View Full Version : We're all a Hoop tonight
danthesaint
30/07/2010, 1:09 AM
didnt think juve got outta 1st gear, amouri scored a beautiful header.
rovers chant was class about del piero
the european dream is already over
400k will be ****ed against the wind on higher rent players wages etc........
There's not one but TWO fairly light hearted ones off the top of my head in the last 24 hours. I couldn't be anused looking for more.
I didn't say you hadn't posted light heartedly, just that I hadn't seen any. I don't keep notes :rolleyes:
Amauri was by far the best player on the pitch for me. Great to see (especially del Piero), but there's enough there to be happy :eek: going further into the season.
Jicked
30/07/2010, 1:33 AM
didnt think juve got outta 1st gear, amouri scored a beautiful header.
rovers chant was class about del piero
the european dream is already over
Our European dream was going away to a better ranked side, with a bigger budget, in harsh conditions and winning away from home to set up a tie with one of the biggest clubs in the world. It was ****ing brilliant.
You can be extremely sure that Rovers aren't about to change their wage structure on the back of one match. That game will live long in the memory, and the bank account.
30/07/2010, 2:46 AM
:Deh no that would involve a big drum and the term randy brandywell;).Great nights entertainment,met some Juve lads for scoops after,they loved the atmosphere and spirit on and off the park,particularly Del Pieros standing ovation followed by" youl never play for Rovers"
The atmosphere at the game was definitely very friendly - for all the (occasionally) unsavoury elements of the Rovers, they outdid themselves tonight. With the economy in the state it is, wouldn't hurt to have 300 Torinesi who are impressed enough to come back on holiday.
Why do you think that? Despite having probably the most sustainable business model in the league, the board resisted the temptation to go full-time this year. I reckon they'll be ****-scared for a few more years of anything that could be considered big spending.
Amauri was by far the best player on the pitch for me. Great to see (especially del Piero), but there's enough there to be happy :eek: going further into the season.
I thought Diego was a class above everyone, despite Amauri getting the goals. Pepe played well, too, despite being well short of what you'd consider Juventus class.
bullit
30/07/2010, 3:10 AM
"Why do you think that? Despite having probably the most sustainable business model in the league, the board resisted the temptation to go full-time this year. I reckon they'll be ****-scared for a few more years of anything that could be considered big spending."
Right,wake me up soon
Candystripe
30/07/2010, 3:42 AM
I thought Rovers did quite well and the early goal fecked them up.The way they played in the 2nd half was great and at times played great football,keeping possesion with decent passes and holding on to the ball.
It was more or less Juve's full side so they obviously took it serious!
I remember flicking between TV channels a few years ago watching Shels and Pat's in Europe. I hated Pat's for taking a bunch of Galway natives to the Club and i hated Shels for their cheque book method of building a Club. Yet still, I cheered when Shels went 3 goals up against Rangers and roared encouragement at the Saints as they held Celtic scoreless at Parkhead. Same when Cork beat Gothernburg and Sligo beat the Maltesers.
Tonight, my dislike for Rovers will not be forgotten but I really would love to see them thrash Juve 10 - 0.
It's a bit f**ked up, I know.
Come on Rovers, ye dirty freeloading Dubs.
It was Derry City that beat Gothenborg home and away,beat Gretna 5-1 away and drew with PSG before going down 2-0 in the Parc De Prince's when over 2,500 Derry fans attended.
I had to get that in guys. ;)
30/07/2010, 4:31 AM
The return will be spent prudently. Like the stadium choice for the game, and the distribution of ticket sales. The wellbeing of the club comes before any financial benefit.
Spudulika
30/07/2010, 5:43 AM
The most important thing now for Rovers is to finally get their name on a piece of paper with SDCC. As soon as they are made leaseholders they can move to the next level and not be held fugitive to the idiocy and red tape of the SDCC and civil service unions!
Just shows you that paddyfield doesn't care enough about Derry to hate them
Duggie
30/07/2010, 8:17 AM
great occasion, dont really think the result matters all that much last night. the crowd were brilliant and sounded brilliant on tv! on a playing side i thought shams gave them way to much room in midfield and were afraid to go forward it seems. pity because if they went at them like they did in the start of the second half you never know. i thought dan murray had a shocker, he was doddling around the back like a 90 yr old. how many times did he put the ball accross the backline only for amauri to almost get onto it. he gave the ball away every time. overall though great night and nice to see brady giving his thoughts on the game. knew a bit about the players and seemed happy to be there as he said, nice to hear he followed rovers as a kid also.
superjohnny
30/07/2010, 8:33 AM
Well done Rovers, done the league very proud and it looked like a terrific occassion.
