View Full Version : Marathon

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

peadar1987
06/08/2013, 5:37 PM
Howya!

I'm having awful trouble getting back into the swing of things. I think it's a combo of eating and drinking atc and not getting my energy at the right time of the day. I hate eating too soon before a run but the latest I can lunch is 2PM. Anyone any ideas to counteract this issue say idf I wanted to run at about 6PM?

Depends how soon is too soon. I'd usually eat something fairly light but calorie dense, like an energy bar, or trail mix is great, leaves me not feeling hungry, but also not all full and bloated so I'm not in the mood for anything other than sitting putting the world to rights on foot.ie!

I find the first few runs back very hard, but it's always just a matter of forcing myself to get out there once or twice, and then I start thinking about new routes to run, places where I could pull in time, how I should pace myself, and it's not a chore any more. I have been known to trick myself by setting an alarm and going at stupid o'clock in the morning when my head's still too groggy to realise until too late that I've gone on one of those "run" things before it can convince me to procrastinate.

*salted peanuts, some manner of seeds, and raisins; a mix of both chocolate-covered and normal is brilliant.

Mad Moose
06/08/2013, 6:55 PM
Howya!

I'm having awful trouble getting back into the swing of things. I think it's a combo of eating and drinking atc and not getting my energy at the right time of the day. I hate eating too soon before a run but the latest I can lunch is 2PM. Anyone any ideas to counteract this issue say idf I wanted to run at about 6PM?

Good evening. I'm not so sure how to answer this as I've done the same as you. I have light lunch and my dinner after my run. I sometimes get it wrong but I sometimes will know I've enough sugar/energy taken on before I go out. So today I had a doughnut and considered that my energy to burn.

For example I ran last Thursday. Was going for 6.5 miles at around 5.30 after work. It was so hot I really couldn't move and I did 4 I think in the end. I ran 10 miles this evening again having had lunch around 1 and had a doughnut in the afternoon and as it wasn't as warm I felt good and did a nice 10 miles. I'm eating dinner now.

The only thing I'd say is take something light an hour before your run. I always think carbs and sugar so make yourself a peanut butter or chocolate spread sandwich. You'll move with the slow energy release of peanut butter. Carry some jelly beans just in case you get it wrong so if your sugar levels ran low you have an emergency supply.

Just some of my basic tips. Hope they help.

Mad Moose
06/08/2013, 6:59 PM
after neglecting running completely because of the heat (yes I know I could have run in the early mornings, but that's almost worse!).

Don't worry. I consider myself experienced and I know my body but I got this so wrong so many times in the last few weeks. I rested over the weekend as I went out on Thurs evening and I thought I was carrying a bag of cement. My body can get tired. Did my regular Tuesday evening 10 miles and flew it which gives you a lift and confidence.

If you ahve a bad run put it behind you but listen to your body. If it says it's tired then listen to that and rest. You'll benefit in the long run.

peadar1987
07/08/2013, 9:37 AM
At the moment I'm trying to alternate running and swimming, hopefully getting a 5k, a 10k, and two 1500 metre swims every week to keep my fitness up. Then once winter rolls round again find some football or hockey to play as well. Hopefully stop me getting bored by switching up the exercises, but today is a swim day, and I think it's encouraging that I'm a bit disappointed not to be trying out one of my new 5k routes!

07/04/2014, 1:51 PM
Any marathons planned this year? I'm on the verge of entering the Dublin one. Retired from football over christmas with the intention of dedicating the free time to running and avoiding the niggling football injuries that kept disrupting me. Have been relatively good since January, getting out for at least 3 runs nearly every week, times are a bit behind this time last year but that's not surprising because my base was a lot lower coming into January. Ran the Great Ireland 10k yesterday in 47.53, nearly two minutes slower than last year but I thought I was going to struggle to break 50mins so was pleasantly surprised. Plan to enter the race series and the marathon on payday. Going to work on getting my 5k down over the next month or so and then start building the distance. Excited about the challenge of just completing the marathon, although I do have a goal of getting close to 3.30 in my head, even though it's probably far too ambitious.

07/04/2014, 6:16 PM
I've no marathons planned. I did two half marathons recently though recording 1:32 in February and then 1:31 in March. My goal this year is to do a sub 2:20 Olympic Distance triathlon (London in August) and to run a 39-something 10k. My 10k times are stubbornly stuck at the low 41 minute mark.

