View Full Version : We're all a Hoop tonight

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

Jicked
29/07/2010, 2:02 PM
Good to see Dan Murray and Danny Murphy enjoying their loan spell, it seems "You reap what you sow" after all.

I don't think there'd be too many tears shed if both went back to Cork. A lot of people would offer to drive Dan Murray back.

Juve got 300 tickets as far as I know, all were distributed through their fans travel group so there shouldn't be any Italian students/chip shop owners in the away end.

Buller
29/07/2010, 2:09 PM
In fairness - and not to have a dig at Rovers at all - but I'd say it wouldn't be too hard to sell an away European game against Juventus; it's pretty much the definition of a dream tie. I'd be very surprised if a club like Rovers couldn't get 1000 at it, even if it is in Modena.

Yeah I thought that at first too but a return tickets average €300-400. I'd say we'll get the 1,000 mark alright but its very expensive.

29/07/2010, 2:13 PM
Ah, they joys of not having enough fans to jerk up air fares. :)

29/07/2010, 2:40 PM
Yer man must think we're all still back in the 1980's !

I doubt many City fans would list Rovers in even the Top 3 of the teams they "hate".

Maybe it is an age thing. However back in the 70's and 80's and well before that (according to my Dad) they
were always the team you most wanted to beat.

Still always want them to win in Europe. Best of luck tonight.

Rasputin
29/07/2010, 2:43 PM
Given there's no geographical or historical reason for it, is the animosity from Sligo fans towards Shamrock Rovers fans (and yes - it does seems pretty much one way) purely because they don't like the fact that the Dublin club is known as 'Rovers' rather than them ?
This whole Rovers and Shams thing is embaressing on this site.
Yes petty remarks are made by Rovers fans after the last few games which were fairly eventfull between both sides.
But thats football, its only then that Shams fans state its about some pathetic 'obsession' or what not.
And yes I think MON is an all round rat, not because of some inane statement he said or was supposed to have said in an interview but the way in which he conducted himself in the showgies the last time they were down, some people know what ****e he was up to and some dont.
I dislike Shams in the whole, I like to beat them but they certainly arent 'rivals' or any such absurdity.
But tonight I will be hopeing to god they beat Juve, not because of some fabricatated LOI 'fraternity' or to see an Irish team doing well or such minnowism but purely for the fact that what ever dislike I have for Shams it doesnt even come near to my hatred for barstoolers and nothing would please me more than shams wipeing their smirk away and destroy the hard on they have for Irish teams getting humiliated in Europe.

29/07/2010, 2:44 PM
Ah, a couple of league titles will bring all the hatred back.

Very excited about the match tonight, though my expectations are low.

hoops1
29/07/2010, 3:07 PM
This thread is mortifying.

"Tonight we are all Rovers fans", "Model Club", "The Co-Efficient", "The League of Ireland family", "Barstoolers lol"

It's like being trapped in a circle jerk, cliche machine.

F*** Rovers

And F*** Juventus

Now, I'm off to find an Italian forum with a "Tonight we are all Juventus fans" thread started by a Roma fan.

And they said Raul Moat shot himself!

Ezeikial
29/07/2010, 3:40 PM
No matter the result tonight (or next week) Shamrock Rovers have already won....over €400,000.

Be afraid 2011 title contenters (& Bohs) be very afraid.

peadar1987
29/07/2010, 3:43 PM
Rovers doing well could only be good for the league. Nobody is going to stop supporting St. Pat's, Dundalk, or Finn Harps if they manage to get a result, but there's a good chance a fair few people might decide to check out their local LOI side if they do well. In a league so starved of support as ours, that's something you can't scoff at because of some petty animosity

29/07/2010, 3:44 PM
This thread is mortifying.

"Tonight we are all Rovers fans", "Model Club", "The Co-Efficient", "The League of Ireland family", "Barstoolers lol"

It's like being trapped in a circle jerk, cliche machine.

F*** Rovers

And F*** Juventus

Now, I'm off to find an Italian forum with a "Tonight we are all Juventus fans" thread started by a Roma fan.

Time of the month?

I don't think I've ever read a positive post from Ltid. Maybe Pete upping the ante this week has increased the pressure.

