View Full Version : Mayo League Division 2 2010

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Thunderblaster
28/04/2010, 8:41 AM
I heard on the streets of Charlestown yesterday that Pat Corrigan got manager of the week on the Connaught Telegraph. Fair achievement for the man.

Thunderblaster
28/04/2010, 8:44 AM
not shy of self praise are you. you know what they say about that dont you?

I don't think that a Westport man not involved with Charlestown Ath, praising Charlestown Ath, comes under the guise of self praise somehow, does it??

Thunderblaster
28/04/2010, 9:14 AM
Westport United C team had a devastating win over the Blue Bombers over the weekend!!

murphs jewels
28/04/2010, 10:52 AM
I heard on the streets of Charlestown yesterday that Pat Corrigan got manager of the week on the Connaught Telegraph. Fair achievement for the man.

Great news, Pat has been a true ambassador for Charlestown Athletic and Mayo football. This acknowledgement is only fitting for the amount of hard work he does for our club and the youth set up in Mayo football. A true Club man and gentleman to boot. Hopefully now our u16 boys can go on a win the Connaught cup.

murphs jewels
28/04/2010, 11:12 AM
what happened to all Gaffers Gaffer posts?? why are most of them removed??

Thunderblaster
28/04/2010, 6:09 PM
Westport C to beat the Hesties over the weekend. After the demolition of the Blue Bombers, the boys of Beltra must be quaking in their boots!!

gaffers gaffer
28/04/2010, 11:44 PM
I don't think that a Westport man not involved with Charlestown Ath, praising Charlestown Ath, comes under the guise of self praise somehow, does it??

the comment was made about murphs jewels blowing his own trumpet yet again !!! just posted it wrong

gaffers gaffer
28/04/2010, 11:50 PM
what happened to all Gaffers Gaffer posts?? why are most of them removed??

only one removed must have been my comment about you!!!!! being pressing wrong buttons silly me.

murphs jewels
29/04/2010, 12:42 PM
not shy of self praise are you. you know what they say about that dont you?

Hey just saying it as it is..... done a report on Cross game too and was fair to both teams... if you dont want to read reports on the games fair enough but if youre not in attendance then how can you comment on the accuracy of the report?? Didn't do any injustice to Glenhest (apart from 1 player) and even commented on their abality to take points off other teams so i dont know what ur problem is?

gaffers gaffer
04/05/2010, 8:37 AM
I heard charlestown u16 put up a great battle against mervue at weekend stunning performance very unlucky not 2 have won. lost on penalties 5-4. A team to make any mayo club proud. well done charlestown and pat corrigan.

sinabhuil
04/05/2010, 9:05 AM
Well done Cross. Great reversal from the league defeat. I did not know the game was on otherwise I would have been there.

NoelM
04/05/2010, 10:00 AM
I was at the game and apart from 10 mins each side of half time Cross were well on top and deserved the win.

murphs jewels
05/05/2010, 9:29 AM
Ya wasn't at the game myself, but heard Cross fully deserved the win, apparently very different team to that which started the league game. Thought it was going to be difficult tho after Cross V Claremorris B result. Well done Cross and good luck from here.

Phoenix
06/05/2010, 9:18 PM
Ya wasn't at the game myself, but heard Cross fully deserved the win, apparently very different team to that which started the league game. Thought it was going to be difficult tho after Cross V Claremorris B result. Well done Cross and good luck from here.

Had 9 of the team that started against ye in the league. We lost our 2 centre-backs early in that game
and the management team have had to reshuffle the pack since. A couple of players have moved
further forward and the team now has a good balanced look about it. Last year the management team
were only able to field the same team in 2/3 games all season, so hopefully with a bit of luck, and a
few players to come back from injury(and maybe 1 or 2 more can be coaxed out or retirement!!) we
can compete this year and maybe even hang onto the coat tails of tthe top 3/4 teams. The league
looks really tough to call this year.

gaffers gaffer
07/05/2010, 10:14 PM
any predictions for this weekend ?

MayoLeague5
08/05/2010, 1:29 PM
Wins for westport c,charlestown,glenhest and s and f...

gaffers gaffer
10/05/2010, 1:25 PM
i dont know what is going on out there but there doesnt seem to be any passion on the green grass this season , this thread is also lacking any passion aswell compared to last year what is the problem? find your voices and get this thread back to its former glory

gaffers gaffer
10/05/2010, 1:34 PM
any predictions for this sunday?
glenhest rovers v claremorris b away
swinford b v cross celtic away
s & f b v ballyheane b home
westport c v charlestown home

MayoLeague5
10/05/2010, 2:15 PM
Must agree... its gone quiet.. Who are the contenders are a few rounds in.???. Charelstown westport and claremorris started well.

