View Full Version : Paisley Trying To Convert Catholics...
18/05/2004, 10:54 AM
The North’s Free Presbyterian church has announced plans to send letters and CDs to 3,000 Catholic priests in Ireland in an effort to convert them.
DUP leader Ian Paisley, who founded the church, believes Catholicism is idolatry, that the mass is blasphemy and that the Pope is the anti-Christ.
More on BreakingNews.ie (http://breakingnews.ie/2004/05/18/story148123.html)
18/05/2004, 10:58 AM
best of luck to him...
eoinh
18/05/2004, 11:06 AM
why shouldnt he?
The catholic church does the same all over the world.
18/05/2004, 11:20 AM
never met a priest that was christian eh.............
its enough to make the blood boil
18/05/2004, 11:55 AM
why shouldnt he?
Paisley is a hate merchant!
This isn't about converting anyone, it's about having a swipe at the other side. No one who exudes such hate can purport to be a Christian!
liam88
18/05/2004, 12:06 PM
"In 1956, Rev. Paisley abducted a 16 year old girl, Maura Lyons, who was in a dispute with her parents about joining the Free Presbyterian Church. He attempted to use her as an anti-Catholic propaganda stunt and would not inform police where she was. Paisley was later ordered in court never to go near the girl or her family again."
"DUP barrister Robert McCartney stated that "Paisley is a fascist who is more interested in an independent Ulster, a mini-Geneva run by a fifth-rate Calvin, than Union with Britain."
Imprisoned UDA leader Freddie Parkinson, in appeal for non-violence by Paisley: "I remember the paramilitary megalomaniac who beckoned us to follow him but who later abandoned us to be scored as common criminals.""
"Valerie Shaw, secretary of a Free Presbyterian church, discovered sexual abuse of boys at Kincora School by Paisley confidant William McGrath. She tried to get Paisley to give the matter his spiritual attention for years. When he did not, she left the church. Since then, no woman can hold official office in the church leadership."
Scum
And sure the Catholic Church can do no wrong liam. Imagine them effectively forcing kidnapping children into convents and "schools", covering up sexual abuse etc etc...
18/05/2004, 12:49 PM
I have no time for Paisley but how is his trying to convert ('save' in his mind, no doubt) Catholics any different from the Catholic Church converting natives in Africa? What particular form ancient superstition people subscribe to is of no interest to me, it's all bollock$ to me.
18/05/2004, 1:03 PM
And sure the Catholic Church can do no wrong liam. Imagine them effectively forcing kidnapping children into convents and "schools", covering up sexual abuse etc etc...
This isn't about that Macy.
Liam shouldn't have dragged up old crap like that but lets not turn this into another debate about abuse.
Paisley's success is based on fear and in order to maintain that fear he needs to create as much tension as possible between his side and everyone else. This isn't about converting anyone, it's about generating conflict.
how is his trying to convert ('save' in his mind, no doubt) Catholics any different from the Catholic Church converting natives in Africa?
I don't think there's justification for that either.
If Paisley was interested in expanding his flock then why doesn't he target people from outside Christian religion?
He's not interested in anything that isn't controversial.
But it's only creating conflict and being controversial because everyone gets up on their high horse about.
Simple solution - he sends them to the catholic priests, every ignores it, priests bin/ recycle the letters and CD's. No controversy, no conflict, no hatred, no news story.
But no, instead we have/ will have a load of morally outraged catholics, most of whom don't regularly practice their "faith" in the first fookin place.
corkharps
18/05/2004, 1:13 PM
He used to get the highest vote of any Euro MP! He and the Catholic Church trive on ignorance of each other,hence children are sent to different schools,play different sports etc etc etc. He's in his late eighties so he'll be dead soon,step forward that moderate,Willie McCrea!! :D
In fairness to Paisley he does look after his constituents (even if you are a roman catholic).
It goes unreported (and there are very few R. catholics in his constituency) but if you go looking for help he will do his best. Apparently anyway.
liam88
18/05/2004, 1:22 PM
Liam, you 3 or 4 paragraphs on Paisley were interesting.
But as Macy pointed out, if you were to start on about the Catholic Church you could be typing for the rest of your days and you won't have captured a fraction of the wrongs...
I'm a strong Catholic and going to stand by my views. The fact Paisley is an anti-Irish biggot seems to have flown over some peoples heads.
I have been a Catholic all my life and help at Church every Sunday (and some other days) I'm not going to back down-so no offence.
Anyway I'm used to people slagging off my religion (and my nationality for that matter)-I've lived in England for years ;)
Catholicandproud :D
I'm a strong Catholic
Why, do you work out in a gym and say your prayers at the same time?