Monkfish
29/07/2010, 4:18 PM
Time of the month?

I don't think I've ever read a positive post from Ltid. Maybe Pete upping the ante this week has increased the pressure.

LTID will tell you he's fan of Limerick and not the LOI, while I agree with a lot of what he says I do however wish Rovers the best of Luck, as I would any Irish team playing in Europe.

29/07/2010, 5:04 PM
No matter the result tonight (or next week) Shamrock Rovers have already won....over €400,000.

Be afraid 2011 title contenters (& Bohs) be very afraid.
I reckon the club will probably put the financial gain down as a windfall and invest it in grassroots/infrastructure/promotion rather than factoring it into the playing budget.

29/07/2010, 5:15 PM
Given there's no geographical or historical reason for it, is the animosity from Sligo fans towards Shamrock Rovers fans (and yes - it does seems pretty much one way) purely because they don't like the fact that the Dublin club is known as 'Rovers' rather than them ?

There is a historical reason. It goes back to 1978, when a disputed penalty was given in one of the games. We've never heard the end of it since.

Straightstory
29/07/2010, 5:32 PM
Rovers doing well could only be good for the league. Nobody is going to stop supporting St. Pat's, Dundalk, or Finn Harps if they manage to get a result, but there's a good chance a fair few people might decide to check out their local LOI side if they do well. In a league so starved of support as ours, that's something you can't scoff at because of some petty animosity
Good stuff. Hope Rovers do well tonight.

29/07/2010, 5:42 PM
And they said Raul Moat shot himself!

He did.

Driven to it by a hugely inflated ego and the woman he loved. Twould have been near Shakesperean had Gazza not arrived.

Time of the month?

I'm a bloke though. :confused:

The FACTS of life. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Menstrual_cycle)

I don't think I've ever read a positive post from Ltid.

http://foot.ie/threads/137533-July-Transfers-2010?p=1381593&viewfull=1#post1381593

http://foot.ie/threads/138622-Oh-My-God!?p=1381688&viewfull=1#post1381688

There's not one but TWO fairly light hearted ones off the top of my head in the last 24 hours. I couldn't be anused looking for more.

"Oh noes, someones doesn't luv da rovers, dey must be mentals." :bulgy:

I just opined on an opinion forum that I genuinely couldn't give one and that I struggle to understand the mentality of anyone who could unless they have a connection with the club or a bet on. Judging by the reaction to the post I'm not the only one. (not that I'd care if I was mind.)

I really, really, wouldn't worry about it too much if I was one of ye. :hug:

Docboy
29/07/2010, 5:51 PM
But tonight I will be hopeing to god they beat Juve, not because of some fabricatated LOI 'fraternity' or to see an Irish team doing well or such minnowism but purely for the fact that what ever dislike I have for Shams it doesnt even come near to my hatred for barstoolers and nothing would please me more than shams wipeing their smirk away and destroy the hard on they have for Irish teams getting humiliated in Europe.

You need to get over yourself man. Speaking as someone who has always followed an English club, and attends a handful of LOI matches every season, I don't know of anyone that would love to see Rovers getting beaten, never mind hammered. Granted there's always a few that'll smirk if things turn out that way but it's certainly not the prevailing mood AFAIK. I remember a chap in work racing around the corner to Buswell's Hotel in 2004 or so to hand over his £2k to keep the club going. It'll be him I'm thinking of while watching the match. Best of luck to them.

29/07/2010, 5:56 PM
I don't know of anyone that would love to see Rovers getting beaten, never mind hammered.

http://i.ytimg.com/vi/QZYqY4B8AQ8/0.jpg

Possibly 4 or 5 of these lads. :)

Overall, fair comment tho.

CSFShels
29/07/2010, 6:13 PM
I'm up for Juve.

Paddyfield
29/07/2010, 6:24 PM
I remember flicking between TV channels a few years ago watching Shels and Pat's in Europe. I hated Pat's for taking a bunch of Galway natives to the Club and i hated Shels for their cheque book method of building a Club. Yet still, I cheered when Shels went 3 goals up against Rangers and roared encouragement at the Saints as they held Celtic scoreless at Parkhead. Same when Cork beat Gothernburg and Sligo beat the Maltesers.

