View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers Fans!

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

Quadruple1928
05/05/2010, 10:25 PM
It is comical radio alright.

05/05/2010, 10:25 PM
Apparently the fella who ran on to the pitch in Tallaght isn't a Shams fan...

They never are...

NEVER BEEN TO A GAME IN THEIR LIVES - YE BLEEDIN' THICK!

GET OFF THE PHONE!

05/05/2010, 10:28 PM
Pats fan: What about the Shels fan who was attacked on the Luas?
Rovers Fan: What about him? Where ya there? fkin thick

:bulgy:

tallaghthoop
05/05/2010, 10:28 PM
Man i was embarrassed to be a Rovers supporter since Monday's carry on, now im fcuking mortified.

tallaghthoop
05/05/2010, 10:30 PM
Well said Hoops1, tallaghthoop dosent sound like a real fan,members keep the club going.The club gets fined for people throwing toilet rolls on the pitch,there is not too much srfc can do about that.Every club with any decent support gets fines.The club has done everything it can to stop people bringing flares into the ground.

Just noticing this now.....What does a real fan sound like will you enlighten me?

05/05/2010, 10:32 PM
Ban for life

Hoops chairman Roche vows to get tough on those fans guilty of causing trouble at Oriel Park

By Aidan Fitzmaurice

Wednesday May 05 2010

SHAMROCK ROVERS have vowed to impose lifetime bans on any fans who are found to have caused disturbances in Dundalk on Monday night.

[...]

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/ban-for-life-2165237.html

05/05/2010, 10:36 PM
Just noticing this now.....What does a real fan sound like will you enlighten me?

Best example is that bloke John who was on the radio just

05/05/2010, 10:39 PM
Bizarre. I hope the callers are not a good representation of the type of people following SRFC
I doubt that the people who call into FM104 are a good representation of anyone tbh.

05/05/2010, 10:55 PM
Special prize for somebody who finds the relative clause error in the text Dunny quoted from the Herald.

dong
05/05/2010, 11:43 PM
small section of the Rovers support

the minority of fans

10 or 20 people

We had just 10 or 15 people

very small minority.

They are just 5pc

We will identity the 10-15 people

There's a line you don't cross in football and that was crossed by 10 to 15 people

Shamrock Rovers Football Club condemns the behaviour of the 10 to 15

these dozen or so individuals do not fit in at Shamrock Rovers.

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/ban-for-life-2165237.html

How many was it again??
Mother of God. He is more intent on emphasising the crowds they get in Tallaght and bring to away games than anything else.

The bit where he says that they musn't have realised they were on TV is the clincher.:rofl::rofl:

05/05/2010, 11:59 PM
Special prize for somebody who finds the relative clause error in the text Dunny quoted from the Herald.

"Rovers chairman Jonathan Roche has admitted that the Oriel Park affair, where riot police were deployed to deal with a small section of the Rovers support who almost caused the abandonment of the Premier Division game, a 2-1 win for league leaders Dundalk."

What has he admitted I wonder...can foot.ie enlighten us?

(c'mon...it's a free shot ;) )

BluSonic
06/05/2010, 1:07 AM
your digging a hole there mate
theres list a long if not longer on just rovers fans alone incidents , everyone here knows its a small minority of so called rovers fans that cause these headlines but its up to yous at your club to fix it.
theres been two major incidents this season from supporters one last night and one against st pats in tallaght .
its no coincident that both incidents involved so called rovers fans

I'm digging no such hole friend because I'm in no way trying to start a ****ing contest of who did what worse and more, my sole point is ALL of the major clubs have issues and it is ALL our resposibilities to ensure that this foolish element is stamped out. This scapegoating is absurd, its almost like all the sharks on here and in the media smell blood and are circling for the kill. Unfortunitly the minnowism in the league of Ireland is widespread, its a case of when one club start to excell the fans of the other want to drag them back down, that goes for all LOI clubs mine included.

Are you trying to come accross as moronic or is it just the natural demenure of your posts? are you infact a Shamrock Rovers fan or perhaps somebody on a PR wrecking ball mission?

Here is the FACTS about the Maldron and the support involed. The last match we had against Dundalk was the evening of the Manchester United and Liverpool match the Dundalk fans were WELCOMED into the Maldron and watched the 2nd half of that match there with us, surely other then Bohs the Shamrock Rovers Hooligans would want agro with Dudalk seeing as they too have the rep of being "holigans" but there wasn't an ounce of trouble either in or around the ground. I sujest you get your facts straight before you lie through your teeth.

