View Full Version : Premier Division Lates, Tuesday Oct. 5th
tell me Glen Crowe is suddenly on holidays :)He doesn't do holidays anymore, not after the harpooning incident the last time he hit the beach.
I really thought Rovers would equalise at he start of the 2nd half but Bohs stood firm, fair play to them.
What was O'Neill thinking putting Baker on for Dennehy? Billy was doing a bit and his delivery was excellent, Dessie was a mere passenger.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/10/2010, 8:18 AM
Billy? Don't you mean Brian? At least that's what George Hamilton called him for most of the first half.
Billy? Don't you mean Brian? At least that's what George Hamilton called him for most of the first half.He isn't that good an actor :D
redobit
06/10/2010, 8:35 AM
I don't think a "bottling tradition" or any other kind is really that strong in Irish football, certainly not compared to England or other countries. The majority of the Rovers players probably know very little about the club's history.
Maybe so but they will be awell aware that they bottled in big time last season.
Actually think both Pats win and especially Sligo gettting their late winner is good for us because Pats will know they more than likely need at least a draw against you next Sat if they want to claim 3rd spot.... reckon there will be a few more twists for both of us before the end and will make for a nerve wracking run in...
The way Rovers are playing if Pats win on Saturday they'll be thinking of catching Rovers. ;)
Seriously though I noticed that there wasn't one player that started for Rovers who has won a league title before. Might only be a small edge to Bohs there but the more they struggle over the line, the worse their mindset could get.
Saturday's a huge day for the european places. Sligo with tricky tie in Dundalk. Fingal out in Tallaght and Pats hosting a rejuvenated (you'd have to assume) Bohs. All games starting at different times too. A Bohs win in Inchicore heaps pressure on Rovers.
marinobohs
06/10/2010, 10:24 AM
The way Rovers are playing if Pats win on Saturday they'll be thinking of catching Rovers. ;)
Seriously though I noticed that there wasn't one player that started for Rovers who has won a league title before. Might only be a small edge to Bohs there but the more they struggle over the line, the worse their mindset could get.
Saturday's a huge day for the european places. Sligo with tricky tie in Dundalk. Fingal out in Tallaght and Pats hosting a rejuvenated (you'd have to assume) Bohs. All games starting at different times too. A Bohs win in Inchicore heaps pressure on Rovers.
pheeeeeeew, after the elation of last nights result, hardly time to breathe before "judgement day" on saturday - shams, bohs, pats and Fingal with everything to play for in the two Dublin derbies and Sligo right up in the european chase !
very tight to call, bohs or shams cant take anything for granted with two very difficult games on saturday - great and important win for Pats should boost them. No easy games in run in (despite Shams run in looking easier "on paper"). shams did look jaded last night and lacking in imigination (the ranting of O'neill hardly settled many nerves) while I still think they are favorites there is no doubt the pressure is buildng up.:p
legendz
06/10/2010, 10:38 AM
As an outsider of the top 2 tiers, I'm happy with the result that should see the league go down to the wire. It's also great to see Sligo do well, it's good for the league for some non-Dublin club to be doing well. There is a possibility of 6 Dublin clubs in top flight next season.
hoops1
06/10/2010, 10:49 AM
Fingal a team we have never beaten
Drogheda and
Bray away the in form team at the min.
Easy peasy.:ghost:
redobit
06/10/2010, 11:20 AM
Could be an interesting game for us against pats last game of the season. You could see 2 teams park the bus and not be make an attack between them. Lets hope so. :)
sundance kid
06/10/2010, 11:21 AM
Paul Keegan was immense for Bohs last night, and too many rovers players didn't show up, especially turner, chambers and rice.
If rovers can't get a draw at least on saturday, hop off drogheda, and then beat bray on the last day to win it on goal difference, they won't deserve to win the league. Same goes for Bohs, if they can't take 9 points from their 3.
The best team over the course of a season always wins the league, end of story.