Back n the game
10/05/2010, 2:24 PM
i dont know what is going on out there but there doesnt seem to be any passion on the green grass this season , this thread is also lacking any passion aswell compared to last year what is the problem? find your voices and get this thread back to its former glory

Have to agree there, everything seems to be at a lull. Great banter and posts last year. Maybe its due to the loss of Yellowmonkey, Purplemonkey, Joe_Denilson, Couchpotato, Eto, Boro'86, Gunner1 from the division and pasionate arguments from Murphsjewels, swinford FC, Bandit, Walshek and pixiehead last year. But this is across the board in on all threads this year. Dont think the passion is gone from the pitch tho.

gaffers gaffer
10/05/2010, 2:43 PM
i hear a lot of whingeing on the pitch this year more than other years!! if the whingeing was replaced by passion we would have a gooddivision!! also too many refs on the pitch with every one calling for every ball too be theirs even when the ball comes of them they still call for the throw ,is that not cheating!!!! going on an awful lot becoming a bad habit,lets get back to playing good football after all isnt that what we pay a lot of money for??

Back n the game
10/05/2010, 7:07 PM
i hear a lot of whingeing on the pitch this year more than other years!! if the whingeing was replaced by passion we would have a gooddivision!! also too many refs on the pitch with every one calling for every ball too be theirs even when the ball comes of them they still call for the throw ,is that not cheating!!!! going on an awful lot becoming a bad habit,lets get back to playing good football after all isnt that what we pay a lot of money for??

Sounds like u could be a bit of a ref yourself..... not happy that the lads keep calling for everything are we?? after all thats exactly what they are told and taught to do at every level.. Call for everything and play the whistle. A good ref would be strong enough to make his own mind up and call the right decision no matter who is calling for what and no its not cheating in my mind.
Passion on the other hand, comes from within and its the reason we sign the form every year. Not everyone has passion and they are easily noticed and found out...pride in your jearsey and your club is not something that can be taught or drilled in at a training session. So you need to seperate what you consider whinging and passion as a true clubman/footballer will always express his/her passion (even as a supporter) and yes that means calling for balls that come off either yourself or a fellow player no matter how obvious it may be.

Gavs Up
12/05/2010, 3:03 PM
Murphs Jewels never said Charlestown were the best team in the league.. He gave his match report each week and wheather he be right or wrong he's entitled to his oponion, although towards the end I think he was doin it to rise a few people on this, <not mentioning any names r anything> but it certainly worked!!

PinkieMonkey, Charlestown Athletic won Division 2 last year, You can say what ya like but thats a fact... And if wanna stand any chance in the league you are in at the moment i suggest you go looking over every regestration paper and every bit of paper to do with the opposing clubs in yere Division this year cause thats the only way you will avoid Relegation! You are are a good side, but not that good.. You done ALOT of your talkin last year OFF the pitch <UNLIKE BARCELONA i mite add>!!

On another note I want to say best of luck to the rest of the teams in Division 2 for the remainder season... Standard of football seems to be very good this year an no easy games for anyone which is a credit to every club in the Division...

purplemonkeydis
12/05/2010, 7:00 PM
no i think you will find they finished joint second and lost the playoff, they were deducted points which was very fair. And with regards to our survival in division 1 I think you will find us to be aiming a lot higher than that

Gavs Up
12/05/2010, 7:50 PM
Charlestown to my knowlege were deducted 6 points last season an they still managed to finish on the same amount of points as Conn Whingers and lost out on penalties in the playoff. In my opinion they were extreamly hard done by, but thats only my opinion..

Listen this subject has been argued again and again an as far as im concerned its old news, im sure everyone else reading this thread is sick of hearing about it also..

Any predictions for the weekend games??

gaffers gaffer
12/05/2010, 10:11 PM
you could not pay me enough to be a ref ,just listening to some players whinging is enough without being in the fireing line all the time , as for cheating was henrys midas touch cheating in your oppinion or was it just part of the game??

gaffers gaffer
12/05/2010, 10:23 PM
Charlestown to my knowlege were deducted 6 points last season an they still managed to finish on the same amount of points as Conn Whingers and lost out on penalties in the playoff. In my opinion they were extreamly hard done by, but thats only my opinion..

Listen this subject has been argued again and again an as far as im concerned its old news, im sure everyone else reading this thread is sick of hearing about it also..

Any predictions for the weekend games??

why did you bring it back up then?? and you are right we are feedup with it!!! also as murphys jewels is suspended are you his mouth piece now

purplemonkeydis
12/05/2010, 10:50 PM
henrys touch was cheating but thats part of the game, why is murphys jewels suspended

gaffers gaffer
12/05/2010, 11:00 PM
henrys touch was cheating but thats part of the game, why is murphys jewels suspended

i agree with you on henry. thats a good question why is murphs jewels suspended?? can you enlighten us gavs up as you seem to be singing his tune!!

