View Full Version : Here we go again.

Pages : 1 [2] 3

27/05/2004, 3:58 PM
Surely the point is that each club, in order to get into Europe has to be up to A standard on all except infrastructure, and if your ground is not up to UEFA standard you cant use it for Europe, which could cost you financially (well us anyway, mightnt bother Dublin clubs).Its not as if the issues are not being dealt with and everyone is carrying on regardless of their Licence, a lot of hard work has been going on to get up to standard and if the grants had come through the infrastructure could have been well on the way by now. Its true clubs didnt take the Licence as seriously as they should have but thyre having to do so now, they're not just being allowed to ignore it. In fairness lads ye say ye didnt spend any money on players but ye were prepared to pay 30,000 for Lavine and 40,000 for McHugh, the fact that the bids weren't accepted doesnt mean ye didnt have any money for players..

27/05/2004, 4:00 PM
The PSNI are in regular consultaiton with Derry City/FAI/Derry City Council and they themselves have deemed it unnecessary that there is a police presence in the ground. Our insurers are happy enough with it, the FAI are happy enough with it.
Well I was more aiming at the Financial side of things, rather than the police... Got the desired effect though....

As for the rest of it, how do you know that the rest of the clubs didn't put in the effort. Some no doubt didn't, others did and just didn't get it. It's ridiculous for Derry fans to claim clubs like Longford haven't put effort into meeting licencing requirements - obviously part-timers who weren't in Flancare a few years ago, let alone in Abbeycartron. Much rather go on about some broken seats than the progress that has been made.

27/05/2004, 4:06 PM
Well Macy you should question your boards thoroughness. If they were more so, yer European place wouldnt be in "jeopardy".

27/05/2004, 4:10 PM
ok now you see what its like when some one talks through their ar*e, your chairman has been talking through it for some time now, arsenal didn't play at highbury a few years ago, no one wanted them thrown out, you cna play where ever you wish once the ground reaches the proper standards......

you have an A licence,thats a fact....

you did not qualify for europe....thats a fact also

get over it and wish your fellow clubs well, or you could find yourself not needing to cross the boarder to play your football as you might not be very welcome in OUR league any longer....

27/05/2004, 4:16 PM
get over it and wish your fellow clubs well, or you could find yourself not needing to cross the boarder to play your football as you might not be very welcome in OUR league any longer....

I think that alot of DCFC fans would prefer financial compensation as opposed to taking another teams place in Europe. If you went into the Derry forum you'd see that. But to suggest that we'd get thrown out of the league just because we contested something is just..well...laughable.

27/05/2004, 4:17 PM
Well Macy you should question your boards thoroughness. If they were more so, yer European place wouldnt be in "jeopardy".

Most problems our board may have had were mainly down to the negligence of previous committees. You remember what its like to have problems,you were days from going out of business if i remember rightly, and as for banging on about being struck off you'll find that the Limited company which wa struck off had nothing to do with running the club, it was late filing of paperwork, nothing more serious than that and it was reinstated handily enough. you weren't always the perfect club, just because some clubs fell a little short dont dismiss the effort that has been put in by them.

27/05/2004, 4:27 PM
Ok Longfordian thats fair enough...but...what penalty should be paid for NOT obtaining it? What ever about falling short and making an effort at getting it. Do you think there should be a penalty? If you miss a deadline in most things in life theres a price to pay. Have you looked at this whole mess from the Derry City point of view? Put Longford in Derrys position...would you not be ****ed at being shafted again by the FAI? And moreover, would you not do something about it?

27/05/2004, 5:38 PM
I can see where youre coming from and I could see why you would want to be compensated but I just dont agree with the argument that ye should be in Europe instead of a club that qualified on the field. If ye had just looking for monetary compensation then i'd say it was a matter between ye and the FAI but threatening to deprive another team of a place in the UEFA Cup is going too far in my opinion. As i said I can see why you feel aggrieved but trying to stop other clubs playing in Europe isnt the way to go.

Red_terror
27/05/2004, 5:47 PM
Macy as far as I can see your the typical muck savage fine gael supporter. By your comments you dont deserve to call yourself Irish never mind us british. We have risked relegation two years in a row to fufill ythe rules of this disgraceful corrupt league, do you expect us to sit and accept this ****e. Derry City must protect their interests and the interests of this league. CITY TIL I DIE!!

