View Full Version : Airtricity League Latest: Friday Aug 6th
peadar1987
08/08/2010, 7:29 PM
Ciaran W
08/08/2010, 7:36 PM
Ah we didnt need him :)
It's called having strength in depth ... get over it!
:cyclops:
Ok, that's me told so.
Sorry Mr.Fenn
:laugh:
Jicked
08/08/2010, 8:10 PM
Seemed like a harsh yellow for Twigg, he didn't go off the pitch, just celebrated near where he scored. Congrats to Bohs fans who set the Tallaght Stadium record at a fantastic 12 bottles thrown at the one incident. Fun game that :)
sundance kid
08/08/2010, 8:39 PM
hopefully the bohs lads on here will be on soon to condemn the actions of their fans today. as a previous poster says, it was 12 bottles they threw at twigg today.
i think we all know what would be the reaction on here if the roles were reversed.
Congrats to Bohs fans who set the Tallaght Stadium record at a fantastic 12 bottles thrown at the one incident.
Did they have the same strike rate as Bohs in front of goal in Tallaght? :D
Jicked
08/08/2010, 9:12 PM
It was Madden-esque. I wonder will Fenlon trot out Madden again in the final meeting between the two teams, he's been woeful every time he's played us for two years.
bluewhitearmy
08/08/2010, 10:23 PM
Ended up in the middle of the Rover fans today some of the soundest fans ive ever talked to. Great lads that really love the club with great passion created brilliant atmosphere and even let me have a head off the ball :). Well done lads hope ye win the league.
peadar1987
08/08/2010, 10:29 PM
Ended up in the middle of the Rover fans today some of the soundest fans ive ever talked to. Great lads that really love the club with great passion created brilliant atmosphere and even let me have a head off the ball :). Well done lads hope ye win the league.
It's a good thing there's no button to take away thanks. There'd be a lot of broken mice in Sligo after this post!
08/08/2010, 10:53 PM
Seemed like a harsh yellow for Twigg, he didn't go off the pitch, just celebrated near where he scored. Congrats to Bohs fans who set the Tallaght Stadium record at a fantastic 12 bottles thrown at the one incident. Fun game that :)
They are people who get wound up by a mascot, never mind Twigg. They also lost their bottle - many bottles, but they hit the target as accurately as their players.
HulaHoop
09/08/2010, 12:11 AM
Here's another us against the world post from mise. Can you imagine the mock outrage and calls for points deductions and matches to be played behind closed doors if Rovers fans threw 12 bottles at a player? But as it's someone else's fans that did it it's no big deal is it lads?
bullit
09/08/2010, 12:16 AM
Here's another us against the world post from mise. Can you imagine the mock outrage and calls for points deductions and matches to be played behind closed doors if Rovers fans threw 12 bottles at a player? But as it's someone else's fans that did it it's no big deal is it lads?
Whats the rule there?? Will Rovers get the fine for Bores fans behaviour??
09/08/2010, 5:47 AM
Somebody at one of the other boards reckons Clough was over to watch Madden, Powell and Chambers. Must have left fairly disappointed then!
bingoballs
09/08/2010, 6:22 AM
What can one say. Delightful to see that already this thread will develop into posts from the usual places of SRFC hate. We only won cause Bohs were bad, we're cynical blah blah blah. Or maybe that should be bah bah bah for some of you? It really is great to be a Hoop. Hopefully, unlike after the last game in Tallaght, Marinobohs and his Gypo friends won't take as long to come on and post their opinions. Wouldn't it just be easier for Bohs to give us the 6 points next season for the 2 games in Tallaght to save themselves a few quid?
Ah Hoopy, did i not give ye the plaudits ye deserved? I'm so sorry, ye were bah bah bah brilliant
Whats the rule there?? Will Rovers get the fine for Bores fans behaviour??
No, Bohs will get it (if anything). Pats were fined for "flares" (even though they were smokebombs) for our game in Tallaght
marinobohs
09/08/2010, 10:13 AM
probobly the same points deduction given for hitting a assistant ref with a bottle ? or having a fan invading the pitch ? jezus H well deserved win for shams but the martyrdom thing is beyond a joke.
