View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers Fans!
tallaghthoop
04/05/2010, 9:09 PM
WTF are you on about, I go to the maldron before games and I see the w*nkers involved in this. But I can honestly say I've never seen them abusing families walking down the road, the situation is bad enough without you spreading lies.Yes they've been involved in hoolie behaviour for a long time and they now have a junior section looking up to them and it needs to be dealt with ala banning them from Tallaght and the club has dragged their feet in dealing with these knobs for far too long, but throwing in non factual stuff gets us nowhere.
I go the maldron every game to with some freinds and many a time i've come out to see our lovley little scumbags from T.V last night chanting and intimadating any away support walking up the road, families included. Get the blinkers off, the club tackles it head on with an iron fist or they are wasting there time, this discussion wouldn't be taking place if nothing happened up in Dundalk last night.
saint dog
04/05/2010, 9:22 PM
have to say after seeing the footage this eveing it should be very easy for the Rovers board to pin point these thugs and kick them out of Tallaght for good
there is far to many good genuine Rovers fans that i know and admire for these idiots to get away with.
what struck me about the incident was the age of these guys at the head of it , forgetting about the young lads who just want to be part of THE gang
but the instigator seemed to be a bald middle aged guy with glasses assisted by an older white haired man who was at least 50 !!!
amazing c,mon Mr Roche get rid of these thugs
GGAJD
04/05/2010, 10:34 PM
I go the maldron every game to with some freinds and many a time i've come out to see our lovley little scumbags from T.V last night chanting and intimadating any away support walking up the road, families included. Get the blinkers off, the club tackles it head on with an iron fist or they are wasting there time, this discussion wouldn't be taking place if nothing happened up in Dundalk last night.
I think thats called singing on your way to the ground for starters, the way you put it in your post you'd swear they were screaming at pregnant women and babies. I know they are scumbags but posting lies about them isn't the way to go, they do enough crap without you making stuff up that hasn't happened.
And I don't wear blinkers I've seen these tw*ts doing crap like this for years and years and I'm not making any excuses for the cnuts, I've had more than a few run-ins with them, but the club has done fcuk all about it and I honestly believe you'll see these same knobs at the Galway game on Friday. Maybe, hopefully after last night's goings on and the reaction in the media today, they'll finally get rid of them.
tallaghthoop
04/05/2010, 10:42 PM
Sorry i fail to see where i mentioned pregnant women or babies.....i said families get your facts right and they don't choose who they scream and shout at, its at everyone in that general direction. Another poster that wants the same thing but can't face the facts. As i said blinkers off and hammer them.
GGAJD
04/05/2010, 10:56 PM
Sorry i fail to see where i mentioned pregnant women or babies.....i said families get your facts right and they don't choose who they scream and shout at, its at everyone in that general direction. Another poster that wants the same thing but can't face the facts. As i said blinkers off and hammer them.
You've just contradicted yourself there, in your original post you said they intimidated families into saying they'll never come back, now it's no-one in particular.
Read my post, I hate the ****ebags and want rid of them, 'Face the facts', I know the facts more than you do because I was actually there last night and could see it building up before it happened, you've been only short of saying 'throw them out of the league' by a whisker all day, and I say 'them' because I don't believe for a second your a Rovers fan, no Hooper would post the rubbish you've been spouting all day.
We're all embarrassed and ****ed off about last night and have had enough of the cnuts, hopefully (as I've already said and you ignored it) the board finally fcuk them out of Tallaght and away from Rovers games forever.
04/05/2010, 11:31 PM
remember that well.. I got caught up in it at half time when walkin across to the club shop and had to do a runner after they tried to barge past our stewards! the memories of it all came back last nite watchin it!
Marty heroically ran for his life! :)
05/05/2010, 2:26 AM
Shamrock Rovers Football Club condemns the behaviour of the 10 to 15 so called ‘fans’ at last night’s Airtricity League match against Dundalk in Oriel Park, which was attended by over 500 Rovers supporters.