I think I'm becoming a runner first and foremost though so after this season I think I'll drop the triathlons and concentrate on running for the most part. In my age group I'm reasonably competitive in 5-10k. I raced cross country this winter for the first time and loved it.

I'll probably give the marathon another go but not until I go sub-40 for 10k. I did 3:30:12 in Edinburgh in the heat in 2012 so think I have a 3:20 in me.

There's a great app called the McMilllan Running Calculator which predicts your times for any distance based on recent race results over other distances. It says I should be doing 3:12 for marathon which would require a lot of training! But funnily enough my race times from the mile all the way to half marathon are within seconds of what the app predicts.

08/04/2014, 6:59 AM
I like the McMillan calculator alright. And it makes me think if I really get the training right I can definitely get close to the 3.45. It was fairly close with my 5k, 10k so far so will be interesting to see if it stays consistent. Sub 40 10k is serious running in fairness. I'll be very happy if I get sub 20 5k, even under 21 I'd be pretty happy at the moment.

03/05/2014, 4:13 PM
Big week for me just finished. I won my club duathlon championships - all ages, not just my age category - last Sunday and I went under 40 mins for 10k today for first time (39:53). More room for improvement. Chuffed about both, and especially the former as it was my first ever duathlon.

03/07/2014, 11:34 AM
Marathon entered and training well under way. Following a 22 week programme, it's fairly basic, 4 short runs and one long one most weeks. Feeling the benefits of getting out and running consistently and sticking to a plan. Ran the first of the race series last week and set a PB in the 5 mile of 35.26, had a target of 36 so was very pleased. It was an improvement of just over 3 minutes on the Terenure 5 mile 6 weeks earlier. 10k on the 20th July and the target there is sub 45 for another PB. Then the mileage really starts to ramp up so hopefully the body will hold up OK.

09/09/2014, 11:13 AM
Just under seven weeks to go. Managed to stick to the training plan fairly well. One missed long run and a couple of short ones but still on track. Knees are feeling it a bit after the long runs, up to 18 miles now the plan for this Sunday is 18 miles with 10 at marathon pace. Aiming for sub 3.30 for the marathon now. I've hit my targets in all the races to date 44.47 in the 10k 74.02 in the 10 mile and set a new 5k pb last week of 20.18 (after only getting 4 miles instead of the planned 16 on the Sunday I was fresher than expected for race on Tuesday so decided to have a go on a flat course). Half marathon is on the 20th and I hope to hit around 98mins to still be on target.

22/09/2014, 11:08 AM
1.37.56 for the half marathon so bang on target. Felt a lot better at the finish than I did for the 10 mile which was nice. Had a stinker of a long run the week before and wasn't optimistic during the week so very happy with the result. Might enter the Athlone 3/4 marathon on 5th October as it looks like really good prep and they have pacers for people building to the marathon, it has to be more fun than a long run on my own!

23/09/2014, 8:25 AM
Well done. Athlone sounds like a good idea alright.

I've got the Ealing Half Marathon this Sunday. I'd like to run under 90 mins but I'm told the first half of the course is quite hilly. I haven't run it before so don't know what to expect.

My guess is 91-92 minutes but we'll see.

I did a ten miler two weeks ago on what was billed as an undulating course but it was outright hilly. Dan Martin would have struggled to cycle up a couple of the hills. I did low 70 mins, but in my last two half marathons I was 68-something at the ten mile mark. I should have a 67 minute Ten in me but let's see.

28/09/2014, 3:04 PM
Not sure whether to laugh or cry after the Ealing Half this morning. I beat my PB by well over a minute but only just failed to break 90 minutes, clocking in at 1:30:10.

It was a hilly course with a few genuinely leg sapping climbs so it was definitely a slow course. The sun came out too, which didn't help. Considering I have not done much in the way of long running and the hilly course I suppose I gotta be pleased and pretty confident I can run sub-90 next time I give this distance a go.

Great atmosphere and very well supported event. All runners wore yellow ribbons, and ribbons were tied to lampposts all around the course in honour of the poor teenage girl who went missing in the area a few weeks ago.