In Bohs' defence, their profligacy was only mirrored by their team. 15 shots off a big sitting target at close range? :D
Mario
09/08/2010, 12:05 PM
probobly the same points deduction given for hitting a assistant ref with a bottle ? or having a fan invading the pitch ?
fyi a Bohs fan was pictured on facebook with one leg over the fence attempting to get on the pitch and police rushing across to keep him off when Twigg scored.
Jicked
09/08/2010, 12:15 PM
probobly the same points deduction given for hitting a assistant ref with a bottle ? or having a fan invading the pitch ? jezus H well deserved win for shams but the martyrdom thing is beyond a joke.
I think the point he was making was that plenty of Bohs/Sligo fans suggested such action could/should be taken against Shamrock Rovers, but don't seem to be discussing similar being appropriate for a quite amazing amount of bottles thrown at Twigg. I haven't seen any Rovers fans making a big deal of it, apart from it being pretty funny. Leave the histrionics to those with a better view of these incidents in Canada, Norway, Tubercurry etc.
I can't remember seeing so many bottles thrown in one incident at a game before in the LoI. Twigg didn't either go right over to the Bohs fans, just slid inside the box at the side where he scored. One naughty boy on the left clearly trying to get up close and personal with Twigg. Between that and throwing a punch at him last time in Tallaght I'm getting the impression they don't like him very much.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs243.snc4/39473_455457883139_681618139_6249298_7312689_n.jpg
09/08/2010, 12:21 PM
I can't remember seeing so many bottles thrown in one incident at a game before in the LoI. Twigg didn't either go right over to the Bohs fans, just slid inside the box at the side where he scored.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs243.snc4/39473_455457883139_681618139_6249298_7312689_n.jpg
He was rightly booked though. He knew what he was doing, and he does it everytime. He scored against Pats last year at the same end and ran around the net to run celebrate in front of us. (ie he didn't have the excuse he was going that way anyway) Of course it winds people up (I remember Tony Bird used to do it to Rovers fans everytime he scored too - and Rovers fans rightfully moaning about it too) but its part & parcel of the game
Absoutely no excuse for anyone throwing bottles though. Bohs can count themselves lucky nothing hit him
Jicked
09/08/2010, 12:23 PM
Oh he knew what he was doing alright, but unless he goes over to them I thought a yellow was a bit harsh considering he was in that area at the time (so didn't go out of his way over there, if that makes sense). Not that it makes the slightest bit of difference though. I was amazed Bohs didn't manage to hit him with anything, they made enough attempts, I'm still trying to find a pic of the dozen or so bottles on the pitch...
09/08/2010, 12:36 PM
Only going on what I saw on the news (30-second highlights) and what's on here.
Quality second goal from Twigg. His celebrations weren't shown on the news, so didn't see them, or the bottles, but as Dodge said, there's no excuse for them, it was idiocy for which the club will rightly be fined. From that picture above, Twigg seems to be quite a way from them, but maybe the rulebook says he can be booked for 'incitement' or something like that, without necessarily having to be right in front of them.
Flynn's kick was idiocy too. Unacceptable for a footballer to lose it like that (especially as Rovers were 1 up at the time, I think, and there seemed no motivation, that I could see anyway).
Jason Byrne used to do it every time he scored against Rovers for Shels, we all love our players to do it....we'd all do it..
Ultras forum..
http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc23/S0YLENTGREENISPEOPLE/IMG_9691.jpg
I think I can spot 4 around about where Twigg is lying in the picture above. So 4 times the disgust and disgrace please
sligo23
09/08/2010, 12:50 PM
Throwing bottles = very bad. Happy Shamrock Rovers fans?
09/08/2010, 12:53 PM
Jason Byrne used to do it every time he scored against Rovers for Shels, we all love our players to do it....we'd all do it..
