View Full Version : League of Ireland Transfers 2011
Drogheda i hear.
Yep.
His legs have gone. Fantastic player in his day, I had the pleasure of watching him last season but to be honest his legs have gone.
His finest moment: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dy_Ph93CsSY
12/06/2011, 12:12 AM
Clowns!! :p
Is Collins one of Mick Cookes boys or one of ye'res?? :p
12/06/2011, 12:23 AM
both....Mick signed him but he is still with us and will be. A great young player who has come into his own a lot more and seems to be playing even better now under his namesake.
El-Pietro
12/06/2011, 9:58 AM
in fairness, Limerick shouldnt be able to compete for players with crowds of 300.
but sure let your backer pump his money into the club. ites worked so well for other clubs in the past why not give it a go
sullanefc
12/06/2011, 11:01 AM
in fairness, Limerick shouldnt be able to compete for players with crowds of 300.
but sure let your backer pump his money into the club. ites worked so well for other clubs in the past why not give it a go
Em, why are you having a pop at Limerick over this? I really don't understand why anyone to do with City would be bitter? It's only Denis Behan!!! If Limerick want to offer him 4 figures per week then let them off. And best of luck to them. We know the dangers of offering high wages, and we shouldn't be even considering matching them for mediocre players like Denis Behan.
El-Pietro
12/06/2011, 11:39 AM
argh, I had a big post written and I lost it
The jist was that I'm not bitter and while I think Behan would be a decent signing for us or them, I wouldn't be making him our highest paid player.
Then I spoke about the follies of spending more than you can bring in, and chasing glory almost always leads to bankrupptcy yada yada yada - i did mention that a strong limerick in a decent stadium would be good for the league though
bluewhitearmy
12/06/2011, 11:51 AM
I find it hilarious that Cork fans are telling clubs what they should be doing financially.
Ye can say that we have crowds of 300 as much as ye want it doesn't make it true. 800 there last home game Tommy should know that seen as he was there.
At the start of the year our owner had to show the FAI that he had the money for the years budget( we were the only ones that had to ) so all this talk about spending what we don't have is stupid too.
" i did mention that a strong limerick in a decent stadium would be good for the league though " We are working on that we have the Markets Field now so hopefully with a few more multi million Euro signings we will be in the premier when we move in there.
El-Pietro
12/06/2011, 12:02 PM
I think we are better placed than most to spot something that looks like it will turn bad given our history, but sure ignore it all you want. im saying you can spend and spend to get promoted this season, but what happens then? how long does he keep pumping money in? it doesn't last forever you know.
and having 800 at a game when Cork City in town doesn't make your talk of 800 true either.
your average is 500. Between Joe Gamble and Denis Behan you would have literally no money left for other players going soley on gate money
bluewhitearmy
12/06/2011, 12:18 PM
I think we are better placed than most to spot something that looks like it will turn bad given our history, but sure ignore it all you want. im saying you can spend and spend to get promoted this season, but what happens then? how long does he keep pumping money in? it doesn't last forever you know.
and having 800 at a game when Cork City in town doesn't make your talk of 800 true either.
your average is 500. Between Joe Gamble and Denis Behan you would have literally no money left for other players going soley on gate money
I never claimed that 800 was our usual crowd though Tommy tried to make out that 300 was when it is not true thats all im saying he had to resort to lies to try and make a stupid point.
If it does end up going wrong it will be us that will have to deal with it so no need for anyone except Limerick fans to worry about it.
12/06/2011, 12:20 PM
At the end of the day at the start of the season you had Limerick people saying Cork where spending huge and offered Vinny Sullivan 3 times what Limerick and Waterford did. Now its the other way around. No one really knows the figures.
If Pat is pumping money in to pay for these players till the end of the season and can afford it I see no problem. They will only be on contracts till the end of the season, they are not signing two or three year deals that could come back and bite us if Pat pulls out next year (which I can't see happening).
