View Full Version : Liam Boyce

bwagner
06/08/2010, 7:55 AM
Scored in Europe last night, very young talented foward, we should approach him.
Celtic and Doncaster sent scounts to Belfast last night.

TrapAPony
06/08/2010, 1:18 PM
I agree. He should be approached.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PO4PR4I5ObE

DannyInvincible
06/08/2010, 3:15 PM
I remember reading about this guy being a target of Barcelona a while back. Not sure how true that was but he appears to be showing great promise.

As for the FAI approaching him, I don't know what the recent CAS decision means for the "gentleman's agreement" agreed between Jim Boyce and the FAI in 1999. The FAI then agreed that it wouldn't approach northern-born Irish nationals before the player first volunteered. Not that I agree with such a policy. They're as much an Irish national as anyone else with Irish citizenship so I don't see why the FAI should treat them any differently. I don't think there's anything shameful in approaching a player who is perfectly entitled to play for you.

seanfhear
06/08/2010, 6:20 PM
Come to mother Ireland Liam.

Crosby87
07/08/2010, 1:29 PM
They should be crafty enough to have a third party guage his interest.

07/08/2010, 11:27 PM
I agree. He should be approached.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PO4PR4I5ObE

Who does he think he is? Lee Trundle.

What's the betting he would sign for Ireland???

Any clues?

aidinho
08/08/2010, 1:01 AM
Scored in Europe last night, very young talented foward, we should approach him.
Celtic and Doncaster sent scounts to Belfast last night.

He was on trial with Celtic a few weeks ago but nothing has happened so far, the I think he would do a job for us nae bother and he would be a better option than Darryl Murphy who is completely hopeless.

BTW anybody read paddy McCourts twitter? Darra Obrien could be out of a job soon by judging by the stuff Paddy comes up with. some laugh troops.

http://twitter.com/PaddyMcCourt20

Ciaran W
08/08/2010, 1:38 AM
What age is he ?

DannyInvincible
08/08/2010, 8:02 AM
What age is he ?

19. He was born on the 8th of April 1991.

08/08/2010, 8:31 AM
BTW anybody read paddy McCourts twitter? Darra Obrien could be out of a job soon by judging by the stuff Paddy comes up with. some laugh troops.

Coffee all over keyboard. Absolutely hilarious. :D

:ball: PP

ArdeeBhoy
08/08/2010, 11:41 AM
Paddy McCourts twitter? Darra Obrien could be out of a job soon by judging by the stuff Paddy comes up with. some laugh troops.

That's pretty good as PP says. Wonder if PMcC knows, though think he'd approve of the content!

Mr_Parker
08/08/2010, 12:03 PM
Boyce has had trials with Watford and Celtic. Several other clubs watched him during our Europa League games. He has represented NI at Under19 and Under 21.

ArdeeBhoy
08/08/2010, 12:14 PM
Oh and sign him up for Ireland, If he wants to play?

08/08/2010, 4:39 PM
Would help if Celtic sign him I suppose.

Predator
08/08/2010, 11:40 PM
Boyce has had trials with Watford and Celtic. Several other clubs watched him during our Europa League games. He has represented NI at Under19 and Under 21.Cool, I've heard that he's got plenty of ability, but does he look like he'll make the step up to move across the water?

Mr_Parker
09/08/2010, 12:12 AM
Cool, I've heard that he's got plenty of ability, but does he look like he'll make the step up to move across the water?

I think he could.

Mr_Parker
16/08/2010, 10:01 AM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/local/cliftonville-to-bid-auf-wiedersehen-to-starlet-boyce-14912351.html

bwagner
16/08/2010, 1:23 PM
Played for the north's under 23's

Release Date: 12/08/2010

The Northern Ireland U23 squad have given themselves a real chance of progressing to the next stage of the International Challenge Trophy with a 2-0 win over Poland in the rearranged game at Coleraine on Wednesday night.

The tournament, which is for players from the Carling Premiership, now sees Northern Ireland sitting second in their group and level on points with leaders Portugal.