I prefer my players celebrating with our fans (and yeah, Byrne's another one who always does it)
marinobohs
09/08/2010, 12:53 PM
I think the point he was making was that plenty of Bohs/Sligo fans suggested such action could/should be taken against Shamrock Rovers, but don't seem to be discussing similar being appropriate for a quite amazing amount of bottles thrown at Twigg. I haven't seen any Rovers fans making a big deal of it, apart from it being pretty funny. Leave the histrionics to those with a better view of these incidents in Canada, Norway, Tubercurry etc.
I can't remember seeing so many bottles thrown in one incident at a game before in the LoI. Twigg didn't either go right over to the Bohs fans, just slid inside the box at the side where he scored. One naughty boy on the left clearly trying to get up close and personal with Twigg. Between that and throwing a punch at him last time in Tallaght I'm getting the impression they don't like him very much.
And the point I was making was that shams bleated like childern when they were acused RE bottle incident (it was plastic, it didnt hit him etc etc),denied rascist chanting heard on TV and made excuses when a "fan" got on the pitch and confronted an opposition player,
All of the above merit point deductions, ground closures more than what occured on Sunday. but then again shams like lecturing others on what to do.
hoops1
09/08/2010, 12:57 PM
I thought Bohs were unlucky. They were within 5 mins of holding out for 2-0 defeat.
marinobohs
09/08/2010, 1:00 PM
I thought Bohs were unlucky. They were within 5 mins of holding out for 2-0 defeat.
those tallaght wins STILL compensate for the lack of throphies I see :rolleyes:
hoops1
09/08/2010, 1:05 PM
My favourite part was when the 3rd goal went in.
marinobohs
09/08/2010, 1:24 PM
.......wheras mine is seeing that nice shiny League trophy STILL resident in Dalymount. Not to mention the Setanta Cup trophy we won in some small provincial ground :cool:
green army
09/08/2010, 1:52 PM
there were within 1 min of going top last weekend and now they are 5 points(??) behind
marinobohs
09/08/2010, 3:04 PM
there were within 1 min of going top last weekend and now they are 5 points(??) behind
Only one time to be top - when the trophy is handed out ;)
To quote your signature "thats why we are champions"
with a game against Bray in hand.
There is a long way to go yet.
Regarding the bottles being thrown, i thought there was a dozen thrown? I can see four. It is still 4 too many and is completely unacceptable as was Twigg going to celebrate over by the Bohs fans. Totally unneccesary drama from both parties.
What did you expect Twigg to do after the abuse he was gettin from your mob? There was definately more than four bottles thrown at Twigg as well as a couple of numpties who tried to get over the wall, and not forgetting a rather large person who tried to charge at two 7 year old girls, I'm searchin sites to try and get his picture and post it up everywhere, absolute scumbag. He was screamin abuse at kids on that side all day. I'd love to get my hands on him.
Anyway brilliant win for the 'model' club, we showed those overpaid mercenaries what it is to have passion and belief in your club. 12th man was exceptional aswell
http://www.flickr.com/photos/fergusmcnally/4872241206/in/set-72157624555526695/
Favorite picture from yesterday. Twigg the gypo slayer!!
This made me laugh out loud. fair play.
And marino's response was cringe inducing too
09/08/2010, 3:47 PM
It was a nice tribute to the time that Dave Morrison got similar treatment from the bottle men in Dalymount a few years back. :wink:
Mine was when even the most blinded of those who totally denied the state their club was in on here and elsewhere would've finally admitted it(to themselves anyway) yesterday. To be fair at least they're doing something about it. I hear Madden and diver have been sent over to Parkhead to clean the jacks to pay next months wages.
09/08/2010, 4:20 PM
To be fair at least they're doing something about it. I hear Madden and diver have been sent over to Parkhead to clean the jacks to pay next months wages.
I heard they were due to do a couple of months mucking out at the Pig Sty down in Tallaght - but declined due to the threat of contracting Swine Flu from the natives - sadly it got Neale Fenn before anything could be done about it...