27/05/2004, 6:14 PM
Jebus ... where did that come out of.

I think the whole idea is mad to be honest and i'd regard it as Derry trying to get the best out of nothing. Which is kinda fair enough in another situation but to be honest, if you didn't qualify on the pitch (competing in games) then you shouldnt get a place, simple as.

Derry put alot in to get the A licence, but the fact that they are the only ones that have it right now (or they are the only club that has one YET) should not mean that they automatically get a place. It is like Derry trying to run off with the goal posts (as opposed to moving them)

After this season, that argument might change, but we'll cross that bridge when we come to it. And everyone will know where the goal posts are that season.

Thats just my take on it, and only an opinion.

I will say i am suprised at some of the Derry lads though, never had ye down for arguing this kinda thing.

Anyway .... lets sit back and relax and see where to one takes us all.

27/05/2004, 8:58 PM
you could find yourself not needing to cross the boarder to play your football as you might not be very welcome in OUR league any longer....

Max, what sort of a statement is that to make? That we are only guests of 'your' League and that we better keep our mouths shut and not complain or else we'll get sent packing by the FAI?
You seem to resent the fact that we were admitted into the LoI in the first place.

27/05/2004, 9:03 PM
See us Northerners

"Lisburn Distillery today confirmed they will go to court in order to gain a place in the Inter-Toto cup. The Whites finished third in the Irish Premiership and qualified for a place in the competition, but were turned down by the Irish FAs Independant Licensing Body, for failure to meet the criteria set down by UEFA. An appeal against the decision failed, but with Ballymena UTD waiting to replace them, Distillery are refusing to lie down"

A face-the Derry fans are four square behind this, the baord consulted with us and made us aware of the case and why we are pursuing it- therefore it is understandable that we are going to fight tooth and nail on internet boards to defend the position.

Some of the argument has been reasoned and those posters have been engaged and a fairly level headed debate has ensued. However some of the abuse regarding the Irish League and nationality was completely uncalled for but not altogether unexpected. Derry City are not using and will never use a "return to the Irish League" as a bargaining tool. The fans have been asked their opinions on this numerous times and the vast majority prefer to remain within the framework of the eircom League.

A number of respected posters on this and other board, especially those who have had practical experience of trying to implement the licence at their own clubs can see the validity of the case. While they may not agree with the course of action,and they are perfectly entitled not to, they at least understand Derry's furstration at the disregard for the licence which numerous clubs appear to have for the process.

If this debate does nothing other than bring the licence back front and central to the domestic game then it has already been worthwhile.

kevin_devine
27/05/2004, 9:58 PM
Firstly i rather see Derry get compensation rather than be entered in Europe as i feel money would go down better with Derry cause lets face if we went into Europe we would get tanked!!

Now i still think that as Derry are the only team to have the supposedly required A license you should not be bitching at us all as we have the upper hand on the whole league(not including on the pitch.)

Everyone was supposed to attain the A license and since only one club did so and the FAI didn't do anything about it, i feel it is a joke!!!

Just think if it was your club in our position then would you not feel the same woiuld you not want a reward instead of being bitched at???

If the other EL clubs had chairman like Jim Roddy it would be a far better league
Ye know Ollie would be looking for something!! :D :D :D

27/05/2004, 11:35 PM
A face-the Derry fans are four square behind this, the baord consulted with us and made us aware of the case and why we are pursuing it- therefore it is understandable that we are going to fight tooth and nail on internet boards to defend the position.

Yeah ... thats fair enough (when did the board consult you, i hope not last Monday, or something like that). But the thing is .... when you knew you were the only club with an A licence, why didn't you going booking flights etc. seeing as you knew you were guaranteed a spot in Europe. Why were the club going ot the papers and drumming up support etc. .... you'know .... all that goes with.

At the moment, it looks like (just my opinion) Derry saw something similar to a loop hole way off in the distance and made a b-line for it. And some of your reactions are kinda "circle the wagons boys, we'll be here for a while" .... i mean if it appeared to be more legitimate, you wouldn't have the whole "back to the wall" thing going on.

