View Full Version : Rovers Accounts

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

10/08/2010, 11:38 AM
You've been watching events unfold in Dalymount as voted for by the fully-informed members, yeah? :p

Yeah, and I'm not angry about that either. No one to blame but themselves.

I wonder how many clubs over inflate their intangible assets? Ridiculous that they try put a value on it (or am I being thick again?)

10/08/2010, 11:42 AM
Yeah, and I'm not angry about that either.
Fairy nuff. Suppose "angry" isn't the word really.

On the wages, they were always going to go up last season in fairness, even by half as you could extrapolate from those figures. An increase this season would be more interesting.

Edit - it should probably also be noted that there's a parent company, Shamrock Rovers Members Club Limited, which I think is the old 400 club. Members' subs were down E50k last year, and the company gave E110k less to SRFC Ltd during the year than the previous year. It made E6k last year.

marinobohs
10/08/2010, 1:33 PM

On the wages, they were always going to go up last season in fairness, even by half as you could extrapolate from those figures. An increase this season would be more interesting.

Edit - it should probably also be noted that there's a parent company, Shamrock Rovers Members Club Limited, which I think is the old 400 club. Members' subs were down E50k last year, and the company gave E110k less to SRFC Ltd during the year than the previous year. It made E6k last year.

Interesting when most clubs cut down on wages last year but there is accounting and then defending the "model club" eh Stu ?

10/08/2010, 1:36 PM
Did the clubs who cut wages have an increase in income or decrease, mb..

marinobohs
10/08/2010, 1:41 PM
Did the clubs who cut wages have an increase in income or decrease, mb..

Most clubs had a decrease in income to be honest.just to be clear I wasn't having a go at shams (in this instance). i suspect that most clubs (as has been said in other posts) overspend on a "build it and they will come" philosophy unfortunately ignoring that crowds have been declining (broadly) for the last 30+ years.
Nobody appears willing to accept that the current awful crowds may well be as good as it gets (allowing for the odd peaks and throughs depending on success, europe etc) especially in a declining economy.

10/08/2010, 1:50 PM
Interesting when most clubs cut down on wages last year but there is accounting and then defending the "model club" eh Stu ?
When a club doubles their attendance and can suddenly start earning money from advertising hoardings among other things, I think you can justify raising wages. Maybe not by as much as they did, but you can certainly justify it.

hoops1
10/08/2010, 2:15 PM
We are working off a new business model. Use money that we get for winning the league, fai cup and setanta cup for the next 5 years, make the breakthrough into the group stages in Europe. Keep buyin all the best players until we do.Simple

SMorgan
10/08/2010, 2:57 PM
Nothing new about that. Shels used that model a few year back.

10/08/2010, 3:03 PM
We are working off a new business model. Use money that we get for winning the league, fai cup and setanta cup for the next 5 years, make the breakthrough into the group stages in Europe. Keep buyin all the best players until we do.SimpleWhen you say "new business model", did you actually mean "the same business model Shels and Bohs used"?

Edit: Beaten to it by SMorgan.

10/08/2010, 3:04 PM
Am I the only one who thought hoops1 was making a joke based on exactly that point?

dong
10/08/2010, 3:07 PM
A few weeks of paying Boco's wages will soon undo that.

I presume you're not paying him two grand a week this time?

2 grand a week in this day and age? I wouldn't think so. I doubt if he was ever earning that to be honest. Where did you pluck that figure from?
Whatever amount he was on, you lot in your former guise were doing your best to lure him with even higher wages, until the wheels came off. :D

10/08/2010, 3:10 PM
When you say "new business model", did you actually mean "the same business model Shels and Bohs used"?

Edit: Beaten to it by SMorgan.

Jaysus lads, how did you miss that one so badly?

poster
10/08/2010, 3:10 PM
2 grand a week in this day and age? I wouldn't think so. I doubt if he was ever earning that to be honest. Where did you pluck that figure from?

It was nowhere near 2k, really don't know who came up with that rumour, and would love to know.

10/08/2010, 3:11 PM
Am I the only one who thought hoops1 was making a joke based on exactly that point?

No.

Now I'm wondering if the other two are joking too but it's a bit of a stretch.

