View Full Version : Pete Mahon no likey MNS

Pages : 1 [2]

29/07/2010, 1:26 PM
It's grand, but it's far from top notch. Just going on what's there, the poles in the stand need to go before what's there can possibly be considered top notch, for example.

29/07/2010, 2:07 PM
Just going on what's there, the poles in the stand need to go before what's there can possibly be considered top notch, for example.
A few low notches should sort that?

29/07/2010, 2:13 PM
I take back my statement that most grounds are up to scratch I saw and smelt something last night in Flancare Park that has changed my stance for ever enough said!

dong
29/07/2010, 2:40 PM
Tom the Gom was there was he?:eek:

danthesaint
29/07/2010, 2:52 PM
i dont think richer is that bad, ucd is actually a nice ground, i hate going out to it all the same

oriel and hunky dorey park are terrible imo,

each ground should have 2 main stands something like the jodi or the stand in galway pity they cant fill that tho, crackin stand.

Riddickcule
29/07/2010, 2:57 PM
Yeah oriel, Utd park, carlisle, jackman, tolka and dalymount are probably the worst. I pray our development plans go ahead, it'd be a much, much needed boost for the club and the town.

PartySaint
29/07/2010, 3:10 PM
They are all crap but we get some sick perverse pleasure from going to them

We are freaks

30/07/2010, 10:13 AM
They are all crap but we get some sick perverse pleasure from going to them

We are freaks
Or we just like proper football. If we wanted sanitised football, in nice shiny stadiums with feck all atmosphere, we'd join the barstool legions in twice a year trips to Britain...

01/08/2010, 2:01 PM
Page 54 in the Weekend (TV guide) bit of the Sunday Independent today:

MNS RTÉ Two 7.00pm

The affable Con Murphy and his guests Damien Richardson, Paul Doolin and Colm Foley discuss the latest action from the Airtricity League for the four or five viewers out there who are likely to care one way or the other. A sad state of affairs, really.

harry crumb
01/08/2010, 2:08 PM

Who wrote that ****e.

peadar1987
01/08/2010, 4:38 PM
Who wrote that ****e.

Someone who's bitter about having to write the TV schedule instead of being a real journalist.

01/08/2010, 5:21 PM
Someone who's bitter about having to write the TV schedule instead of being a real journalist.

Usually its written by Paul Wittingham, who is an awful tv/movie critic. SATC is kind of his thing

01/08/2010, 6:34 PM

MNS RTÉ Two 7.00pm

The affable Con Murphy and his guests Damien Richardson, Paul Doolin and Colm Foley discuss the latest action from the Airtricity League for the four or five viewers out there who are likely to care one way or the other. A sad state of affairs, really.

Email address: sunday.letters@independent.ie

an email saying that you're disgusted with / you've decided to stop buying the paper as a result of the petty comment about a sport which is important to you might have some effect.

Saint_Charlie
01/08/2010, 7:58 PM
A chap who works for RTE posted this on another forum after I asked him for figures.

checked those MNS figures for you again to see how it was doing. For the show on 19th July it was 43,200. To give you an idea, Katherine Lynch's single lades from that night got well over 130,000

I think MNS should probably be moved to a 10pm timeslot. That's around the time lads have the rule of the TV after the missus has given up watching her soaps etc which are on at the same time as MNS.

ped_ped
01/08/2010, 8:03 PM
Email address: sunday.letters@independent.ie

an email saying that you're disgusted with / you've decided to stop buying the paper as a result of the petty comment about a sport which is important to you might have some effect.

Done.

01/08/2010, 8:52 PM
A chap who works for RTE posted this on another forum after I asked him for figures.

I think MNS should probably be moved to a 10pm timeslot. That's around the time lads have the rule of the TV after the missus has given up watching her soaps etc which are on at the same time as MNS.
It's also prime time. Putting on MSN at 10pm may result in more viewers for MNS but it would result in less viewers total for RTE. 7/8 is probably about as good as it will get.

SupaJon
01/08/2010, 9:01 PM
To whom it may concern,

I was quite saddened to read the following on page 54 of the TV guide in today's Independent:

"MNS RTÉ Two 7.00pm

The affable Con Murphy and his guests Damien Richardson, Paul Doolin and Colm Foley discuss the latest action from the Airtricity League for the four or five viewers out there who are likely to care one way or the other. A sad state of affairs, really. "

While the league of Ireland may not be as glamorous as the cross channel leagues, there are thousands of dedicated fans who each week make the effort to go through the turnstiles and cheer on their teams.

The League of Ireland has enough competition from rugby, GAA & English football without one of your "journalists" belittling our national league.

Sad state of affairs indeed.

Yours truly,
SupaJon.

Sent mine too.

Not that I read the Independent.

Actually...I hope this isn't a wind-up.

01/08/2010, 9:10 PM
Did you really sign it as "SupaJon"? :D

SupaJon
01/08/2010, 9:21 PM
Did you really sign it as "SupaJon"? :D

Of course!

That's the name on my birth cert!

dong
01/08/2010, 11:54 PM
I read that wrong so, although it was crudely put I thought whoever wrote it thinks it's a "sad state of affairs" that so few people in Ireland bother with the league, which is true!

peadar1987
02/08/2010, 12:39 AM
Sent:

Dear Sir/Madam,

I was immensely disappointed to find the following in the Sunday Independent today:

"MNS RTÉ Two 7.00pm

The affable Con Murphy and his guests Damien Richardson, Paul Doolin and Colm Foley discuss the latest action from the Airtricity League for the four or five viewers out there who are likely to care one way or the other. A sad state of affairs, really."

Although many prefer to ignore our national league in favour of the more "glamorous" fare we're bombarded with from across the water, there is still a sizeable community associated with the domestic league, and it is one that I can assure you will be fuming at what has been published in your paper.

I, for one, will be reconsidering my future purchases of a publication that holds in such contempt something so important not only to myself, but to many tens of thousands of others nationwide.

Regards

Again, I don't read the Indo, it's a little hard to come by in Scotland even if I did, but they deserve to be rattled!

02/08/2010, 12:49 AM
Description on the website is nothing like that.

RT� Sport on Two: MNS Con Murphy introduces highlights of the latest League of Ireland fixtures, including Bray Wanderers v Sligo Wanderers, Dundalk v UCD, Shamrock Rovers v Bohemians, St. Patrick's Athletic v Drogheda United and Galway United v Sporting Fingal (Sport)

http://listings.independent.ie/tv-radio?media=tv&channel=2&subject=&day=today

02/08/2010, 4:38 PM

Usually its written by Paul Wittingham, who is an awful tv/movie critic. SATC is kind of his thing
I guess he's just angry that he has to write two line reviews for the three or four readers who actually care enough to read them.