I assume when people here say they are Catholic they mean Roman Catholic?
corkharps
18/05/2004, 1:31 PM
Liam, that would make him 'An Irish anti Irish biggot' :D
The very Rev. Ian his re-written parts of the Bible ffs
This man is not a Christian, then again either were a lot of the people involved in the Roman Catholic Church.
18/05/2004, 1:53 PM
He's in his late eighties so he'll be dead soon.
I watch as many of his TV appearances as possible in the hope that his hate will one day culminate in a massive and fatal heart attack and I’ll get to see it.
Thank God I don't have any religion or I may now live in fear of being struck down by lightening :D
As I said before, religion is the root of all evil!
Dricky
18/05/2004, 1:55 PM
The very Rev. Ian his re-written parts of the Bible ffs
This man is not a Christian, then again either were a lot of the people involved in the Roman Catholic Church.
He is the leader of a cult. he is using this again and again and again to get free press, that is the only reason he says these think, in reality he's a fat auld fart, the only way a fat auld fart can get on a paper is by coming out with ****. The editors of the paper should know better.
Ian P will be dead of auld age and after that no one will care...
His members list is dwindling and fast the hay days of the 60's are gone
most religions thrive on fear so you can't single Paisley out on that one...
18/05/2004, 1:59 PM
Ah sure hasn't Big Ian been at it for years? :rolleyes:
Not much different from the Catholic Church in trying to convert people, aye. Have to say though, Paisley's a headcase. He believes he's from one of the lost tribes of Israel. :confused: He describes alcohol as "the devil's buttermilk", protests against people playing sport on a Sunday, protests against gays, against Catholics and Muslims, complains that the Church of Ireland and the Presbyterian Church are "too papish".
But sure he's great craic to watch! :D
liam88
18/05/2004, 2:01 PM
Liam, that would make him 'An Irish anti Irish biggot' :D
Well he claims he's not Irish and to be honest I'm good with that ;)
Let's draw this thread to a close :rolleyes:
Jim Smith
18/05/2004, 2:05 PM
This is the death-throws of Paisley and lunatic personal religion.
The best thing to do is just ignore the whole thing. I supose I should practice what I preach :eek:
18/05/2004, 2:08 PM
most religions thrive on fear so you can't single Paisley out on that one...
I was talking more about his political success rather than his success as a religious leader. In a peaceful land his flock would number in the 10's and be on the decline. I've had so many colleagues come down from Antrim and Armagh and one thing most of them say is, "I can't believe no one asks what religion I am! All they want to know down here is what I'm having to drink."
The truth is that most of us don't care.
If a person is nice then you'll get on with them. You're not bothered about their background.
I was talking more about his political success rather than his success as a religious leader.
Fair enough (although again loads of politicians like this)
Agree with your point BTW
complains that the Church of Ireland and the Presbyterian Church are "too papish".
To be honest i think the Church of Ireland and the catholic church have very few differences especially down south.
Many COI members dont regard themselves as Protestent at all.
They believe in one Holy Catholic and apostolic church as well (as do some other religions).
i would call myself agnostic but from what i have seen the COI is the most enlightened and if i can use the word "holy" of the religions in Ireland. they are not simply turning up out of obidience or ritual but are the most enthusiastic and "thinking" religion on this island. Of course there are are many RC's like that.
there is no point in turning up at church if you dont believe in what is being professed or at least try to live like a christain.
Does anybody remember the story in the paper recently about the First communins and the drink that a priest was giving out about?
Dricky
18/05/2004, 3:08 PM
Ummm, are we talking about the same Ian Paisley who has just seen his party become the largest party in the 6 counties and his own ascension into the top political post in that area? He's not the leader of some obscure cult (or at least he's not only the leader of some obscure cult) but he's also the main political player up there at the moment. Sure, I wish it weren't so, but we can't kid ourselves that his type are a thing of the past when his party are getting more and more popular and attracting elected representatives from the other main Unionist party...
Your mixing up the two into one.
His party and his religion are two different things. All anti agreement unionists back their party but there are some of his devine few who are in his order who are part of the UUP.
The are a cult they are a group with a particular non mainstream view on religion that is what makes them a cult. everything else he does makes him a cúnt.
The number of church members has dropped for him, religion is a hinderence in the north, people now want to be remembered for something other then religion so religion now has not the same power as before.