What happened to the foot.ie boycott? Temporary relaxation? :)
Self defence perhaps?

What, you have a problem with a factual statement? Alot of good to the publicans in the south Dundalk area that have to close their doors on bank holiday Monday because of threat of the scum element attached to Shamrock Rovers. I think the comparison with the scum element among travellers is very relevant. I find it difficult to think of many other sections of Irish society that create such a widespread ugly and tense atmosphere.

Perhaps:
Dudalks Scum element
Bohemians Scum element
Pats Scum element
Shels Scum element (if they have any elements left these days of the discover ireland league)
Every other teams Scum element?

Some small points, there reason that the psycho who invaded the picth in Tallaght is being denounced is beacuse he wasn't recognised by any of the rovers regulars, obviously this isn't a definite criteria for being a fan or not but either way fan or not the club put their hands up and took the blame, a fan entering the playing area is the problem of the hosting club, as is controling all visiting supporters.

The term "Riot" in this instance is a slight overstatment, I think the term that should be applied is crowd disturbance. Riot (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Riot)/Disturbance (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disturbing_the_peace)

Quadruple1928
06/05/2010, 1:56 AM
Everyone knows Shamrock Rovers should have sorted these morons out years ago, its always the same cretins. Its their own fault at the end of the day. Every sport has a minority of morons but what really ****es me off is stuff like i heard tonight on FM104.

Adrian Kennedy on his chav station tonight “you wouldn't see that at Croke Park with the GAA, and they get 80,000 fans ”. Really Adrian you mongo. A ref got attacked by GAA fans only a few weeks ago and it got less attention than what happened in Dundalk. That ****es me off, from second rate newspapers to bad radio stations, you have idiots that use the rovers incident against Dundalk, to say how bad 'hooliganism' in Irish football is. They trod out the line "wont see that in GAA or Rugby":rolleyes:

You can head into plenty of places in town after a rugby game and see rowdy rugby fans. You'd never see Rugby thugs doing what happened in Dundalk, no, they'd outnumber some young lad and kick him to death outside a nightclub.

Would a cop call someone an “oranges *******”at GAA or Rugby game? No, if he did it would be all over the paper but its ok for a cop to call a Glentoran fan an “orange *******”? No its not, its Irish football though so they get away it.:confused: Mad stuff.

Maybe somebody in the media will some day have the courage to stand up and tell it how it is, they'd probably prefer to live like sheep though, don't want to upset the apple cart.

Spudulika
06/05/2010, 7:59 AM
Everyone knows Shamrock Rovers should have sorted these morons out years ago, its always the same cretins. Its their own fault at the end of the day. Every sport has a minority of morons but what really ****es me off is stuff like i heard tonight on FM104.

Adrian Kennedy on his chav station tonight “you wouldn't see that at Croke Park with the GAA, and they get 80,000 fans ”. Really Adrian you mongo. A ref got attacked by GAA fans only a few weeks ago and it got less attention than what happened in Dundalk. That ****es me off, from second rate newspapers to bad radio stations, you have idiots that use the rovers incident against Dundalk, to say how bad 'hooliganism' in Irish football is. They trod out the line "wont see that in GAA or Rugby":rolleyes:

You can head into plenty of places in town after a rugby game and see rowdy rugby fans. You'd never see Rugby thugs doing what happened in Dundalk, no, they'd outnumber some young lad and kick him to death outside a nightclub.

Would a cop call someone an “oranges *******”at GAA or Rugby game? No, if he did it would be all over the paper but its ok for a cop to call a Glentoran fan an “orange *******”? No its not, its Irish football though so they get away it.:confused: Mad stuff.

Maybe somebody in the media will some day have the courage to stand up and tell it how it is, they'd probably prefer to live like sheep though, don't want to upset the apple cart.

While I agree with the underpinning sentiment you're expressing - "public outrage" fanned by the media, you're being a little too precious about Irish football. Or maybe you switch on/off after/before coverage of GAA and Rugby comes on the Irish news. A row at a GAA match grabs massive headlines and handwringing ensues. A cheating rugby coach gives fake blood to a player and the whole sport is called into question - or maybe you forgot BOD's spearing and the "outrage" the kept on in Ireland, actually is still going. There is no media conspiracy against Irish football, or GAA, or Rugby, or tennis or any other sport. But as was said in Michael Moore's Bowling for Columbine - "If it bleeds it leads". The Irish media has grown uncomfortably close to the mainland (ie GB) and some of the sensationalism is shocking. If what happened in Oriel happened up the road in Dowdalshill at a club hurling match, for sure there'd be media outrage, Joe Duffy and co would make a fortune! It wasn't biased journalists or media hacks going at gardai and making idiots of themselves, but a bunch of halfheads who are dragging the sport down.

