View Full Version : Weekend Latest - Series 2

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

blue til i die
12/03/2010, 11:49 PM
Waterford to be fair were well worth their win. Played some nice football. We need time to gel. Our passing was sloppy and we were not up to it physically. But not that I'm complaining, I still have a team to support and it really is early days yet. Still confused to their game over banner. 8 days old and still bigger than you;)

Yup! definately deserved the win tonight. Knocked the ball around pretty easily. Cork had a lot of the ball first half but didnt do much. Wasnt near the penalty so dont know if it was harsh but gladly take it. Vinny's goal was a peach though, super ball from john kearney into him.

O'Halloran deserved his red too, nice to see he's setting a good example for the younger players!

Great to see a crowd like that too. Also glad to see cummins and o'neill doing f-all tonight :p
Bad form from the city player (number 2 i think) kicking the ball at our supporters for no reason though, no need for it.

juan
13/03/2010, 12:47 AM
Fair play to Sean Connor for managing a side that kept all eleven players on the pitch... doesn't happen often.

13/03/2010, 12:55 AM
Harps started the game very cautious tonight and for a good 70 minutes were extremely poor and playing dull football.
For the final 20 minutes we were superb and could have had 5, McHugh took his header brilliantly and looked a different player after scoring, if he plays like that from now on we will be a very grateful set of fans.
Our second was sublime individual play from Wizzy who beat 4 men before passing it past the keeper into the bottom corner.
overall happy with 3 points and a clean sheet, also 4 goals in 2 games is a pretty decent return too.

13/03/2010, 12:55 AM
Absolutely buzzing after tonight.

Waterford are very strong and well organised. The penalty, not a chance it was a penalty, knocked the wind out of our younger lads a bit. Plenty of positives though. A few weeks to gel and we could do well.

Waterford had a great pacman banner as well as an ironic one about buying history.

Great to see the crowd. If half of that comes back for the Mervue game Il be delighted.

Also a huge crowd at our table quiz afterwards including Hendo and Cambridge as well as some other Waterford fans. Nice one lads!

juan
13/03/2010, 1:14 AM
The best thing about tonight was being finally able to walk through the turnstile smiling and walking out smiling (despite the result).

Lamper.sffc
13/03/2010, 4:30 AM
1267 at Morton, thats a decent crowd, wonder how much are actual Fingal and away fans!

150 to 200 for Sligo and thats being generous. Honest. Seriously we had one of our best crowds at morton.

Dillonman
13/03/2010, 7:38 AM
Fair play Lamper!

Dillonman
13/03/2010, 7:40 AM
As far as I know, United announce an attendance of paid-at-gate and doesn't include season tickets. That is how is was last season anyway, though wasn't much more than 1,000 there tonight (if 902 is pay-at-gate only).
As for Foster, the only United player from last season to join him in Dundalk is Garry breen, despite his best efforts to sign a number of other players. He may or may not havelost the dressing room, but the players were not exactly killing themselves to join him now, were they? Anyway, nice to see United play some decent attacking football on the ground after the defensive muck of last year

John Russell was all set to join but then broke a bone and Foster, on his tight budget couldn't take him on as we only have a senior squad of 15 players coupled with 4 youths. Faherty choose Pats over us as they offered that extra bit of dosh at the end of the day and it was more handier to get to coming from Galway.

WoodquayBoy
13/03/2010, 9:01 AM
But the thing is, they didn't join, nor did Seamus Conneely, Derek O'Brien or Shane Guthrie. Anyway, not going to get into a slanging match with you or any LOI fan because of that %&*%. Good,luck tomorrow in the derby, we won;t finish above ye but have to top Drogheda, so c'mon the flowers

viagogo
13/03/2010, 1:47 PM
The best thing about tonight was being finally able to walk through the turnstile smiling and walking out smiling (despite the result).

Way different atmosphere alright. Interesting to see how the crowds will be this season especially as we are likely to struggle this season.

Gareth
13/03/2010, 2:33 PM

They is a great thing to be able to say! Great to read it. Delighted the supporters turned up too. Well done all

kdjaC
13/03/2010, 2:59 PM
http://setanta-video.eircom.net/eircom/channels/Live.aspx?rd2=1

bohs game live if your on eircom.

13/03/2010, 4:34 PM
Is there any stream of the Bohs game apart from through eircom?

eL Bettor
13/03/2010, 4:37 PM
Bohs fans chanting "You dirty Northern b@st@rds". Lovely.

13/03/2010, 4:37 PM
no. ive tried everything - if i find ill share.

13/03/2010, 4:41 PM
Bohs fans chanting "You dirty Northern b@st@rds". Lovely.

in response to Glens fans causing trouble with the Gardai. :roll:

sure, they shouldnt chant it but a bit of perspective doesnt hurt.

13/03/2010, 4:44 PM
sure, they shouldnt chant it but a bit of perspective doesnt hurt.

Why shouldn't they?They'res being PC and then there's just being ridiculous.

There's worse than 'dirty northern *******s' at every football game the world over. Jeez, if thats inappropriate Id hate to think what that makes the 'jackeen' songs we have, or the culchie ones others have.

13/03/2010, 4:46 PM
thanks micls - i tend to get caught up in the foot.ie defensive mindset too often on here...

Boo_Boy
13/03/2010, 5:14 PM
Cretaro was a big fish in a small pond while with Rovers according to the guy in the studio.

Big ego in a small dressing room more like.