18/05/2004, 6:03 PM
religion is a hinderence in the north
Wouldn't agree with that. Most people couldn't care less about religion itself, just whether you're a Nationalist or Unionist. Certainly most Catholics don't care what religion someone is. There are more Protestants who would care, Paisley for example. But overall, ye don't think about. (Granted, it's slightly different for me since Derry is a majority Nationalist and Catholic city. May be slightly different elsewhere, but not by much)
In fairness to Paisley he does look after his constituents (even if you are a roman catholic).
It goes unreported (and there are very few R. catholics in his constituency) but if you go looking for help he will do his best. Apparently anyway.
Eoin, this a total myth. I have quite a lot of friends in the North, and indeed spent a lot of time there myself.
This idea has gained currency over the years, but there is not a shred of proof for it.
Paisley and his slimey son are bigoted, hate filled, despicable creeps.
The IRA, UDA, LVF etc. can be blamed for the killing over the years, but Paisley, McCrea and their ilk have spread the insidious disease of fear and loathing.
Where does the mentality for the "protest" against those little school girls come from?
Why are graves regularly deface and desecrated?
This is the Paisley gospel, the belief that you are under attack, you are being wiped out, that the "Passion of Christ" is a Catholic conspiracy to destroy us all, that school children are a "threat".
There is no comparable ethos in any of the other religions in the North.
liam88
18/05/2004, 9:08 PM
COME ON DAVROS!!!!!!!!!
Davrosloyal :D
dortie
19/05/2004, 12:45 PM
He and the Catholic Church trive on ignorance of each other,hence children are sent to different schools,play different sports etc etc etc.
Nationalists had to fund their own schooling many years back. Catholic maintained schools got damn all from the State. Why shouldnt current catholics send their children to schools who will teach them in their own faith !
Mixed schooling is another British method of diluting patriotism
19/05/2004, 1:08 PM
I think schools should be a total mix of gender, religion and race etc. because it gives a mini representation of society and better equips kids for life.
Totally agree and I have experience of both a CBS and a non-dominational school. I know which one prepared me better for life, and it wasn't the Christian Brothers.
Dortie, maybe the brits are pushing it, but infairness in Britain religion is a non-issue. I have mates that are RC, Muslin, CofE, Methodist, United Reform, Hindu, Jewish and probably many other religions that I never required or was interested to know. If it makes religion a non-issue, whats the problem?
corkharps
19/05/2004, 4:40 PM
Nationalists had to fund their own schooling many years back. Catholic maintained schools got damn all from the State. Why shouldnt current catholics send their children to schools who will teach them in their own faith !
You're entitled to your opinion,but I find it very sad! :o
liam88
20/05/2004, 9:52 AM
I used to go to a Catholic school (in England) and just up the road was the Protestant school-it was always walk on the opposite side of the road, parents and children never talk to the other side and ocassioanlly fights broke out.
Despite this both schools had all religions in them and it was more of an identity thing rather than a religious thing, for example during the fights a Protestant at the Catholic school would always fight for the Catholic school.
Needless to say the football matches were all a good laugh :P
When I left that school I went on to a Prodestant school (the only middle school in the area)-really enjoyed it although Me and my brother were the only Catholics there. I even played cricket against the Catholic school I used to go to-all good craic-so even though in England there are 'segregated' schools it's really not a religious segregation.
20/05/2004, 10:01 AM
I used to go to a Catholic school (in England) and just up the road was the Protestant school-it was always walk on the opposite side of the road, parents and children never talk to the other side and ocassioanlly fights broke out.
Despite this both schools had all religions in them
So where they religious or not? It seems that if there all sorts there, they wouldn't be religious...
And what school do you go to at the moment?
Liam, when I was at school we used to fight with the neighbouring school as well - and that was another Catholic school. That's just kids being kids.
liam88
20/05/2004, 10:05 AM
Aye it was religious and we had Catholic masses and everything but there were a few Protestants, muslims there-not many though, more now days.
I finished school 2 weeks ago ;) but it didn't have a religion although the head was a very strong Christian, thinko he was a baptist.
Point I was trying to make was although over ehre there are Catholic schools, CofE schools, you get a mix at each and in some places there is just a Catholic school or just a CofE school so people send their kids there rather than moving because it's not exactly rife with secaterianism.
liam88
20/05/2004, 10:08 AM
Liam, when I was at school we used to fight with the neighbouring school as well - and that was another Catholic school. That's just kids being kids.
Exactly what I mean Macy-I've no doubt the kids would have fought each other even if both schools were Catholic or both CofE, just happend that there was one of each-though this might have added a bit a fule to it ;)
But to be honest lots didn't know what they were shouting about on the ocassions whne they did yell stuff about the other religion :D
20/05/2004, 10:13 AM
I think you'll find most schools in England aren't segregated at all Liam.