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1331-club-statement-on-oriel-park-incidents
Are they having a laugh? 10 to 15? LOL
I almost spit out my tea when I saw that - improbably small estimate.
I'm a Rovers fan (been attending games on and off since I was 16 - 24 now), but there's always been this sort of element among the support - comfortable, middle class kids who think they're tough by shouting insults at the Gards. I haven't seen Rovers much since Tallaght opened, but it certainly seems like the broader base on support has pushed the thuggish fringe to the margins a bit - in my day, you'd see a dozen coins thrown at the officials a match. Perhaps a trip away is the excuse pretend fans like this need to start a bit of trouble because they won't get away with it at home anymore.
GreenStar
05/05/2010, 7:26 AM
Nah, that's rubbish.
I wouldn't expect my Leinster Senior League match to be on TV, but if I killed someone in it, I would.
The news shows extreme stories/stories of interest, that's the nature of it.
Am I missing something here? Was somebody killed in Dundalk? All I saw was about 15/20 heads wearing e-bay bought stone island rags throwing shapes at gardai. There were some items thrown on the pitch granted but it wasn't exactly a riot or an "extreme story". I am not for one minute condoning this before people jump down my throat but Ciaran W is right here.
GreenStar
05/05/2010, 7:32 AM
Put it this way, the only time when all pubs in the southern end/Park Street/Carrick Rd/Cresent area of Dundalk close their doors are when there is a traveller funeral nearby or when Shamrock Rovers come to town. Says alot.
Well isn't that a well thought out, relevant and helpful post. Thanks for that.
remember that well.. I got caught up in it at half time when walkin across to the club shop and had to do a runner after they tried to barge past our stewards! the memories of it all came back last nite watchin it!
I'm not sure that trouble could be totally blamed on Rovers. Not just that game, but in my experience many incidents in the league are down to poor policing, poor organisation and lack of basic cop on imo.
stovelid
05/05/2010, 7:51 AM
I go the maldron every game
So do I and you're exaggerating, unless you're one of the supporters around the place that think that singing a few songs and standing up is going to bring about the end of civilization.
I think something needs to be done (and it will be) about our ****** element in our club as much as anybody, but some of the ****e you're posting here to lick the arse of the anti-Rovers brigade in here is toe-curling. I find it hard to believe you've supported the club a wet weekend, if at all.
If you're that concerned, become a member and help us deal with it (and it should be dealt with) within our own club instead of wringing your hands on here and playing into the hands of the usual suspects who have an axe to grind against our club.
05/05/2010, 8:10 AM
What happened to the foot.ie boycott? Temporary relaxation? :)
WoodquayBoy
05/05/2010, 11:29 AM
Shocking behaviour by Rovers fans and while the game was at Oriel, they should be made play a game behind closed doors in Tallaght when this is added to the Pats incident with the genius coming onto the pitch. I am no Rovers fan - especially given their abject failure to deal with their scum element - but there is a touch of hysteria here as well. As many people have said, no one was injured. Unlike when Dundalk came to Terryland last season and an element that travelled with them attacked two Galway United fans outside the ground, leaving one with blood streaming from his face. One way for Dundalk to ensure this does not happen again is ban Rovers fans from Oriel, but don't see that happening
05/05/2010, 11:32 AM
Beyond identifying previously banned individuals to the home club's security at the turnstiles, and working with the Gardai and home club security to identify individuals after the incident, I'm not sure what more Rovers as a club can do when the trouble happens at an away ground?
I'd agree with this.
The whole "there's nothing we can do about it" argument can come across as a stupid excuse, but it can also be the truth.
If a club is doing all it can to try and stamp out trouble-making and trouble-makers, then it's difficult to see why they should be punished. The question is what exactly "a club doing all it can" consists of, or should consist of.
Is there anywhere we might find some kind of directive outlining the steps a club should take when attempting to deal with trouble-makers?
