View Full Version : Weekend Latest - Series 2
superjohnny
16/03/2010, 10:19 PM
Jaysus that was some night in Tallaght. Just about as bad as things could possibly have been. We were beyond awful, haven't played that badly since the relegation season. Pats are a very negative team but managed to stifle the miniscule threat we offered in the first half pretty well. Huge wind ruined any chance of a football game, but we never even looked like adapting our approach due to the conditions. In the second half Pats had the cop on to whip their two attacking frees in at pace and both ended in goals, their only shots on goal in the game. We didn't even create a chance after that. Awful stuff.
As for the mentaller who ran on the pitch and started pushing Gary Rogers, he was rightly arrested and booed by those around me. He wont be back in a while. For those Bohs/Sligo fans with a lob on, I didn't see any Shamrock Rovers fan on here being arsed bringing up what's been posted on bohs forum about their fans attacking Glens pre-game last week. I am though looking forward to reading about this for the next 18 months along with the time an linesman had a coke bottle hit off his leg.
Fair play to you lad coming on and given a fair assesment. Im sure a lot on here thought you wouldnt +1
hoops1
16/03/2010, 10:20 PM
Pats defended very well in the first half and made the most of their chances. Well worth the win in the end. Guthrie was excellent and Williams worked his socks off
monkey9
16/03/2010, 10:35 PM
I thought the breeze had a big imapct tonight. We didn't provide anything at all attacking wise in the first half. We were playing against the breeze and i was hoping we could hang on til half time at nil all hoping the breeze would make a difference in the second half.
We were much the better team in the second half, took our chances when they came. To be honest, Shams didn't do much. I really thought we deserved our win
Doomofman
16/03/2010, 10:36 PM
Absolute genius quote from RTE
Apart from a pitch incursion by an irate Hoops fan, who confronted Rogers before being ushered away, Rovers struggled to seriously threaten the visitors goal in the whole of the second half
16/03/2010, 10:43 PM
i think one Sligo poster may have said "fans". It was quite clear from the extratime update that it was just one lunatic. I was more pleased with the bad result and performance than one of Rovers fans attacking Rogers.
Fair play Jicked.
monkey9
16/03/2010, 10:44 PM
Absolute genius quote from RTE
Before being ushered away, i love that. I hope Shams pay some wages to Damien Lynch!! Great multi tasking from him!!
17/03/2010, 12:17 AM
I thought the breeze had a big imapct tonight. We didn't provide anything at all attacking wise in the first half. We were playing against the breeze and i was hoping we could hang on til half time at nil all hoping the breeze would make a difference in the second half.
We were much the better team in the second half, took our chances when they came. To be honest, Shams didn't do much. I really thought we deserved our win
spot on. Wind was very strong but once we went in front we dominated, and but for poor final balls could've had more. Rovers were abysmal. They hoofed in the first half even though most balls went out for our goal kicks
As for the Rogers incident. Completely bizarre. Ran to shape up to Roges and not a steward in sight. The Pats back 4 looked like they were about to start throwing digs themselves and still not one steward moved
One of the better nights I've had in the last 18 months or so
dublinred
17/03/2010, 12:41 AM
spot on. Wind was very strong but once we went in front we dominated, and but for poor final balls could've had more. Rovers were abysmal. They hoofed in the first half even though most balls went out for our goal kicks
As for the Rogers incident. Completely bizarre. Ran to shape up to Roges and not a steward in sight. The Pats back 4 looked like they were about to start throwing digs themselves and still not one steward moved
One of the better nights I've had in the last 18 months or so
Great result for Pats , if i was a shams fan I would be on to the council to sort out the problems with the wind in tallaght , was very bad at times for cup final , in fairness you are paying big bucks in rent so should get them to sort it out as its not helping you on the pitch.
The Lep
17/03/2010, 12:44 AM
I thought the cup final went well and the wind didnt affect the result. Nice stadium though.
