View Full Version : tonights latest

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

Doomofman
06/03/2010, 8:27 PM
Finished 3-2 to Longford

06/03/2010, 9:11 PM
final score in Sligo is 1-1. Good stuff Rovers. Any more info on the crowd trouble or did it really not happen and was just a figment of everyones imagination?

by the way, 2858 in Sligo tonight - that is another fantastic crowd to add to this weekends list. Fair play.

seand
06/03/2010, 9:27 PM
Apologies ifthis has been covered before but I'm not trawling through 9 pages of replies to check! It took all of 3 minutes for the first horrendous refereeing decision of the season. Bray's Shane O'Neill got in behind Dundalk's defence and was clipped by Liam Burns. O'Neill stayed on his feet and squred the ball for a team mate to score.... only for it to be pulled back cos the ref had already blown for the pen... which inevitably was saved! And Burns stayed on the pitch.

06/03/2010, 9:39 PM
Chris Deans got our 3rd, not JP McDonagh, in case anyone cares!

06/03/2010, 9:50 PM
Chris Deans got our 3rd, not JP McDonagh, in case anyone cares!

JP McDonagh was listed on extratime..

Thx

cestlavie
06/03/2010, 9:54 PM
Harps conceded 3 in 14 mins, a shock to system for any team. What kind of game was it, what were goals like, mistakes crackers etc? Anybody at the game on here?

danthesaint
06/03/2010, 9:55 PM
highlights of pats game last night, 2 good finishes by ryan guy and jock williams

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GntahLVsk1U&feature=player_embedded

06/03/2010, 9:56 PM
Jock Williams?

Whats the Jock thing about?

showgies
06/03/2010, 9:57 PM
final score in Sligo is 1-1. Good stuff Rovers. Any more info on the crowd trouble or did it really not happen and was just a figment of everyones imagination?

by the way, 2858 in Sligo tonight - that is another fantastic crowd to add to this weekends list. Fair play.

As far as I know there was no crowd trouble, the game was delayed to allow the Shams late-comers to arrive in safely. Aren't we nice and thoughtful up in Sligo. A good crowd from Shams, so fair play to them, just a pity we could hold on to our one nil lead.

06/03/2010, 10:03 PM
good to hear... thanks!

Ezeikial
06/03/2010, 10:06 PM
Apologies ifthis has been covered before but I'm not trawling through 9 pages of replies to check! It took all of 3 minutes for the first horrendous refereeing decision of the season. Bray's Shane O'Neill got in behind Dundalk's defence and was clipped by Liam Burns. O'Neill stayed on his feet and squred the ball for a team mate to score.... only for it to be pulled back cos the ref had already blown for the pen... which inevitably was saved! And Burns stayed on the pitch.

The first part is a bit harsh on the ref. He had whistled for the penalty long before the shot to the net. He can't allow advantage AND also award the penalty. That he did'n't show the red card on the last man rule was a mystery though - I doubt that MNS footage will clear him on that one.

06/03/2010, 10:07 PM
Harps conceded 3 in 14 mins, a shock to system for any team. What kind of game was it, what were goals like, mistakes crackers etc? Anybody at the game on here?

Yep I was at it. I have a bit of a summery in the Town forum. Harps were the better team by far in the first have and deservedly lead. Their goal was a shot from 25 yards that took a huge deflection and looped our keeper. We were much better in the 2nd half, and our equaliser came from a good run down the right from Cathal Brady I think, who swung a ball into the back post and McDonagh scuffed a shot in. Our 2nd came from a ball from the left wing that Hynes bundled in at the back post. Our 3rd was from a corner swung in from Lester that Deans met with a bullet header. In fairness, Harps defending for all 3 goals was shocking. Harps' 2nd goal came from 2 of our defenders, the Cronin brothers, crashing into each other and Walsh went through and slotted it in the corner. Harps piled on the pressure then but couldn't get an equaliser, hit the post along the way! Was a very entertaining game overall, much better to watch than the TV game last night. Harps were highly impressive in the 1st half but we brought on Ryan McEvoy at half time and he made a huge difference. The defeat was probably a bit harsh on Harps tbh, but I'm not worried!

