View Full Version : Epl 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

DeLorean
24/05/2011, 12:33 PM
Decent shout there Delorean, pretty darn close to how it actually panned out.

Yeah, well two were pretty obvious to be fair. Fancied Wigan to get something alright and Wolves self destruct on a regular basis in the games they're expected to do well in. I actually threw €100 on Man Utd to beat Blackpool when I heard they were 1/2. I've never thrown anywhere near that amount on a bet in my life but would have thrown a grand on it if I had it. It was actually 4/9 I ended up getting and man, did they make me sweat for it. To be honest I was expecting United to be out of sight by half time.

KK77
25/05/2011, 2:26 PM
I haven't seen any of the experts of the game pushing Hodgson for the Chelsea job. I wonder if they will go for him.

26/05/2011, 1:21 AM
Hodgson will never get a job at a big club again.

DeLorean
26/05/2011, 8:57 AM
Would he even want a job at a big club again the way he was treated, by the fans mainly, at Liverpool? I'm sure he's happy out anyway working some more Hodge miracles at another small club competing at a high level.

Also, Chelsea have a lot more pulling power (cash!!) than Liverpool did at the time of Benitez's departure.

KK77
26/05/2011, 9:33 AM
Would he even want a job at a big club again the way he was treated, by the fans mainly, at Liverpool? I'm sure he's happy out anyway working some more Hodge miracles at another small club competing at a high level.

Also, Chelsea have a lot more pulling power (cash!!) than Liverpool did at the time of Benitez's departure.

So true.

Closed Account 2
26/05/2011, 12:12 PM
It's amazing the vitriol he got (and is still getting) from a large amount of Liverpool fans. It's not as if he wanted to fail at Liverpool, and at the time of his appointment the club was in crisis, the ownership issue was up in the air, there were no funds, he had an out of from want-away striker who he had to play due to fan pressure... it was an impossible job.

Benitiez is deified by their fans despite him committing the shambolic decision (trying to replace Alonso with Gareth "5mph" Barry) that ripped the heart out of that team.

KK77
26/05/2011, 1:41 PM
It's amazing the vitriol he got (and is still getting) from a large amount of Liverpool fans. It's not as if he wanted to fail at Liverpool, and at the time of his appointment the club was in crisis, the ownership issue was up in the air, there were no funds, he had an out of from want-away striker who he had to play due to fan pressure... it was an impossible job.

Benitiez is deified by their fans despite him committing the shambolic decision (trying to replace Alonso with Gareth "5mph" Barry) that ripped the heart out of that team.

Reckon Chelsea should go for him? Woy not Rafa!!!!! LOL

KK77
26/05/2011, 1:53 PM
Not sure the Chelsea thing matters if i am hearing right. Hearing Hodgson could be in line for the Man U job when Fergie steps down. How would Man U fans feel about this?

26/05/2011, 2:02 PM
There's no way Manchester United or any other top European club would even consider Hodgson.

KK77
26/05/2011, 2:14 PM
There's no way Manchester United or any other top European club would even consider Hodgson.

Cheers just looking for a general consensus on the subject based on what i am hearing.

DeLorean
26/05/2011, 3:11 PM
Hearing Hodgson could be in line for the Man U job when Fergie steps down. How would Man U fans feel about this?

It's pretty obvious you are just stirring (or would you like to reveal your source) but I'll humour you anyway...

Firstly, Hodgson is 63 now. Ferguson doesn't intend stepping down any time soon but lets say, hypothetically, he leaves in two seasons time. I find it very hard to see United replacing him with a 65 year old. Also, Hodgson is generally accepted as a cautious manager. This wouldn't really fit the United mould, they are known for playing exciting, expansive football, just as Liverpool were in the 70's/80's. Hodgson taking over at Liverpool made a bit more sense. They were in crisis and they got somebody with experience to try to steady the ship. This backfired for all the reasons edmundo referred to above, the main one being the fans undying love for Benitez and contempt for anything non-Rafa. Hodgson's style of play wasn't much of an issue when he was appointed, as Liverpool had already been playing negative, unattractive football for the best part of a decade under Houllier and, in particular, Benitez.