Ronnie McFall’s young team really took the game to their Polish opponents in the first half and took a deserved lead just before half-time when the lively Crusaders winger Martin Donnelly fired an unstoppable drive into the net giving the ‘keeper no chance.

The Poles started the second half with more purpose and put the Northern Ireland defence under a bit of pressure, but Crusaders ‘keeper Chris Keenan kept them at bay with some fine saves, while Aaron Stewart also cleared a shot off the line.

Northern Ireland secured all three points with a quarter of the game remaining with in-form striker Jordan Owens slotting in a superb shot from the edge of the box.

Ronnie McFall’s men now face a trip to Portugal later in the year in a winner takes all game to see who tops the group and progresses to the next round.

“I am absolutely delighted with the performance of the lads,” said Ronnie. “We were a bit disappointed to only go into the break 1-0 up as we bossed the game and spurned several good chances. We defended well in the second half and it was good to get the cushion of the second goal and we could play with more composure after that.

“It was a superb team performance, and I would find it very difficult to pick a man of the match as they were all fantastic. To beat a team with as much quality in it as the Polish team has is real testament to the standard of the players in the Carling Premiership, and I am looking forward to going to Portugal in October and building on this performance.”

Northern Ireland: Northern Ireland: Keenan (Crusaders), Burns (Linfield), Redman (Portadown), Stewart (Ballymena Utd), Magee (Glenavon), Mulgrew (Linfield), Lowry (Linfield), Fordyce (Glentoran), Owens (Crusaders), L. Boyce (Cliftonville), Donnelly (Crusaders). Subs. O'Neill (Dungannon Swifts), Ramsey (Portadown), D. Boyce (Coleraine), Carvill (Linfield), Catney (Cliftonville), Taylor (Glentoran), Smith (Ballymena Utd).

Poland: Gikiewicz, Wasiluk, Polczak, Oziebala, Cwielong, Majewski, Trytko, Kuklis, Janczyk, Kokoszka, Danch. Subs. Stachowlak (GK), Wilk, Kowalski, Janus, Pozniak.

« Go Back

Predator
16/08/2010, 2:37 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/local/cliftonville-to-bid-auf-wiedersehen-to-starlet-boyce-14912351.html
That would be a strange move. Would he seriously consider going to Germany over a move to Scotland or the lower leagues in England? He'd have to learn to speak German and adjust to German culture.

Who knows, in time he may become eligible for German citizenship and opt to play for them. The IFA would then be forced to take the DFB to the CAS, surely?!

Mr_Parker
17/08/2010, 10:52 AM
That would be a strange move. Would he seriously consider going to Germany over a move to Scotland or the lower leagues in England? He'd have to learn to speak German and adjust to German culture.

Who knows, in time he may become eligible for German citizenship and opt to play for them. The IFA would then be forced to take the DFB to the CAS, surely?!

Yes he is giving it serious consideration and flew out to meet them yesterday. Reports indicate that this is one of the best clubs for developing talent in Germany. BGoyce has brians coming out of his ears so I can't see picking up the language being an issue for him tbh.

Gather round
17/08/2010, 1:36 PM

Ha ha. You're a bad man, Pred. No reply yet from our mutual friend at IFA HQ, btw.

Yes he is giving it serious consideration and flew out to meet them yesterday. Reports indicate that this is one of the best clubs for developing talent in Germany. Boyce has brians coming out of his ears so I can't see picking up the language being an issue for him tbh

Viel gluck to the lad. Greuther Furth (a merger between a village outfit with a millionaire fan and their previously bankrupt big city neighbor) are playing at a higher standard than most of the Scottish Premier League, I suspect. He'll not find it easy to slalom past six men before scoring.

GF had, and may still have, a portrait of celebrity fan Hank Kissinger displayed in the stadium foyer.

Predator
17/08/2010, 4:15 PM
Ha ha. You're a bad man, Pred. No reply yet from our mutual friend at IFA HQ, btw.Ha, I should stop now, shouldn't I? My weak gags are getting rather old.
I wonder why there is still no reply? If I remember correctly, your queries were simple and straightforward enough. Would it be possible that the IFA is waiting for the CAS to publish the full arbitral details before commenting further?