As for slurs in other sports - an Armagh man playing for a Dublin club gets called a "Northern s@@t" and "Orange p@@@k" and suddenly GAA fans are racist, backwards and ridiculed in the mass media. That the man offering the abuse is a local teacher was picked up on and hammered home.

Schools rugby was vilified when the young lad was killed outside the nightclub, and torn apart to such an extent that sponsors pulled out of the LSC, yet life went on.

Na Fianna objected to the abuse of their non-local player and the Dublin County Board and opposing club acted swiftly and banned the individual for 12 months from all GAA activities.

If Shamrock Rovers did the same then the issue would be heralded as a new way forward. Trying to deflect is just another way to leave the cycle unbroken.

Dalymountrower
06/05/2010, 8:21 AM
Deleted

06/05/2010, 8:53 AM
While I agree with the underpinning sentiment you're expressing - "public outrage" fanned by the media, you're being a little too precious about Irish football. Or maybe you switch on/off after/before coverage of GAA and Rugby comes on the Irish news. A row at a GAA match grabs massive headlines and handwringing ensues. A cheating rugby coach gives fake blood to a player and the whole sport is called into question - or maybe you forgot BOD's spearing and the "outrage" the kept on in Ireland, actually is still going. There is no media conspiracy against Irish football, or GAA, or Rugby, or tennis or any other sport.
The difference is the coverage the likes of the GAA get the rest of the time, compared to football. Domestic Football only leads the news when it's bad news.

06/05/2010, 9:37 AM
Spot on macy. There is absolutely an anti LOI agenda in certain newspapers. Journalists who love the league will confirm this (off the record obviously) with tales of editors and sub editors butchering their stuff, and changing whole articles

hoops1
06/05/2010, 9:55 AM
The chairman admitting to his conviction in Limerick for football related crowd trouble, perhaps?

If your going to be a smart arse at least identify the right person.

GreenStar
06/05/2010, 10:06 AM
Fair enough. Just given that we're talking about the riot and an probable fine from that, it seemed a bit strange to single out only that Rovers have done work banning flares.

What "riot"???

stovelid
06/05/2010, 11:00 AM
Na Fianna objected to the abuse of their non-local player and the Dublin County Board and opposing club acted swiftly and banned the individual for 12 months from all GAA activities.

If Shamrock Rovers did the same then the issue would be heralded as a new way forward. Trying to deflect is just another way to leave the cycle unbroken.

The pitch invader is banned from the stadium.

Hopefully the same thing will happen for the people involved in Dundalk. Although as Bohs supporters know well from their trips to Tallaght, supposedly banned supporters have a knack of always turning up to away games anyway.

06/05/2010, 11:01 AM
Aw, this thread has gone all serious again. The radio quotes on the last page were cracking me up.

shantykelly
06/05/2010, 11:10 AM
well, the riot police weren't called in to deal with an over exuberant display of manners, where they?

06/05/2010, 11:18 AM
What "riot"???
"Riot" is probably an excessve term; suppose that's what you expect the riot squad to be dealing with. But you know what I mean.

Mark
06/05/2010, 12:36 PM
The chairman admitting to his conviction in Limerick for football related crowd trouble, perhaps?

Don't think that was Jonathan Roche afaik - guy called Carpenter wasn't it?

saint dog
06/05/2010, 12:56 PM
I sujest you get your facts straight before you lie through your teeth.

can you tell me where the lies are

06/05/2010, 1:11 PM
The rest of the posts in this thread are going to need to be 100% factual, with sources.

Everything else will be deleted.

WoodquayBoy
06/05/2010, 1:47 PM
Round of applause for the FAI, who really know how to defuse situations. Tomorrow night's fourth official in Tallaght Stadium is . . . Damien Hancock (back page today's Star).
The referee is none other than Neil Doyle (http://www.airtricityleague.com/index.php/about/press-office/2032-airtricity-league-referee-appointments), who controversially sent off United's captain Barry Ryan against Pats 2 weeks ago, claiming Ryan had deliberately aimed for him when kicking the ball, and hasn't reffed a game since. You couldn't make it up . . .

Dalymountrower
06/05/2010, 2:16 PM
If your going to be a smart arse at least identify the right person.

Sorry about that, the "right" person was of course Mr Carpenter, Board Member and Trustee.