Lamper.sffc
06/10/2010, 11:41 AM
Could be an interesting game for us against pats last game of the season. You could see 2 teams park the bus and not be make an attack between them. Lets hope so. :)
Yeah and Fingal nip in to take 3rd. Sounds good to me :)
hoops1
06/10/2010, 11:45 AM
Rovers are going to regret declaring on 63-4.
dcfc_1928
06/10/2010, 12:39 PM
<pedantic>I'm sure Alan Mannus won a few titles at Linfield</pedantic>
But I take your point :)
Fair point though, I forgot about Mannus and the Ulster league
hoops1
06/10/2010, 1:15 PM
Mannus,Stewart,Murphy,Murray (injured)Baker,Fenn have all won leagues that argument doesnt hold
Only Mannus started last night. Which was my point.
redobit
06/10/2010, 1:29 PM
Yeah and Fingal nip in to take 3rd. Sounds good to me :)
I meant if all that both teams needed was a point to get Europe. Strange that nothing has been mentioned in the media about 4th in the League geting a european spot. All the talk has been about the race for the 3rd place spot to get Europe.
4th doesn't automatically get you a European spot. For example if Pats or Sligo win the cup and get 5th in the League, 4th gets nothing.
All Pats or Sligo have to do is finish ahead of Fingal. Hopefully by the last game we'll know that a draw will suit us before we play each other in the cup final ;)
redobit
06/10/2010, 1:53 PM
4th doesn't automatically get you a European spot. For example if Pats or Sligo win the cup and get 5th in the League, 4th gets nothing.
All Pats or Sligo have to do is finish ahead of Fingal. Hopefully by the last game we'll know that a draw will suit us before we play each other in the cup final ;)
It would be the most boring game youd ever likely see in the Showgrounds - and id love every second off it. :)
Suppose people are geting a bit ahead of themselves alright.
marinobohs
06/10/2010, 2:45 PM
Should be a good thing for the League that there is so much up for grabs at this late stage in the season - Shams/Bohs tussle for the title and the "race for europe" - so much more interesting than the boring, predictable EPL :rolleyes:
Fingal a team we have never beaten
Drogheda and
Bray away the in form team at the min.
Easy peasy.:ghost:
Exactly - one win in four and 9 goals conceded doesn't bother a Rovers fan
Not at all.:arrogant:
PartySaint
06/10/2010, 2:56 PM
Like our first league game in the Showgrounds this season:)
Exactly - one win in four and 9 goals conceded doesn't bother a Rovers fan
Not at all.:arrogant:
though it pains me to say it, i truly think you have done enough.
hoops1
06/10/2010, 3:38 PM
If it ends up all level on points and the goal difference is the same what happens then?
A game of Rock paper scissors?
Or who ever sells the most premium level tickets in the aviva wins?
redobit
06/10/2010, 3:46 PM
Like our first league game in the Showgrounds this season:)
There was only one team parking buses that night, and ye had one of them parked in the Showgies Car Park. :)
06/10/2010, 3:48 PM
If it ends up all level on points and the goal difference is the same what happens then?
Goals scored I assume. After that it's down to a competition to see who can write the nicest poem about John Delaney.
06/10/2010, 3:57 PM
A game of Rock paper scissors?
Or who ever sells the most premium level tickets in the aviva wins?
No, the FAI have decided that in that case whoever has the most green in their strip wins. ;)
Seriously though, it's a good question and it wouldn't surprise me if the FAI don't have a contingency plan for such an eventuality. It might be based on points won head to head, in which case you'd have it.
redobit
06/10/2010, 4:07 PM
A coin toss in O'Connell Street. All welcome.
a game of soggy biscuit between Fenlon and O'Neill would be different....
Goals scored I assume. After that it's down to a competition to see who can write the nicest poem about John Delaney.
Head to Head ultimately isnt it?
No, the FAI have decided that in that case whoever has the most green in their strip wins. ;)
Seriously though, it's a good question and it wouldn't surprise me if the FAI don't have a contingency plan for such an eventuality. It might be based on points won head to head, in which case you'd have it.
If EVERYTHING is level after the last game, total pts, goal diff, goals scored, goals conceded, no. of games won, no. of drawn games etc.. i think it goes down to a head to head record
a game of soggy biscuit between Fenlon and O'Neill would be different....
Head to Head ultimately isnt it?
Eeewwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!!!