If we are moving to the Markets Field for the start of next season we really need premier football to keep the ball rolling at the club.
We could see players leaving the club in July also.
Its the usual story though, if we get promoted it will be worth it but if the players we sign don't do the business it won't.
12/06/2011, 6:09 PM
At the end of the day if clubs in the loi haven't yet learned about spending beyond your means then they deserve all the trouble that comes their way, and I'm not saying that Limerick or cork or anyone else is I'm just making the point.
12/06/2011, 9:14 PM
ITT
Cork fans actually acting arrogant about the fact that their club died on their watch :D
Believing Tommy Dunne about the figures :D
Thinking gates are all that runs a club :D
Give over for flip sake
12/06/2011, 9:16 PM
At the end of the day if clubs in the loi haven't yet learned about spending beyond your means then they deserve all the trouble that comes their way, and I'm not saying that Limerick or cork or anyone else is I'm just making the point.
There was barely 150 people at our match against ye last night (ye're biggest game in about two years)
Ask yourself who's paying Keith Gillespie.
Ask yourself who's paying Chris Deans
Ask yourself who's paying Don Cowans
Then ask yourself why you felt the need to pontificate on the internetz :rolleyes:
12/06/2011, 9:18 PM
Oh Lordie masser, I swear we never roam again.
What in the name of Jaysus do crowds have to do with the ability to compete for players??
12/06/2011, 10:51 PM
As one good pal of mine today said to me "the only one saying anything about Denis Behan signing for limerick is Tommy Dunne." Not a word out of limerick on this matter at this time which shows the class of the club and one that does its business in a correct manner. As for all these suggestive, speculative figures and inuendo, hats off to you classless clowns.
sullanefc
12/06/2011, 11:34 PM
ITT
Cork fans actually acting arrogant about the fact that their club died on their watch
Believing Tommy Dunne about the figures
Thinking gates are all that runs a club
Give over for flip sake
I find it hilarious that Cork fans are telling clubs what they should be doing financially.
From what I can see here, its only one fan giving out about your finances.
As one good pal of mine today said to me "the only one saying anything about Denis Behan signing for limerick is Tommy Dunne." Not a word out of limerick on this matter at this time which shows the class of the club and one that does its business in a correct manner. As for all these suggestive, speculative figures and inuendo, hats off to you classless clowns.
Totally agree with you that Tommy should have kept his mouth shut. But surely fans on a football site are allowed speculate on the figures. Classless though??? :rolleyes:
12/06/2011, 11:41 PM
There was barely 150 people at our match against ye last night (ye're biggest game in about two years)
Then ask yourself why you felt the need to pontificate on the internetz :rolleyes:
Isn't Keith Gillespies wages being sponsored by some businessman or something?
Don't know the story with the other 2.
El-Pietro
13/06/2011, 8:24 AM
ITT
Cork fans actually acting arrogant about the fact that their club died on their watch :D
Believing Tommy Dunne about the figures :D
Thinking gates are all that runs a club :D
Give over for flip sake
don't think we're being arrogant. We've learned some valuable lessons. Namely that you can't trust anyone to save your club but the people who love it, and relying on one man to bankroll a football club almost never works, Brian Lennox did a pretty good job for a while but even he couldn't keep it going forever.
I'd believe Tommy alright, but the figures I heard came from another source who has proven to be correct in the past.
We know full well what it takes to run a club, and gates play a significant portion of that these days. Sponsors aren't bending over backwards to hand out money anymore - little thing called the recession.
Rely on your chairman for now but I would be keeping on eye on things - its not always as rosy as it seems.
El-Pietro
13/06/2011, 8:26 AM
Oh Lordie masser, I swear we never roam again.
What in the name of Jaysus do crowds have to do with the ability to compete for players??
a huge amount - thats where the majority of most teams funding comes from
every team has a budget at the start of the season, and most of those budgets are based on estimates of funding - a large portion coming from gate receipts. at least in the real world
Wouldn't be so sure of this.