This situation could turn out to be very similar to the "i swear we posted it, ya just gotsa believe us" letter that S.P.A. sent to register Marney a while back. I mean that was just a complete nightmare for the league.

Dr.Nightdub
28/05/2004, 2:27 AM
Plain and simple, if anyone thinks they deserve a place in Europe for the quality of their (half)stadium ahead of how their team performs, then they seriously need to get wired. That's spitting in the face of everything football's meant to be about and youse know it.

What none of the Derry lads have drawn attention to is the fact that the Brandywell is owned by the council so DCFC don't actually have to pay for any of the work to become licence-compliant, unlike the rest of us poor f***ers. Tell youse what, we'll all go out of business trying to become A-licence compliant and youse can be perpetual champions of a one-team League. Hope it makes youse feel better.

As regards the idiotic comment made by someone about Pats' "tarmacadam terrace", get with the 21st Century - it's concrete steps, same as any other terrace in the country. OK, it may not come with an asbestos roof, but you can't have everything. But then again, f*** it, if we let off enough flares and smokes and fireworks I'm sure we could get the Health & Safety to shut the Camac terrace and then we'd be sorted too.

As ever (and yes I am harping back to the registration sh1te), everything in this League is decided by legal wrangles, whether in court or threatened. Congratulations, Derry, you've just become a "Big Club".

dortie
28/05/2004, 7:06 AM
Plain and simple, if anyone thinks they deserve a place in Europe for the quality of their (half)stadium ahead of how their team performs, then they seriously need to get wired. That's spitting in the face of everything football's meant to be about and youse know it.

What none of the Derry lads have drawn attention to is the fact that the Brandywell is owned by the council so DCFC don't actually have to pay for any of the work to become licence-compliant, unlike the rest of us poor f***ers. Tell youse what, we'll all go out of business trying to become A-licence compliant and youse can be perpetual champions of a one-team League. Hope it makes youse feel better.

As regards the idiotic comment made by someone about Pats' "tarmacadam terrace", get with the 21st Century - it's concrete steps, same as any other terrace in the country. OK, it may not come with an asbestos roof, but you can't have everything. But then again, f*** it, if we let off enough flares and smokes and fireworks I'm sure we could get the Health & Safety to shut the Camac terrace and then we'd be sorted too.

As ever (and yes I am harping back to the registration sh1te), everything in this League is decided by legal wrangles, whether in court or threatened. Congratulations, Derry, you've just become a "Big Club".

Has it not been stated that the majority of Derry fans would be happy with compensation ?? As for your theory of our cash filled council SHOWERING us with funding, thats pure crap !!! They might have put new gates on the correct way around. We wouldnt have your quote 'half a ground' if it wasnt for our wonderful council.
And YES, that was me who made the so called 'idiotic' comment about your ground....never seen concrete steps on your slanted dusty hill behind the nets ?? Your corragated tin roof over your other stand beats our asbestos roof hands down, but hey catch yourself on your grounds Just as much of a KIP as ours mate.

Candystripe
28/05/2004, 7:33 AM

Sure what do youse have to worry about? When youse Dubs are shy of a few quid yeez just go crying to the FAI and get grants fired at yeez. NO club out of Dubland (especially not Derry) would get that.

Regarding the whole European carry on. I personally don't like it. I would be embarrassed if Derry City got into Europe ahead of those who deserve it.

As far as I am concerned, there are 2 criteria which have to be met to qualify for European football:

1) Finish in a European spot in your domestic league

2) Obtain a UEFA "A" licence.

Since no club in Ireland has met these two criteria, no Irish club (yes people we are Irish :rolleyes: more Irish than some of the sell-outs on here...) should be allowed into Europe.

Now, compensation is a whole different ball-game. I think we are owed a large financial compensation for the league campaign.

Every club was made aware that you needed an "A" licence to play in the Premier Division, therefore theoretically no Irish club apart from Derry (yes, we are Irish) should be in the Premier Division this season.

The fact that another 9 clubs are in the Premier Division without deserving to be there means they have an unfair advantage because if they finish in a European spot and manage to get an A licence at some stage this season, then they will be eligible for the next spate of European competitions, whenthey shouldn't have actually been playing in the Premier Division in the first place.