cestlavie
06/03/2010, 10:12 PM
Yep I was at it. I have a bit of a summery in the Town forum. Harps were the better team by far in the first have and deservedly lead. Their goal was a shot from 25 yards that took a huge deflection and looped our keeper. We were much better in the 2nd half, and our equaliser came from a good run down the right from Cathal Brady I think, who swung a ball into the back post and McDonagh scuffed a shot in. Our 2nd came from a ball from the left wing that Hynes bundled in at the back post. Our 3rd was from a corner swung in from Lester that Deans met with a bullet header. In fairness, Harps defending for all 3 goals was shocking. Harps' 2nd goal came from 2 of our defenders, the Cronin brothers, crashing into each other and Walsh went through and slotted it in the corner. Harps piled on the pressure then but couldn't get an equaliser, hit the post along the way! Was a very entertaining game overall, much better to watch than the TV game last night. Harps were highly impressive in the 1st half but we brought on Ryan McEvoy at half time and he made a huge difference. The defeat was probably a bit harsh on Harps tbh, but I'm not worried!

Thanks for the report, good man, at least the Harps can take something away from the game, Its early days!

06/03/2010, 10:14 PM
Thanks for the report, good man, at least the Harps can take something away from the game, Its early days!

Yeah they looked decent tbh. McHugh missed 2 very good chances with headers in the 2nd half, one of which would have put them 2-0 up. If he starts scoring ye will be very good. Left back was a weak spot though.

06/03/2010, 10:15 PM
Jock Williams?

Whats the Jock thing about?

He's Scottish...

monkey9
06/03/2010, 10:54 PM
He's Scottish...

The best Scottish striker in the league!!

06/03/2010, 11:06 PM
The best Scottish striker in the league!!

We thought the same...:p

Ezeikial
06/03/2010, 11:12 PM
We thought the same...:p

Me too - for his first 2 or 3 games - after that he was pure muck

06/03/2010, 11:23 PM
No prizes for guessing which side's support is causing that.

Pray do tell

06/03/2010, 11:31 PM

Sounds familiar. Longford seem to be having an almost deja vú start to their season this year.

GGAJD
06/03/2010, 11:33 PM
As far as I know there was no crowd trouble, the game was delayed to allow the Shams late-comers to arrive in safely. Aren't we nice and thoughtful up in Sligo. A good crowd from Shams, so fair play to them, just a pity we could hold on to our one nil lead.

The trouble arose when your security had a load of fencing to keep Rovers fans in ready(ala longford a few years back) which actually impeded people gaining entry into that side of the ground, which then had to be taken down again causing a swell outside in which one girl got hurt and had to go to a+e, scrapes and bruises only thankfully. Basically shligo's matchday people can't deal with 1000/1200 or so visitors, they made a complete balls of it.
Decent game could have gone either way plenty of chances for both sides, I missed the peno, heard it was 50/50. Hoops happy enough with a point from there I'd say.

06/03/2010, 11:37 PM
We really should have put the game out of sight in the first half, totally dominant but that's life.
A crazy 20 minute spell cost us dearly but we'll learn and hopefully pick ourselves up again against Salthill next weekend.
Decent atmosphere considering the poor crowd, Longford fans very quiet until they got the third though.

GGAJD
06/03/2010, 11:37 PM

No supporters caused anything, shligo stewards can't bless themselves, so I'd hold back on accusations until you know the facts in future

CSFShels
06/03/2010, 11:57 PM
I know enough to know a section of Rovers fans are pure dirt.

Jicked
06/03/2010, 11:59 PM

To be honest it was a disaster from Sligo's organisational p.o.v. One bloke in a garden shed taking money for at least 800 hoops. We were in early and told them that they'd want to get a few extra lads in to help him out once the travelling fans finished drinking in the pub and came down, but that was just laughed off. Very shoddy. Buttimer who allowed both teams out on the pitch and to have a minute's silence before then deciding to delay the game 10 minutes or so with the players on the pitch, you'd think the cops could have let him know before hand, or he could have tried to suss it out a bit earlier. Good game of ball though, we missed our two best players (Sives and Twigg) a lot though.

Jicked
07/03/2010, 12:02 AM
I know enough to know a section of Rovers fans are pure dirt.

Good man yourself, and you obviously know that well enough to be sure of the fact that it was Rovers fans who caused this non-existent trouble at the game. Actually this could be quite fun if we're allowed do that..... I heard there might have been a fight in town earlier on tonight, I'm pretty sure it was Shels fans and Bohs hooligans engaged in a running battle. They were tooled up with knives too, yeah, sure why not.

celticV3
07/03/2010, 12:36 AM
Bohs got a dodgy penalty last night and shams tonight, great to see the word "new" worn out already for the season.

srfc1928
07/03/2010, 1:48 AM
good crowd from shams, but a crowd ranging from 800 up to 1200 are well wide of the mark.
500 tops

07/03/2010, 6:04 AM

You're right. There were no prizes. Or anything else.