28/10/2014, 9:03 PM
Well that was tough but I survived. From the bad long run the week before the half things just got worse training wise. Work commitments made it tough as I had to attend a few events and i picked up a tummy bug after a trip to Bucharest. Did the Athlone 3/4 having been sick the day before and for most of the week after, hit the wall there in a big way after 14 miles and genuinely wasn't sure I'd get to the finish, had to walk a fair portion of it. Also picked up a bruised foot so not only was confidence knocked but I hardly ran at all for last 3/4 weeks before the marathon. Scaled back expectations and went for 3.50 pace rather than the earlier optimism of 3.30. Started easy and probably pushed a bit too much when I was feeling good, hit the half way a fraction under 3.50 pace and kept it up to 19 miles.

Didn't hit the wall anything like the Athlone run but the missed sessions and lack of long runs meant I just didn't have the strength to maintain the pace. Found the last 5 miles very tough but managed to not walk (even if it was more shuffle than run at times) and crossed the line in 4.00.48. I stopped caring about the time as soon as I realised the 3.50 was gone but it was a bit gutting to just miss out on sub 4 I suppose. Didn't expect to feel quite so emotional crossing the finish line, but it was a massive mental battle not to walk in the last 5 miles and it was an incredible feeling of relief and joy to achieve something that has always been on my bucket list. Made all the better today when I won an extra €250 for my charity from Airtricity.

Apart from some tightness around my right knee the body seems OK today. I've been asking myself if I'll do it again and I just can't decide. I didn't really enjoy a single run over 16 miles, but I think I learned a lot about nutrition and hydration and I know I need to work on my core and leg strength if I want to get better. I definitely want to tackle PB's again next year in all the events up to the half at least. If I improve the strength and get my PB's down I know I'm going to want to try get that 3.30 time next year, if I get some good long runs in and actually enjoy them I know I won't be able to resist the temptation.

Crosby87
28/10/2014, 9:39 PM
Does anyone think this is the year someone goes under the 2 hour mark on Sunday?

04/11/2014, 1:51 PM
I forgot I had actually started this thread back in 2010 and it was the missus considering the marathon. Back then my shin splints were so bad I couldn't run the length of a football pitch, but I did say if I got them sorted I'd eventually like to give the marathon a go. Thankfully they haven't bothered me at all for a few years now.

I think I've already come around to giving the marathon another go next year. The body recovered pretty quickly (although the foot I hurt in the last few weeks is still a bit tender). Hope to get back out at a park run this weekend and start chasing a sub 20 minute 5k again. Going to take up cross-fit for a few months too in the hope that an improvement in my overall strength will help with the running.

04/11/2014, 2:13 PM
Of course you'll give it another go. I can sense you feel you have unfinished business. But set other targets too, times for 5, 10 and 21.1k. It's not all about the marathon. I'll do another but not until 2016. I've other milestones to hit first, and I'm not even going to think of doing a marathon again until my other milestones suggest an assault on 3:00 is possible.

well done anyway, those last miles are torture, I've been there.

07/11/2014, 12:04 PM
I'm back out this Sunday. I am determined to get back to were I was by Christmas. Connemarathon 2015 is on the cards and Dublin Marathon 2016. It has to be done. Like PI I have unfinished business. Unlike PI I have an amazing ability to get distracted.

09/02/2015, 1:16 PM
Well, given that my missus isn't interested, I've got to let off steam here. I've hit the best running form of my life lately. I noticed a big improvement in a December cross country race, the Southern England Vets Championships, where I finished in among the 36 minute 10k runners in my club. Bear in mind that my 10k PB from last May was 39:55. In November I had started beating two club mates who were typically a minute quicker than me over 8k XC but I thought nothing much of it.

I regularly compete in a 5 series monthly XC league made up of London's 20 biggest running clubs. I used to finish about 250th out of 400+ but I have steadily improved through the season and am now 120th, and well inside the top ten for my age. The top 20 or so guys in this league have all run for their country at senior level and one guy was a European champion I think. Our best runner ran in last year's Commonwealths and he doesn't even win these races. The standard at the top of the field is excellent.

So, armed with good form, I did a 38:02 10k in January and a 1:27 Half Marathon last week. The Half was over a brutal course, hills everywhere. Really hard course (Watford) so I think it was a 1:24, maybe 1:25 on a normal course. To make things worse I got a bit testosterone-driven at a (rare) yoga class 6 days earlier, when it was me and a room full of fit yummy mummies. I couldn't look like a gimp in front of them so I overstretched everything and needed two physio sessions just to get to the start line at Watford. Every step of that race hurt.