Now this simply isn't fair and Derry deserve to be compensated for this.

28/05/2004, 8:30 AM
Macy as far as I can see your the typical muck savage fine gael supporter. By your comments you dont deserve to call yourself Irish never mind us british. We have risked relegation two years in a row to fufill ythe rules of this disgraceful corrupt league, do you expect us to sit and accept this ****e. Derry City must protect their interests and the interests of this league. CITY TIL I DIE!!
I'll repeat what I said earlier - are you saying that Longford haven't put in the effort? JCL who was never at Flancare before the redevelopment, never mind at Abbeycartron.

I'll also repeat whats the excuse going to be this year? You've spent the money in previous years (how much to the detriment of the team I'm not convinced given the size of the bids for Hasbeen and McHugh a couple of years ago, and what has (or rather hasn't) changed at the Brandywell). Now all the other the teams are playing catch up with regards the licence, you're spending money on players (e.g. Murphy and Delaney), and you're still shít - whats the excuse going to be now? If you suffered in previous seasons, you should now be reaping the benefits as the others play catch up.

doirecity
28/05/2004, 10:23 AM
Can we all catch ourselves on for feck sake.

Right then. We all think that uefa are mad b*****ds and make up s*hite rules cause they're only interested in the health of the top teams in the top leagues.

Personally, i'b be well embaressed if we finished outside the european places and then ended up playing Champions League or UEFA Cup Qualifiers.

Forget the UEFA Bullsh*te. You get what you get from performances. This is football, not the courts.

Compensation is all that i want for the club as in all honesty, we've had to turn the Brandywell into half a stadium and in the process lose "The Jungle" whilst others spent their money on staff.

Cut the cr*p now lads. Its giving us a bad name. Try walking a mile in another mans shoes. If we were top of the league and Harps were the only team with an 'A' license, what would we be saying then???...Exactly!!!

p.s. and as for the conduct of some of these Longford Supporters... :mad: What would Brian Boru have made of it all...tsk!

28/05/2004, 10:33 AM
i think a good idea would be any club who wants to go into europe has to own thier own ground....where would derry be then, your only tennents...

when you own your ground and have a true HOME game come back to me, sorry your tennents on half a ground.....

compensation for what by the way ????

TheSaint2002
28/05/2004, 10:36 AM
but hey catch yourself on your grounds Just as much of a KIP as ours mate.

But theres only one ESTADIO DA LUZ in Ireland and its in INCHIORE
:D :D :D :D :D

Candystripe
28/05/2004, 11:22 AM
Quieres decir "estadio de mierda," coño.

Candystripe
28/05/2004, 11:23 AM
compensation for what by the way ????

Read my post above u dimebar, and you'll see why we should get compensation.

28/05/2004, 11:29 AM
I'll also repeat whats the excuse going to be this year? You've spent the money in previous years (how much to the detriment of the team I'm not convinced given the size of the bids for Hasbeen and McHugh a couple of years ago, and what has (or rather hasn't) changed at the Brandywell). Now all the other the teams are playing catch up with regards the licence, you're spending money on players (e.g. Murphy and Delaney), and you're still shít - whats the excuse going to be now? If you suffered in previous seasons, you should now be reaping the benefits as the others play catch up.
Anyone going to answer the question about what the excuse is going to be this year?

28/05/2004, 11:33 AM
They dont need to bother playing as theyre going to win the league by default anyway, being the only A team :)

Candystripe
28/05/2004, 11:36 AM
Anyone going to answer the question about what the excuse is going to be this year?

We're not giving any excuses. We're very poor and we know we are. What's your problem with Derry? Don't say it's just because of this letter that was sent to the FAI. You seem to have some sort of deep-seated resentment towards us.

dortie
28/05/2004, 11:42 AM
We're not giving any excuses. We're very poor and we know we are. What's your problem with Derry? Don't say it's just because of this letter that was sent to the FAI. You seem to have some sort of deep-seated resentment towards us.