It's amazing how accurate some people's guesses are.

brianw82
07/03/2010, 6:51 AM
To be honest it was a disaster from Sligo's organisational p.o.v. One bloke in a garden shed taking money for at least 800 hoops. We were in early and told them that they'd want to get a few extra lads in to help him out once the travelling fans finished drinking in the pub and came down, but that was just laughed off. Very shoddy.

We do seem to have a problem accomodating a large away support. The issue with the Waterford fans in the Cup semi last year was (I think) the fact that there were so many more than expected, but surely it was known that there'd be a large travelling contingent last night and extra bodies would be needed to get them inside in a timely fashion? It's something our board should be aware of, tbh.

Dixie Dean
07/03/2010, 8:27 AM
We do seem to have a problem accomodating a large away support. The issue with the Waterford fans in the Cup semi last year was (I think) the fact that there were so many more than expected, but surely it was known that there'd be a large travelling contingent last night and extra bodies would be needed to get them inside in a timely fashion? It's something our board should be aware of, tbh.

Unfortunately they just dont have the enough of volunteers for it. Its hard to be critical of the club they do the best they can. Pre-season they appealed for extra help , including for stewards. If the interest to help is not there what can you do?

MMVIII
07/03/2010, 9:04 AM
I don't know what ye're talking about fencing down the front for. That was taking down at around quarter past 6, as I was in the ground and seen it. What about ye're crowd of absolute toe rags who started hopping on the fence to the side trying to tear it down? Maybe if your supporters didn't leave the pub till 7 45, there wouldn't have been so many problems.

Enruoblehs
07/03/2010, 9:31 AM
Anyone have the starting line-ups and reserves used for the Salthill v Athlone game?

RoversHead
07/03/2010, 9:47 AM
good crowd from shams, but a crowd ranging from 800 up to 1200 are well wide of the mark.
500 tops800 minimum ,but a closer look at how your paying your players could well explain your estimate.

Troubadour
07/03/2010, 10:15 AM
Bohs got a dodgy penalty last night and shams tonight, great to see the word "new" worn out already for the season.
You could expand on the poor standard of refereeing by mentioning the persistant fouling of Sligo in a deliberate attempt to disrupt Rovers (Shamrock for all the simple minded people) momentum. Typical of when we go down to play Sligo tbh.

And as for that ''tackle'' on Dessie Baker. If that was committed by Dan Murray Sligo fans would be calling for a prison sentence. What is Sligo fans take on that assault?

We were the better team for the most part but missed Twigg.

Jicked
07/03/2010, 10:37 AM
You could expand on the poor standard of refereeing by mentioning the persistant fouling of Sligo in a deliberate attempt to disrupt Rovers (Shamrock for all the simple minded people) momentum. Typical of when we go down to play Sligo tbh.

And as for that ''tackle'' on Dessie Baker. If that was committed by Dan Murray Sligo fans would be calling for a prison sentence. What is Sligo fans take on that assault?

Sligo were being constantly penalised because the vast majority of the time they were fouling our players, despite the histrionics from Paul Cook on the touchline all night long. That tackle on Dessie Baker broke his arm, Cook was still waving his arms around demanding a free out I'm sure. In saying that I've no idea about the penalty, I just presumed it hit the wall and went out for a corner, will have to wait to see MNS.

Jicked
07/03/2010, 10:39 AM
800 minimum ,but a closer look at how your paying your players could well explain your estimate.

Indeed, i'm pretty sure you have to issue a ticket to every fan, but Sligo just dish out a few raffle tickets as your proof of purhcase. I'm sure they'll tell the taxman there was 4 blokes and a dog at the game.

RoversHead
07/03/2010, 10:42 AM
Bohs got a dodgy penalty last night and shams tonight, great to see the word "new" worn out already for the season.My raffle ticket which apparently passes for a match ticket in Sligos world wore out a lot quicker.The fact that some of you are claiming we only took 500 fans to Sligo, along with one bloke in a shed selling raffle tickets as match tickets should be looked at seriosly .Lump sum payments to players and winks and handshakes tut tut and you talk about new.