05/05/2010, 11:47 AM
Earlier in the thread Ezekial stated that Dundalk wanted to have tickets for the away end to be only sold from Shamrock Rovers. If that was the case, and they sold tickets to known trouble makers, then it clearly is an issue for them
According to Ezekial, Rovers were unwillingly to do this, and told fans to get them "on the night"
Obviously his is only the Dundalk perspective, but its one area that could work. (For the record Rovers fans could only buy tickets for the Pats game in Richmond from Tallaght - none were available for the away end "on the night")
oriel
05/05/2010, 12:07 PM
I think the solution to future Rovers games in Dundalk may be to restrict the sale of tickets to fans on the night if they can display a SRFC season ticket. Other than that the only other ticket to get in should be via Rovers, (DFC sent 500 I think for this game but only around 100 were taken up) then those who do not have season tickets can call in and purchase tickets at SRFC before they travel.
I dont think the line 'If that was the case, and they sold tickets to known trouble makers, then it clearly is an issue for them' is fair Dodge, how were those on the ticket booth in Oriel meant to know who known trouble makers were ? And if these people (400 I think who paid on the night) were refused tickets, would this not have created huge tension before kick off ?
I think its an irish thing not to bother buying tickets in advance so naturally the club were not going to refuse 400 + buying on the night, besides as mentioned many times before, the trouble makers were only a very small majority. If this continues maybe SRFC should appoint their own security men to vet away fans at grounds around the country.
This was a real shame what happened as even when the mini riot scenes kicked off, I made a point of watching what the rest of the fans were doing, I had a good view from the stand and the majority hardly moved.
tallaghthoop
05/05/2010, 12:19 PM
So do I and you're exaggerating, unless you're one of the supporters around the place that think that singing a few songs and standing up is going to bring about the end of civilization.
I think something needs to be done (and it will be) about our ****** element in our club as much as anybody, but some of the ****e you're posting here to lick the arse of the anti-Rovers brigade in here is toe-curling. I find it hard to believe you've supported the club a wet weekend, if at all.
If you're that concerned, become a member and help us deal with it (and it should be dealt with) within our own club instead of wringing your hands on here and playing into the hands of the usual suspects who have an axe to grind against our club.
Become a member are you havin a laugh, i've better things to do with my cash than spend it on the constant stream of fines thats coming our way. I thought hard about buying a season ticket this year my 1st time in 11 years i wouldn't of had one, because of some of the carry on i have witnessed in our own stadium last year, and time and time again a blind eye was turned.....sure you must remember the numerous threads over on the ultras forum last year. You just have to look at the excuses been used this time around, i've heard sligo been mentioned Bohs supporters been mentioned, Pats supporters been mentioned.....what the fcuk has it got to do with them. My concern is our fans.......not every other tom dick and harry's. Practice what we preach i say.
05/05/2010, 12:54 PM
I dont think the line 'If that was the case, and they sold tickets to known trouble makers, then it clearly is an issue for them' is fair Dodge, how were those on the ticket booth in Oriel meant to know who known trouble makers were ? And if these people (400 I think who paid on the night) were refused tickets, would this not have created huge tension before kick off ?
Sorry for the confusion. I was actually supporting your argument. The posters above had said that Rovers (as a club) couldn't be held responsible for the actions of their fans at away games. I said that if all away tickets for the Dundalk v Rovers game were sold by Rovers (as Ezekial claimed Dundalk wanted), they couldn't use the "sure how do we know who buys tickets for our end" excuse.
(and BTW I love being able to buy tickets on the night for any game, and I'd definitely have sympathy for genuine Rovers fans who couldn't get over to Tallaght midweek to buy tickets for an away game in Dundalk)
stovelid
05/05/2010, 1:09 PM
Become a member are you havin a laugh, i've better things to do with my cash than spend it on the constant stream of fines thats coming our way.
Thought as much. You're on a wind-up. I won't be answering again.