What did you expect Twigg to do after the abuse he was gettin from your mob?
his goal was enough to silence them, surely? Anything else was unnecessary provocation in what is always the most hostile Dublin derby anyway.
not forgetting a rather large person who tried to charge at two 7 year old girls,
Sean Connor was there?
I heard they were due to do a couple of months mucking out at the Pig Sty down in Tallaght - but declined due to the threat of contracting Swine Flu from the natives - sadly it got Neale Fenn before anything could be done about it...
Right up there with Marino's retort earlier :present: You're making it too easy.
09/08/2010, 5:48 PM
Gary Pig knew excatly what he was doing. He slid in front of us, made gestures towards us and was rightly booked. Clearly incitement. No doubt we'll be fined for the bottles. They should be fined too for the constant deliberate attempts to wind us up, their unprofessional bitter approach to the fixture and for generally being the absolute filth that they are. The official mascot came over to us at half time making hand gestures and bending over slapping his arse. They turned on the sprinklers before the game in the goalmouth where Bohs were trying to warm up, the fans were not made give back a ball that Bohs players were using at half time and their choice of half time music was a deliberate attempt to incite us. Model club my arse.
09/08/2010, 5:56 PM
The official mascot came over to us at half time making hand gestures and bending over slapping his arse.
Deserving of a massive fine.
They turned on the sprinklers before the game in the goalmouth where Bohs were trying to warm up
Mandatory ten-point deduction.
the fans were not made give back a ball that Bohs players were using at half time
Forced relegation.
and their choice of half time music was a deliberate attempt to incite us.
Possible winding-up order on the club?
We can't allow this behaviour to go on.
bingoballs
09/08/2010, 7:14 PM
I have never seen bottles been thrown onto the pitch at the Showgrounds. It seems to be an actitvity exclusive to Tallaght in fairness, your own fans included.
You've obviously never been to Oriel !!
Rasputin
09/08/2010, 7:23 PM
What was the half time music used??
09/08/2010, 7:23 PM
I'm intrigued now - what half-time music could possibly annoy Bohs? "Send in the clowns"? "Money for Nothing"? "Oh when the Saints"? (Which reminds me - "Juve become The New Shels" would have been a cool banner...)
bluewhitearmy
09/08/2010, 7:29 PM
Gary Pig knew excatly what he was doing. He slid in front of us, made gestures towards us and was rightly booked. Clearly incitement. No doubt we'll be fined for the bottles. They should be fined too for the constant deliberate attempts to wind us up, their unprofessional bitter approach to the fixture and for generally being the absolute filth that they are. The official mascot came over to us at half time making hand gestures and bending over slapping his arse. They turned on the sprinklers before the game in the goalmouth where Bohs were trying to warm up, the fans were not made give back a ball that Bohs players were using at half time and their choice of half time music was a deliberate attempt to incite us. Model club my arse.
Sprinklers were on down where Rovers players were warming up too.
As soon as a steward got the ball that the fans had he took it away.
And i cant remember the songs but remember laughing at it alright.
That's my favorite post of the year.:D
If you'd have looked to your right you would have seen the sprinklers were on where Rovers were warmin up.
Bitchin about Hooperman and the songs at half time is fookin hilarious. Surely you should be more concerned about the lifeless performance of your overpaid players and this meeting on thursday when you might just find out exactly how boned yous really are.
09/08/2010, 7:38 PM
Got to laugh at the Bohs and Rovers fans arguing over which of them are the bigger set of scumbags...they're both as scummy as each other imo.
09/08/2010, 8:11 PM
That's my favorite post of the year.:D
If you'd have looked to your right you would have seen the sprinklers were on where Rovers were warmin up.
Bitchin about Hooperman and the songs at half time is fookin hilarious. Surely you should be more concerned about the lifeless performance of your overpaid players and this meeting on thursday when you might just find out exactly how boned yous really are.
I'll be concerned about our performance on the relevent forum. I reserve my rare postings here for "bitching" about them and the way we are treated when we go to Tallaght which is never reciprocated when they come to Dalyer. We've a bit more class than that.