Rasputin
13/06/2011, 9:41 AM
don't think we're being arrogant. We've learned some valuable lessons. Namely that you can't trust anyone to save your club but the people who love it, and relying on one man to bankroll a football club almost never works, Brian Lennox did a pretty good job for a while but even he couldn't keep it going forever.
As opposed to the lessons learned in Cork from,
Fordsons,
Cork,
Cork Bohemians,
Cork Athletic,
Cork Celtic,
Evergreen United,
Cork Hibs,
Cork City (first one)
Cork Alberts,
Albert Rovers,
Cork United,
Cork City (second one),
Cork City Foras Co-Operative,
Cork City (third one).
13/06/2011, 12:59 PM
Since Pat O'Sullivan took over Limerick off the top of my head the club have:
Instituted a prison programme
Began weekly school visits
Set up numerous community programmes
Founded an Academy for kids aged between 2 and 10 (hoping to take on 11 and 12 year olds next year)
Attempted to enter schoolboy teams but have been repeatedly denied permission
Set up a UL Bursary scheme
Entered a reserve team
Took the FAI to court to win the right to play friendlies in Thomond Park
Sponsored numerous Junior clubs in the city and county
Secured the Markets Field
The implication from some in this thread that Pat O'Sullivan is just firing massive amounts of money at the senior team in an effort to hit the "big time" to the detriment of the clubs future is laughable to anyone who knows anything about Limerick FC
13/06/2011, 1:01 PM
Thats the biggest load of bull ive ever heard, first off there was far more than 150 in Flancare saturday night it was closer to 300-400 and second were not paying Keith Gillespies wages while i know for a fact our wage bill is very sensible, not going to start giving figures but were in no danger of over spending.
13/06/2011, 1:13 PM
first off there was far more than 150 in Flancare saturday night it was closer to 300-400
Laughable lie.
Eminence Grise
13/06/2011, 1:32 PM
Since Pat O'Sullivan took over Limerick off the top of my head the club have:
Instituted a prison programme
Attempted to enter schoolboy teams but have been repeatedly denied permission
I think you'll find attempting to enter schoolboy teams will lead to a more long term prison programme...
13/06/2011, 1:34 PM
Well your still wrong about Gillespie and the rest.
Rasputin
13/06/2011, 2:23 PM
I wonder will there be one of the FAI's patented financial investigations into Limericks finances much like the one that we are still waiting on that Shams fans had so much "inside cources" about?
It must be a tribunal not an investigation at this rate.
13/06/2011, 7:11 PM
Well your still wrong about Gillespie and the rest.
It's a pointless argument really. Most clubs in the First Division and the league in general are reliant on benefactors to some degree. We have people who put money in to some extent each year. It can be dressed up as sponsorship but it's a gift at the end of the day nobody will get much exposure from a sign in the ground or their name on the jersey. The problems come when you start budgeting for that coming in year after year and handing out longer contracts. Our wage bill is still small but with the local economy decimated there's usually a shortfall that needs to be made up somehow.
13/06/2011, 10:04 PM
Ye well I don't see Gillespie staying with us too long so no need to budget that for next season :)
14/06/2011, 12:59 AM
Phil Munnelly who is Keith Gillespies agent is associate sponsor of the club and is sponsoring Keith Gillespies wages.. pity its not addin to the gate at all now. He thoroughly deserved player of the month for us for may.
That says alot about the Longford team if he was POTM, pish poor with Glentoran.
bullit
14/06/2011, 3:09 AM
It is poor that Gillespie continues this charade(that he is no fool).Have some respect man and end your career now !! LongfoRD in Division 1 of the LOI ffs??:cool: ;)
Well your still wrong about Gillespie
He was actually right about Gillespie. You were making the point that Limerick's benefactor was paying Behan's wages. He pointed out that Logford are doing the same thing...
Its all immaterial anyway. Says more about Tommy Dunne struggling with Cork's vast resources than it does about Limerick.
