View Full Version : Friendly against England in June?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

10/12/2010, 7:54 AM
Reports on the TV3 news this morning about England coming to play Ireland at the Aviva in June. What do people think of this. At least it will be a money spinner for the FAI which will help pay JD excessive wages.

10/12/2010, 8:25 AM
There have been rumours of a possible England friendly for a while now. Looking at the lined up Ireland fixtures for 2011 at the Aviva you can see why as none of them are likely to be sell outs. The FAI need a big pay day that perhaps only a game against England can give them.

Supreme feet
10/12/2010, 8:30 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/1210/ireland_england.html

Story's gathering some pace now. Interesting enough; the first thought that came to mind was; is it a big security risk? Ireland-England rugby games always pass off very peacefully, but football attracts a different kind of animal. Hooliganism isn't what it used to be in England, but Millwall-West Ham Carling Cup riots last year, along with the Birmingham City fans a few weeks ago, showed that trouble is still bubbling under the surface. Irish-English relations have thawed considerably since 1995, of course, but it only takes a small band of nutcases for things to kick off.

10/12/2010, 8:35 AM
And you can be guaranteed a certain number of said nutcases will make it across, so security will need to be strong that night. The pairing has to happen something soon, either competitive or friendly, its been over 15 years now, previous to that we played four times in about seven years. I would welcome the game, but have an uneasy feeling about it.

Closed Account 2
10/12/2010, 8:53 AM
Bad idea, a significant element of their fan base is pre-disposed to violence (yes, less than in the 1980s but it's still there) and they will likely see this as a chance to rip up a new stadium. Does no one remember 1995 ?

Why are we playing them anyway ? Tactically they will not offer us any challenge similar to what we are facing over the next 12-14 months. At least if we were playing a team like the Germans, Portugal or the Dutch we would be playing a team that would challenge us tactically.

10/12/2010, 9:03 AM
A big friendly will be good for the coffers. Security might be a worry, but it shouldn't stop the game going ahead, and if friendlies like this were more regular, the 'edge' to them wouldn't be so heightened.

Gather round
10/12/2010, 9:04 AM
Why are we playing them anyway?

Portugal, Netherlands and Germany wouldn't sell out which as others says is the main consideration. I doubt the tactical challenge they'd offer really counts for much.

I don't want to talk up the likelihood of trouble at games, but two large groups of Rangers fans hitting town in February may give an idea of what to expect?

10/12/2010, 10:06 AM
A great 'friendly' coup if the FAI pull it off. Just the type of game to end the season on.
I guess there will be not be too many calling for Trap to do much experimentation here :)

Sky Sports have the tv rights for friendlies?

10/12/2010, 10:13 AM
So in the space of 3 months or so we'll play England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland? That'll prepare us well for coming campaigns...

10/12/2010, 11:19 AM
Dodge what's this we business about.you don't support the national team like trevor ringland,st pats is your country :p

10/12/2010, 11:24 AM
Dodge what's this we business about.you don't support the national team like trevor ringland,st pats is your country :p

You asked me before did I support the National Team. Go look for my answer there. Not surprisingly, your above post is arseways

Colbert Report
10/12/2010, 11:26 AM
Please God tell me this is a joke..........

10/12/2010, 11:28 AM
Out of curiosity, when was the last time there was trouble with English national team fans at any match?

IIRC, it was at Euro 2000, though I'd be open to correction.

Closed Account 2
10/12/2010, 11:41 AM
2003 - England v Turkey at Sunderland I'd guess.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/2904435.stm

But there was a bit of trouble in the Algarve during Euro 2004 too.

10/12/2010, 11:50 AM
You asked me before did I support the National Team. Go look for my answer there. Not surprisingly, your above post is arseways

I don't have time to search and trawl through posts like you do but from what i gathered at the time you were indifferent to the national team and/or in posts(or lack thereof)before the one you are referring to.apologies if wrong

10/12/2010, 11:50 AM
I think the Irish construction industry lobbied for this game. The rebuilding of the new west stand will be a good short term job boost in July and August.

10/12/2010, 11:52 AM
Denial issued by the FA: http://football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_6565091,00.html

10/12/2010, 11:57 AM
The RTE article contained the same denial, but is the denial coming from the FA, tets?
They just say the Press Association Sport, do they release statements on behalf of the FA?

10/12/2010, 12:10 PM
The RTE article contained the same denial, but is the denial coming from the FA, tets?
They just say the Press Association Sport, do they release statements on behalf of the FA?
don't know actually. There's nothing about it on thefa.com, that I can find anyway.

10/12/2010, 12:12 PM
apologies if wrong

Apology accepted ;)

Junior
10/12/2010, 12:16 PM
2003 - England v Turkey at Sunderland I'd guess.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/2904435.stm

But there was a bit of trouble in the Algarve during Euro 2004 too.

Hassle at WC06 also (Suttgart I think) Wasnt there a Panorama report on it?

I think it was nothing compared to days gone by but just confirmation of what we already know - there is an element alway just biding their time.

Wolfie
10/12/2010, 12:17 PM
I suppose we should hopefully have a near full strength squad available for a suggested fixture on the 8th June.