26/05/2011, 5:00 PM

Def agree. In fact so poor were Liverpool some people were even tipping them to be relegated at the start of the season

KK77
26/05/2011, 9:44 PM
It's pretty obvious you are just stirring (or would you like to reveal your source) but I'll humour you anyway...

Firstly, Hodgson is 63 now. Ferguson doesn't intend stepping down any time soon but lets say, hypothetically, he leaves in two seasons time. I find it very hard to see United replacing him with a 65 year old. Also, Hodgson is generally accepted as a cautious manager. This wouldn't really fit the United mould, they are known for playing exciting, expansive football, just as Liverpool were in the 70's/80's. Hodgson taking over at Liverpool made a bit more sense. They were in crisis and they got somebody with experience to try to steady the ship. This backfired for all the reasons edmundo referred to above, the main one being the fans undying love for Benitez and contempt for anything non-Rafa. Hodgson's style of play wasn't much of an issue when he was appointed, as Liverpool had already been playing negative, unattractive football for the best part of a decade under Houllier and, in particular, Benitez.

So no to Hodgson for Man U?

KK77
26/05/2011, 9:45 PM
Def agree. In fact so poor were Liverpool some people were even tipping them to be relegated at the start of the season

Yeah thank god for King Kenny. A lot of work to do but seems to be going about it the right way.

27/05/2011, 6:01 AM
Yeah thank god for King Kenny. A lot of work to do but seems to be going about it the right way.

But wouldnt it be nice if Hodgson was given the chance with two hot strikers and a war kitty? And time

KK77
27/05/2011, 8:26 AM
[QUOTE=bennocelt;1490845]But wouldnt it be nice if Hodgson was given the chance with two hot strikers and a war kitty?

If's, but's and maybe's. Personally no i wouldn't trust him with a war kitty.

Hodgson for Man U?

27/05/2011, 9:22 AM
Dalgleish has done a good job so far, but it was the general way that Hodgson was treated both by the club and the fans, why did they employ him in the first place?

27/05/2011, 9:22 AM
Blackpool 2 Liverpool 1. Exit stage left two cup competitions. 35 million on Andy Carroll ? All hail King Kenny

DeLorean
27/05/2011, 9:27 AM
So no to Hodgson for Man U?

If you couldn't find my answer to that in my post, there must be something seriously wrong with you. Your hatred for Hodgson must be deep, why else would you create a rumour just to initiate negative comments about him? Things weren't always so hostile between you two...

Silly question pineapple! I meant in that the media put a lot more pressure on you when you manage a big club in the premiership and i also meant how would he react if the likes of Fergie and Co try to get under his skin if his team were close to them in the league! I am also only saying this as a matter of interest nothing more before anyone tries to say i don't like the man or rate him because i do!

Of course this was subsequently contradicted with...

I don't rate Hodgson i never did and never will. He was and never will be as good a manager as the previous one. A change was needed but a change to bring the club forward not backwards. The man is out of his depth end of nothing personal against him. If i want to copy and paste his crazy comments so what big deal. What are you going to do call me an idiot as well for having an opinion on a forum! LOL

I know I have drawn attention to this before, but given the depths (http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_sYgEnmcvhJk/TQEpMZ2calI/AAAAAAAAAcg/j3Ya6iL6Djw/s1600/3790.jpg) you have gone to, I felt it was worth pointing out again.

KK77
27/05/2011, 10:30 AM
if you couldn't find my answer to that in my post, there must be something seriously wrong with you. Your hatred for hodgson must be deep, why else would you create a rumour just to initiate negative comments about him? Things weren't always so hostile between you two...

Of course this was subsequently contradicted with...

I know i have drawn attention to this before, but given the depths (http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_sygenmcvhjk/tqepmz2cali/aaaaaaaaacg/j3ya6il6djw/s1600/3790.jpg) you have gone to, i felt it was worth pointing out again.

meow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DeLorean
27/05/2011, 11:10 AM
meow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good point. I see that James McCarthy is being heavily linked with an Anfield move (http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/05/27/2505474/liverpool-closing-in-on-10m-deal-for-wigan-midfielder-james) today. How would you feel about this KK? What chance would you give him of making the team? With Lucas improving and Spearing playing well, as well as the potential signing of Charlie Adam and return of Stevie G he may have to sit it out for the first season anyway. On that subject, I wonder how Stevie G will do with Carroll and Saurez up front, the two striker system hasn't really suited him in the past. Arsenal have also apparently joined the chase (http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/soccer_irish/27836/) for McCarthy but I really couldn't see him chosing them over Dalglish and Liverpool.

