 this season, would they have been shouting for Drogheda to be kicked out? or for them to be put into europe instead of the other teams who qualified FAIRLY? I think the answer you may find is no, they f**king wouldn't!
27/05/2004, 11:03 AM
Macy the first to jump on the anti-Derry City wagon? Shock horror there
The board discussed this course of action with the fans at public forums on numerous occasions. They explained what reasons were behind it and how we had been silent for too long on the issue. If the League is prepared to disregard the conditions on the Licence then why the hell should we not seek compensation?
No- Derry didn't want a one team Premier Division. We aregued for a single division for all the clubs, as everyone bar us has a B licence. Therefore how could there be a differentiation between "Premier" and "First"?
Derry have sat quiet too long on this one. We let the League get away with at the AGM as we apparently could have taken legal action to stop the league from starting at that stage. We worked our balls off for two years to get the licence and the League went "Jaysus lads, is that the deadline already? Don't worry about it, we'll fudge it". The clubs voted for the proposals, the clubs were bound by them, they didn't adhere to them so they should suffer the consequences.
We are taking league action if we don't get one of the places, the only way clubs in the League can be admitted to UEFA Competitions at the minute is through extraordinary admission. Therefore as A licence holders we have as much right as the other "B" licence holders to apply for admission.
People moan and moan about this league not sticking to rules and twisting and turning their way to get out of it. The when some club stands up and says- "The League was wrong" everybody goes bananas. What way do you want it lads.
PS. Longfordian, the Licensing body might be interested in the photos of the unsecured seating that I took when I was down at the last game
27/05/2004, 11:07 AM
Drogman
That point regarding us being in the Top 3 is a non entity. The board were investigating the possibility of legal action before the season started.
dortie
27/05/2004, 11:10 AM
People moan and moan about this league not sticking to rules and twisting and turning their way to get out of it. The when some club stands up and says- "The League was wrong" everybody goes bananas. What way do you want it lads.
EXACTLY MY POINT KEV............!!!
kevin_devine
27/05/2004, 11:19 AM
It wouldn't take much to fix your ground its about the size of my back garden!!! YOur ground is sh*te
27/05/2004, 11:30 AM
PS. Longfordian, the Licensing body might be interested in the photos of the unsecured seating that I took when I was down at the last game
Would that be the seating thats being closed off after the Rovers game..Do you not relise that there's a derogation on the infrastructure part of the licence until the end of next season. we were told that by the licensing committee. No club was refused on infrastructure alone,if you had the necessary work done then fair play to you, if not you but you had everything else in place then you'd get an A licence with sanction, every other club was lacking something else, I know what we were missing and believe me there's been a lot of blood sweat and tears gone into putting them right.
"Therefore as A licence holders we have as much right as the other "B" licence holders to apply for admission."
How do you figure that? did you qualify ON the field? No. Second in the league? No. Cup winners ? No. runners up with the winners being in the Champions League? No. Winners of another domestic competition specified in advance to UEFA as qualifying clubs? No. Fair Play entrants? No. The regulations are specific, i read them yesterday, Clubs must qualify through one of those methods. The Licence is a means of exluding those not up to standard, not admitting those that are. There may be no entrants in the UEFA Cup from Ireland (They will be in the competition) but you can still not be nominated instead. Blather all you like, as Roddy loves to point out rules are rules.
P.S Nothing personal against Derry, its just that your argument is wrong.
Actually I took it off the Rovers board, where incidentally most thought you were wrong as well :p
One thing you haven't answered is why you're not looking for the Champions League spot off Shels? Why only the UEFA Cup? Scared of Ollie?
27/05/2004, 11:53 AM
One thing you haven't answered is why you're not looking for the Champions League spot off Shels? Why only the UEFA Cup? Scared of Ollie?
He intially demanded the Champions League spot at the start of the season,that was when he went home disappointed by his meeting with Rooney, must reckon we're an easier target..
But I thought it was the principle, surely the only A licence holders should be in the top competition. :rolleyes:
27/05/2004, 12:02 PM
Maybe we can settle this the way Pats/Shels did..Make Derry Licensing Champions of Ireland and build a statue to Jim Roddy in Merrion Square :)
27/05/2004, 12:10 PM
as A licence holders we have as much right as the other "B" licence holders to apply for admission.
Maribor, i do sympathise to a degree, but that statement is rubbish. Derry have no right whatsoever to European football this year, because they didn't qualify, pure and simple.
The compensation issue is separate.
You've spent money on the improvements to get the licence, and the FAI allow teams who have not achieved it (and spent money strengthening their squads in the meantime) to compete in the prem. If they've gained an advantage on you there, and it can be proven to stem from a lack of cash, you might have a case for compensation.