Rasputin
07/03/2010, 11:29 AM
My raffle ticket which apparently passes for a match ticket in Sligos world wore out a lot quicker.The fact that some of you are claiming we only took 500 fans to Sligo, along with one bloke in a shed selling raffle tickets as match tickets should be looked at seriosly .Lump sum payments to players and winks and handshakes tut tut and you talk about new.
What are yee all raving on about?
1000/1200? Dont make me laugh.
There was about 600-700 Shams fans down for it as could be told by the area in which yee were placed.
As for us playing against 12 men, well it is the FAI and Shams are currently the *******ised love child of the FAI, "the model club" (no laughing down the back), so what do you expect really?
It shall be entertaining seeing yee explain away that penalty when the replays are shown on MNS.
Anyway congrats to O'Neill on the best close season signing in years, Anthony Buttimer was outstanding for yee, Man of the Match performance for Shams.
I shudder when the day comes that Shams actually win something, ohh the arrogance then.

Jicked
07/03/2010, 11:44 AM
What are yee all raving on about?
1000/1200? Dont make me laugh.
There was about 600-700 Shams fans down for it as could be told by the area in which yee were placed.
As for us playing against 12 men, well it is the FAI and Shams are currently the *******ised love child of the FAI, "the model club" (no laughing down the back), so what do you expect really?
It shall be entertaining seeing yee explain away that penalty when the replays are shown on MNS.
Anyway congrats to O'Neill on the best close season signing in years, Anthony Buttimer was outstanding for yee, Man of the Match performance for Shams.
I shudder when the day comes that Shams actually win something, ohh the arrogance then.

No-one's tried to explain the penalty, no-one around me saw it and only copped after a few seconds that it was a penalty given. I've no idea if it hit a hand or not, I'll wait to see MNS.
And where exactly is the arrogance involved in being a bit peeved that Sligo don't give out tickets for games, when we all know why they don't.

You were constantly fouling us, and played a very physical game. Nothing too wrong with that, but it does mean you're going to give away a lot of fouls, just because Paul Cook waves his arms and rants and raves like a madman doesn't mean they're not fouls.

Delighted to see the Rovers and FAI are in cahoots conspiracy theory come up again though. That was a particularly hilarious one when Bohs went on a bad run of form for the first time in two years (that may have had a little more to do with suspensions, injuries, a transfer embargo and going out of Europe) and suddenly it was all down to the FAI and MNS (?) trying to gift Rovers the league. Until Bohs recovered their form and things went back to normal that is.

red bellied
07/03/2010, 11:44 AM
I was sitting directly across from the shams support. Their section was full with another 30 or 40 standing at the end of the stand. The Jinks avenue stand holds 900 with half it allocated to the away support, so around 500 shams tops I would estimate.

celticV3
07/03/2010, 11:53 AM

We were the better team for the most part but missed Twigg.
Momentum? Shamrock had no momentum in the game what so ever, not because of any bad challenges but basically because dan murray hoofing a ball shouldn't be considered momentum.

Didn't see the challenge on Baker but I was told it was a free kick to us just before that, so will have to wait til mns to clarify that.

The better team tag is laughable. Shams had more possession but done nothing with it. You'd do well to pick more than 2 clear cut chances out of that game for shams in the entire 90minutes, but thats just why yee needed the helping hand from buttimer.

topia
07/03/2010, 11:57 AM
Maybe someone can clarify but gate receipts arent subject to tax are they? if this is the case then the shamrock rovers fans accusing sligo of fiddling with the numbers are unfounded

Rasputin
07/03/2010, 12:34 PM
No-one's tried to explain the penalty, no-one around me saw it and only copped after a few seconds that it was a penalty given. I've no idea if it hit a hand or not, I'll wait to see MNS.And where exactly is the arrogance involved in being a bit peeved that Sligo don't give out tickets for games
The arrogance of feeling the need to criticise why we dont give out tickets because of your unfounded assumption that its because of Tax.
And ohhhh the irony a shams fan dictating to us about Tax evasion, how much of that Tax that yee owed the Tax man did yee pay back again?

when we all know why they don't.
Substantiate the claim or else we can dismiss it as the subjective drivel it is?

You were constantly fouling us, and played a very physical game.
You were watching the likes of Dan Murray aswell right?
And Price aye?
And you call our game physical? Bizarre.

Nothing too wrong with that, but it does mean you're going to give away a lot of fouls, just because Paul Cook waves his arms and rants and raves like a madman doesn't mean they're not fouls.
Link to where any Rovers fan said that "because Paul Cook waves his arms and rants and raves like a madman doesn't mean they're not fouls".