27/05/2011, 11:17 AM
McCarthy's a good player but he's no Roy Hodgson.

KK77
27/05/2011, 1:03 PM
Good point. I see that James McCarthy is being heavily linked with an Anfield move (http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/05/27/2505474/liverpool-closing-in-on-10m-deal-for-wigan-midfielder-james) today. How would you feel about this KK? What chance would you give him of making the team? With Lucas improving and Spearing playing well, as well as the potential signing of Charlie Adam and return of Stevie G he may have to sit it out for the first season anyway. On that subject, I wonder how Stevie G will do with Carroll and Saurez up front, the two striker system hasn't really suited him in the past. Arsenal have also apparently joined the chase (http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/soccer_irish/27836/) for McCarthy but I really couldn't see him chosing them over Dalglish and Liverpool.

The source is goal.com so i'd take it with a pinch of salt. I would be delighted if we signed him myself. I feel he would get into the side ahead of Spearing without any question. As you said his chances might be limited initially and another year at Wigan might not be such a bad thing but if he continues to improve the price will go up. I wouldn't be so sure Wigan would sell for £10 million imo. What i do know is Downing is a player Dalglish defo wants and will pay top price to get him. They have looked at Cahill from Bolton but being quoted £17 million so won't be doing business considering he's a year left on his contract. The Scott Dann Birmingham rumour has legs afaik.

Closed Account 2
27/05/2011, 3:25 PM
It would be a strange one, signing Downing. He plays in an identical position to Jovanovic and is as slow as him (despite being 4 years younger). John Gregory once said "if Stuart Downing was right footed he'd be a league one player". I could understand signing Ashley Young, but I think Liverpool already have better options than Downing, Kuyt, Suarez, Maxi can all play there, and then in the youth team they have players like Raheem Sterling or Pacheco who would probably be a better bet in 4-5 years time.

03/06/2011, 9:20 AM
Hughes on the way to Villa. One of these managers who goes on the managerial merry go round until he eventually falls off and ends up at the likes of Hartlepool. He's averaged around 50% wins/losses ratio at all the clubs/country he's been at. Ok, other than Man City, not exactly power houses but I don't see anything special there.

03/06/2011, 9:39 AM
my biggest criticism of Hughes is that he seems to buy the same type of players over and over, either players he's worked with before, better player at mid ranging clubs (the likes of Barry and Lescott), or lower rated players at top clubs (Toure)
He managed Craig Bellamy at Wales, bought him at Blackburn and City, ditto Roque Santa Cruz (minus the Wales bit obviously)
He's never really done badly, but he's never excelled either, even with the resources he had at City.

03/06/2011, 11:11 AM
The odds of Hughes going to Chelsea have been cut dramatically. Probably all paper talk as I don't believe he's good enough for the job but he was linked back when Ancelotti was sacked.

03/06/2011, 12:28 PM
I'd love it if Hughes went to Chelsea. They'll never win anything again.....

DeLorean
03/06/2011, 12:53 PM
There's no way Abramovic would settle for a run of the mill manager like Hughes. I hope this post comes back to bite me on the ass though!

Closed Account 2
07/06/2011, 10:48 AM
I see Giggsy's not too fussy about where he gets his birds from...

either big brother or little brother.

KK77
08/06/2011, 8:31 AM
http://www.safc.com/news/20110608/henderson-fee-agreed_2256213_2373132?

08/06/2011, 10:40 AM
Who is this guy "King Kenny" has splashed 20 million on from Sunderland? Never heard of him to be honest but then he doesn't play in Division One. I didn't realise Sunderland had such valuable players.

08/06/2011, 11:29 AM
you haven't heard of Henderson Owlsfan?

Bog standard PL player who'd only be worth 3 million if he was French/German but he's young & English so Sunderland are laughing their way to the bank. He doesn't get many goals from mf and I'm baffled Liverpool are splashing the cash on this guy.