But you're not doing yourselves any favours with the 'we should be in Europe' line.
27/05/2004, 12:14 PM
To be honest lads
I have no idea why it is only UEFA Cup entrants.
Longfordian/Macy etc- not trying to be sly about this but was there not a problem with the pitch being too short as well?
27/05/2004, 12:26 PM
I just have to laugh at all the Derry fans who are constantly getting on their high horse about Ollie who are now trying to defend this :D
liamon
27/05/2004, 12:33 PM
Derry don't stand a chance of getting into next years UEFA cup or any other Euro comp as they don't fulfill the necessary requirements, ie not having sufficent league position or cup win.
At present, Shels, Longford, etc. don't fulfil the requirements due to lack of a licence.
Only 2 possible outcomes -
no Irish representation in Europe this year
Temp exemption and the teams that qualified on the pitch take part.
No hope for Derry and any legal challenge will simply be a waste of money for the club and the FAI.
2005 may be far more interesting though. If Derry are the only ones with the necessary licence to take part in this years Premier league, then they may argue that they deserve to win this years league by default and thereby qualify for Europe next year.
TheSaint2002
27/05/2004, 12:35 PM
A licence my bo**ox the brandywell is a kip a wait a minute cos im not claiming that Richer is Parc des Princes or anything but come on, away fans get put in the most **** part of a football ground I have ever had the misfortune of sitting in you cant see the fu**king game and the stewards jump on you like dogs if you attempt to stand and look at the game,one of the terraces is closed and the ground like all other EL one is **** so don’t come off all high and mighty with your A licence because yous can stick it worst experience at a eircom league ground in my life was our last trip to derry,I apologize for the abruptness of my language but Derry suddenly think they are masters of the universe because they have a empty A licence well woopedooooo :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
27/05/2004, 12:36 PM
Only 2 possible outcomes -
no Irish representation in Europe this year
Temp exemption and the teams that qualified on the pitch take part.
there's a third.
all home Euro games played at Landsdowne (or the brandywell ;) ). clubs can nominate a stadium that is not their home as a possible venue so the clubs can nominate Landsdowne to play thier games if the licence (or required derogation) doesn't come through in time.
27/05/2004, 1:19 PM
What we've been working on over the past number of weeks is complying with the criteria of the licence bar infrastructure as we (and by we I mean the four clubs) were told by Fran Rooney and by the licensing committee that if we were of A standard in the other four criteria and nominated a stadium which is UEFA approved, (Tolka is UEFA approved even though its not fully A standard), then we would be allowed take part in the competition. If we didn't meet the other criteria we wouldn't be allowed in.
As of last night things were looking good as regards us meeting the requirements. the licensing Committe meets today to make their recommendations. Hopefully we are recommended as passing those criteria. We then nominate Tolka, Lansdowne and Flancare and see if we cant get a possibly smaller capacity Flancare up to standard in time for the game. If we dont then we play in Tolka or Lansdowne.
Maribor-you're right the pitch was 1m too short, we've got room to move the goalposts back and we are doing that. If this grant comes through, which the FAI have said will come through if we can get up to standard in every other area then we should get an A Licence reasonably quickly. If that doesnt come through then we'll have get up to 1500 seats covered, put in a drug testing room and a control room and a couple of other small things then we get a full A Licence. A serious amount of rubbish has had to be dealt with for us to be even this close to the standard and hopefully we'll be able to go the rest of the way pretty quickly.
Wiseguy
27/05/2004, 1:49 PM
I have to say but this is very bad form from Derry.Congratulations on your 'A' licence but how in the name of god it is percieved that this entitles you to European football is beyond me.All this 'A' licence represents is that the club should it qualify on the pitch for a European comp your club is up to the required standard.I always liked Derry as a club and admired there supporters but this is f ucking low.If you want to play in Europe then qualify on the pitch.For a club like ourselves who have worked so hard to achive what we have achived and then have a club like yourselves try and take some of that away is just sour grapes.Everyone in this league should be pulling together but i suppose it's like everything else,there is always someone to stab you in the back.You shoud be more worried about the state your club is in on the pitch and not worry about other clubs affairs off it.I wonder what will happen when you are relegated this season.
27/05/2004, 1:55 PM
Lads,
The failure to address the central point is still there
Everyone moans about this league not having rules and clubs bending them when its suits them and then wehn someone stands up and says "This was wrong" there is a witch hunt.
There are 21 clubs with a B licence- why was there a Premier and First Divison this year. Galway amongst others were with Derry in lobbying for the introduction of a single division but surprise surprise the Dublin clubs didn't agree with it. As I says, apparently we could have taken out an injunction at that stage to prevent the league from starting.