We're playing the qualifier against Macedonia on the 4th.

We'd want to be going at England from an attacking sense - none of this "dont lose" crack!!!

Alf Honn
10/12/2010, 12:25 PM
I suppose we should hopefully have a near full strength squad available for a suggested fixture on the 8th June.

We're playing the qualifier against Macedonia on the 4th.

We'd want to be going at England from an attacking sense - none of this "dont lose" crack!!!

Attack? Italian v Italian! They'd take a nil-all now.

Wolfie
10/12/2010, 12:30 PM
Attack? Italian v Italian! They'd take a nil-all now.

Yeah - I'm just reminiscing about our performance in Wembley in 91. I'm sure everyone recalls that period of play where we had them penned into their own box???

We had a right go in 95 as well.

If we don't get stuck into England - the IRISH fans will riot!!!!!!!!

10/12/2010, 12:30 PM

I think it was nothing compared to days gone by but just confirmation of what we already know - there is an element alway just biding their time.
There was, watched it with a lad I know who was in the city when it was filmed, he was around the corner from one of the trouble spots

Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/12/2010, 12:47 PM
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/10/12/10/SOCCER_England.html

England will not be tackling the Republic of Ireland in a friendly at any point in 2011.
Reports had surfaced claiming officials from the FA and their Football Association of Ireland counterparts were in discussions about a meeting at the Aviva Stadium next June.
The Three Lions will have a spare date to fill if, as expected, the proposed friendly with Thailand on June 8 is scrapped and it was suggested England would be making their first visit to Dublin since the ill-fated encounter in 1995 that was abandoned due to crowd trouble after just 27 minutes.
However, Press Association Sport understands there will not be a game arranged between the two countries next summer and there are no plans for a meeting at any point next year.
Meanwhile, there has still been no decision about opponents for England's February friendly.
Fabio Capello has settled on Copenhagen's Parken Stadium as a venue for a fixture he views as vital preparation for the Euro 2012 qualifier with Wales in Cardiff on March 26.
However, Argentina withdrew from the match after it was moved to Tuesday, February 8 and so far no alternative has been confirmed as speculation Uruguay or Paraguay might step in proved to be unfounded.
It is also believed England will play a friendly following the Wales game.
There has been no confirmation of a fixture by the FA but Ghana have previously stated they will play England in March, which if correct, would be on the 29th, the second date of the international double-header.

10/12/2010, 1:19 PM

Correct I remember the germans telling us about it when we were over there a few months after. It was rowdy enough if i recall.

gilberto_eire
10/12/2010, 2:09 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOTGe12Wu0U

I watched it two or three years ago, decent watch

punkrocket
10/12/2010, 3:16 PM
Japan 2002 was the last time that English and Irish fans did any mixing and I can't remember hearing of any bother, we went to the same pubs hung around in a lot of the same places and generally got on fine. As GR suggests the Celtic cup might be more of a handful (or if Rangers get to the final of the Europa, the last time that happened it didn't go great.)

ArdeeBhoy
10/12/2010, 11:19 PM
Portugal, Netherlands and Germany wouldn't sell out which as others says is the main consideration. I doubt the tactical challenge they'd offer really counts for much.

I don't want to talk up the likelihood of trouble at games, but two large groups of Rangers fans hitting town in February may give an idea of what to expect?

Germany would sell out as much as the Ingles, as would Spain & F****e.

As for Feb, surely you mean two groups of large Rangers fans? Though surely the UVF & UDA would set aside their differences for this one....

More seriously, pray that Govan's finest get nowhere near the EL Final whilst their fellow fascist travellers in Ingerland's support will doubtless try to cause trouble in Wales in the spring.

There's been a massive growth in far-right activity in recent years, so they're just looking for an excuse.

The Fly
10/12/2010, 11:23 PM
I knew a post by Gather round would awaken ArdeeBhoy.

ArdeeBhoy
10/12/2010, 11:33 PM
To be fair to the Great Rotund one, don't take those points too seriously. But on reflection, the presence of neo-fascist Ingerland (or of anyone else) fans is not that one that greatly enthuses me.

Don't forget in Germany '06, a mere 828 of the Tans finest transgressed. So 'welcome' so close to home, I think not.
Though more and more of those 3k+ banning orders will have expired by the time we eventually do meet.

11/12/2010, 1:06 PM
I'd love to play em. Just hope the Trap lets us off the leash for once.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/1211/1224285302634.html

such a shame we didn't get to play em just before 2002 when Keano was at his peak.

In terms of likely trouble then this game is bound to attract a few nutters (I work in the same building as one and he's already buzzing about the possibility of a match between us). A lot of England fans have moved on since 95 and I think it was during the WC that reporters had noticed it was more a blackberry/coffee drinking/metro sexual crowd that was going to the games (then again it was expensive enough to get there which might explain the crowd that went.....).

BRING IT ON.

seanfhear
11/12/2010, 1:26 PM
What could possibly go wrong ?