10/08/2010, 3:11 PM

I know exactly what Boco was getting paid last year and it was less than half that. As well making a profit last year we are now debt free.

poster
10/08/2010, 3:21 PM
We pretty much are The Model Club.

10/08/2010, 3:35 PM
I know exactly what Boco was getting paid last year and it was less than half that. .

Perhaps you'd want to ask people in your own club who were touting him about for sale/loan and offering to pay a % of his wages, quoting what he was on.

10/08/2010, 3:37 PM
Perhaps you'd want to ask people in your own club who were touting him about for sale/loan and offering to pay a % of his wages, quoting what he was on.

Seeing his pay slip is enough proof for me.

10/08/2010, 3:50 PM
Seeing his pay slip is enough proof for me.You put his full earnings on a payslip? How quaint.

It'll never catch on....

Whatever amount he was on, you lot in your former guise were doing your best to lure him with even higher wages, until the wheels came off. :D"wheels coming off"? I'd like to view it as the wheels being re-attached, as previously we didn't have wheels, but we thought we had a magic carpet.

10/08/2010, 4:00 PM
You put his full earnings on a payslip? How quaint.

It'll never catch on.....

it certainly didnt in Derry!! ;) ;)

10/08/2010, 4:01 PM
Yeah, see - again, I think that was his point...

10/08/2010, 4:03 PM
ah, i see... this thread is full of either rank sarcasm or rank stupidity...

10/08/2010, 4:04 PM
Nightmare day for people missing jokes around here. Shameful stuff. Boco was telling anyone who'd listen that he's on 80k a year last year. Fairly open about it too.

10/08/2010, 4:06 PM
Nightmare day for people missing jokes around here. Shameful stuff. Boco was telling anyone who'd listen that he's on 80k a year last year. Fairly open about it too.

you're joking, right?

dong
10/08/2010, 4:10 PM

Nah, not a hope. More fool you to believe it. No player ever earned 80k at Rovers.

10/08/2010, 4:15 PM
I didn't say I believed it. I said its what he was telling people he was earning.

dong
10/08/2010, 4:18 PM
Good man.

poster
10/08/2010, 4:20 PM
Funny that this thread is titled "Rovers Accounts", and we've ended up at Rovers accounts.

10/08/2010, 4:30 PM
We ended last season with an operating profit, 6 figure one at that.

You're not supposed to count the digits after the decimal point... :p

10/08/2010, 4:34 PM
This thread is like one of those awkward first date conversations that goes horribly wrong..

10/08/2010, 4:37 PM
This thread is like one of those awkward first date conversations that goes horribly wrong..

"Ah, no, but who do you REALLY support ?

You mean - you're into League of Ireland football......?!"

*extended silence, followed by awkward shuffling of feet and sudden reminder that the gas is left on and the cat needs letting out.....*

Dave_SRFC
10/08/2010, 5:33 PM
everyone baying for blood, "lets hope those Rovers cnuts go the same way the last 3 league winners went", god forbid the league should have a successful club on and off the field....depressing reading a lot of the posts on here.

10/08/2010, 5:51 PM
everyone baying for blood, "lets hope those Rovers cnuts go the same way the last 3 league winners went", god forbid the league should have a successful club on and off the field....depressing reading a lot of the posts on here.

are you serious? You need to re-read the thread. There is one, maybe two, negative posters in five pages. Perhaps what is really depressing you is the figures in the Rovers accounts.

10/08/2010, 5:53 PM
everyone baying for blood, "lets hope those Rovers cnuts go the same way the last 3 league winners went", god forbid the league should have a successful club on and off the field....depressing reading a lot of the posts on here.1) You've managed to quote something that is a complete misrepresentation of 99% of the posts on this thread.

2)You can hardly be surprised, given all thats gone on in the League over the last decade, that people are skeptical when they're told "its different this time". Its got nothing to do with Rovers for most people. I'd hazard a guess that EVERY club that ran a substantial loss either hit the skids or went very close to it.

HulaHoop
10/08/2010, 6:10 PM

Very good Stu, at least someone here has attempted some proper analysis. I'm not going into details on private club accounts but I will say the operating loss last year was absolutely nothing to do with us paying big wages.

10/08/2010, 9:35 PM
You can hardly be surprised, given all thats gone on in the League over the last decade, that people are skeptical when they're told "its different this time". Its got nothing to do with Rovers for most people.