The licence has been allowed to fade away and if anything this will bring it smack bang into the public domain once more
Honestly I don't think we will get a UEFA Cup place but if Ollie can get €100k for a ref not sending a player off then we might as well fight our corner
BTW- I was on the record as supporting Shels and Ollie over Marneygate at the time. We may not have liked it but Pats broke the rules and Ollie was right to go after them so don't attempt
27/05/2004, 2:26 PM
The board discussed this course of action with the fans at public forums on numerous occasions. They explained what reasons were behind it and how we had been silent for too long on the issue. If the League is prepared to disregard the conditions on the Licence then why the hell should we not seek compensation?
No- Derry didn't want a one team Premier Division. We aregued for a single division for all the clubs, as everyone bar us has a B licence. Therefore how could there be a differentiation between "Premier" and "First"?
Derry have sat quiet too long on this one. We let the League get away with at the AGM as we apparently could have taken legal action to stop the league from starting at that stage. We worked our balls off for two years to get the licence and the League went "Jaysus lads, is that the deadline already? Don't worry about it, we'll fudge it". The clubs voted for the proposals, the clubs were bound by them, they didn't adhere to them so they should suffer the consequences.
We are taking league action if we don't get one of the places, the only way clubs in the League can be admitted to UEFA Competitions at the minute is through extraordinary admission. Therefore as A licence holders we have as much right as the other "B" licence holders to apply for admission.
proof of unsecured seating, and that would have proof of date on it and proof the picture was takin in flancare and that it wasn't just broken by soemone to take that certain pic .....was this fault reported to a steward ???
dortie
27/05/2004, 2:29 PM
A licence my bo**ox the brandywell is a kip a wait a minute cos im not claiming that Richer is Parc des Princes or anything but come on, away fans get put in the most **** part of a football ground I have ever had the misfortune of sitting in you cant see the fu**king game and the stewards jump on you like dogs if you attempt to stand and look at the game,one of the terraces is closed and the ground like all other EL one is **** so don’t come off all high and mighty with your A licence because yous can stick it worst experience at a eircom league ground in my life was our last trip to derry,I apologize for the abruptness of my language but Derry suddenly think they are masters of the universe because they have a empty A licence well woopedooooo :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
Whats this got to do with the fact we have an 'A license' and basically wasted our time achieving it ? What do you suggest we do, throw the hands in the air and sigh..."Damn why did we bother, but forget it at least we have our license'.....What is the point in gaining an A license ? Why did the league BACK down on the criteria ??
To be honest Id be happy with compensation.
And as for Richmond Park....the place is 10 times the kip the Brandywell is. Standing on a dusty hill behind a net or a tarmacaden 'terrace' with no roof is brilliant. Wise up.
TheSaint2002
27/05/2004, 2:39 PM
yous are the ones who should wise up at least we own our home (bar some minor leases) and having an so called a licence doesn’t give yous the right to have others thrown out of Europe after their hard work on the pitch the whole thing stinks, and Derry should be ashamed to go to such low antics to get a place in Europe. Just because yous have a glorious A licence yous think yous can run the show ala Oliver Byrne,anyway my club not in europe and I have no stake in the argument so the rest of yas can tear each other apart nobody helped us out bar Kilkenny when we were in trouble so I dont really care.
27/05/2004, 2:43 PM
If you want to play in Europe then qualify on the pitch.For a club like ourselves who have worked so hard to achive what we have achived and then have a club like yourselves try and take some of that away is just sour grapes.
But couldn't it be argued that we did qualify on the pitch? We are the highest placed Irish team eligible to enter a European competition. We mightn't have finished in the top 3, or won the Cup, but we qualify on the pitch by becoming the highest place club with an A License. The same would have been the case had Pats, Waterford, Shams and Drogs had an A License at the end of last season. They would have 'quailfied' by being the higest placed clubs with an A License, and should be admitted to Europe.
Personally, I don't think we should take a place off anyone. We should only be entered if either Longford, Shels, Bohs or Cork are denied entry to Europe and there's a spare European spot left.
I'd like to see us get compensation though. We put a **** load of effort into getting our A License, and the League backed down on it. We could have pumped that money into players. Instead, we did what we supposedly had to do,and got punished for it. We've nearly been relegated in the past 2 seasons because of it!
This totally examplifies the amateur nature of this League. We create rules then don't stick to them. How are we ever meant to progress?
27/05/2004, 2:46 PM
could it also be argued that your not in Ireland so you can't represent a country your not part of, that is a legal standpost and not a political one...
We've nearly been relegated in the past 2 seasons because of it!
Yeah, and your doing so much better this season having lashed out money on players. Over €20,000 on an unproven 1st division player
We create rules then don't stick to them. How are we ever meant to progress?