He supports Longford.....youd have a chip on your shoulder too Gary....Their trophy room is as big as my bedroom side cabinet. :D

28/05/2004, 11:44 AM
Read my post above u dimebar, and you'll see why we should get compensation.

once again from a legal point, you must be an irish club, your case would fall on that alone, you are a guest of the league, were you promoted into our league ????

all the clubs would have to do is envoke a rule sayng to play in our league you must be in the state.....then it would be bye bye derry

28/05/2004, 11:44 AM
What's your problem with Derry? Don't say it's just because of this letter that was sent to the FAI. You seem to have some sort of deep-seated resentment towards us.
No deep-seated resentment, it is really is all down to the attitude since the licencing issue first came out. Threats of court action and the like are exactly the reason I (and I would suspect you) hate Ollie and Shels, why wouldn't I hate the new kids on that particular block - Jim Roddy and Derry. There is no difference between you anymore - both only interested in looking after their club, damn the rest of the league.

Actually add in the high and mighty attitude to clubs having financial difficulties in recent seasons. It's not too long you were in a similar situation yourselves, yet your club feels the need to berate other clubs that find themselves in the same position as you were. Prime example was the whole Drogheda thing.

Enda M
28/05/2004, 12:14 PM
they are lookin to make this a scapegoat for how ****e they have been this season.

Wiseguy
28/05/2004, 12:52 PM
I personally had absolutely no problems with Derry and it's fans.I was always made fell welcome in the Brandywell and youse always brought good support to Flancare and added to the atmosphere.I was delighted to see ye stay up last season but to be honest now after all this sh1t i feel that i may have had the wrong impression of Derry & it's fans altogether.I don't even see how you reckon your entitled to compensation.If a ground has to be up to A standard then well done you are.Now you can concentrate on other matters while we worry about getting up to A standard.If we have to play in Lansdowne then so be it but to have a club that i once respected come along and try and have us removed because our ground isn't up to scratch is pure crap. The fact that we will lose revenue on this is punishment enough for LTFC & it's fans.The fact of the matter is that you barely deserve to be in the prem div. let alone Europe so f uck off and worry about your problems on the pitch and maybe then can you actually achive something you deserve.At this rate i can't see many people to disapointed should you be relageted.

28/05/2004, 1:06 PM
What's your problem with Derry? Don't say it's just because of this letter that was sent to the FAI. You seem to have some sort of deep-seated resentment towards us.

Candystripe ..... you are over reacting .... you dont understand !!

Macy has a deep-seated resentment towards everything ..... it's not just you. !! :)

28/05/2004, 1:10 PM
Shels have been awared the UEFA A licence

So get off your high horse with this "we were the only ones to make the effort and get the licence" ********. I believe Bohs have got one aswell.

28/05/2004, 1:15 PM
Shels have been awared the UEFA A licence

So get off your high horse with this "we were the only ones to make the effort and get the licence" ********. I believe Bohs have got one aswell.

When did this all happen ?? Where does that leave Derry !!

28/05/2004, 1:18 PM
When did this all happen ?? Where does that leave Derry !!

Just now, it's only just appeared on Shels offical site anyway and there's a post on the MB from a Bohs fan claiming they have the licence too. Longford and Cork can now just come to Tolka/Dalymount/Lansedown if they can't get the licence themselves I assume, so it leaves Derry back as being a lower mid table team with no prospect of European football.

28/05/2004, 1:24 PM
Cork can now just come to Tolka/Dalymount/Lansedown

Fair play but we should be OK ... cant see us getting past Malmo to be honest. We are OK at the cross for this game.

Man .... Derry look really bad now after all this lark .... sheeze ... i'd hate to be them right now :D

28/05/2004, 1:36 PM
Shels have been awared the UEFA A licenceThat would explain why they're looking for the UEFA Cup place rather than the CL anyway.

28/05/2004, 2:19 PM
That would explain why they're looking for the UEFA Cup place rather than the CL anyway.
That was released to the papers before the decisions of the assessments were known.

28/05/2004, 2:40 PM
Fair enough but Roddy probably knew or suspected before that.

28/05/2004, 2:51 PM
Yeah ... thats fair enough (when did the board consult you, i hope not last Monday, or something like that).