17/03/2010, 12:49 AM
One bloke ran on and started pushing Gary Rogers, Pats players and a Rovers player ran up after him and pushed him off the pitch where he was arrested
He wasn't arrested and he left the ground himself
dublinred
17/03/2010, 12:54 AM
You must of watched on telly or was in some kind of corporate box if not frozen on the day , I thought the wind made zayeds dive look better after it held up keanes stupid back header :-)
17/03/2010, 1:02 AM
Gutted to concede two goals in a minute to blow the win. Bohs were probably the better side but their finishing wasn't good enough. Red card was bull****, a case of making up for the penalty I suspect. Bohs looked very ordinary up until the sending off, they shouldn't win the league playing like that but, apart from Pats, no one else is picking up the wins.
The Lep
17/03/2010, 1:03 AM
Nope, had a clear view of it and it was defo a peno but this isnt the thread to start all that up again.
The Lep
17/03/2010, 1:05 AM
Gutted to concede two goals in a minute to blow the win. Bohs were probably the better side but their finishing wasn't good enough. Red card was bull****, a case of making up for the penalty I suspect. Bohs looked very ordinary up until the sending off, they shouldn't win the league playing like that but, apart from Pats, no one else is picking up the wins.
They were 2 cracking goals though. Its always a sickner to concede 2 goals that quickly.
http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/5496369
You can see the whole Rovers/Pats game here. Fair play to them for tagging the main incidents too. Great view of the guy coming onto the pitch
Pats took their chances. The wind was very strong, even for Tallaght. Both keepers at the car-park end were not needed in either half. Rovers had a couple of chances through Sives and Chambers in the first half, but 0-2 the game was over. Doesn't matter how many strikers are out if you don't defend set-pieces. Rovers really shouldn't be as ineffective at Tallaght if it's windy, they should be most used to it..it's not a shock.
The incident..the guy ran on right beside me slowing up to look for stewards or the nine Gardaí who were at the floodlight pylon minutes before. He then pushes Rogers and loses his bravado..still no Gardaí or stewards..brought off the pitch by Rovers fans..finally meets a Garda who escorts him out to abuse. The book should be thrown at Rovers for no stewards or not protecting the field of play etc etc.
17/03/2010, 7:48 AM
Quick question, are Rovers fans as madly obsessed with Sligo as is the case visa verse.
Every post on here about Rovers results in some sort of dig from Sligo fans.
Fair played to Pats last night, excellent result for them, Pete Mahon is a fine manager and will have Pats top 4 this season imo.
As for those saying Bohs won't win the title playing like that, they won 2-1 even though (going by all accounts) they played poorly, they also beat Fingal playing poorly, winning a league title is all about grinding our results. I thought Sligo played some great football over the past 2 seasons yet won f**k all, same for Rovers.
Fair played to Pats last night, excellent result for them, Pete Mahon is a fine manager
No contest between the managers last night tactically. Pete Mahon knew how to use the breeze so won the game. As for that thick who ran on the pitch, as much of a moron as he was, sad indictment when one of our own fans has to cart him off with both stewards and cops looking on. I'm sure they went home last night feeling well pleased with themselves on another great night's work.
wexfordned
17/03/2010, 10:28 AM
UCD player was on a yellow card & he kicked the ball away after a free kick was awarded to bohs right in front of the referee. Idiotic thing to do & he can have no complaints. He cost you the game last night. Would imagine the manager gave him a right bollocking for his stupidity.
Bohs were poor last night, but scored two cracking goals. Raf with his second in two games. Should he and/or Bohs expect a phone call from Graham Barrett in the next few weeks to help solve Rovers goal scoring problems.
I was also disgusted to here about the behaviour of the pats players in Tallaght last night. Rogers & Lynch squaring up to an innocent Rovers fan like that is disgraceful. I assume the FAI will take action against pats as there is never any trouble at Rovers home games.
Jicked
17/03/2010, 10:42 AM
Quick question, are Rovers fans as madly obsessed with Sligo as is the case visa verse.
