View Full Version : We're all a Hoop tonight

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

WoodquayBoy
29/07/2010, 10:19 AM
Good luck to Shamrock Rovers tonight, I would imagine the whole League of Ireland family is behind you, though some may not be as obvious about it as others!
Nice preview in the Indo today, and lovely little shot across the bows of a certain Grab All Association club by Daniel McDonnell.
Thomas Davis - who are ya, who are ya, who are ya, who are ya

Buller
29/07/2010, 10:22 AM
Good luck to Shamrock Rovers tonight, I would imagine the whole League of Ireland family is behind you, though some may not be as obvious about it as others!
Nice preview in the Indo today, and lovely little shot across the bows of a certain Grab All Association club by Daniel McDonnell.

Thanks Woodquay, yeah I was thinking the GAA must find it hard to sleep these days, their worst fears of football in tallaght are slowly coming to fruition! They'll be trying to burn the stadium down soon enough...

29/07/2010, 10:35 AM
I would imagine the whole League of Ireland family is behind you

Speak for yourself and let others do likewise

29/07/2010, 10:36 AM
It will be good for Rovers to get a result, but it matters little to the rest of the league (same as every other European result over the last number of years). If they win the media and barstoolers will spin it being about a poor Juve. So good luck to Rovers - in the farewell card in work type of way, rather than a donning a green and white jersey...

hoops1
29/07/2010, 10:49 AM
Speak for yourself and let others do likewise

I find it hard to believe your not up for the Hoops tonight Dodge:p

29/07/2010, 11:00 AM
I'll be behind them all the way tonight. Good Luck tonight!

danthesaint
29/07/2010, 11:04 AM
dunno how i feel about this, i kinda like to see irish clubs do well, but i absolutely despise anything to do with Rovers. think hate wins in the end

come on juve!!

GGAJD
29/07/2010, 11:13 AM

Jaysus don't even whisper down shligo way!!!
Fair play to you anyway and your right a lovely piece amied at the gaaliban in the indo, proper order.

Buller
29/07/2010, 11:14 AM
dunno how i feel about this, i kinda like to see irish clubs do well, but i absolutely despise anything to do with Rovers. think hate wins in the end

come on juve!!

Dan... you're killin me Dan. Here, you're not thinking clearly. I think you're seeing through red tinted glasses. Take them off for a sec and see the green/white light. See? Much better now. Now, take it slow and a deep breath and say with me; come on...the hoops. Slowly now go on.

29/07/2010, 11:19 AM
I find it hard to believe your not up for the Hoops tonight Dodge:p

I'm just saying that one lad from Galway shouldn't speak for Galway fans, never mnd the rest of the league

redobit
29/07/2010, 11:27 AM
If Shams win - I wont cheer
If Shams lose - I wont cheer
If Shams draw - I wont cheer
I hope Shams do the league proud tonight! :ball:

Work that one out, cause I cant. :D :D

Sunny Jim
29/07/2010, 11:28 AM
I always want every LOI team to do well in Europe (yes, even Sporting Fingal) so C'mon the Hoops!!

stovelid
29/07/2010, 11:41 AM
/insert disparaging statement that will be slavishly thanked by Sligo posters

WoodquayBoy
29/07/2010, 11:46 AM
I'm just saying that one lad from Galway shouldn't speak for Galway fans, never mnd the rest of the league

I never said "on behalf of all LOI fans, we're all behind you Rovers", I said I would "imagine" everyone is. Clearly I imagined incorrectly. Who that says more about, me or them, is up for debate.

dong
29/07/2010, 11:48 AM
/insert disparaging statement that will be slavishly thanked by Sligo posters

Why are you so obsessed with what a few people from Sligo on this forum might say? Only one has posted in this thread.
In any case they are hardly representative of the Sligo population in general. Surely you have bigger things to worry about, today of all days.

Duffman
29/07/2010, 11:56 AM
I'll be behind them all the

Keepin' them in front of you where you can keep an eye on them, clever boy.:cool:

poster
29/07/2010, 12:01 PM
I was sitting in my tractor yesterday waiting to get into the shed and a friend of mine asked me was I going to Tallaght. I said no but I'd be watching it. He replied that it would be "nice" to see an Irish team beat a "big side". I agreed but pretty much told him "anyone but Shams." The argument that it'll be good for the league and to get behind the LoI doesn't wash at all. I don't like Shams, and therefore never wish them well. I only wish my team and Longford Town well. People reckon a good performance from Shams tonight will serve the league well. I don't think it'll make one bit of a difference for the league, only for Shamrock in terms of monies and support. The league is almost as low in terms of respect and co-ef's as it can go. A hammering tonight for Shams won't make much difference.
Altogether now!!!

C'MON JUVE!:arrogant:

29/07/2010, 12:07 PM
The league is almost as low in terms of [...] co-ef's as it can go.
It's about as high as it's ever been and you reckon it can't get any lower?