Great to see the crowd on TV rocking.
No shame at all to lose 2 zip to the italian giants.
Some of the comments on this thread are very very bitter and very sad to be honest.
have to agree most Sligo Rovers fans dislike of Shamrock Rovers goes back generations.
And in fairness its a one sided thing on our part.
I think it stems from the fact they were the main team from the capital and we were out on our own for years with no rivals around us.
When you go back through the years as far as the 30's we were practically the only regional team consistently on the go.
Ahem! [inserts wagging finger smiley here] And by 'consistently on the go' I presume you mean 'only dropped out of the league twice'! ;)
Anyway... good show from Rovers last night. When they didn't show Juve too much respect they did very well.
punkrocket
30/07/2010, 9:01 AM
O' Neil got them going at half time and it was an excitng start to the second half yes it would have been nice to have seen Rovers go at them a bit more throughout but I'm sure they would have come undone if they had tried to. A thrashing would just have confirmed for many watching on TV their low opinion of LOI teams.
As it stands I'm sure that plenty of teams coming up against Juve this season will go down by more than 2-0.
That early goal was a killer though and did my eyes play tricks on me or was that ball heading for the post until a bump on the ground diverted it into the net?
Rovers kept it reasonably tight and any fair minded bar stooler watching must have been impressed with the whole package of the game/crowd/ground. Brady seemed to genuinely enjoy himself and the crowd were obviously having fun, it should bring a few extra bums back to Tallaght and that can't be bad.
30/07/2010, 9:28 AM
I thought Diego was a class above everyone, despite Amauri getting the goals. Pepe played well, too, despite being well short of what you'd consider Juventus class.
I thought Sissoko was the best player on the pitch. I can only recall one occasion where he gave the ball away. I think Rovers should have pressed Juve higher up the pitch. They made the same mistake Germany made against Spain, allowing them to play their way out and trying to crowd midfield. The hoof up the pitch to the one striker was never going to work either. Much better start to the second half where they got the ball down and played.
First time to Tallaght. Spent 20 years going to Milltown and joined the "F**k Tolka brigade". Never got back in to the habit. One thing hasn't changed since my days of going to Milltown: The way "The Rovers" is said with an English accent when being chanted. I remember one chant in particular from those days "I-i-ira, f**k the Queen and the UDA. The Rayo-vers". The irony of that I think was lost on the chanters - still is. Lovely ground. Great support. Still would prefer Milltown though :(
30/07/2010, 9:56 AM
Sissoko and Diego were the key player for Juve and controlled the game so well, Rover were frozen for the first 25 minutes as the occasion seemed to get to them but the end of the first half and start of the second were fantastic. Dan Murray unfortunately had an absolute nightmare, made at least 4 awful errors at the back and missed Rovers best 2 chances. When Rice went off Rovers were always likely to concede a second but you couldn't blame O'Neill for giving the 4-4-2 a shot and trying to give the crowd a goal, I think eardrums would have been burst had that happened.
The atmosphere and occasion were something special, I think I said last year it's not often you get to see world class players like Ronaldo on your doorstep, and to have that surpassed by witnessing a legend like Del Piero enter the fray in a competitive game in Tallaght was something that will live long in the memory.
Hopefully the Champions League draw next year will throw up some more superstars.
Rasputin
30/07/2010, 10:03 AM
I take back everything I said yesterday.
The delight in seeing Juve score over shadowed everything, was beautifull.
But all in all Shams produced a good package last night and a good advertisement for the league.
On a side note, Dan Murray, what a joke of a footballer, never rated him and he made a show of himself last night.
First time to Tallaght. Spent 20 years going to Milltown and joined the "F**k Tolka brigade". Never got back in to the habit. One thing hasn't changed since my days of going to Milltown: The way "The Rovers" is said with an English accent when being chanted. I remember one chant in particular from those days "I-i-ira, f**k the Queen and the UDA. The Rayo-vers". The irony of that I think was lost on the chanters - still is. Lovely ground. Great support. Still would prefer Milltown though :(
Yaaaa almost as ironic as someone from Dublin supporting a team from Sheffield.
Anyway when Shams chant "Rovers" it doesnt sound like it is in some English accent, it just sounds Dub.
El-Pietro
30/07/2010, 10:10 AM
if he had defended like he should have it would have been a different game.
d'ywannim back?
very much so!