08/06/2011, 1:05 PM
I'm baffled by the move too. He isn't a bad player but there's no way he's worth 20m, even by inflated English standards.

KK77
08/06/2011, 2:46 PM
I'm baffled by the move too. He isn't a bad player but there's no way he's worth 20m, even by inflated English standards.

Is the deal defo £20 million? Not what i am hearing.

08/06/2011, 3:10 PM
Is the deal defo £20 million? Not what i am hearing.

The only number bandied about has been £20m. What else have you heard?

Liverpool are singlehandedly keeping the economy of the NE England ticking over.

08/06/2011, 6:08 PM
Man Utd are buying Jones from Blackburn even though they have a load of centre halves!!! That must mean the end for Evans and Wes Brown. I'd say O'Shea will be safe because of his versatility.

08/06/2011, 6:29 PM
Just seen O'Shea linked with Sunderland?! Didn't think he'd be 1 of 3 getting shunted out.......interesting.

culloty82
08/06/2011, 7:33 PM
Yeah, looks like O'Shea, Gibson and Brown being shown the door for £12m. O'Shea's never let the club down in any position, so will be baffling if he leaves, hard to imagine a United squad with no players from the Republic - they've a player Brady from Dublin, but he's nowhere near the first-team squad yet.

09/06/2011, 7:42 AM
He's not going it seems.

Though the bigger news reported on Morning Ireland is Villa have been given permission to talk to Martinez. Jaysus. There goes Richard Dunne's intl career.

Closed Account 2
09/06/2011, 9:00 AM
Wonder if Le Vine will try and get Martinez to turn Ciaran Clark as he hasn't played a competitve game for us yet.

09/06/2011, 5:31 PM
...but he has changed association. You can only do that once.

DeLorean
10/06/2011, 1:19 PM
He is staying at Wigan (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13704421.stm) anyway. Fair play to him. I have good time for him anyway regardless of the McCarthy saga. A little bit embarrassing for Villa!

11/06/2011, 11:26 AM
And where is Hughes in all this? Didn't he resign from Fulham with a view to being employed by Villa? What happened there I wonder.

Also a lot of paper talk about the Arsenal team breaking up and losing its top players.

Closed Account 2
13/06/2011, 1:56 PM
Apparently there are at least 8 players who have played Premiership matches for both Arsenal and Man City, can you name them?

Hint: there are a few ones who have played for both but moved before the 1st premier league season

ken foree
17/06/2011, 1:06 AM
Apparently there are at least 8 players who have played Premiership matches for both Arsenal and Man City, can you name them?

Hint: there are a few ones who have played for both but moved before the 1st premier league season

jezus i can think of three readily cfdh but am hopeless at this type of thing. old fart, etc.

otherwise, generally, as a united follyer: officially in for modric now? i hope to be wrong but i think he's wayyyy too easily bullied off the ball. Real absolutely reamed him in the bernabeu and the only noticeable thing he did was lose the ball often, and then being completely unable to win it back (yes, crouch's red etc. but you have to be strong in england). i think i actually saw him physically gulp during the camera panning line-ups/uefa anthem thing. obviously a young enough fella who's very, very talented but united need a hargreaves, sadly. a simple yet skillful ball winner/playmaker who can strike a dead ball and allow others to flourish. they needed the essien of old i suppose. mikel, who they were in for, has turned into a totem pole except he's absolutely devoid of any mystical presence. i get the feeling if they buy modric they'll still need a water carrier. and if they get a water carrier, they'll still need a modric. what a f*cking mess.

i am thoroughly prepared for this post to resurface and humilate me in 10 month's time.

17/06/2011, 8:27 AM

Hint: there are a few ones who have played for both but moved before the 1st premier league seasonI'd say one of the less obvious ones is Stuart Taylor, the 'keeper. Toure and Vieira are the two easiest I reckon.

17/06/2011, 8:30 AM
David Seaman is another obvious one

ken foree
17/06/2011, 12:01 PM
there's another frenchman i was thinking of gents.

Junior
17/06/2011, 4:48 PM
Anelka

Lee Dixon is a big supporter of Man City but I guess that doesnt count!!