Best of luck to Rovers tonight. And if they get hammered, I'll have a little giggle. Win win.

poster
29/07/2010, 12:09 PM
and you reckon it can't get any lower?

I don't think it will Stu, I do not think it will.

29/07/2010, 12:13 PM
Good luck to Rovers.

I'm not convinced what a result would do for the league either, although anything other than a loss will be a useful rebuttal to some barstooler argument about how crap LOI is.

But separate from that, as a supporter of a club that has been starved of success for so long, I'm happy to see fans of any team get a chance to enjoy European success, and the (perhaps fleeting) happiness that comes with it.

29/07/2010, 12:13 PM
Jaysus don't even whisper down shligo way!!!

Given there's no geographical or historical reason for it, is the animosity from Sligo fans towards Shamrock Rovers fans (and yes - it does seems pretty much one way) purely because they don't like the fact that the Dublin club is known as 'Rovers' rather than them ?

poster
29/07/2010, 12:17 PM
Given there's no geographical or historical reason for it, is the animosity from Sligo fans towards Shamrock Rovers fans (and yes - it does seems pretty much one way) purely because they don't like the fact that the Dublin club is known as 'Rovers' rather than them ?

No Stephen, we just don't like them. Like most clubs in Ireland don't like them.

29/07/2010, 12:18 PM
I don't think it will Stu, I do not think it will.
Try the season after next when our best score ever drops from the record for starters.

dong
29/07/2010, 12:19 PM
There's animosity possibly on this forum Steve but Sligo Rovers fans should be remembered for their actions on the last day at Milltown.

dong
29/07/2010, 12:19 PM
No Stephen, we just don't like them. Like most clubs in Ireland don't like them.

Jesus man speak for yourself.
The minnowism is embarrassing.

29/07/2010, 12:21 PM
I was sitting in my tractor yesterday waiting to get into the shed. ...

Am I the only one who read the start of this post and wasn't sure whether it was a p!sstake self-parody.....:D

Though it does help to dispell the Longford theory that farmers can't follow Summer football.

I don't think it'll make one bit of a difference for the league, only for Shamrock in terms of monies and support.

A win or a draw in either leg will boost the standing of the league in the rankings - which helps all future league entrants into Europe for the next 5 yrs, so it WOULD make a difference to the league.

Do you harbour hope of Sligo entering Europe at some point in the next 5yrs ? If so then you're reducing your chances of progress via seeding/round of entry by not wanting a fellow LOI club to help boost the league's coefficient.

The league is almost as low in terms of respect and co-ef's as it can go.

Utter nonsense. You must be pretty new to Irish football, as its low point was arguably the early 1980's. The league is much better off now than then on pretty much every score. And its utter tripe to say the league is as low on coefficients now as it can go. We've never been higher in the rankings. Fact.

poster
29/07/2010, 12:22 PM
The minnowism is embarrassing.

The fact that you consider my post to contain any traces of minnowism is embarrassing.

poster
29/07/2010, 12:25 PM
Just realised the title of this thread...

how amusing.

dong
29/07/2010, 12:25 PM
You are a minnow. "We don't like them"?
Don't assume you represent everybody else who supports Sligo Rovers.

A N Mouse
29/07/2010, 12:28 PM
The fact that you consider my post to contain any traces of minnowism is embarrassing.

You posting from the tractor or the shed?

dong
29/07/2010, 12:28 PM
Anyways Poster I will be ignoring your juvenile rantings from now on.

Is this game being streamed on RTE does anybody know?

poster
29/07/2010, 12:29 PM
"We hate them"
Don't assume you represent everybody else who supports Sligo Rovers.

I didn't say we hate them, don't mis-qoute me please. There's no Celtic/Rangers vibe off the two, I just said we don't like them. I'm quite sure if you ask the majority of Sligo Rovers fan their opinion on Shamrock, it'd be one of dislike.

poster
29/07/2010, 12:29 PM
You posting from the tractor or the shed?

Haven't got wireless in the shed yet. The tractor has it though, fooking delighted.

29/07/2010, 12:31 PM
Do you harbour hope of Sligo entering Europe at some point in the next 5yrs ? If so then you're reducing your chances of progress via seeding/round of entry by not wanting a fellow LOI club to help boost the league's coefficient.

Do you think his attitude will affect Shamrock Rovers' performance tonight?

poster
29/07/2010, 12:32 PM

I'm quite sure Con said it'd be streamed, yeshh.

A N Mouse
29/07/2010, 12:33 PM
Anyways Poster I will be ignoring your juvenile rantings from now on.

Think it was in the other thread, rte streaming worldwide - except italy, cos someone else has the rights

Jicked
29/07/2010, 12:36 PM
There's animosity possibly on this forum Steve but Sligo Rovers fans should be remembered for their actions on the last day at Milltown.

Indeed, most Sligo Rovers fans I meet up there before games are quite knowledgable, reasonable and generally good to have a pint with and swap some LoI rumours/stories with. The Sligo posters on here are however, by and large, bat-sh*t crazy. I wonder what MON will do today that gets them up in arms, perhaps viciously throwing a water bottle at his own players, only for MNS/FAI to disguise it as offering one of his players a drink.