El-Pietro
30/07/2010, 10:11 AM
Did Murray score many for Cork in Europe?
he has 4 or 5, hes our top European Scorer, one ahead of Skippy
Duggie
30/07/2010, 10:14 AM
amauri could have had 5-6 if he latched onto any pf the balls murray was putting across the backline last night. crazy passes.
El-Pietro
30/07/2010, 10:15 AM
It was Derry City that beat Gothenborg home and away,beat Gretna 5-1 away and drew with PSG before going down 2-0 in the Parc De Prince's when over 2,500 Derry fans attended.
Actually, Cork City did beat Gothenburg 1-0 back in 2000 or 2001, however we'd lost the away leg 3-0 I think
We've also gotten some other great results in Sweden including beating Malmo home and away
30/07/2010, 10:33 AM
Yaaaa almost as ironic as someone from Dublin supporting a team from Sheffield.
Anyway when Shams chant "Rovers" it doesnt sound like it is in some English accent, it just sounds Dub.
Followed them as a kid and stuck with them as indeed I have stuck with Rovers, albeit from a "barstool" (well sitting room really) since they were thrown out of Milltown. A football team is for life. Same for me with Ards in Northern Ireland and Raith Rovers in Scotland. Supported them as a child - still support them (with the same success!).
You should listen to it sometime - it is definitely not a Dub accent. It's an English accent. I know a Dub accent when I hear one having being born and bred in Dublin.
Real ale Madrid
30/07/2010, 10:36 AM
On a side note, Dan Murray, what a joke of a footballer, never rated him and he made a show of himself last night.
Thats very harsh. Murray got exposed a few times but that's what a side like Juventus will do to you. The same can be said for a lot of the rovers players especially in midfield where they were barely able to compete for long spells. Murray could have had a goal and while exposed for pace from time to time thought he marshalled the defense as best he could and had a solid game. Dan is a legend who has been performing at the top level in this country for years.
All in all Rovers did the best that they could. Its nice to get a draw like this but when Rovers get back to a similar stage of European football next season I hope they get a much easier draw than Juventus. Plenty beatable teams in the hat they could have played. Motherwell, Hibs etc
Buller
30/07/2010, 11:13 AM
Followed them as a kid and stuck with them as indeed I have stuck with Rovers, albeit from a "barstool" (well sitting room really) since they were thrown out of Milltown. A football team is for life. Same for me with Ards in Northern Ireland and Raith Rovers in Scotland. Supported them as a child - still support them (with the same success!).
You should listen to it sometime - it is definitely not a Dub accent. It's an English accent. I know a Dub accent when I hear one having being born and bred in Dublin.
Hahaha, get off your barstool come with me to the next game into the ultras stand and tell me its an english accent! :p
Duggie
30/07/2010, 11:25 AM
sounded like there was 40,000 there last night. brilliant effort from the hoop fans.
30/07/2010, 2:20 PM
I think Rovers should One thing hasn't changed since my days of going to Milltown: The way "The Rovers" is said with an English accent when being chanted....
... The Rayo-vers".
And having lived in England for the last 19yrs, I know an Englsih accent when I hear one. I can assure that 'Rovers' isn't sung in an English accent.
Even the way you wrote it is in a Dub accent, not an English one. The phonectic of it being song in an 'English' (I assume you mean Southern English) accent would be more like 'Rawh-virs', rather than the 'Roww-verrs' which is sung. The elongated vowels/following consonants are the dead give away of a Dub accent
30/07/2010, 2:35 PM
Certain chants are in English accents (like 'Who Are Ya?') because they were popularised in that accent, but I really don't see how anyone could interpret the Rovers chant as anything but Dublin.
but I really don't see how anyone could interpret the Rovers chant as anything but Dublin.
it sounds a bit like a Wicklow accent to me. ;) ;)
seriously though, its as Dublin as "De Bowez"
03/08/2010, 4:32 PM
English: De Rayo vers (or some such phonetic)
Dublin : De Row vurs
Definitely the former. It is, as Charlie Darwin says, certain chants are in English accents although I note he doesn't agree with me.
In any event here's hoping de Rayo Vers or de Row vurs get a good result in Italy.
Juve's take on Rovers (before the first game):
http://www.juventus.com/site/eng/NEWS_newschampionsleague_DEAA8055B97749C2A76FFD44D 41E7A91.asp
SupaJon
03/08/2010, 6:47 PM
Certain chants are in English accents (like 'Who Are Ya?') because they were popularised in that accent, but I really don't see how anyone could interpret the Rovers chant as anything but Dublin.