Not lots drawn?
That sounds much more like what the FAI would resort to..
OneForTheFuture
06/10/2010, 4:33 PM
Not lots drawn?
That sounds much more like what the FAI would resort to..
I reckon the title would be given to Fingal.....
legendz
06/10/2010, 5:10 PM
Predicted Final Table Pld Pts
1 Shamrock Rovers 36 72
2 Bohemians 36 65
3 St Patricks Athletic 36 60
4 Sligo Rovers 36 58
5 Sporting Fingal FC 36 57
6 Dundalk 36 49
7 UCD 36 42
8 Galway United 36 39
9 Bray Wanderers 36 28
10 Drogheda United 36 20
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4433/
O'Neill - Rovers Need to Start Winning
http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:kNCLZ0j3yuWYpM:http://images.encyclopediadramatica.com/images/1/12/O_RLY.jpg&t=1
1st time post
06/10/2010, 8:38 PM
Predicted Final Table Pld Pts
1 Shamrock Rovers 36 72
2 Bohemians 36 65
3 St Patricks Athletic 36 60
4 Sligo Rovers 36 58
5 Sporting Fingal FC 36 57
6 Dundalk 36 49
7 UCD 36 42
8 Galway United 36 39
9 Bray Wanderers 36 28
10 Drogheda United 36 20
I assume you took that off soccerbot ya??2000000000000000000/1 that that aint the final table!! They have Shams down for 72 points requiring 3 wins and Fingal on 57 but this would require at least a draw against Shams on Saturday.
PartySaint
06/10/2010, 10:25 PM
There was only one team parking buses that night, and ye had one of them parked in the Showgies Car Park. :)
By a distance that was the most boring game i have seen this season but we got a point so happy days:)
06/10/2010, 11:07 PM
"In Winter it's cool,
In Summer it's hot,
But all year round,
Delaney's a...lovely."
06/10/2010, 11:17 PM
I reckon the title would be given to Fingal.....
Janey, forgot about Clause 16.2 (4c).
It always catches me out.
I think they're busy enough trying to find some space for all the winters supply of fudge. Priorities people!
06/10/2010, 11:25 PM
though it pains me to say it, i truly think you have done enough.
I'd have to agree - although this prolonging of the still inevitable is good for the interest
The old attempting to scud it in your own club's favour trick. Nice.
OneForTheFuture
07/10/2010, 7:56 AM
Janey, forgot about Clause 16.2 (4c).
It always catches me out.
I think they're busy enough trying to find some space for all the winters supply of fudge. Priorities people!
Ah here you have ruined it now......it's been ages since somebody mentioned the "F" word!
07/10/2010, 8:06 AM
It's been on my mind. There were 2 massif tins of Cadbury's Roses in the office yesterday.
I'm but a human.
07/10/2010, 9:48 AM
If EVERYTHING is level after the last game, total pts, goal diff, goals scored, goals conceded, no. of games won, no. of drawn games etc.. i think it goes down to a head to head record
We've had play-offs before. This was in a time before goal difference wa recognised, as I recall. Had it been recognised, Cork would have won. Instead, after a double play-off and four extra games each, Shels won.
Dublin bias? Never!
07/10/2010, 12:20 PM
qualitys rough but looks like a coin possibly?
http://yfrog.com/4yogez
Waste of a perfectly good bus fare.
But then we all know - there are no direct buses between Phibsboro and Tallaght...
PartySaint
07/10/2010, 12:21 PM
Waste of a perfectly good bus fare.
But then we all know - there are no direct buses between Phibsboro and Tallaght...
Im surprised Fenlon didnt pick it up, yous need all the money you can get
He has been disciplined for not taking advantage of our Rovers friends generosity.
legendz
08/10/2010, 4:39 PM
The new international format of Friday-Tuesday games is good for the Airtricity League. They'll have to exploit it more with Tuesday/Wednesday games before the Friday, then Saturday/Sunday games followed by Wednesday/Thursday/Friday games. The gaps are there with little rivals on those days and should be used to the max to promote the league.
He has been disciplined for not taking advantage of our Rovers friends generosity.
It's the least we can do after refusing to pay the extra fiver in