Delighted to see the Rovers and FAI are in cahoots conspiracy theory come up again though.
Its not so much a conspiracy as more the FAI making sure what they perceive as the best foot forward in Irish Football being given a gentle nudge.
This would of course play on the consciousness of a referee who while not giving blatantly biased decisions will be alot more inclcined to give 50/50 decisions to Bohs or Shams.

That was a particularly hilarious one when Bohs went on a bad run of form for the first time in two years (that may have had a little more to do with suspensions, injuries, a transfer embargo and going out of Europe) and suddenly it was all down to the FAI and MNS (?) trying to gift Rovers the league. Until Bohs recovered their form and things went back to normal that is.
Ahh yes the old trying to assosciate my comment with some discredited ravings about Bohs being on a bad run.

forza rovers
07/03/2010, 12:35 PM
No-one's tried to explain the penalty, no-one around me saw it and only copped after a few seconds that it was a penalty given. I've no idea if it hit a hand or not, I'll wait to see MNS.
And where exactly is the arrogance involved in being a bit peeved that Sligo don't give out tickets for games, when we all know why they don't.

You were constantly fouling us, and played a very physical game. Nothing too wrong with that, but it does mean you're going to give away a lot of fouls, just because Paul Cook waves his arms and rants and raves like a madman doesn't mean they're not fouls.

Delighted to see the Rovers and FAI are in cahoots conspiracy theory come up again though. That was a particularly hilarious one when Bohs went on a bad run of form for the first time in two years (that may have had a little more to do with suspensions, injuries, a transfer embargo and going out of Europe) and suddenly it was all down to the FAI and MNS (?) trying to gift Rovers the league. Until Bohs recovered their form and things went back to normal that is.so ye were able to get away with pushing players in the back,dan muarry might as well have asked blinkhorn for a piggy back as he was always climbing on him,the scum you have playing for you Danny Murphy abusing stewards and your scummy fans ripping down a fence when ye scored form your questionable penalty from your 12 man.
as for the second part that seemed to work well for mon and your players screaming for players to get booked and a bit of respect not to be letting flares off during a minutes silence animals deserve to be treated like animals.

07/03/2010, 1:11 PM
Maybe someone can clarify but gate receipts arent subject to tax are they? if this is the case then the shamrock rovers fans accusing sligo of fiddling with the numbers are unfounded
No tax on gate receipts but if a club were to get extra money off the books, it could be spent off the books too.

I'm not accusing Sligo of doing this before anyone gets up in arms!

Jicked
07/03/2010, 1:24 PM
Link to where any Rovers fan said that "because Paul Cook waves his arms and rants and raves like a madman doesn't mean they're not fouls".

Goodness gracious me. Did you actually mean you want a link to that? As for the rest of your post I'm simply not bothered with stuff that ridiculous.

It's weird, the Sligo fans I had a pint with before the game were friendly, reasonable, knowledgeable LoI fans. The vast majority of Sligo fans on here are batsh*t crazy. As for your official programme suggesting that Rovers were founded in the mid 2000s by the 400 club, how small minded and ridiculously petty. I think I'm better off just ignoring this place when we play Sligo Rovers, so I'm out of here. Enjoy MNS on Monday night, try not to put your foot through the telly when MON has the temerity to say something outragous such as a draw was a fair result. :)

Jicked
07/03/2010, 1:30 PM
Whoever did that deserves a medal.:cool:

In an official club programme? And you wonder why some people say it wasn't a well run event last night? I look forward to a well written article next time we're up at the Showgrounds, entitled something like "Why ders only one Rovers in Ireland and ye're a bunch gaybos LOL"

topia
07/03/2010, 1:31 PM
No tax on gate receipts but if a club were to get extra money off the books, it could be spent off the books too.

ok thats not the way Jicked was putting it though;

'Indeed, i'm pretty sure you have to issue a ticket to every fan, but Sligo just dish out a few raffle tickets as your proof of purhcase. I'm sure they'll tell the taxman there was 4 blokes and a dog at the game.'

Ezeikial
07/03/2010, 1:35 PM

If a club could siphon off say 200 admissions at €15 each league game this would give them €54k "of the books" giving them nearly €19k (35%) to circumvent the SCP and/or the Revenue through under the counter payments to players.

The FAI Lisencing Dept are alive to this possibility and have promised unannounced audits of match day sales this season.

Any club stupid enough to do this deserve any sanction that comes there way