View Full Version : Paul Green
musicinmouth
28/05/2010, 8:46 PM
Thought Paul Green was brilliant tonight in everything he did... Very excited about him... His zippy passing, the way he shielded the paul, his interceptions... and a goal too! 10/10 from me...
Sullivinho
28/05/2010, 8:50 PM
Good addition. Reminds me of Mark Kinsella with his tidiness. At the very least he'll keep Andrews and Whelan on their toes. Andrews probably has more to worry about than Whelan.
Not to mention Gibson and McCarthy.
Did well, some nice touches. I dont think he offers an awful lot more or different than Andrews and Whelan so dont expect any change in the XI for the competitive games. I still feel McCarthy and Gibson offer the greatest potential for the CM positions. Whether they will be able to fulfill that potential in the next qualifying campaign, im not so sure, may be a little too early.
EastTerracer
29/05/2010, 1:58 PM
I think Green is the first Derby player to score for Ireland since Gerry Daly in 1980. Stapleton, Carsley and DeLap were capped as Derby players but none of them got a goal in those games.
ArdeeBhoy
29/05/2010, 10:45 PM
Fair play to him for taking his chance on his debut.....
tommy_c12000
30/05/2010, 3:02 AM
10/10??!! Rubbish. He had a good game. Showed some slick passing and read the game well. Opposition were shocking, any1 wud have looked good against them. While being a useful addition to our squad, he is no more than 6th or 7th choice midfielder. Conference with Doncaster, upto the dizzy heights of Championship with Derby, you simply cant make a race horse out of a donkey. Good addition to squad tho
Razors left peg
30/05/2010, 8:49 AM
10/10??!! Rubbish. He had a good game. Showed some slick passing and read the game well. Opposition were shocking, any1 wud have looked good against them. While being a useful addition to our squad, he is no more than 6th or 7th choice midfielder. Conference with Doncaster, upto the dizzy heights of Championship with Derby, you simply cant make a race horse out of a donkey. Good addition to squad tho
Ian Wright and Kevin Phillips both went from non league to the top of the game. Even in the Ireland squad its not that long ago since Keith Fahey was playing with Bluebell United.... stilll though I do agree with u that Green looks like he will never be any better than a decent back up player
30/05/2010, 10:37 AM
I don't think anybody has said he that should start, but he has made a claim for a squad place, based on merit.
He did very well in both games. He showed that he can come on a sub and fit into the action like a missing piece of the jigsaw and he can start a game.
In both instances, Trap would have been well pleased with his contribution. He has the mentality and ability of a Trap type CM.
Imo, Green is superior to what Miller could offer as back up.
McCarthy will be used by Trap in the qual campaign, he is the player with the ability who will be at the heartbeat of the team. But I don't think Trap will just throw him into the CM.
30/05/2010, 1:36 PM
Linked with Celtic in today's News of the World: http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/scottish/scottish_sport/831229/Celtic-gaffer-lines-up-move-for-Irish-ace-Paul-Green.html
aidinho
30/05/2010, 2:15 PM
dont think hes good enough for us tae be honest. would rather we concluded our deal with Nguemo before our option runs out to buy him at the end of this month.
I posted on the McGeady about how much of a talent he is but it seemed to have been deleted for some reason, anyway just to prove how two footed McGeady is check this goal out and this is when the pressure was on us big time to secure 2nd place ahead of Dundee Utd.
http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=1zldkas&s=6
I fear McGeady will only be a bit part player now under Trappatoni as he prefers the more robust and defensive Lawrence.
30/05/2010, 5:13 PM
Ian Wright and Kevin Phillips both went from non league to the top of the game. Even in the Ireland squad its not that long ago since Keith Fahey was playing with Bluebell United.... stilll though I do agree with u that Green looks like he will never be any better than a decent back up player
Mark Kinsella played Conference with Colchester for a year.
30/05/2010, 5:26 PM
I was reading a Derby forum and some were complaining "Why doesn't he do that for us?" - lol.
Sullivinho
30/05/2010, 5:41 PM
Steve Finnan is another. From Welling in the Conference, right through the English leagues and on to the Champions League with Liverpool and World Cup with Ireland.
Regarding his place in the squad, I think Green may already have endeared himself to Trap. I'm sure he sees guys like Whelan and St. Ledger as personal successes of a sort given he blooded them and they've yet to let him down in any way. (See Andy Reid for an example of what happens when he does feel let down)
And of course you know you've earned the Trap seal of approval when he compares you to your Italian equivalent!