To get to the point, no. If anything I'd say our fans look on Sligo in a decent enough light, Amond and Doyle are still well liked amongst our fans. Some of our fans used to have a lot of time for Cook too. The Sligo thing on here is just rather bizarre, I'd imagine it comes from not having any natural big rival out there. The Michael O'Neill hatred thing is even stranger, seeming to all come from him saying we should have had a penalty there last season when Sligo fans disagreed, that aside O'Neill's hardly made it look like he comes from the Mourinho school of wind up artists.
Buller
17/03/2010, 11:22 AM
Huge wind ruined any chance of a football game, but we never even looked like adapting our approach due to the conditions. In the second half Pats had the cop on to whip their two attacking frees in at pace and both ended in goals, their only shots on goal in the game. We didn't even create a chance after that. Awful stuff.
The match in a nutshell.
http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/5496369
You can see the whole Rovers/Pats game here. Fair play to them for tagging the main incidents too. Great view of the guy coming onto the pitch
Cheers Dodge. The bit where the commentator notices the "fan" on the pitch is priceless!
17/03/2010, 12:09 PM
UCD player was on a yellow card & he kicked the ball away after a free kick was awarded to bohs right in front of the referee. Idiotic thing to do & he can have no complaints. He cost you the game last night.
Didn't realise it was for kicking the ball away until I saw the match reports this morning, stupid from Bolger alright although it's odd that kicking the ball away stopped being a yellow card offence when Bohs did it near the end.
Your original statement was very definitive for somebody who hadn't seen the incident properly!
17/03/2010, 12:36 PM
Your original statement was very definitive for somebody who hadn't seen the incident properly!
I assumed it was for the foul (like normally happens!) which was pretty innocuous. I still think a second yellow for kicking the ball away is harsh and when no one else got booked for the same thing later, there's something wrong.
CarrickFan
17/03/2010, 12:38 PM
To get to the point, no. If anything I'd say our fans look on Sligo in a decent enough light, Amond and Doyle are still well liked amongst our fans. Some of our fans used to have a lot of time for Cook too. The Sligo thing on here is just rather bizarre, I'd imagine it comes from not having any natural big rival out there. The Michael O'Neill hatred thing is even stranger, seeming to all come from him saying we should have had a penalty there last season when Sligo fans disagreed, that aside O'Neill's hardly made it look like he comes from the Mourinho school of wind up artists.
Cant speak for all Rovers fans just myself..im not that old but am perhaps older than a lot of Rovers fan that post here and i always remember a good rivalry between our clubs..maybe more so at our end as ye have Bohs and thats your main one...again for me most of is just normal banter between rival supporters..maybe some annoyance(jealously!!)..at how shamrock getting a stadium handed to them..thus increasing revenue,getting glamour friendlies thus increasing revenue which enables them to form a good squad while us "smaller" clubs have to deal with the reality of the grind that is running a club in the league of Ireland...then ye are held up as "model" club for us all to follow!!..(what about your previous 20 odd homeless years and low attendances??)...and some of your fans seem to have taken to the role like ducks to water forgetting about he pre Tallaght years!!...again from a personal point of view i was never a fan of your manager before our meetings last season..his comments/accusations after the match in Sligo made me dislike him more as did sitting behind the away dugout at the game 2 weeks ago..he could do with a personality transplant..he makes Eddie Gormley look like a comedian in comparison.
Also a note to your fans who stop in Carrick on the way to Sligo...garage forcourts ARE NOT toilets
de bowez
17/03/2010, 1:00 PM
Ref was very card happy for both teams, I think the ref may have forgotten he was on a yellow.
ger121
17/03/2010, 1:23 PM
Nice little ground you have out there. Good pitch and better atmosphere than the old Belfield PK. Any plans for further developement on the other sides of the ground?
The Lep
17/03/2010, 1:34 PM
You clearly haven't watched the replays so:think:
I have but as i said earlier, this isnt the thread to be bringing that up again. Its over and done with it so get over it.