Fester
13/03/2010, 5:22 PM
Bohs 0 v 0 Glentoran HT
Linfield 0 v 0 Saints HT

Jicked
13/03/2010, 5:31 PM
Cretaro was a big fish in a small pond while with Rovers according to the guy in the studio.

Big ego in a small dressing room more like.

He really does seem to have some head on him for someone who's only had one good season in front of goal. Imagine joining a side who have just won two titles and proclaiming "I'll give them an extra option now I'm able to use my pace to turn all those bad balls in to good ones".

Fester
13/03/2010, 5:33 PM
Bohs 0 v 1 Glens 51' Hamilton

13/03/2010, 5:34 PM
1-1 Rafa with the Bohs goal to equalise.

13/03/2010, 5:34 PM
1-1 Bohs

Boo_Boy
13/03/2010, 6:07 PM
Linfield 1-0 Pats

Thompson 80th min.

What a terrible decision, ref didn't have the balls to give bohs the penalty.

Boo_Boy
13/03/2010, 6:12 PM
Rovers v Pats
Bohs v Linfield

Semi finals.

Fester
13/03/2010, 6:20 PM
Sickner... Thomson with 89' winner for Linfield

RoversHead
13/03/2010, 7:12 PM
Another poor Bohs performance ,hope raff plays every week ,dosnt like passing too much does he?

Buile Shuibhne
13/03/2010, 8:24 PM
150 to 200 for Sligo and thats being generous. Honest. Seriously we had one of our best crowds at morton.

How many paid in?

atfconline
13/03/2010, 8:59 PM
Athlone Town 1 - 0 Mervue United FT

Brian McCarthy with a thumping header on 51 minutes.

Town had three efforts off the woodwork, but had to rely on a good save from Chris Bennion late on to ensure all three points.

Six points from our opening two games, we don't know what's going on! :D

13/03/2010, 9:03 PM
Another poor Bohs performance ,hope raff plays every week ,dosnt like passing too much does he?Still bitter he chose Bohs over ye?

awec
13/03/2010, 9:12 PM
Garda heavy handedness! :D

13/03/2010, 9:58 PM

I wouldn't start getting too excited just yet, ye have played what will probably be the bottom 2 after all! :p

dong
13/03/2010, 10:02 PM
He really does seem to have some head on him for someone who's only had one good season in front of goal. Imagine joining a side who have just won two titles and proclaiming "I'll give them an extra option now I'm able to use my pace to turn all those bad balls in to good ones".

In spite of his diminutive stature, he's not short on confidence. Usually a good thing.
I cringed when I saw that interview though.

13/03/2010, 10:09 PM
Another poor Bohs performance ,hope raff plays every week ,dosnt like passing too much does he?

you do realise that he scored today? :rolleyes: And you hope that he plays every week? Good to see logic go out the window.

And i would think that MON would kill for a striker like Raf at the moment.

atfconline
13/03/2010, 10:34 PM
I wouldn't start getting too excited just yet, ye have played what will probably be the bottom 2 after all! :p

Possibly, but sure we'll take what we can get for now!

14/03/2010, 12:17 AM
Two years in a row now!

Dalymountrower
14/03/2010, 8:21 AM

And i would think that MON would kill for a striker like Raf at the moment.

Serial Bohs stalker MON at the Glens match yesterday. He has now started to sit in the Bohs Directors seats, so maybe he will have Raf playing for him when Fenlon moves on?

awec
14/03/2010, 11:20 AM
It appears the trouble started when the guards deemed it unacceptable for Glentoran fans to hang a Northern Ireland flag.

If that's the case, questions need asked. There should be no issue with such flags.

GalwayRed
14/03/2010, 1:39 PM
Shels 1 up on Wexford. David Cassidy.

DRDoc
14/03/2010, 2:08 PM
It appears the trouble started when the guards deemed it unacceptable for Glentoran fans to hang a Northern Ireland flag.

If that's the case, questions need asked. There should be no issue with such flags.

At the recent Linfield game in Richmond the Linfield fans had at least 4 union jack/nire flags up behind the goal - no problems with that at all it seems - so not sure why yesterday at dalymount was any different?

DRDoc
14/03/2010, 2:08 PM
Two years in a row now!

Maybe even three years in a row?

atfconline
14/03/2010, 2:14 PM
Probably. We have started well enough in recent years, but then it all goes downhill!

14/03/2010, 2:17 PM
At the recent Linfield game in Richmond the Linfield fans had at least 4 union jack/nire flags up behind the goal - no problems with that at all it seems - so not sure why yesterday at dalymount was any different?

i dont think it was anything to do with the club - must have been the gardai's call.

Dont Derry have a ban on tricolours in the Brandywell?? Seem to remember something about that.

GalwayRed
14/03/2010, 2:21 PM
1-1 now between wexford and shels. Shane Dempsey

Mr_Parker
14/03/2010, 2:33 PM

From what Glenmen have said elsewhere, the issue was it being put up over an advertising hording, not the flag itself.

GalwayRed
14/03/2010, 2:55 PM
Finished Wexford 1-1 Shels.

CSFShels
14/03/2010, 3:07 PM
Duno why Keely couldn't have ****ed off like everyone wanted him to. I think our squad is decent enough too which makes it all the worse.

fionnsci
14/03/2010, 3:55 PM
Drogheda 2 up after 25. Controversial penalty.

Boo_Boy
14/03/2010, 4:01 PM
Drogheda 2 up after 25. Controversial penalty.

Controversial decisions in the Airtricity League??

NEVER!!