And 15 and you've finished school?
20/05/2004, 10:37 AM
Point I was trying to make was although over ehre there are Catholic schools, CofE schools, you get a mix at each.
Well my school was run by the Daughters of Charity so you could claim that it was a Catholic school but there was a sprinkling of different religions and cultures along with the predominantly Catholic pupils. The only reason there weren't more pupils from Protestant religions was because they chose not to attend the local school but instead travel 20 miles to the Grammer School in Bandon. It always seemed to me that it was an attempt to isolate themselves rather than the fact that they were excluded from Catholic schools.
liam88
20/05/2004, 11:12 AM
I think you'll find most schools in England aren't segregated at all Liam.
And 15 and you've finished school?
Aye that's what I'm saying. Yeah over here school ends at 15/16 depending on when your birthday is-mine is in July so I'm still 15 but most leavers are 16. Now we can go out to work, do an aprentaship (excuse the spelling) or go to college till we are 18 :)
dortie
20/05/2004, 6:29 PM
You're entitled to your opinion,but I find it very sad! :o
Im not one bit surprised you being from Donegal and all.
Catholic/Republican and proud !
why shouldnt he?
The catholic church does the same all over the world.
exactly.
Paisley is a hate merchant!
This isn't about converting anyone, it's about having a swipe at the other side. No one who exudes such hate can purport to be a Christian!
The Pope is as much of a hate merchant as paisleyis, he's just better at disguising it. Just because people's prejuidices make them think its ok to attack other sctions of the community because of sexual preference or some such thing.
Paisleyis scum. Total and utter scum. But the Catholic Church has perpetrated hate violence and **** knows what else on the world on a much larger scale. Any person with any sense would have nothing to do with either group
21/05/2004, 8:09 AM
The Pope is as much of a hate merchant as paisleyis, he's just better at disguising it.
But the Catholic Church has perpetrated hate violence and **** knows what else on the world on a much larger scale.
I haven't researched your claims Éanna but I'm certainly not disagreeing with you. I don't think I've stated anywhere that the Roman Catholic church were exempt from wrong doing. They're certainly responsible for a lot of what was wrong with the Republic of Ireland.
It's funny that you refer to the Pope and Paisley in the same post.
They're both very similar in that the seem to refuse to die.
dortie
21/05/2004, 8:39 AM
exactly.
The Pope is as much of a hate merchant as paisleyis
What a statement !!! That is the biggest pile of crap I ever read in my entire life.
The Pope advocates peace, now Paisley on the other hand formed the Ulster Resistance group who were prepared to shoot any catholic. Anyone who claims the pope is the anti-christ needs serious mental help. The word up here is that Paisley was never 'nutted' because he was a great promotion for the republican cause.
The word up here is that Paisley was never 'nutted' because he was a great promotion for the republican cause.
There is a theory that the sinner's were happy enough, and help facilitate, the "unacceptable face of unionism" being elected as the largest party in the North for exactly the same reason.
dortie
21/05/2004, 11:36 AM
Don't think he's as big a hate merchant as Paisley, but certainly the Pope and the Church have a heck of a lot to answer for including what in my opinion amounts to a homophobic campaign as well as being leader of an organisation that, while it may have done a lot of good, has also protected those who have preyed on children...
eoinh
21/05/2004, 12:03 PM
Im not one bit surprised you being from Donegal and all.
Catholic/Republican and proud !
I assume you mean roman catholic and proud :confused:
liamon
21/05/2004, 12:45 PM
exactly.
The Pope is as much of a hate merchant as paisley is, he's just better at disguising it. Just because people's prejuidices make them think its ok to attack other sctions of the community because of sexual preference or some such thing.
Daft. First off, the sexual preference thing is not the Pope's personal view. These are the teachings of the Christian church. Secondly, I don't think he's ever done anything to encourage violence. He's campaigned all his life for peace.
But the Catholic Church has perpetrated hate violence and **** knows what else on the world on a much larger scale. Any person with any sense would have nothing to do with either group
The Catholic church isn't perfect, but then neither are CCFC fans. Should we avoid both the church and Turners Cross?
The Pope is the head of a 2000 year old group with millions of members. Of course you are going to be able to pick nasty things out of such a long history.
liam88
21/05/2004, 1:21 PM
What a statement !!! That is the biggest pile of crap I ever read in my entire life.
The Pope advocates peace, now Paisley on the other hand formed the Ulster Resistance group who were prepared to shoot any catholic. Anyone who claims the pope is the anti-christ needs serious mental help. The word up here is that Paisley was never 'nutted' because he was a great promotion for the republican cause.
Seconded 100%