One thing that should give all LoI fans a bit of a thrill is this from the Indo today:
"Allesandro del Piero took one look at Tallaght Stadium last night and summed up..."This is pure football""

That's more of a plug, and more respectful and more honest than any number of Irish officials, players, management etc have ever made out about the league and what it's all about. And coming from a player like that, wow.

poster
29/07/2010, 12:48 PM
I wonder what MON will do today that gets them up in arms

As soon as that bucko does something tonight Jicked, I'll notify the people. Do not worry ;)

WindmillWarrior
29/07/2010, 12:54 PM
Class quote from Del Piero alright!

Will RTE show the 2nd leg, anyone know? To answer my own question, it probably depends on tonights result.
I hear Rovers are bringing up to 1,000 fans over to Italy. Impressive if true...

29/07/2010, 1:03 PM
I hear Rovers are bringing up to 1,000 fans over to Italy. Impressive if true...
In fairness - and not to have a dig at Rovers at all - but I'd say it wouldn't be too hard to sell an away European game against Juventus; it's pretty much the definition of a dream tie. I'd be very surprised if a club like Rovers couldn't get 1000 at it, even if it is in Modena.

Jicked
29/07/2010, 1:03 PM
I'd imagine it will depend on the result tonight, as buying the rights would be reasonably expensive. It'll be live on Italian TV though, so will be dozens of good quality feeds online. And not sure how many fans we'll bring yet, but it will be way over 500 anyway. One of the unofficial charter planes is an Aer Lingus 737 and it's booked full, so that's 300+ before you start talking about people travelling with the official club charter and those travelling independently (which would probably be the majority). Modena won't know what hit it.

Jicked
29/07/2010, 1:10 PM
Ian O'Doherty: Now there's an unlikely ally
As someone who was brought up to despise Shamrock Rovers -- let's face it, anyone who supports another Irish club will always list Rovers as the team they love to hate -- it's only fair to commend them for their recent turn around.

Owned by the fans; these same fans were quick to warn any potential pro-Palestinian supporter that they would receive harsh terrace justice if they tried to disrupt the home leg against Israeli Bnei Yehuda, while a hundred of them went over to Tel Aviv for the return leg of the match. Those who went were witness to a special moment in the club's history when they qualified for tonight's dream match against Juve.

But what many people won't know is that one of the club's supporters, Herald hack George Byrne, got an interesting nixer when he was in Tel Aviv.

A familiar voice on Irish radio, he picked up another gig when he appeared on Israeli Armed Forces Radio to give his verdict on the match.

It was a strange development, becoming a contributor for IDF radio, for a man not exactly known as an Israeli-lover.

After all, he's the guy who once asked a flabbergasted press officer from the Israeli embassy how come IDF snipers can shoot a Palestinian child from a mile away yet when Ireland last played in Tel Aviv the television crew couldn't even point their camera at the penalty spot.

The look on the hapless press officer's face when he tried to process that?

As the TV commercial says: priceless.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/ian-odoherty/ian-odoherty-now-theres-an-unlikely-ally-2275633.html

29/07/2010, 1:21 PM
[url]let's face it, anyone who supports another Irish club will always list Rovers as the team they love to hate

Yer man must think we're all still back in the 1980's !

I doubt many City fans would list Rovers in even the Top 3 of the teams they "hate".

Riddickcule
29/07/2010, 1:22 PM
Best of luck tonight lads, the haters can go fudge themselves. As a club you's really do deserve this, it'd benefit the whole league, and football in the country, for you to progress.

Like it or not they are the model club. Fan owned, financially prudent clubs is the pathway for the rest of us. Also love the way barstoolers aren't getting a look in. Only members and season ticket holders, good stuff.

redobit
29/07/2010, 1:24 PM
Many Juve fans expected for this. There might not be many flying in from Italy? but theres probably a few living in Ireland that might go.

Riddickcule
29/07/2010, 1:27 PM
I read somewhere that 400 Juve fans are gonna be present tonight. Seems too little for me.

29/07/2010, 1:28 PM
Presumably they only get a 10% allocation or something.

Intereting game if you're a Juve fan. Do you go to this one for a new experience or save your holidays for the group and knock out games?

Riddickcule
29/07/2010, 1:30 PM
If it's 10% then they should be getting 600 tickets. It's probably that then.

29/07/2010, 1:32 PM
This thread is mortifying.

"Tonight we are all Rovers fans", "Model Club", "The Co-Efficient", "The League of Ireland family", "Barstoolers lol"

It's like being trapped in a circle jerk, cliche machine.

F*** Rovers

And F*** Juventus

Now, I'm off to find an Italian forum with a "Tonight we are all Juventus fans" thread started by a Roma fan.

Hitman
29/07/2010, 1:42 PM
Good to see Dan Murray and Danny Murphy enjoying their loan spell, it seems "You reap what you sow" after all.