Sorry for the confusion. I was actually supporting your argument. The posters above had said that Rovers (as a club) couldn't be held responsible for the actions of their fans at away games. I said that if all away tickets for the Dundalk v Rovers game were sold by Rovers (as Ezekial claimed Dundalk wanted), they couldn't use the "sure how do we know who buys tickets for our end" excuse.
(and BTW I love being able to buy tickets on the night for any game, and I'd definitely have sympathy for genuine Rovers fans who couldn't get over to Tallaght midweek to buy tickets for an away game in Dundalk)
Last year that was the case, but because it was two away games in three days (pats in richmond on friday) the club felt they probably couldn't sell an away double header when the pats tickets were on sale at the shligo game.
tallaghthoop
05/05/2010, 2:09 PM
Thought as much. You're on a wind-up. I won't be answering again.
Not on any sort of wind up, 600euro per year to become a member. Say this fine is 3k thats 5 members hard earned money gone to the goons in Abbotstown, all because we can't deal with the flith that follow our club.
hoops1
05/05/2010, 2:45 PM
Jesus H Christ, you must be missing Gerry Ryan something terrible. Joe Duffy is still around will you ever ring him have a chat and get it off your chest. I actually dont believe your a Rovers fan.
Because anyone with as many issues as you have wouldnt go to the matches. If you love the club ring the office and try and help or come up with some solutions.
Cuyahoga
05/05/2010, 3:42 PM
Well said Hoops1, tallaghthoop dosent sound like a real fan,members keep the club going.The club gets fined for people throwing toilet rolls on the pitch,there is not too much srfc can do about that.Every club with any decent support gets fines.The club has done everything it can to stop people bringing flares into the ground.
05/05/2010, 3:48 PM
What has it done to stop people attacking other fans or players? Cos I don't think anyone's mentioned flares on this thread (it certainly isn't what's being discussed).
Cuyahoga
05/05/2010, 4:03 PM
What has it done to stop people attacking other fans or players? Cos I don't think anyone's mentioned flares on this thread (it certainly isn't what's being discussed).
It was in reply to Tallaght Hoop saying he wouldnt become a member because his membership fee would be going to pay for fines
(flares,objects thrown etc)
Dalymountrower
05/05/2010, 4:08 PM
Well said Hoops1, tallaghthoop dosent sound like a real fan,members keep the club going.The club gets fined for people throwing toilet rolls on the pitch,there is not too much srfc can do about that.Every club with any decent support gets fines.The club has done everything it can to stop people bringing flares into the ground.
Tallaghthoop clearly struck a nerve, and has said things that a lot of my Rovers aquaintances will privately admit to....that there are a number of groups within their club that have persistently caused trouble but that the Board don`t have the confidence to take them on. That could be out of fear, financial reliance or that those hoods just have too much support within the club to deal decisively and punitively with them . The persistent response of the Rovers Board has been to craft yet another press release about Life-time bans and other fanciful nonsense.
Scooby Doo
05/05/2010, 4:17 PM
Well isn't that a well thought out, relevant and helpful post. Thanks for that.
What, you have a problem with a factual statement? Alot of good to the publicans in the south Dundalk area that have to close their doors on bank holiday Monday because of threat of the scum element attached to Shamrock Rovers. I think the comparison with the scum element among travellers is very relevant. I find it difficult to think of many other sections of Irish society that create such a widespread ugly and tense atmosphere.
05/05/2010, 4:38 PM
It was in reply to Tallaght Hoop saying he wouldnt become a member because his membership fee would be going to pay for fines
(flares,objects thrown etc)
Fair enough. Just given that we're talking about the riot and an probable fine from that, it seemed a bit strange to single out only that Rovers have done work banning flares.
Not on any sort of wind up, 600euro per year to become a member. Say this fine is 3k thats 5 members hard earned money gone to the goons in Abbotstown, all because we can't deal with the flith that follow our club.