DannyInvincible
17/08/2010, 4:26 PM
Would it be possible that the IFA is waiting for the CAS to publish the full arbitral details before commenting further?

This is likely, although, according to CAS it will be within the coming weeks that the grounds are published, which, unfortunately, sounds later rather than sooner in comparison to their original statement.

backstothewall
17/08/2010, 9:03 PM

Yes he is giving it serious consideration and flew out to meet them yesterday. Reports indicate that this is one of the best clubs for developing talent in Germany. BGoyce has brians coming out of his ears so I can't see picking up the language being an issue for him tbh.

Hmmm, a bright kid playing for Cliftonville. St. Malachy's lad by any chance? (my alma mater)

If so we should definitely approach him. I never met anyone in my time there who didn't consider ROI their national team. Sure some of the lads played for IFA teams, but it was only ever a means to an end.

co. down green
17/08/2010, 9:57 PM
Hmmm, a bright kid playing for Cliftonville. St. Malachy's lad by any chance? (my alma mater)

If so we should definitely approach him. I never met anyone in my time there who didn't consider ROI their national team. Sure some of the lads played for IFA teams, but it was only ever a means to an end.

My alma mater also :)

Not Brazil
18/08/2010, 9:46 AM
Sure some of the lads played for IFA teams, but it was only ever a means to an end.

A means to, exactly, what end?

backstothewall
18/08/2010, 5:09 PM
A means to, exactly, what end?

A means to being noticed by a scout from across the water. A means to playing in the milk cup. A means to having something to put on a UCAS form. A means to a whole lot of things.

EDIT: He's a Westie. Played for CBS St. Mary's in the NI Schools Cup Final in 07. Definitely worth asking him the question

http://www.stmaryscbgs.com/news/view_news_article.asp?id=968

DannyInvincible
24/08/2010, 8:10 PM
Liam Boyce is set to finalise his move to SpVgg Greuther Furth.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/local/cliftonville-triumph-over-dungannon-as-liam-boyce-says-his-goodbyes-14920654.html

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/boyce-bows-out-14920513.html

Predator
25/08/2010, 11:10 AM
Fair play to the kid. Can't imagine many would be keen on a move to Germany. He must have a strong sense of self-belief. Good luck!

Gather round
25/08/2010, 12:50 PM
Surely almost any teenage Irish League footballer would be keen on a move to BL2? Even if it's only a one year contract, it should benefit him in getting another club on return, as well as his CV generally if he's looking for a day job or to go to college, etc.

Predator
25/08/2010, 2:15 PM
I know of players playing currently playing for Derry that turned down 1 year and 6 month contracts at Premiership, Championship and SPL clubs, so who knows? I would think that the average young Irish player would prefer playing in England or Scotland over Germany, purely because it's relatively close, the language spoken is the same and the culture is very similar, which is why I'm slightly surprised by Boyce's move to Germany.

backstothewall
25/08/2010, 6:50 PM
Its a great move though. Fair play to the kid for having the balls to make it. Even if it doesn't work out he will leave being able to speak German, meaning he has the chance to make a career for himself in Germany, Austria or Switzerland in addition to England and Scotland. Great move to make, especially at his age.

fu1ham
25/08/2010, 10:20 PM
He's a lucky kid. Nuremberg's a lovely city surrounded by beautiful countryside. The people are great and they've got the best beer in Germany round there. Viel Spass!

IsMiseSean
26/08/2010, 2:41 PM
German football is on the up, great move for him. I reckon more Irish youngsters should be looking to move to leagues other than the SPL & EPL.

TrapAPony
26/08/2010, 11:28 PM
Liam Boyce's proposed transfer appears to be doomed.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8947841.stm

27/08/2010, 5:16 AM
What an odd conclusion. Why would a club just not confirm a transfer they'd already agreed?

30/08/2010, 4:45 PM
Wow - Werder Bremen.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8954637.stm

backstothewall
30/08/2010, 10:03 PM
Hmmm. That explains why the previous deal fell through. Lets hope he gets called up to the U21s ASAP

Gather round
31/08/2010, 9:22 AM
He's already in the U-21s.