On Saturday I finished only 25 seconds behind a teammate who came second in the North London Vets XC late last year and who has a 2:41 marathon to his name. I beat a club mate who runs sub 1:20 half marathons. He obviously doesn't like running in muck, but I love it.

So, next up is a 10k in East London on Wednesday. I'm aiming big (for me): 37:30 but I need to shake off an annoying cold first.

Anyway, my goal for all of this year was to post intermediate distance times that predict a 2:59 marathon, with a view to aiming for the landmark sub-3 in 2016. I'm already hitting those times only 5 weeks into the year so maybe I'll give a marathon a go in the next 6 months.

09/02/2015, 2:04 PM
Had my first runs since the marathon this week. Just 2.4k around the block, but it was great to be back at it. The problem with my foot still hasn't gone away but it's at the stage where it seems to be manageable. Morton's neuroma seems to be the most common term for the type of issue I've had and it seems surgery can be required but I'm hoping to avoid that.
I'm seeing a podiatrist who specialises in solutions without medication or surgery so I'll stick with it for a while. I initially went to my GP and got an x-ray to rule out a stress fracture, GP gave me anti inflammatories usually prescribed to arthritis sufferers but they didn't work. The day I went to the podiatrist it had gotten so bad I could barely put my foot on the ground. I've had about 9 sessions now and followed a specific exercise plan and while it's been up and down in terms of improvement, I think it is starting to work. I haven't had an adverse reaction to the short runs which is the biggest positive, so going to pick it up gradually and hopefully get up to a 5k next week. Don't think another marathon is on the cards this year, but I wouldn't rule out 2016.

Oh and almost forgot to say that's great running Stutts. I hope to make it to your standard one day!

09/02/2015, 8:10 PM
ouch, sounds painful. Hope it clears up soon.

24/02/2015, 10:59 AM
So, next up is a 10k in East London on Wednesday. I'm aiming big (for me): 37:30 but I need to shake off an annoying cold first.
Did the 10k in 37:38. Pretty happy with that. Brings 36-something into play this year.

24/02/2015, 1:19 PM
Did the 10k in 37:38. Pretty happy with that. Brings 36-something into play this year.

Fair play that's real quality running. I'm going to try and start a 5k or 10k training plan to get back into a rhythm of running regularly. If I can get sub 20 5k this year I'll be very pleased.

26/03/2015, 8:46 PM
Am I allowed to brag that I just came 6th in the 40-49 category in the Middlesex Vets Cross Country championships, only 50 seconds off a medal? Not bad for a 47 y/o who only ran his first ever cross country race last year.

03/05/2015, 10:10 PM
Very pleased with my last few weeks. Did a ten mile road race in 1:01 and the next weekend I came 14th in my age group at the European duathlon championships in Spain. I was only 90 seconds off top ten so something to aim for next season. I was surprisingly competitive on the bike leg.

Next up is a Vets track meeting where I enter the 400m and 1500m, neither a good distance for me, before I aim for a 36 min 10k on 16/5 in a warm up race before the English national championships. Training for Amsterdam Marathon in October starts this week. Not looking forward to anything longer than 15 miles but it's gotta be done I suppose.

Any updates from passinginterest?

05/05/2015, 8:32 AM
That's fantastic stuff. My tale of woe continues. Foot was about 95% last Friday and I was sure I had turned a corner only to wake up in pain again on Sunday morning. On the plus side the flare ups are becoming less and less frequent and the recovery time is getting quicker so while it's a very slow process I do think it's getting there. Desperate to get back running at this stage.

19/05/2015, 12:46 PM
I did the 1500m in 4:49, but my inexperience at that distance showed. I was a bit too comfortable in the middle section and I timed my late surge a bit too late. I think I can easily hit 4:45 or lower.

On Saturday I did 36:48 for 10k, a PB by 50 seconds. First 5k in -8:10, second in 18:38.

Very pleased although my age graded time was 79.9% (my time as a % of the time recorded by the best in the world at my age. Age Grading is a way of comparing younger runners' times to older runners' times). 80% is the threshold to be considered at the low end of national standard for one's age. I missed that by a second or two only :(

Anyway, that 10k time suggests my target marathon time should be 2:52~2:53, although this assumes I train properly for the longer distances.