A fans forum is held every month with Dykes, Roddy, other Board members and players. We get to ask them questions. We've been told repeatedly of the intention to go to court over this. It's no surprise.
Come to think of it, we were told that Shels, Bohs and Galway were close to getting an A License, so that's probably why we're after a UEFA spot.

Max, explain what ye mean by us being 'guests' of the LoI? Any reason, or are ye just a bitter, twisted individual?

28/05/2004, 3:01 PM
simple legal fact, an irish team can't just go and play in the united kingdom....how can it happen the other way ???

28/05/2004, 3:05 PM
"DERRY CITY'S legal representative Desmond Doherty says the Brandywell club has been forced into taking legal action by the FAI's failure to enforce its own regulations."

Full story in the Derry Journal (http://www.derryjournal.com/story/3360)

P.S Fair play to Bohs and Shels- Fair play lads

28/05/2004, 3:07 PM
with this debate your sig really fits in on another level...... :D

1Davy
28/05/2004, 3:10 PM
I was tempted to get involved in this debate but reading posts from the likes of 'macy' i didn't bother, as talking to him would be a terrible waste of my time.

What a sad little person.

As for 'Max Power'.

Max it's believed that the average weight of a womens breast is about 1.5 Kilo's, but unfortunately they have not as of yet been able to weigh a C**t.

So Max, could you jump on the nearest scales and post your weight on here.

28/05/2004, 3:13 PM
What a sad little person.

You've never seen macy so? :)

28/05/2004, 3:13 PM
as of this moring 195 pounds.....thanks for the interest

and if you would like to add to the debate you are welcome, but just personal jibes in a post is rather childish....

myself and macy have made valid points above and i for one stand by mine and i feel macy will say the same

28/05/2004, 3:22 PM
Valid points?

You obviously know nothing of our struggle and legal wrangles of how we are able to play in the eircom League

You have made a veiled allegation of Derry fans deliberately breaking seats in Flancare

Childish jibes? You are the one playing the nationality card here

28/05/2004, 3:26 PM
i never said anyone broke a seat....can you show me where i wrote that...

i made the nationality point from a legal stand, where as you may know in a court a fact is just that, you are not in the state and that would be jumped apon by the defence council....

i personally think derry are petty, you don'y own your own ground, you only have half a ground and you want to bring your fellow league members to court....

you'll be sooooooooooooooo welcome at all ell grounds this season....

Drogman.
28/05/2004, 3:29 PM
"DERRY CITY'S legal representative Desmond Doherty says the Brandywell club has been forced into taking legal action by the FAI's failure to enforce its own regulations."

Full story in the Derry Journal (http://www.derryjournal.com/story/3360)

P.S Fair play to Bohs and Shels- Fair play lads

Health and Safety? That article said half the ground was closed due to the UEFA licence? Just wondering that's all, not making a smart observation.

Also rule 5, as the artcle states, says that a club must receive a UEFA licence to play in european football. So does that mean that licence A + B are valid and the difference is purely for league status i.e. A Licence = Premier, B Licence = 1st Division?

I'll have to read through that manual again.

I stand by what I said in that Derry were wrong in trying to look for something extra. Derry got an A licence, great, Derry went out and spent €20,000 on a player, plus bringing in a bigish squad and now lie near the bottom of the table and are playing terrible football. So they decide that they were unfairly treated etc.... As I said, if Derry were near the top of the league then we would have not heard a whisper from them.

Candystripe
28/05/2004, 3:33 PM
i never said anyone broke a seat....can you show me where i wrote that...

He didn't say that - he said you made "a veiled allegation." Do you not understand what that means?

i made the nationality point from a legal stand, where as you may know in a court a fact is just that, you are not in the state and that would be jumped apon by the defence council....

There are plenty of other clubs in Europe who play in the league of a different legal state, however they have as much rights as any other club in that league.

i personally think derry are petty, you don'y own your own ground, you only have half a ground and you want to bring your fellow league members to court....

U can think we're petty if you want. And we're not trying to bring anyone to court. All we want is compensation for the Licence debacle (I agree the Europe arguement is stupid though)

you'll be sooooooooooooooo welcome at all ell grounds this season....

Veiled allegations and veiled threats - ur some boy.