17/03/2010, 2:49 PM
Nice little ground you have out there. Good pitch and better atmosphere than the old Belfield PK. Any plans for further developement on the other sides of the ground?
Ger, we've applied for planning permission to add a full cantilever roof to cover all seats in the current stand (it's possibly even been granted at this stage) but I don't know if we'll ever secure the funding to carry out the work. There's vague plans to add stands to the other sides but as you could see last night, it's not needed. Bohs at home is one of our bigger, if not sometimes the biggest, gates of the season.
Thought about twice a season, maybe 4 times if Sligo play well away from home, I'd put them somewhere between Harps and Dundalk..
17/03/2010, 6:43 PM
The ref was very poor - not even a yellow card for O'Connor for taking the striker down for a penalty - was he not the last man?
Yeah, that's what I was thinking too. Would have made a massive change. I'm assuming it was a penalty, but regardless, if you give the penalty, I think you had to give a red card for that.
I thought Greg was booked for kicking the ball away alright, which was stupid. Gas thing is I still can't remember him getting booked the first time, and I always make note of the bookings at games (I only had Muller and Shorty booked). And there was a Bohs lad at the end kicked the ball away but got nothing - simple inconsistency really. Makes no sense.
Wasn't a great game; neither side really did enough to win bar that 30 seconds from Bohs. (And even then, someone afterwards was saying Bohs' first goal was offside). We battled much better than I expected us to without really creating anything, but I was very disappointed with Bohs, who created next to nothing. Between the red card and the second goal, they had about 80% possession, but then they sat back and invited us on to them again. Standard Fenlon tactics, it seems at this stage. We got pushed off the ball far too easily, and wanted far too much time, but we'll learn. More confident even than last week that we'll be clear of trouble this season.
Bohs at home is one of our bigger, if not sometimes the biggest, gates of the season.
Without wanting to start another Bohs/Rovers row, I'd be interested to see how the Rovers game goes. The crowd last night was 803, so you're talking 400-500 Bohs fans. You'd imagine Rovers - who usually see this as their traditional nearest away match - could bring 1500, so you'd be looking at a crowd pushing 2000 with a stand which holds 1500 (plus 1500 more terraced spaces).
Disappointed to hear Pat's won last night; makes Friday a much more difficult task.
PartySaint
17/03/2010, 6:58 PM
and some of your fans seem to have taken to the role like ducks to water forgetting about he pre Tallaght years!!.....
In fairness i dont think they are forgetting about the pre Tallaght years, some of them just didnt no Rovers existed before Tallaght
de bowez
17/03/2010, 8:49 PM
Yeah, that's what I was thinking too. Would have made a massive change. I'm assuming it was a penalty, but regardless, if you give the penalty, I think you had to give a red card for that.
I thought Greg was booked for kicking the ball away alright, which was stupid. Gas thing is I still can't remember him getting booked the first time, and I always make note of the bookings at games (I only had Muller and Shorty booked). And there was a Bohs lad at the end kicked the ball away but got nothing - simple inconsistency really. Makes no sense.
Guessing the ref either felt he wasn't the last man or that the striker was heading away from goal.
43rd minute first booking apparently. I think the only reason Raf wasn't booked was that the ref was blowing up the second the free kick was taken at the end. There was also the fact that it was nonstop time wasting from UCD at that stage, dont think Ive ever seen a player take longer to leave the field either, delighted for him.
Byrne and Raf starting will make a massive difference to Bohs, a bit more gelling required aswell but I can only see us improving going forward and we wont concede many.
WoodquayBoy
17/03/2010, 9:06 PM
he could do with a personality transplant..he makes Eddie Gormley look like a comedian in comparison.
A bit harsh on Eddie Gormley, I am quite fond of his sarcastic wit to be honest
CarrickFan
17/03/2010, 9:24 PM
A bit harsh on Eddie Gormley, I am quite fond of his sarcastic wit to be honest
i quite like him myself actually but he's not the most charismatic!!..was a great player tho.