Whelan - Gattuso
St. Ledger - Cannavaro
Keane - Totti
Standby for Green - Baresi ;)
Murfinator
31/05/2010, 4:55 PM
Now if only he'd get a Pirlo equivalent into the team we'd all be happy. ;)
Razors left peg
31/05/2010, 5:09 PM
Now if only he'd get a Pirlo equivalent into the team we'd all be happy. ;)
Andy Reid :D
wrestler313
02/06/2010, 2:07 AM
certainly gives 110 pct but i still rate andrews,whelan,gibson,mccarthy,and maybe even fahey over him. he'll get his chances though
kev mcq
02/06/2010, 11:57 AM
I fear McGeady will only be a bit part player now under Trappatoni as he prefers the more robust and defensive Lawrence.
You forgot better...Lawrence is also better than McGeady.
wrestler313
02/06/2010, 4:06 PM
maybe not based on talent, but lawrence gets the job done and is definitely a lot more consistent. mcgeady doesn't really get involved in defence.
aidinho
03/06/2010, 3:03 PM
that is absulute bull my friend.
only reason he gets in ahead of McGeady is because hes basically a right back come right winger and hes aboot 7 inches taller than wee Aido, and this suits right into Traps cattanaccio way of playing.
Yous are boring as **** and yous know it.
Diarmo
03/06/2010, 5:31 PM
Disagree, Lawrence has scored twice in about 7 caps, and we're still waiting for McGeady's first goal after over 30 caps. on top of that I think he offers more to the team, and we look more balanced with Lawrence there. And Trap's Ireland boring? Maybe, but we all know how Mowbray's "sexy football" ended up.
aidinho
03/06/2010, 7:08 PM
Disagree, Lawrence has scored twice in about 7 caps, and we're still waiting for McGeady's first goal after over 30 caps. on top of that I think he offers more to the team, and we look more balanced with Lawrence there. And Trap's Ireland boring? Maybe, but we all know how Mowbray's "sexy football" ended up.
was his seconded not a deflection against a **** poor Algerian outfit?
the point remains if yous have any chance of getting to Poland Trappatoni has to ditch Lawrence or move him one or else yous are ****ed.
DannyInvincible
03/06/2010, 8:49 PM
No. :rolleyes:
kev mcq
03/06/2010, 9:00 PM
the point remains if yous have any chance of getting to Poland Trappatoni has to ditch Lawrence or move him one or else yous are ****ed.
As opposed to Scotland who are.....shyte?
and Saudi Arabia who are quite shi'ite.
kev mcq
03/06/2010, 9:03 PM
Ba-dum-tish
Ba-dum-tish
a thank you. :)
wrestler313
04/06/2010, 1:03 AM
:clap: well played
04/06/2010, 1:31 PM
There is indeed a gulf in class.
aidinho
04/06/2010, 8:53 PM
No. :rolleyes:
I dont support Scotland pal.
boovidge
04/06/2010, 10:32 PM
So you're from Glasgow and support/used to support Ireland, presumably because you consider yourself Irish on some level. Absolutely fair enough. Why then, do you consider it wrong for English born players to play for Ireland?
aidinho
04/06/2010, 10:58 PM
So you're from Glasgow and support/used to support Ireland, presumably because you consider yourself Irish on some level. Absolutely fair enough. Why then, do you consider it wrong for English born players to play for Ireland?
Because England are Like Rangers to me and most Celtic supporters, after hearing Lawrences interview on the BBC I think this guy genuinly thinks himself Irish and thats what he kinda said in that Interview, he said along the lines of hed walk tae Glasgow to play for the Celtic and he musta got that fae his Da.
Celtic isnae a team its an institution sent down from father to son.
Scooby Doo
05/06/2010, 2:20 AM
Because England are Like Rangers to me and most Celtic supporters, after hearing Lawrences interview on the BBC I think this guy genuinly thinks himself Irish and thats what he kinda said in that Interview, he said along the lines of hed walk tae Glasgow to play for the Celtic and he musta got that fae his Da.
Celtic isnae a team its an institution sent down from father to son.
The knuckle-dragging element is still thriving in Glasgow so....:rolleyes:
aidinho
05/06/2010, 4:11 PM
The knuckle-dragging element is still thriving in Glasgow so....:rolleyes:
yes they sure are ma man and Manchester and Barcelona residents will testify to that, women peeing in fountains anyone????????
aye thats wit Rangers are like.
05/06/2010, 8:28 PM
At the risk of placing accuracy before humour, Wahhabism is the major Islamic doctrine in Saudi and is an ultra-conservative branch of Sunni theology. It's about as far from Shia Islam as Dr. Paisley is from Rome.
:ball: PP
Paddy Garcia
05/06/2010, 8:38 PM
My mistake, thought I'd hit the Paul Green thread!