28/05/2015, 6:47 PM
36:31 in the London 10k. 82.1% age headed. Get in!

04/07/2015, 3:21 PM
Another few respectable races for me, doing 3k in 9:55, first time under 10 mins for that distance, and a 1k race in 2:53. I was in my club 1 mile championships on Tuesday and felt I had a chance of doing 4-something but frustratingly I came in at 5-zero-zero! Next up is a 5k road race followed by a ten mile road race 3 days later. Low 17 and 60 mins are the respective targets.

06/07/2015, 2:40 PM
Due to ubforeseen circumstances, my morning run was postponed this morning.

Tuesday will be tough. But I have to do it for my sanity. I walked the route at lunchtime today in the Phoenix Park that I'm going to take and I'm really looking forward to it.

robbieos88
19/08/2015, 10:03 PM
Howya lads, haven't posted here in a while. I'm doing the Longford Marathon on 30th August in aid of Pieta House. Any donations greatly appreciated.

http://www.mycharity.ie/event/longfordmarathon/

Did a marathon last year in Germany and got 3:51:51 so hoping to beat that this year.

Thanks

Crosby87
27/08/2015, 3:49 PM
I know it's not marathon but I couldn't find a track thread...bolt gets hit by chinaman on segue segway? I laughed.

http://espn.go.com/olympics/trackandfield/story/_/id/13522374/world-championships-usain-bolt-wins-200-meters-completes-sprint-double

Crosby87
19/09/2015, 2:32 PM
So what do you guys think about the suzy favor hamilton hooker thing? What. A. Nutjob.

http://www.foxnews.com/entertainment/2015/09/17/olympian-turned-escort-suzy-favor-hamiltonys-drug-mental-disorder-led-to/

21/09/2015, 9:18 PM
Howya lads, haven't posted here in a while. I'm doing the Longford Marathon on 30th August in aid of Pieta House. Any donations greatly appreciated.

http://www.mycharity.ie/event/longfordmarathon/

Did a marathon last year in Germany and got 3:51:51 so hoping to beat that this year.

Thanks
Go on then. How did you do?

18/10/2015, 6:24 PM
Good two weeks for me. 36:02 10k two weeks ago, 2:58 Amsterdam Marathon today. Season's goals achieved though the 5-zero-zero Mile still grinds a bit.

Crosby87
18/10/2015, 6:27 PM
You run like Forest Gump stutts.

Crosby87
28/10/2015, 3:43 PM
Four Irish brothers from Co Tyrone returning to run NYC marathon 30 years later......funny article. I'll have the defibrillator ready.

http://www.runnersworld.com/new-york-city-marathon/after-35-years-four-irish-brothers-returning-to-new-york-city-marathon

20/11/2015, 8:18 AM
Speaking of defibrillators, judging from the twittersphere our own Dodge has joined the ranks of foot.ie athletes.

Time for Dodge to post his blogs here too, methinks.

24/11/2015, 11:31 AM
Back doing a little bit here and there. Taking it slowly at the moment. Foot is not 100% but it's holding up OK. Plan is to build up gradually and all going well tackle Dublin marathon 2016. Sub 20min 5k in the spring would be target number one if I don't end up in a heap!

25/11/2015, 2:23 PM
Speaking of defibrillators, judging from the twittersphere our own Dodge has joined the ranks of foot.ie athletes.

Time for Dodge to post his blogs here too, methinks.

Hmmm not quite an athlete. More a less fat *******

Real ale Madrid
25/11/2015, 6:56 PM
Everytime I see this thread I think Snickers is changing the name back. Mmmm snickers.

01/12/2015, 9:33 AM
Has anyone here joined a really big marathon? Something as big as Boston marathon.I did Amsterdam, one of Europe's bigger ones. 12,000 runners. I haven't done any of the "big 5": NY, Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago. Frankfurt is pretty big too.

01/12/2015, 1:54 PM
FWIW, diary entry three...

http://www.balls.ie/fitness-lifestyle/join-me-on-my-couch-to-5k-journey-week-three/317863?utm_campaign=twitter&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitter

01/12/2015, 3:32 PM
Fair play Dodge. The routine is the most important part, the speed in particular will improve surprisingly quickly if you just keep getting out regularly.