Tonight, my dislike for Rovers will not be forgotten but I really would love to see them thrash Juve 10 - 0.

It's a bit f**ked up, I know.

Come on Rovers, ye dirty freeloading Dubs.

Sean South
29/07/2010, 6:24 PM
se saltelli, muore Michael O'Neill.

Shamrock merda:D

redobit
29/07/2010, 6:35 PM
There is a historical reason. It goes back to 1978, when a disputed penalty was given in one of the games. We've never heard the end of it since.

Probably goes back further that mypost. Its more that its been handed down from generation to generation imo.

Historically it goes way back to when Dublin teams would be given the rub of the green by referees, who travelled to Sligo on the team bus. Or further back to a time when Dublin teams who be subsidised when travelling to playing a team outside The Pale, while we got nothin when we trvelled.
The fact that Shams were probably the team to beat those days made them easier to 'hate', and its just continued from there id say. Football fans can be a fickle old bunch.
That some Shams supporters think that they have a monopoly on the word 'Rovers' dosent add to it either.

29/07/2010, 6:40 PM
I hope Rovers lose. (edited to acceptable foot.ie standards)

Predictable but brilliantly simple. (how can anyone say they hate them but want them to win - ridiculous).

A N Mouse
29/07/2010, 6:45 PM
Any other streams?

rte's is a bit... meh!

L.T.F.C.
29/07/2010, 6:49 PM
Fuuck it anyway!

29/07/2010, 6:50 PM
yes Rovers fans, we were watching. :D :D

29/07/2010, 6:50 PM
Very poor goal to give away. Your man Amauri couldn't have been any slower getting to the ball and still had acres.

29/07/2010, 6:59 PM
Why is Cissokho being booed?

ger121
29/07/2010, 7:07 PM
yes Rovers fans, we were watching. :D :D

Had a laugh at that one myself

29/07/2010, 7:19 PM

Because he played for Liverpool. Pretty sad

Ezeikial
29/07/2010, 7:21 PM

He is not, maybe being Hoop, hoop, hooped

Hibs4Ever
29/07/2010, 7:23 PM
Anyone else seeing a fair few empty seats?

29/07/2010, 7:26 PM
Bad form from Rovers taking the ball from the hop ball after their fans threw another ball onto the pitch.

L.T.F.C.
29/07/2010, 7:26 PM
http://www.iraqgoals.tv/ch7.html

poster
29/07/2010, 7:33 PM
"We are Evil" :nerd:

29/07/2010, 7:36 PM
Bad form from Rovers taking the ball from the hop ball after their fans threw another ball onto the pitch.
Yeah but it got Juve to lose their cool so I'll take it :D

Daryl Murphy did the same thing for Celtic yesterday - took a shot from the half-way line when the other team expected him to play it back. Maybe it's a League of Ireland thing.

L.T.F.C.
29/07/2010, 8:16 PM
Cue calls of match-fixing! :P

WindmillWarrior
29/07/2010, 8:21 PM
Dan Murray is very dodgy at the back. I could never understand why Cork fans always held him in such high esteem

Predator
29/07/2010, 8:34 PM
Thought Rovers gave a good account of themselves despite the loss.

29/07/2010, 8:43 PM
Dan Murray is very dodgy at the back. I could never understand why Cork fans always held him in such high esteem Because he played for Cork.

I only caught the second half on a stream (RTE's stream was terrible - played maybe five seconds in the minute for me; thank god for Bet365), but the repeated references to Amauri's debut were cracking me up - he has over 60 appearances for Juve.

MeathDrog
29/07/2010, 8:50 PM
Because he played for Cork.

I only caught the second half on a stream (RTE's stream was terrible - played maybe five seconds in the minute for me; thank god for Bet365), but the repeated references to Amauri's debut were cracking me up - he has over 60 appearances for Juve.
Aye noticed that myself. I was saying to myself "I could have sworn he was playing for them last year."

Anyway, good effort from Rovers but they were simply outclassed. They nor do any team in this league have anywhere near the calibre of players like Diego, Amauri, or Martinez.