Gavs Up
13/05/2010, 10:20 AM
why did you bring it back up then?? and you are right we are feedup with it!!! also as murphys jewels is suspended are you his mouth piece now

It had already been brought up in a previous statement from Purplemonkey which strangely enough seems to have disappeared now?? i gave my reply to it so no, i did not bring it up again! Trust me, im as sick of hearing and reading about it as anyone!

An im not singin anyones tune but my own, ul have to ask Murph himself as to why he is suspended im afraid..

You goin watchin any Division 2 games this weekend Gaffer?? Ya should jump in a TAXI an go over to Charlestowns game with Westport, should be a good one! Hard to call id imagine...

purplemonkeydis
13/05/2010, 11:45 AM
My advice would be to go watch snf B this weekend, there new young striker is the real deal, melody i think his 2nd name is

Back n the game
13/05/2010, 3:29 PM

Dont know what's happening on this thread with several posts disappearing and suspensions handed out :eek:. Anyway its no wonder people arn't getting involved in this historic squabbling from 2009, you were't even involved gaffers gaffer and your asking for people to revive the banter of 09 yet all ive seen you do is insult other posters on here?? so my advice is :shut:

Shame there is no new topics to discuss.... Must we retort to old news and be reduced to petty squabbleing (as enjoyable as it was). Even you Purplemonkey seem to be missing the crossfire between yourself and murphsjewels?? The division 1 thread is on its arse and you have returned to get a little fire in your belly on this one. Why is murphs suspended and how long for? What got his dander up this time?

gaffers gaffer
13/05/2010, 4:06 PM
maybe after the anouncement tonight we will have some thing new to debate?

gaffers gaffer
13/05/2010, 7:03 PM
purplemonkeys statement was already removed so only saw your comment sorry about that, murphs jewels will be missed for the time he is suspended can always rely on him to liven things up, only watch games when sat on bench so sorry wont be able to go to westport as i will be somewhere else, think it will be a very tight game though with advantage to westport being on there own turf.

Gavs Up
13/05/2010, 8:35 PM
purplemonkeys statement was already removed so only saw your comment sorry about that, murphs jewels will be missed for the time he is suspended can always rely on him to liven things up, only watch games when sat on bench so sorry wont be able to go to westport as i will be somewhere else, think it will be a very tight game though with advantage to westport being on there own turf.

I agree, it will be a hard game for both teams with advantage to Westport for havin home advantage and they totally destroyed Ballyvary BB a few days back so confidance must be high in their camp at the moment..

Hopefully Murphs suspension will be up for the weekend as his his post-match opinions always make good reading... :)

Care to tell us your colours Gaffer??

purplemonkeydis
13/05/2010, 10:02 PM
yes even when he is suspended we are talking about the guy.of course we miss him. However i was very shocked to see them put out of the cup. I was confident they were capable of a double

Gavs Up
14/05/2010, 10:40 AM
Cup Draw

Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’
v
Conn Rangers
Claremorris
v
Killala
Claremorris ‘B’
v
Kilmore
Westport Utd.
v
Manulla
Bangor Hibs.
v
Parkside Celtic
Westport Utd. ‘B’
v
Mulranny Utd.
Iorras Aontaithe
v
Crossmolina ‘B’
Ballyhaunis Town
v
Moy Villa ‘B’
Charlestown Athletic
v
Straide & Foxford Utd.
Moy Villa
v
Ballyvary Blue Bombers
Straide & Foxford Utd. ‘B’
v
Ballyheane ‘B’
Ballyglass ‘B’
v
Ballina Town
Snugboro Utd.
v
Swinford ‘B’
Ballina Utd.
v
Ballyheane
Partry Athletic
v
Swinford
Manulla ‘B’
v
Fahy Rovers
Inver Utd.
v
Clew Bay Utd.
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd.
v
Crossmolina
Urlaur Utd.
v
Ballyglass
Castlebar Celtic
v
Achill Rovers
Bangor Hibs. ‘B’
v
Glenhest Rovers
Westport Utd. ‘C’
v
Cross Celtic
Conn Rangers ‘B’
v
Ballinrobe Town
Hollister
v
Castlebar Celtic ‘B’

Thunderblaster
16/05/2010, 5:26 PM
C'town 1-0 Westport. No complaints!!

couchpotato
16/05/2010, 6:02 PM
good results for glenhest, swinford b and snf b, claremorris will be dissapointed. could be an interesting league yet!!!

Back n the game
16/05/2010, 6:27 PM
good results for glenhest, swinford b and snf b, claremorris will be dissapointed. could be an interesting league yet!!!