At the risk of placing accuracy before humour, Wahhabism is the major Islamic doctrine in Saudi and is an ultra-conservative branch of Sunni theology. It's about as far from Shia Islam as Dr. Paisley is from Rome.
i knew they are mostly Sunni - thats why i said "quite" shi'ite (about 30%) ;)
http://www.joeydevilla.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/buzz_killington-191x300.jpg
09/06/2010, 8:42 AM
Celtic isnae a team its an institution sent down from father to son. Jesus christ it's like reading Viz. Who else types in their dialect? It's like writing "okay" below the Do Not Write Below This Line bit on bank slips.
boovidge
09/06/2010, 10:15 PM
Jesus christ it's like reading Viz. Who else types in their dialect? It's like writing "okay" below the Do Not Write Below This Line bit on bank slips.
http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/vli/language/scots/index.htm
10/06/2010, 11:30 PM
Well **** my ass and call me bitch. There's juice loose aboot tha' hoose. What's wrong with Scottish people? First Weh Weh Weh and now this.
Scooby Doo
11/06/2010, 12:27 AM
:eek::eek::eek:
Sullivinho
02/09/2010, 3:27 AM
Trap "60% sure" Green will start against Armenia. Darron will be thrilled with his 40% ;)
http://irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/trap-gives-green-light-129590.html
Revealing he had looked at both the Derby County man and Darron Gibson playing alongside Glenn Whelan in training, the Ireland manager yesterday declared: "I can say 60% it will be Paul Green".
Green on playing for Ireland:
"My family always pushed me and my grandad always pushed me to put my name forward. But, obviously, being down in the lower leagues, I thought they'd never look at me. The higher I got, and then with a season in the Championship under my belt, I thought I'd put my name forward and see what came of it.
It has just come so quick for me. Being called into the training camp for the two weeks in May, then getting 25 minutes against Paraguay and then a full game against Algeria and topping it off with a goal was just fantastic. Then playing probably one of the top four teams in the world, Argentina, was just a dream come true. Tough, but a great experience.
At club level, I'm more attacking, I play a different position. But with Ireland, the manager knows what he wants you to do and he sets that out. It was nice being in the training squad and playing a few in there before I did actually get in the team. I knew what he wanted me to do and felt comfortable with it. Protect the back four and when the ball does go forward, try to get the second bits. Just start off attacks really. Hopefully, I'm doing that job.
The only time I was a bag of nerves was when I had to sing a song (The Wild Rover) in front of the squad the first time."
rebelmusic
03/09/2010, 12:34 AM
On current Irish form I would pick Green, Gibson has more potential tho, and is one of our few players who can score a goal out of nothing with those long range shots of his
livehead1
03/09/2010, 2:34 AM
Doesn't consider himself Irish, fact.
Supreme feet
03/09/2010, 4:11 AM
Doesn't consider himself Irish, fact.
If I had a son by my Korean girlfriend, and decided to stay living here, my son would probably not consider himself Irish - especially given the rampant nationalism in public schools here. But if he was talented enough at football, I'd definitely try to push him in Ireland's direction.
Happy to have Green on board if he continues to play well, but I get the feeling he's keeping his place warm for McCarthy, Wilson or Meyler in the near future. Or Gibson if he gets his finger out.
Wolfie
03/09/2010, 7:57 AM
If I had a son by my Korean girlfriend, and decided to stay living here, my son would probably not consider himself Irish - especially given the rampant nationalism in public schools here. But if he was talented enough at football, I'd definitely try to push him in Ireland's direction.
Happy to have Green on board if he continues to play well, but I get the feeling he's keeping his place warm for McCarthy, Wilson or Meyler in the near future. Or Gibson if he gets his finger out.
I think how he performs tonight will have a huge bearing on whether he remains near the top of the future pecking order.
I hope he plays a blinder.
03/09/2010, 8:01 AM
Agree with Supreme Feet on both counts, but ultimately it's the footballing aspect I'm more concerned with. Green is a stop gap measure, as Keith Andrews probably is in all liklihood. From a position at the start of the EC08 campaign where midfield looked to be really bad in the future, it's an area where we could excel in the mid to long term.
James McCarthy, David Meylor, Conor Clifford, Chris McCann, Darron Gibson, not to mention incumbent Glenn Whelan, and if he can establish fitness again Joey O'Brien. Nice.
Colbert Report
05/09/2010, 10:29 PM
Paul Green seems like a great guy but he played terribly against Armenia in my opinion. He made three terrible mistakes that almost led to Armenian goals. He'll be fine to put against bad teams but he'll be found out playing against the likes of Denisov.
rebelmusic
06/09/2010, 1:19 AM
Should be max 4th choice behind whelan, andrews and gibson, saying that my ideal midfield would be Whelan McCarthy
06/09/2010, 8:59 AM
I'm going to go out on a limb and predict that McCarthy will not be in the squad VS Russia, it's not the ideal game for a 19 year old to make his senior competitive debut. Barring injuries and suspensions, it'll be two from Whelan, Andrews and Green
06/09/2010, 9:39 AM
Is the U21 calendar clear in October? If so I'd like McCarthy in the squad as part of his integration.