29/07/2010, 8:53 PM
Yeah, I don't what the lads were smoking with the Amauri debut business.

Gallant effort from Rovers but the early goal killed us. Juve just had the class of player to make gilt-edged chances and it could have been worse.

Oh well, we'll beat them in the Champions League next year :D

srfc1928
29/07/2010, 10:21 PM
Probably goes back further that mypost. Its more that its been handed down from generation to generation imo.

Historically it goes way back to when Dublin teams would be given the rub of the green by referees, who travelled to Sligo on the team bus. Or further back to a time when Dublin teams who be subsidised when travelling to playing a team outside The Pale, while we got nothin when we trvelled.
The fact that Shams were probably the team to beat those days made them easier to 'hate', and its just continued from there id say. Football fans can be a fickle old bunch.
That some Shams supporters think that they have a monopoly on the word 'Rovers' dosent add to it either.

have to agree most Sligo Rovers fans dislike of Shamrock Rovers goes back generations.
And in fairness its a one sided thing on our part.
I think it stems from the fact they were the main team from the capital and we were out on our own for years with no rivals around us.
When you go back through the years as far as the 30's we were practically the only regional team consistently on the go.
Also other factors which have been mentioned already havent helped matters through the years.

Also when Sligo people refer to Shamrock Rovers as Shams, it isnt really meant as an insult. Its just that Sligo people always refer to Sligo Rovers as Rovers(since 1928) just as say people from Derry refer to Derry City as City. We have always called them shams as it would be confusing to call them Rovers also.

Any ways as much as i dislike them and am glad they were beat, they put on a decent show tonight

sheao
29/07/2010, 10:33 PM
Rovers put in a decent effort tonight, but Juve's gulf in class showed in the end.
For the end of the first half and start of the 2nd , I thought Rovers would get what would have beena deserved equaliser.
If Dan had scored like he did on many european nights for us, then it would have been a completly different game.

placid casual
29/07/2010, 10:55 PM
If Dan had scored like he did on many european nights for us, then it would have been a completly different game.

if he had defended like he should have it would have been a different game.
d'ywannim back?

Riddickcule
29/07/2010, 11:56 PM
He's in Fifa 10 so, he was in the Juve squad last year.

Jicked
30/07/2010, 12:09 AM
Rovers put in a decent effort tonight, but Juve's gulf in class showed in the end.
For the end of the first half and start of the 2nd , I thought Rovers would get what would have beena deserved equaliser.

Did Murray score many for Cork in Europe?

Great performance from Rovers, when Juve broke they were devestating, but we did a great job on shackling them and if that lanky streak of centre half had have finished that header we'd have had a deserved equaliser on 50/55 minutes. For 15 minutes of the second half I watched Shamrock Rovers really bully and outplay Juventus FC in European competition. Not bad for our first year back in Europe. Don't expect the €400,000 (or whatever it is) to be blown on cast-offs from other LoI teams or increased contracts for the same players, expect to see it spent on one or two new players, and reinvested for the future so we have many more nights like this.

Jicked
30/07/2010, 12:33 AM
Also, not sure if it was caught on camera but a very special moment as a Rovers/LoI fan to see a guy like Del Piero warm up in front of you. He was going through his paces, ignoring the calls for autographs etc, but on his jog back to the bench ran over to high five some kids taking pictures of him, the whole stand burst in to applause and he got a standing ovation when being brought on. Not every day you get to see one of football's greatest gracing a LoI pitch for a competitive game.

30/07/2010, 12:38 AM
"We are Evil" :nerd:

Gayest football chant ever....?

Jicked
30/07/2010, 12:45 AM
Gayest football chant ever....?

When it's being sung because we didn't give back a hop-ball I'm pretty sure you don't have to think we were actually trying to intimidate the Juve Ultras ahead of next week.

RoversHead
30/07/2010, 12:53 AM
Gayest football chant ever....?eh no that would involve a big drum and the term randy brandywell;).Great nights entertainment,met some Juve lads for scoops after,they loved the atmosphere and spirit on and off the park,particularly Del Pieros standing ovation followed by" youl never play for Rovers"