Gareth
17/03/2010, 10:52 PM
Who was brought on for Drogheda at around 80 minutes? Was ist Ryan Brennan or Damien Brennan?
RTI.ie states Ryan, extratime.ie says Damien. What's correct?
It was Ryan sandman, I was doing the updates on the game and I remember Ryan.
robbieos88
17/03/2010, 10:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQ67X9UgXE4&feature=player_embedded#
Highlights of Pats v Rovers
blue til i die
17/03/2010, 11:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQ67X9UgXE4&feature=player_embedded#
Highlights of Pats v Rovers
That guy who went onto the pitch is a complete dope! Nice free kick from bermingham tho.
17/03/2010, 11:22 PM
Love how the Rovers fans are cheering the guy on the pitch. Classy.
Don't think they will be seeing him in the tallaght stadium for a while somehow.
marinobohs
18/03/2010, 8:59 AM
Wasn't a great game; neither side really did enough to win bar that 30 seconds from Bohs. (And even then, someone afterwards was saying Bohs' first goal was offside). We battled much better than I expected us to without really creating anything, but I was very disappointed with Bohs, who created next to nothing. Between the red card and the second goal, they had about 80% possession, but then they sat back and invited us on to them again. Standard Fenlon tactics, it seems at this stage. We got pushed off the ball far too easily, and wanted far too much time, but we'll learn. More confident even than last week that we'll be clear of trouble this season.
Without wanting to start another Bohs/Rovers row, I'd be interested to see how the Rovers game goes. The crowd last night was 803, so you're talking 400-500 Bohs fans. You'd imagine Rovers - who usually see this as their traditional nearest away match - could bring 1500, so you'd be looking at a crowd pushing 2000 with a stand which holds 1500 (plus 1500 more terraced spaces).
Didn't think it was a bad game - both teams tried to get the ball down but were hindered by an awful surface.
after watching UCD's 9-1-0 formation for most of the game it is ironic to hear Bohs critisised as negitive :) At times in the second half it was like a game of backs and forwards. The fact that Bohs went three at the back and chased the game - successfully shows which team wanted the win (usual Fenlon tactics :cool: ).
Hope UCD continue to get the ball down (and to be fair expect MR team to play that way) as they looked usefull and will be, i think, OK. young side and that may account for the silly red card they picked up. Thought UCD peno was legit although with defenders around a red would have been ridiculous, was surprised no yellow though.
Decent crowd and more atmosphere at Belfield than usual - hopefully it sticks.
Bohs still a work in progress and far from what the squad is capable of (and will require) but still ticking over. As i said above if UCD stick to the football they can play I would see mid table safety as very realistic, young team and can only get better.
18/03/2010, 9:09 AM
Pitch was poor alright; it'll improve as the season goes on and as the rugby ends though. I can't remember a single chance of note until the penalty though. I remember saying that I was going to have an awful job doing highlights (and then it turned out our cameraman was in Tallaght anyway scouting Pat's). We only went 9-1-0 after the red card; I felt we were getting forward as much as ye for the 70 minutes before that (or at least, trying to).
Ye chased the game after the red alright, but all the urgency went out of your play the moment it went 2-1, and we started getting forward again. I'd have thought given how much ye had us pinned back (partly our fault, but mainly ye going for it), ye'd have kept that up for the last five minutes and chased a third.
marinobohs
18/03/2010, 9:49 AM
Pitch was poor alright; it'll improve as the season goes on and as the rugby ends though. I can't remember a single chance of note until the penalty though. I remember saying that I was going to have an awful job doing highlights (and then it turned out our cameraman was in Tallaght anyway scouting Pat's). We only went 9-1-0 after the red card; I felt we were getting forward as much as ye for the 70 minutes before that (or at least, trying to).
Ye chased the game after the red alright, but all the urgency went out of your play the moment it went 2-1, and we started getting forward again. I'd have thought given how much ye had us pinned back (partly our fault, but mainly ye going for it), ye'd have kept that up for the last five minutes and chased a third.