Rovers should probably change the Who are ya?" chant to "Story bud?".
Hard to do that one in an English accent.
04/08/2010, 8:52 AM
On a different topic, one of my friends got two of the turnstiles from Milltown which he has either side of his front door. The one below was apparently obtained from Manchester United in 1930 (so the story goes).
http://sites.google.com/site/kilcree/photos/Milltownturnstyle.jpg
04/08/2010, 3:14 PM
Rovers should probably change the Who are ya?" chant to "Story bud?".
Hard to do that one in an English accent.
Or "Storee, wahhh ?" to give it its full Dubness.... :D
Dublin Red
05/08/2010, 7:44 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0805/twiggg.html - Twigg set to start on the bench, along with other big names supposedly.
marinobohs
05/08/2010, 8:54 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0805/twiggg.html - Twigg set to start on the bench, along with other big names supposedly.
No surprise really, money made and now Sundays game is more important. Still, (through gritted teeth) best of luck to shams tonight.
Duggie
05/08/2010, 9:18 AM
i hope shams can keep it as tight as possible tonight and not get hammered, should "rest" murray for sunday also........
punkrocket
05/08/2010, 3:54 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0805/live_shamrock_juventus_liverpool.html
Well said
bullit
05/08/2010, 4:49 PM
Well said
Fair fux to you Con:cool:
Rasputin
05/08/2010, 4:59 PM
Well said
Outstanding Con.
05/08/2010, 5:18 PM
Con???
That's what I thought as well - it's down under the name of Rory Houston.
Unles that's some sort of pseudonym....?
05/08/2010, 7:06 PM
What was that all about on RTÉ
"Billy Dennehey, not the first Kerry man to play in Europe, that honour goes to Derek O'Brien"....
Dear jaysus....
That's what I thought as well - it's down under the name of Rory Houston.
Unles that's some sort of pseudonym....?
Aye Steve, Rory writes a bit in the Sligo Weekender and does some work for the club as well if I'm not mistaken.
He's a staunch Bit O Red supporter as well. Didn't know he was working for RTE now.
The irony that it was written by a Sligo Rovers fan and people reckoned it was Shams Con should not be ignored.
bullit
05/08/2010, 7:21 PM
Thank god thats not Terryland or it would be good night and dont ask for a refund:rolleyes:
05/08/2010, 8:08 PM
Dan Murray's having a stormer. Or "Danny Murphy" as Eoin Hand has decided to refer to him, presumably in homage to the other Danny Murphy beside him.
redobit
05/08/2010, 8:35 PM
Very tiring game for Shams tonight, I think Bohs should do the honourable thing and postpone the weekend game.
05/08/2010, 10:29 PM
Restricting Juventus to 3 goals is hard work for any LOI team. I look forward to Sligo's attempts to restrict it further...
...sometime in 2210.
redobit
05/08/2010, 10:47 PM
Restricting Juventus to 3 goals is hard work for any LOI team. I look forward to Sligo's attempts to restrict it further...
...sometime in 2210.
Get over yourself and take a joke, you pleb.
MeathDrog
06/08/2010, 1:09 AM
Big shout out to the referee tonight. He was superb.
Rasputin
06/08/2010, 6:58 AM
...sometime in 2210.
Cry me a river?
SeanDrog
06/08/2010, 7:35 AM
I thought the Italian players were very respectful towards the Irish lads. Great seeing Del Piero with his arm over bradleys shoulders and having a bit of a laugh. When they made a sub, the Italian coming off put his hand out to shake a rovers player hand etc etc I was very impressed with their attitude - it could have been all too easy for them to look down on Rovers but they treated them as equals.
Always liked Juv from a kid when I watched Italian footie on channel 4 (it was brill) - it was always a bit weird as I did'nt grow up following english footie so in school I could name all the Italian teams and most of their players but hadnt a clue who won in the uk at the weekend - confused my mates a fair bit.
To finish - WHAT A GOAL - if you are going to be beaten , then that is a goal to be beaten by. 35 and still strong - old Del clearly still has it.
I thought the Italian players were very respectful towards the Irish lads. Great seeing Del Piero with his arm over bradleys shoulders and having a bit of a laugh. When they made a sub, the Italian coming off put his hand out to shake a rovers player hand etc etc I was very impressed with their attitude - it could have been all too easy for them to look down on Rovers but they treated them as equals.
LOI players and fans are treated as equals everywhere in europe bar Ireland.