Wow great result for Swinford.. Cross definatly jekyl and hyde side. Beating the cup favourites 2 weeks ago and getting stuffed by the basement side in the league. No consistancy in the league, Charlestown seem to be getting a nice run together, any report on Weatport C and Charlestown game?? is it true that a Charlestown ref officiated this one? some more dodgy goin on's down there murphs eh?? Claremorris not living up to sucess from last season and glenhest starting to get their act together. Could be an interesting league.. just wonder if all other teams are playing for 2nd place even at this early stage.

Gavs Up
16/05/2010, 8:13 PM

Great result for Charlestown. Some good football played by both sides, majority of it was on the ground with neither side just resorting to 'kicking it over the top'..

Best of luck to Westport for the rest of the season.

NoelM
17/05/2010, 9:41 AM
Wow great result for Swinford.. Cross definatly jekyl and hyde side. Beating the cup favourites 2 weeks ago and getting stuffed by the basement side in the league. No consistancy in the league, Charlestown seem to be getting a nice run together, any report on Weatport C and Charlestown game?? is it true that a Charlestown ref officiated this one? some more dodgy goin on's down there murphs eh?? Claremorris not living up to sucess from last season and glenhest starting to get their act together. Could be an interesting league.. just wonder if all other teams are playing for 2nd place even at this early stage.

Well deserved win for Swinford.

gaffers gaffer
17/05/2010, 1:05 PM
Great result for Charlestown. Some good football played by both sides, majority of it was on the ground with neither side just resorting to 'kicking it over the top'..

Best of luck to Westport for the rest of the season.

I knew it would be a tight game, a great result to overturn Westports home advantage and come away from Westport with a win well done Charlestown.

MayoLeague5
17/05/2010, 6:03 PM
Charlestown were at home...

Gavs Up
17/05/2010, 9:07 PM
The fixture got changed to Charlestown mid-week last week, not sure why but think there was another fixture down to be played in Westports home ground on Sunday..
Correct me if I have it wrong...??

murphs jewels
18/05/2010, 1:45 PM
yes even when he is suspended we are talking about the guy.of course we miss him. However i was very shocked to see them put out of the cup. I was confident they were capable of a double

Are you goin a little soft there purple, do u need to see a doctor :doctor:. Goes to show that you cant keep away from a good decent toe to toe row without commin back to your old nemises :shake:. cant blame ya as that Div 1 thread is dead and no one is givin ya any guff to start a row or for ya to send the league after them ;). Barcelona .....lolololol enough to get me suspended......again, and this time not a football in sight.

murphs jewels
18/05/2010, 1:51 PM

Even you should know that the choice of ref has nothing to do with the Clubs?? But yes an associate ref from the town was down to oficiate the game but thankfully we got a proper ref to take charge, not that i think there would be any bias, just that the original ref would probably be more against us than for us given his history with some of the players and the manager. Anyway a child could have Reffed the game the last day (No offence Mr Halligan) as there wasn't a dirty tackle in the whole game and not a card shown.

murphs jewels
18/05/2010, 2:06 PM

Thanks Thunderblaster.

Great game played at a great pace, with some fine football and football players on show. Charlestown had the lions share of the possession (60%) but just could'nt break down a resiliant defence. Westport keeper was definatley the bussier of the 2 and made some brilliant saves (even tried to kill our CF). We were worth the win, but made work very hard to get it and scored from a set piece. Thought there could have been a peno or 2 given (espically the keeper & CF one) but all protests were waved away. Westport lad seemed to get a nasty injury towards the end and from where i was standing no one was near him at the time so he must have turned awkardly or something. Very nice bunch of lads and i wish them well for the rest of the season.
We have some work to do on our finishing as we let 4 or 5 great chances go without hitting the onion bag, but as I said the keeper was in great form.

swinfordfc
18/05/2010, 3:27 PM
Thanks Thunderblaster.

Great game played at a great pace, with some fine football and football players on show. Charlestown had the lions share of the possession (60%) but just could'nt break down a resiliant defence. Westport keeper was definatley the bussier of the 2 and made some brilliant saves (even tried to kill our CF). We were worth the win, but made work very hard to get it and scored from a set piece. Thought there could have been a peno or 2 given (espically the keeper & CF one) but all protests were waved away. Westport lad seemed to get a nasty injury towards the end and from where i was standing no one was near him at the time so he must have turned awkardly or something. Very nice bunch of lads and i wish them well for the rest of the season.
We have some work to do on our finishing as we let 4 or 5 great chances go without hitting the onion bag, but as I said the keeper was in great form.

And whats your report on the Swinford v Cross game ..... as you was there.....

purplemonkeydis
18/05/2010, 6:06 PM
yes the insults were missed surely. But as i said earlier in the year i reckon charlestown will walk the league but its just a pity we are going to be in the premier division when ye go up :P