11/12/2010, 2:18 PM
An Garda Siochana has shown itself time and time again to be unable to control a few idiots outside of Tallaght or Dalymount Park during the Bohs/Rovers derbies - im not too confident in their ability to handle the thugs from NI or England that, lets be honest, would find a way to get to Dublin.

11/12/2010, 2:43 PM
If this does go through, it may very well be the first home game I voluntarily miss since I moved to Dublin 8 years ago.

<EDIT>

Contrasting reports from the FAI and the FA according to this article: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/england-summer-visit-never-a-runner-2456986.html

11/12/2010, 8:12 PM
An Garda Siochana has shown itself time and time again to be unable to control a few idiots outside of Tallaght or Dalymount Park during the Bohs/Rovers derbies - im not too confident in their ability to handle the thugs from NI or England that, lets be honest, would find a way to get to Dublin.
The Gards ARE the "few idiots."

The '95 rioting was organised by a neo-nazi group with only a very loose affiliation to football. The English authorities have a much firmer grasp on hooliganism than they did back then and I'd be very surprised if there was much trouble at all.

ArdeeBhoy
12/12/2010, 1:03 AM
You're probably right, but the reservations expressed above are not without reason. If anything the activities of the far-right have mushroomed 'significantly' in recent years.
And the affiliations to football are very much there. Hence most of the banning orders. Certainly with the Ingles.
Not sure about how many Scots, Welsh or the Nordie fans are subject to such??

Almost as serious is the apparent determination of The FAI to play the four teams who're our neighbours (Couldn't we just play a GB v.Ireland game and get over all this impending mediocrity in one foul swoop??) in quick succession at home.
Talk about the adage of Quantity over quality, FFS.

The Fly
12/12/2010, 1:21 AM
I'd love to have been a Gard at the '95 match.

12/12/2010, 1:34 AM
Actually, I would love to see one of the regular Dalymount Gards go up to a proper British skinhead and tell him that singing is banned outside the stadium.

backstothewall
12/12/2010, 11:09 AM
I can't believe this has gone on for 2 pages of posts, and no one has mentioned the possibility of doing a Grand Slam over the rest of the Home Nations/British Isles/Atlantic Archipelago (delete as appropriate to personal prejudices, I'm not getting into it).

The statement from the English FA only said they have no friendlies organised for 2011, despite them being supposed to play Thailand on that date. Sounds to me like there are coming to Dublin.

Bring it on!

Noelys Guitar
12/12/2010, 3:21 PM

Agree completely. The Gardai are simply not used to the level of violence that can break out at these types of games. If the game is to go ahead I would have the English cops involved (they travel with England fans in other countries). Have them police the English fans both inside and outside the ground. The English cops landed in Dublin in 1979 "escorting" Irish fans back from Liverpool after a few clowns threw bottles at the Liverpool dockers. The mixed openly with the Irish fans on the boat and no problems ensued.

12/12/2010, 3:59 PM
Today's Independent on Sunday said the game will be in June 2012.

12/12/2010, 5:38 PM
Just before Euro 2012?

Bloody ages away!!!

ArdeeBhoy
12/12/2010, 6:48 PM
I'd love to have been a Gard at the '95 match.
More interesting was what happened afterwards! And the response of the Gards, which was pretty much spot on.

I can't believe this has gone on for 2 pages of posts, and no one has mentioned the possibility of doing a Grand Slam over the rest of the Home Nations/British Isles/Atlantic Archipelago

Actually, I did. But the prospects of beating those four are extremely remote on our current form.

Alf Honn
12/12/2010, 11:30 PM
Just before Euro 2012?

Bloody ages away!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_FIFA_World_Cup

The qualification draw for the 2014 World Cup will be held on Marina da Gloria in Rio de Janeiro (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rio_de_Janeiro) on 31 July 2011. As the host nation, Brazil (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brazil_national_football_team) qualify automatically for the tournament.

FAI are hardly going to book England if we end up in the same group at the 2014 World Cup draw next July. Which means that it can only be on the May 31 date suggested elsewhere or they'll wait for the WC draw before making a decision.

Fixer82
13/12/2010, 12:55 AM
Would not fancy this at all.
They wouldn't offer us a whole lot tactically and it has potential for trouble.
Yes, an element of English nutters would come over for a ruck but there will be an element of Irish idiots too wanting revenge for '95.
Also there are the odd Rovers and Bohs wannabe hooligans who'd love nothing more than a bit of trouble...and frankly just embarrasss themselves

No thanks I say. The cons outweigh the pros
We should only play them is we're drawn in a group with them

13/12/2010, 6:53 AM
I'm sure UEFA and FIFA could sort that out for the FAI. I think we have 2 if the 3 wishes left from the Genie.

13/12/2010, 11:23 AM
I'm sure UEFA and FIFA could sort that out for the FAI. I think we have 2 if the 3 wishes left from the Genie.
Are you suggesting that FIFA and UEFA would rig draws? That's crazy talk.

13/12/2010, 11:30 AM
Also there are the odd Rovers and Bohs wannabe hooligans who'd love nothing more than a bit of trouble...and frankly just embarrasss themselves

Going to stick up for Rovers and Bohs fans and ask you point out any trouble involving them and the national team?