I really can't stand when managers/fans complain about a player joining another club instead of theirs on the basis of money.
14/06/2011, 9:55 AM
That says alot about the Longford team if he was POTM, pish poor with Glentoran.
No, it says more about the level he's playing at if anything. We've had a decent run of results overall since he's come in. He's done fine. Still thinks a second or two quicker than anybody else on the pitch.
14/06/2011, 10:29 AM
Says more about Tommy Dunne struggling with Cork's vast resources than it does about Limerick.
He's only sharpening his tongue in preparation for Shoddy this week.
All of the City fans I have spoken to regarding Behan see him going to Limerick as a lucky escape.
Vast Resources?
We haven't a bob, let 3 players go the other week and replaced them with 3 Under 19's
14/06/2011, 11:02 AM
Vast Resources?
We haven't a bob, let 3 players go the other week and replaced them with 3 Under 19's
According to the attendance thread, you've an average of 1,933 this season. Where's the money going?
14/06/2011, 11:31 AM
You were making the point that Limerick's benefactor was paying Behan's wages. .
I never made that point all I'm saying is if clubs haven't learnt not to over stretch themseves at this stage what hope have we I also said I'm not saying that Limerick are doing that.
14/06/2011, 12:39 PM
Vast Resources?
Well clearly Dunne thinks that all resources are down solely to crowds. He estimates Limerick get 300 so surely you should have 6 times what they have?
Dillonman
14/06/2011, 12:45 PM
As per extratime, Harps lose Connaughton and Whoriskey and Mons have signed Keith Quinn!
bluewhitearmy
14/06/2011, 1:47 PM
As per extratime, Harps lose Connaughton and Whoriskey and Mons have signed Keith Quinn!
Seems a handy player but from talking to players at Waterford he has a horrible attitude.
Well clearly Dunne thinks that all resources are down solely to crowds. He estimates Limerick get 300 so surely you should have 6 times what they have?Well clearly its a good thing he's not running the club then.
His comment was an inference that Limerick have a sugar daddy which I don't believe to be incorrect.
His comments were either disinegenous, mischievous or outright moaning.
So yeah, I wouldn't like him at my club
14/06/2011, 9:01 PM
Connaghan is a fine player, but after being out for a full season with an injury he never regained the pace he had before. Disappointing but just never looked fit all season. Whoriskey is not a big loss, hasn't played all season and was never going to get in the team past Coll, JP Gallagher, Harkin or Brolly in left back or left mid.
Pablo Escobar
14/06/2011, 9:10 PM
Vast Resources?
3 Under 19 players that were better than the one's we let go. It makes sense and doesn't reflect our finances. We are in a steady position, but not in a position to throw around the type of money that is being rumoured for Behan.
As for the fans having a go at us for all the clubs from the past........when have we ever been in a position to run it ourselves, without robbing gangsters at the helm?
14/06/2011, 10:29 PM
Andy Haran has left Monaghan he was unhappy with lack of playing time, shame really he seems a decent player, can see him been picked up fairly quick.
bluewhitearmy
14/06/2011, 10:32 PM
Andy Haran has left Monaghan he was unhappy with lack of playing time, shame really he seems a decent player, can see him been picked up fairly quick.
Why is it a shame that he has left a promotion rival so?
15/06/2011, 1:27 AM
Gutted if its true, Andy is a wee star but just hasnt featured in Roddy's plans. Best of luck to ya Andy boy! x
frenchman
15/06/2011, 8:26 AM
I thought haran ws a great little player and still very very young!!!!! but I can imagine him getting frustrated if a 15 year old (loughran ) is getting ahead of him.
passerrby
15/06/2011, 8:59 AM
ya andy never got a chance a great lad who will score goals for fun given the chance,
I thought haran ws a great little player and still very very young!!!!! but I can imagine him getting frustrated if a 15 year old (loughran ) is getting ahead of him.
He's not very, very young seeing as he was with Pats for nearly 4 years. Always liked him as a player though