SRFC has had more or less the same board for the past 5 years. There has never been a hint of financial bother during that time, and it's not going to start now. The club is only going to get stronger, on and off the pitch.

10/08/2010, 10:34 PM
SRFC has had more or less the same board for the past 5 years. There has never been a hint of financial bother during that time, and it's not going to start now. The club is only going to get stronger, on and off the pitch.

2+ years ago members were asked to pay 5 years fees upfront as Rovers were badly struggling. You weren't a member at the time, so you mightn't have been told.

10/08/2010, 10:45 PM
You weren't a member at the time, so you mightn't have been told.

And you were a member, who was told?

I know what was asked, it was optional, not an order. At no point during the time, were the club on the cliff. The club carried on it's business without having it's accounts figures in newspapers, for no other reason than to kick the league.

11/08/2010, 7:09 AM
And you were a member, who was told?
Judging by the Ultras forum I reckon I've more Rovers mates than you ;)

I know what was asked, it was optional, not an order. At no point during the time, were the club on the cliff. The club carried on it's business without having it's accounts figures in newspapers, for no other reason than to kick the league.
Thats fine, but it most certainly is a "hint of financial trouble" and you tried to claim there wass never any.

Another one of your spoofs busted...

11/08/2010, 7:31 AM
Judging by the Ultras forum I reckon I've more Rovers mates than you ;)

Thats fine, but it most certainly is a "hint of financial trouble" and you tried to claim there wass never any.

Another one of your spoofs busted...

Not a spoof, nor busted. I have my fair share of "mates" on our mb, and I get on well with all of them.

I'm not concerned by the figures, and I trust the board to handle them accordingly. There are many other clubs who would love to only have the losses we have.

11/08/2010, 7:34 AM
None of which negates the fact that your board outlined the financial problems they were facing and asked members to cover it by advancing subscriptions.

11/08/2010, 7:39 AM
Ok, you can keep parroting that as a rather desperate example of perceived financial "trouble".

I've nothing more to add on that specific issue.

Rasputin
11/08/2010, 9:03 AM

Ohh the irony.
Apparently the last time he was with us he was being paid under a grand a week by Rovers.
But sure if worst comes to the worst we can do a Derry on it.

mrtndvn
11/08/2010, 10:11 AM
Ohh the irony.
Apparently the last time he was with us he was being paid under a grand a week by Rovers.
But sure if worst comes to the worst we can do a Derry on it.

Under a grand, ha!!

Rasputin
11/08/2010, 11:11 AM
Under a grand, ha!!
No sense of irony at all that Derry fans think they know what Boco was paid with us and that all the Rovers fans here dont and yet yee didnt even know what your old club was paying its players.
Just bizarre.

redobit
11/08/2010, 11:12 AM
Dont know why Boco's old contract has come in to this. To my knowledge, all monies, no matter what the figure (even if it was 2K ORA) were paid in full and on time to Boco. End of story.

marinobohs
11/08/2010, 12:17 PM

Yes, yes boo Hoo its not fair, slagging Shels, Drogs, Cork, and especially Bohs GOOD but to suggest anything nasty about the shams is just. so. wrong !!!!!!!!!!!
just like winning nothing of note for near twenty years can now be classed" successful on the pitch".:rolleyes:

Gotta hand it to them the rent boys are always good for a laugh (unfortunately no trophies for that either).

11/08/2010, 3:20 PM
No sense of irony at all that Derry fans think they know what Boco was paid with us and that all the Rovers fans here dont and yet yee didnt even know what your old club was paying its players.
Just bizarre.

Er,

Check back on posting history chief- plenty of us were posting about the fact that we didn't believe our supposed wage bills, well well before the wheels fell out.

Riddickcule
11/08/2010, 3:25 PM
This is gas.

Yet more jealously and bitterness towards SRFC. Get a grip the lot of ye, you think you know more then the club themselves. Its just a bit of debt, they'll handle it.

Also find it funny when Bohs fans slag Rovers off when their club is going down the ****ter.

11/08/2010, 3:34 PM
Yet more jealously and bitterness towards SRFC. Get a grip the lot of ye, you think you know more then the club themselves. Its just a bit of debt
Its just a bit of debt and they've lost money every year they've been running it....

Seriously, the vast majority of posts on this thread are from bitter and jealous.