To be honest, a tough away fixture (belfield always is for Bohs !) so when we got our noses in front with less than ten to go it was not surprising we tried to see it out. Actually got caught a couple of times last season doing same thing (brandywell and Tallaght spring to mind) but picked up a lot of wins that way too (percentage football).
I know the pitch is shared with the rugger so don't want to be critical (beyond your control and all that) but pointed it out as I think it is a major hindrance to yourselves. Always expect Russel teams to get the ball down and play (which they did ) and the pitch will not help that. Thought bohs adapted better by playing ball long in second half (after we got the two target men on) pity as UCD played some good stuff on the deck.
Very few chances at either end and bohs final ball/ crosses were frankly awful (cant all be blamed on the pitch either). still not got the blend right and happy to have two wins on the board.
18/03/2010, 9:54 AM
Actually got caught a couple of times last season doing same thing (brandywell and Tallaght spring to mind) but picked up a lot of wins that way too (percentage football).
To be honest, that's my general opinion of Fenlon going back years, not just based on last night. I think it cost him against Hibernians a few years ago, for example. I thin it's cost him more than it's gained him, but it's easy to see when it costs him. I just didn't see any reason to shut up shop against a newly-promoted team down to ten men and let us back into the game.
marinobohs
18/03/2010, 10:01 AM
To be honest, that's my general opinion of Fenlon going back years, not just based on last night. I think it cost him against Hibernians a few years ago, for example. I thin it's cost him more than it's gained him, but it's easy to see when it costs him. I just didn't see any reason to shut up shop against a newly-promoted team down to ten men and let us back into the game.
Yea, a fair point but I suppose he would argue we got the win (and a very good three points). Most top teams have the facility to "see games out" I have seen Arsneal Man U do it and some of the great LOI teams of the past were masters at killing the game off especially away from home. Wonder what bohs fans would say had we pushed on and conceeded a late equaliser ?
18/03/2010, 12:17 PM
Ger, we've applied for planning permission to add a full cantilever roof to cover all seats in the current stand (it's possibly even been granted at this stage)It was granted in June. (http://planning.dlrcoco.ie/swiftlg/apas/run/WPHAPPDETAIL.DisplayUrl?theApnID=D09A/0141&backURL=%3Ca%20href=wphappcriteria.display?paSearc hKey=627511%3ESearch%20Criteria%3C/a%3E%20%3E%20%3Ca%20href='wphappsearchres.displayR esultsURL?ResultID=628846%26StartIndex=1%26SortOrd er=rgndat:desc%26DispResultsAs=WPHAPPSEARCHRES%26B ackURL=%3Ca%20href=wphappcriteria.display?paSearch Key=627511%3ESearch%20Criteria%3C/a%3E'%3ESearch%20Results%3C/a%3E)
I thought Greg was booked for kicking the ball away alright, which was stupid. Gas thing is I still can't remember him getting booked the first time
Me neither, extratime have it down as 44 minutes.
18/03/2010, 12:24 PM
I was told that he got two bookings at the same incident, one for a foul/dissent and the other straight away for kicking the ball away.
18/03/2010, 12:57 PM
MNS will reveal all hopefully.
Rasputin
18/03/2010, 1:44 PM
I noticed the bitterness from our fans has increased greatly since the Turner debacle and after our last game.
The arrogance of shams fans over the Turner affair and more importantly the arrogance of MON in his underhand antics.
Then you have Shams fans here spouting how we should run our club, ohh and it gets better, even accusing us of Tax evasion (irony just not do it justice)?
But tbh its just bitterness over such issues more than any serious rivalry, I find Shams fans are not half as bad in real life as they are on here.
As for the young fella running on the pitch is hardly a reflection on the club as a whole.
But god forbid if that happened in the Showgies you would have every bandwagon shams fan from here to Tallaght lecturing us on how to steward our games, ohh the irony.