Crosby87
01/12/2015, 3:57 PM
Looks like you finally got Will Dunne off the couch.

17/10/2016, 4:34 PM
2 years later finally went back to physio with the foot pain. Sent me straight for an MRI, suspected Morton's neuroma (which is what I had expected), MRI results came in today and it not Morton's, it looks like something called Freiberg's disease, so referring me to an orthopaedic surgeon to discuss treatment options. Hopefully still at the stage where it can be treated with rest, possibly in a boot/cast for 4-6 weeks, but given I've left it so long it may be at the stage where surgical intervention is required. Now is when health insurance would have come in handy!

17/10/2016, 8:31 PM
Can't really remember why I am following this thread, as I only decided to do a marathon last week, but signed up for Manchester next spring. Looking at following something along the lines of Run Less Run Faster mentioned on page 1 by stuttgart, mainly so can carry on the swims and runs (started triathlon this season). Thinking of doing it with LSR though, and keep a bit on intensity in the turbo sessions! Had ITB issues this year, so not sure how the body will hold up, but been working hard on the glutes, so sure we'll see...

27/10/2016, 12:41 PM
I hear Manchester is quite a quick course and it's at a good time of year, unlikely for temperatures to rise.

That Run Less Run Faster programme is controversial, not least because of the lack of a regular LSR. The criticism of RLRF is that as marathon running is so much about using your aerobic energy system then that’s the system you should be taxing most in training. The RLRF programme prefers a faster-paced long run. I don’t have as big a cycle commute any more so I’m going to follow a more conventional training plan involving higher mileage, a lot of it at easy to moderate pace.

I qualified for London in April 2017 by way of my Amsterdam time in 2015, getting a Good For Age place. I’ve not yet got back into regular LSRs but I’ll frequently whack out 12-15 miles just as general training anyway.

As Sonia O’Sullivan said in her Irish Times column recently, there’s no one best way that works for everyone. My personal preference (as a 49 year old) is to do more LSR rather than the faster paced long runs that book recommends. However, I’d still recommend reading the book because once you’ve read it you’re absolutely clear on the merits of mixing your training and why. You’ll learn why short bouts of fast intervals are important, why a few miles per week run at lactate threshold are important and why the LSR is important.

Joining a club is a great idea, especially one that does cross-country leagues during the winter. Our cross country season has started and I’d really recommend it as it really strengthens your running. Through my club I now have a group of pals who are of the same standard and we’ll do a lot of training together. One just ran a PB of 2:51 (2:57 2015 time) in Budapest while another blew up spectacularly at Abingdon last weekend (Oxfordshire) and came in at 3:25, while aiming for just under 3:00. My intermediate distances predict low 2:50s for me so I’ll aim for 2:51~2:52 and see how I fare. I ran the Great South Run (10 miles) on Sunday in 61 mins, a PB by 5 seconds but at the start of the year my goal was to do sub-60 so I must be a bit more focused.

This website has a great calculator / race time predictor:

http://www.runningforfitness.org/calc/racepaces/rp?metres=16090&hr=1&min=01&sec=31&age=49&gender=M&Submit=Calculate

It was written by a club-mate here in London. The whole site is very useful.

KrisLetang
05/11/2017, 6:36 PM
Shalane Flanigan...there's an Irish girl for ya. She's gone through injuries and hasn't ran in a while. Seems like a nice girl, here's to hoping it's all natural. I've never heard that first name before, is it common at all? The announcers were going between "Shalene" like "Eileen" "She-Lane" and "She-Lann."

29/10/2019, 8:01 AM
2 years later finally went back to physio with the foot pain. Sent me straight for an MRI, suspected Morton's neuroma (which is what I had expected), MRI results came in today and it not Morton's, it looks like something called Freiberg's disease, so referring me to an orthopaedic surgeon to discuss treatment options. Hopefully still at the stage where it can be treated with rest, possibly in a boot/cast for 4-6 weeks, but given I've left it so long it may be at the stage where surgical intervention is required. Now is when health insurance would have come in handy!

It took another couple of years to finally figure out I have psoriatic arthritis in a couple of metatarsal heads. With injections and medication I got it under control about a year ago and signed up for another Dublin marathon. Came home in 3.59.08 on Sunday and delighted with life.