ArdeeBhoy
31/08/2010, 9:57 AM
He means for Ireland....

Nagger
31/08/2010, 10:21 AM
Great move for him. German is easy to learn. And Werder Bremen are a great club. He'll probably start out in the reserve side. But they still play in the 3rd tier. Regional Liga.

Sullivinho
31/08/2010, 2:15 PM
He'll probably start out in the reserve side. But they still play in the 3rd tier. Regional Liga.

Tremendous system. I believe Spain do something similar.

Gather round
31/08/2010, 2:32 PM
Tremendous system. I believe Spain do something similar

Really? Although I enjoy German football, and get over for games now and again, I've never liked the idea of reserve sides playing in the third division, as opposed to their own youth league. They've no fans, there's zero atmosphere and so on.

While in Madrid on holiday this year I went to Vallecano- Huesca in their D2. Huesca is a town in Aragon, near Zaragoza. There were about 20 away fans, I doubt their reserves have much of a following.

31/08/2010, 4:14 PM
It doesn't have the depth of interest that Englaish football has but I think most observers think that the Bundesliga is a model of sense and sustainability on the basis of its tight regulations regarding ownership and financial prudence.

The EPL is a bit like Wall Street banking - focus on short term rewards with huge share of revenues going to employees with no long term "skin in the game". This encouarages risky behaviour. Even Alan Greenspan admitted after the crash that his conviction - that left to their own devices the banks wouldn't endanger their own existence - was wrong. The EPL is taking the same light regulation stance and it'll cost them.

German top flight clubs, on the other hand are like Nationwide Building Society, managed for its members with a view to the longer term. The cost to the Bundesliga has been loss of competitiveness at the top level in Europe but they're well placed to benefit in the current environment and especially when UEFA's Financial Fair Play rules kick in. The Bundesliga's ability to provide & nurture talent for the national teams vastly surpasses that of England.

Where England wins out is global appeal, its genuinely deep league structure and, for the time being, competitiveness in Europe.

German Bundesliga grounds are fantastic and fan culture is superb too, every bit as good, if not better than in England.

31/08/2010, 5:31 PM
1828: DONE DEAL: The Irish Football Association has confirmed 19-year-old Cliftonville and Northern Ireland under-21 striker Liam Boyce has completed a move to Werder Bremen - Tottenham's opponents in the Champions League group stages, of course, for an undisclosed fee. From the Irish Premiership to the Bundesliga... it's a funny old game!

seanfhear
31/08/2010, 6:09 PM
An international transfer would make a nice bonus:cool:

Deckydee
01/09/2010, 6:38 AM
If you think that the 'transfer' of Gibson/Wilson/Duffy/Kearns caused a furor, good God what would happen here?

co. down green
01/09/2010, 8:21 AM
If you think that the 'transfer' of Gibson/Wilson/Duffy/Kearns caused a furor, good God what would happen here?

Why would it cause a furor? He was ignored by the IFA team until April this year when they included him in a couple of u19 games, I'm not aware that he was ever involved in beaglebum's youth set-up before this.

EalingGreen
01/09/2010, 1:40 PM
He was ignored by the IFA team until April this year when they included him in a couple of u19 games, I'm not aware that he was ever involved in beaglebum's youth set-up before this.Er, he was "ignored" by pretty much everyone, considering he only made his Cliftonville debut last season (2009-10).
In fact, Beaglehole has been very refreshing in the way he has been prepared to give youth its chance as early as possible, including comparable IL players like Martin Donnelly, who has already gained a senior cap.
Oh and btw, Beaglehole drafted Boyce straight into the NI U-21's, when he had just turned 19 and had barely half a season with Cliftonville.

P.S. Beaglehole only took over the U-21's in August 2008, so whatever else, he's hardly been ignoring "uncut diamonds" for very long.

co. down green
01/09/2010, 3:26 PM
Welcome back EG, glad you've recovered from your bout of eligibilityitis :)