Mark
06/05/2010, 2:32 PM
http://www.thefreelibrary.com/HOOPS+HOOLIGAN;+Rovers+stand+by+boss+after+violent +clash+with+rival...-a0148522933

This link has all the details. I was going to copy and paste the article but I've gotten into trouble for doing that before. :(

06/05/2010, 2:39 PM
The pitch invader is banned from the stadium.

Hopefully the same thing will happen for the people involved in Dundalk. Although as Bohs supporters know well from their trips to Tallaght, supposedly banned supporters have a knack of always turning up to away games anyway.

are you trying to suggest that Bohemians are deliberately selling tickets to trouble makers for Tallaght games? We actually tend to work with clubs to prevent trouble makers from gaining admittance at away grounds. As i said in a previous post, mistakes are sometimes made. Its pretty hard to get it right 100% of the time.

All a club can do is try and it seems that all SRFC or its fans wants to do is make excuses. As tallaghthoop says, the sooner this attitude changes the better.

kd16
06/05/2010, 3:02 PM
In fairness, I have yet to come across a Rovers fan who hasn't completely condemned what happened. It seems however that they're not allowed contribute anything further to the conversation as fans of Bohs, Pats, etc (and Sligo for some reason?) will accuse them of "making excuses" and their original condemnation is ignored to fuel the myth that the club refuse to accept blame for anything.

06/05/2010, 4:02 PM
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalknews/Minister-was-34horrified34-bymatch-rioting.6271914.jp

06/05/2010, 8:04 PM
In fairness, I have yet to come across a Rovers fan who hasn't completely condemned what happened. It seems however that they're not allowed contribute anything further to the conversation as fans of Bohs, Pats, etc (and Sligo for some reason?) will accuse them of "making excuses" and their original condemnation is ignored to fuel the myth that the club refuse to accept blame for anything.

The club has got to come out and actually do something about this for a change. Too often incidents of a various nature have been ignored by SRFC over the years and enabled by the FAI. The time for idle words has passed and they need to start backing up their words with actions. Sure, posters here have condemned the actions but did you not read the criticism Tallaghthoop received from his fellow hoops for speaking his mind on the trouble that attaches itself to the club? And honestly, i dont think that this incident was all that bad - its just a culmination of things over the last year or two that requires some form of action. Excuse making is okay in my book as long as you also dont ignore the fact that whatever happened shouldnt have happened, provocation or not, and then actually take some action to reduce the chances of it happening again.

Until the club is seen to actually do something then surely the club deserves to be criticised?

tallaghthoop
06/05/2010, 8:49 PM
Skstu, excellent post. As i said on page one, SRFC fans will try blame the world and its granny some might say they have tunnel vision. Till everyone gets on board and faces facts there is always going to be doubt about our supporters. Everyone agree's that nobody wants them, yet they make excuse's for them and deny things happen even when it gets caught on live T.V. Really thought the one about the bloke who ran on the pitch took the biscut, he wsn't a Rovers fan he was a Bohs fan in disguise. Only at SRFC would you hear such garbage.

All the trouble i've mentioned has happened and has been documented, don't believe me, pop over to the ultras forum and have a look at last years topic's. I think there was 3 Threads called, " Your not a Rovers fan part 1,2,3 ". There is also some incidents that have been covered up and deleted and 1 or 2 we got away with, we were all in the east stand and know what was said to Joey Ndo sure the live T.V picked it up and we got of with a warning, Shels pre season freindly this year, do you remember it half time when all the filth came from the east stand to the family stand looking for trouble abusing families that supported Shels,if your memory is not to good pop over to the ultras forum there is a few pages there about it. We have been fortunate up to now, i plead with the board to deal with this and hammer these scumbags and remember Mr Roche a lifetime ban is a lifetime not 3 or 4 games till everything blows over.

Please no more pm's asking me to shut up, i'm not going hide from the facts and the scumbags. Sure if we all want the same thing whats the problem? Your either on my side or not, there is no grey area they are flith end of.

Copa Mundial
06/05/2010, 10:37 PM
Thats pretty pathetic. Referee makes a decision plain and simple and a minority of mindless idiots resort to thuggish behaviour and you lay the blame for what happened on the ref...? Whether you agree with the referee's decision or not what you are basically saying is that if supporters (and i use the term lightly) disagree with a refs decision then its ok to resort to that type of behaviour and justify it by blaming the referees decision? Unbelievable logic...Fair play...

16/05/2010, 10:06 AM
Nice letter in the Turbine today pointing out the hysterical over-reaction.

Well done Hugh O'Connor, wherever you are.