Without the members, that money isn't there to pay it.
What we miss here is Sheridan. Tallaghthoop pales by comparison. Bring back Sheridan...
tallaghthoop
05/05/2010, 6:21 PM
Struck a nerve is not the right word. Some people just don't want to face facts and the truth. There is a scum element within our club that is not been dealt with, time and time again. Yes we all have them but i don't care about eveeryone else i care about SRFC. And if your not willing to become a member, shut up seems to be reaction. Its a pity a few more wouldn't face hard facts and get things done, word on the ground is there is alot of people considering renewing their membership this year, as those that are in the know ( seems quite a few here ) means what 2010 means in the shape of membership and how it was paid in previous years.
http://www.herald.ie/national-news/soccer-thugs-arrive-with-their-battle-plan-reveals-senior-garda-2165206.html
wow - fascinating insights into the mind of a hooligan there from Inspector Gallagher...
No arrests made insepector? Even with all your research watching Green Street?
Quadruple1928
05/05/2010, 7:01 PM
Funnily enough Cormac Byrne for the Herald wrote an article of lies, a few days after that game. One of his 'sources' said "Glentoran fans came down to cause trouble and spread hate“ fabricated nonsense. The Herald pulled it off their website.
A Glens fan at the game, asked a Garda officer, where the toilets were, he was met with "why would i tell you orange *******" :rolleyes:.
"Irish soccer hooliganism" based on the article in the Herald is being discussed on FM104 in a minute or two
05/05/2010, 10:00 PM
"Irish soccer hooliganism" based on the article in the Herald is being discussed on FM104 in a minute or twoOne of the stewards and also the scorer of Dundalk's 2nd goal being blamed so far...
05/05/2010, 10:04 PM
Sure it was only 10-15 fans....:rolleyes:
Never seen Melligan give the finger and there is no footage of it either. This is embaressing stuff on the radio tbh.
They were also quick to dismiss your man who attacked the Pats keeper.
05/05/2010, 10:05 PM
did you not hear the bit about the Bohs fans who dressed up in Shamrock Rovers jerseys? Bizarre. I hope the callers are not a good representation of the type of people following SRFC cos if they are then nothing will be done and they'll just attempt to blame everyone and everything but themselves.
05/05/2010, 10:05 PM
"They kicked down the railing because a female Rovers fan was being squashed!"
And apparently according to one bright spark on there earlier - "This kind of thing only happens in Dalymount - not in Tallaght"...
05/05/2010, 10:10 PM
Ah sure it's all Dundalk fans fault now...
05/05/2010, 10:13 PM
This is f'n hilarious. Deluded compulsive liars
tallaghthoop
05/05/2010, 10:19 PM
Lads im listening in, i'm a genuine rovers fan, read back through my posts and its exactly what i said, they will blame the world and her granny. Its a disgrace no excuse for thuggery and scumbags. I'm never going to give another euro to the club till they sort this crap out
05/05/2010, 10:21 PM
Fighting with eachother on the radio now! Comical stuff!
05/05/2010, 10:21 PM
Slightly too much use of the other "F" Word going on there :D
And did I hear that right - the Rovers lad there just admitted that a bottle was thrown at a Dundalk player?
05/05/2010, 10:23 PM
Slightly too much use of the other "F" Word going on there :D
fantabulous?
05/05/2010, 10:23 PM
Now it wasnt even a Rovers fan who attacked Rogers!
tallaghthoop
05/05/2010, 10:24 PM
Jesus it just gets worse why can't people just put there hands up and say yes there is scumbags following us and we will sort it out, simple. Excuse's Excuse's and more Excuse's
Quadruple1928
This is great
Apparently the fella who ran on to the pitch in Tallaght isn't a Shams fan...
Dillonman
05/05/2010, 10:25 PM
Holy moly this is farcical, absolute sham and a joke they are making of themselves esp that **** who says he coaches for Rovers.