Going by the rules, all other clubs would be in the 1st division, and you would be playing in the premier on your own. That doesn't suit you, so you didn't go for it. You either accept the leagues decision or you don't - not pick and choose when it suits you.
Drogman.
27/05/2004, 3:00 PM
could it also be argued that your not in Ireland so you can't represent a country your not part of, that is a legal standpost and not a political one...
Ohh the Sh1t is going to hit the prevariable fan now :D
dortie
27/05/2004, 3:00 PM
Your going below the belt now alright, first its 'f eck off back to the Irish league' now its 'Your not in Ireland'.........listen to yourself. Unbelievable.
dortie
27/05/2004, 3:01 PM
Ohh the Sh1t is going to hit the prevariable fan now :D
Im not surprised one bit to be honest.
27/05/2004, 3:04 PM
well from a legal point, you play your home games in a differnet state name northern ireland, we live in ireland ( not the republic as the offical name is ireland under the contistiutuion).....
so from above it is clear to see you are not even in our state, forget all the troubles and british/ira/unionist stuff, you are not in ireland as the law stand so you can be removed at any time if the league and its members wish to...simple fact....
now i'm off for the evening to enjoy some fun with the beer fairy, enjoy.
27/05/2004, 3:05 PM
You're starting to sound like a Harps fan now, Max. What ****in age are ye? Coming out with ****e like that makes me think that taking your European spot off ye's wouldn't be such a bad idea.
Drogman.
27/05/2004, 3:08 PM
Im not surprised one bit to be honest.
Well whatever differences of opinions we have, and there are quiet alot of them, that comment was a bit uncalled for.
But that still doesn't change the fact that Derry have spent loads of money on players, more than some other clubs they claim have neglected their licence obligations and are still up sh1t creek in the league. Listen when this licence was first announced, everyone knew it would be a farce as the league is not run properly at all. Derry can put the blame on other clubs but when the FAI and league don't give a crap why should the clubs care also??
Which is why it would be wrong for them to be in europe instead of the other clubs.
27/05/2004, 3:09 PM
you are not in ireland as the law stand so you can be removed at any time if the league and its members wish to...simple fact...
Christ, gon listen to yourself mucker. Like it or not, we're as much part of the eL as youse are.
Except you get exempted from parts of the licence critea based on your location...
27/05/2004, 3:38 PM
Except you get exempted from parts of the licence critea based on your location...
I take it you're on about police? You're not seriously suggesting that we have the RUC in the Brandy? :rolleyes:
I'd have no problem with an acceptable police force present in the Brandy. (not that police are needed at the vast majority of eL matches mind)
Wasn't there financial documents that you got exempted on too? If the rest of us have to put up with a corrupt police force in our grounds, I don't see why you lot shouldn't as well...
27/05/2004, 3:49 PM
Here, instead of youse all givin Derry grief about having an A license and trying to get compensation or whatever for it...maybe some of you lads could ask why YOUR club DIDNT get it. Why did your club not bother its hole to do anything to get it? Everyone knew it had to be done but yet 21 clubs in this league done sweet f**k all to obtain it. If ye did this discussion wouldnt be necessary. So start asking questions closer to home.
27/05/2004, 3:54 PM
Wasn't there financial documents that you got exempted on too? If the rest of us have to put up with a corrupt police force in our grounds, I don't see why you lot shouldn't as well...
Jesus Macy yer as ignorant as you are bitter.
27/05/2004, 3:55 PM
There are some diffrences in financial regulations applying to us. We had to get our accounts verified in the north. The FAI then had to make sure that the regulations in the north were in line with those in the south, then approve our accounts.
All police forces are corrupt, the difference between the RUC and an Garda Síochána is that the Gardia aren't a sectarian force controlled by the British govt responsible for countless murders, beatings and torturings over recent years.
27/05/2004, 3:55 PM
Due to our "unique" position, we were not exempted from financial documentation- had to be filed in a special process which was unbelievably slow- hence the reason we weren't given a licence in the first place. Suppose it beats knowing you're going to struck off and not doing anything about it.......
The PSNI are in regular consultation with Derry City/FAI/Derry City Council and they themselves have deemed it unnecessary that there is a police presence in the ground. Our insurers are happy enough with it, the FAI are happy enough with it.
We were more than happy to go with one league of twenty two- we accepted the decision of the clubs to continue with 10/12 despite voting against it.
Max power- as for you seat breaking conspiracy,at least you gave me a laugh. Your right, I drove round the country to find a stadium with the same seats, removed every second bolt in the row, then set it up, with a team in Candystripes and another team in red and black playing in the background and the scoreboard. Then I got someone to sit down on the seat and take a photo as the whole row moved back and forwards. Grow up