View Full Version : tonights latest

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

Dillonman
05/03/2010, 11:08 PM
Smasha nd grab in Bray tonight, Peter Cherrie...what can I say, excellent performance kept us in wiht a pen save, 2 one on ones and another to somehow push it onto the post. Its 3 points, wons me a few bob and Im happy, performance was shocking though. Liam Burns was taken to hospital though so hope its not bad.

CSFShels
05/03/2010, 11:21 PM
I wouldn't say we were robbed. Monaghan were worth a point overall. As for the ref, he was just incompetent more than anything. Bad decisions on both sides.
There were no game changing decisions that went wrongly against Monaghan. We had 3 against us.

05/03/2010, 11:23 PM
Messy start tonight at Dalyer. Bloody queues to get into the ground. Got there at 7.10 and didn't get in till 5 after kick off. Still, good atmosphere, it's a disgrace how decrepit Dalymount looks. Good crowd, Jodi full and maybe 200 in the Des Kelly. Dalymount could do with a scoreboard.

Bohs were poor, but bar a free kick in the first half didn't think Fingal offered much going forward. McFaul can pass a ball thats for sure. Madden has the look of a gem about him. Soft peno, a wins a win.

05/03/2010, 11:27 PM
Doh!!! Meds, blondness and fact that that game traumatised me beyond belief means it was blanked out!!! But no offence to Longford, Shels are a much tougher prospect than Longford were last season so its a higher level of a point if you get my drift!

Meh, means feck all that kind of logic really. We won and drew in Tolka last year but it's all about the other games. I know what you mean as in theory it's a good point but I don't see it as any more valuable than any other point ye'll pick up along the way, if that makes sense.

GalwayRed
05/03/2010, 11:30 PM
There were no game changing decisions that went wrongly against Monaghan. We had 3 against us.
The red card they had was harsh. To me Clancy didn't appear to be the last man.

05/03/2010, 11:36 PM
Meh, means feck all that kind of logic really. We won and drew in Tolka last year but it's all about the other games. I know what you mean as in theory it's a good point but I don't see it as any more valuable than any other point ye'll pick up along the way, if that makes sense.

Wont matter in the table but it was an important point psychologically as Shels are being touted as possible league winners so to know that we got that point and gave them a good game will help the lads settle back in so to me it is one of the most valuable points we could earn and certainly the most important one we have won this season....so far....:D

CSFShels
05/03/2010, 11:37 PM
The red card they had was harsh. To me Clancy didn't appear to be the last man.
I think he was, but even if he wasn't, there were strong grounds to give a red card. Hughes was clear through on goal and Clancy committed a cynical foul, would most likely be sent off even if there was another player behind him. Pretty sure there was no1 though, definite red card, and should have been a penalty.

GalwayRed
05/03/2010, 11:42 PM
I think he was, but even if he wasn't, there were strong grounds to give a red card. Hughes was clear through on goal and Clancy committed a cynical foul, would most likely be sent off even if there was another player behind him. Pretty sure there was no1 though, definite red card, and should have been a penalty.
Yeah i would need to see the replay to be honest. Was it Gorman who got booked for apparently diving? Thought that was a farce of a decision. Anyway I do think Monaghan were worth a point on that showing. Im well used to rubbish refs by now

05/03/2010, 11:44 PM
Wont matter in the table but it was an important point psychologically as Shels are being touted as possible league winners so to know that we got that point and gave them a good game will help the lads settle back in so to me it is one of the most valuable points we could earn and certainly the most important one we have won this season....so far....:D

Fair enough, can't argue with any of that. I shall concede that it could be a good start for ye!.

Ezeikial
06/03/2010, 12:02 AM
Dalymount could do with a scoreboard.

Brilliant idea - I always have problems when the score goes anything over 4-13 to 1-18

06/03/2010, 12:55 AM
stupidest sending off i have seen, it was in the centre circle ffs.

Rogers last year was funnier.

Ref in our game got most decisions right in fairness

THey had a penalty shout early on but he had already given offside (well the lino had...). O'Donnell's dive was atrocious. Few yellows dished out but can't really complain about him

bingoballs
06/03/2010, 7:37 AM
Stupid decision but Fingal nice to the refereeing swings and roundabouts hit them.

Go on Bohs.

Oh the irony, it brought a tear to my glass eye

Jicked
06/03/2010, 8:24 AM
Stupid decision but Fingal nice to the refereeing swings and roundabouts hit them.

Go on Bohs.

Another classic Sligo post there.

Should be a good atmosphere in the Showgrounds tonight!

06/03/2010, 9:02 AM
Brilliant idea - I always have problems when the score goes anything over 4-13 to 1-18

Good one! :)

5ForKeeps
06/03/2010, 9:44 AM
Refereeing in this league and officiating is a shambles...what I witnessed at the RSC last night was a joke. Harsh sending off won the ball but didn't go over it and got a straight, any challenges made by Wexford players was punished but now Waterford players....a bent linesman who can't pick out an offside if his life depended on it. Hoof ball tactics by Waterford as well to boot it is no wonder they get ****e attendences.

06/03/2010, 9:47 AM
Refereeing in this league and officiating is a shambles...what I witnessed at the RSC last night was a joke. Harsh sending off won the ball but didn't go over it and got a straight, any challenges made by Wexford players was punished but now Waterford players....a bent linesman who can't pick out an offside if his life depended on it. Hoof ball tactics by Waterford as well to boot it is no wonder they get ****e attendences.
http://wheelhouseadvisors.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/sour-grapes.jpg

06/03/2010, 10:37 AM
Going to be a long long season for Drogheda. They completely collapsed after our first (contrary to what was said earlier in the thread, they didn't have a man sent off; not that I noticed anyway) and it could easily have been four or five for us - hitting the underside of the bar being the best chance. Given we were missing five or six players through injury or Collingwood duty - Ger Barron, Ev McMillan, Paul Corry, Robbie Creevy, Pete McMahon and Dave McMillan; five of those were regular starters last year, with Pete getting a good bit of playing time too - we're only going to improve. Granted, we've had a LSC game and the college league games to get us match sharp whereas Drogheda have had contract wranglings, but even still, very very poor from them. For us, this season is suddenly one to very much look forward to.

Top of the league. :D

brianw82
06/03/2010, 10:57 AM
Top of the league. :D

Enjoy it!

Only saw bits and pieces of the Bohs game. Saw the penalty on the replay, but as the name Anto Murphy was mentioned before it was even shown, I thought 'Here we go, likely to be a dive!' and sure enough he went down like a heap. He was a diver with us and is still a diver. Although, contrary to the assertations of one of the Shamrock Rvs fans earlier, I do believe he was sent off for diving in late '08 sometime.

Hopefully we can get a result tonight. Beating the Shams would be sweet. :)

RoversHead
06/03/2010, 12:16 PM
Ref at Dalymount was conned by Murphy so I wouldnt be too harsh on him,Fingal deserved what they got for packing midfield and playing with one striker,Bohs looked clueless in midfield and toothless up front but just about deserved the points .

Dalymountrower
06/03/2010, 12:27 PM
Ref at Dalymount was conned by Murphy so I wouldnt be too harsh on him,Fingal deserved what they got for packing midfield and playing with one striker,Bohs looked clueless in midfield and toothless up front but just about deserved the points .

Fair summary. Fingal defenders challenge was daft though and did allow Murphy to make the most of it.

trevy
06/03/2010, 1:23 PM

What a load of rubbish. Ye were totally out played and already 1-0 down when your player was sent off . It was a definite foul, he could have got away with a yellow maybe but ref went for red and was looking straight at it. Liam Kearney ran rings around your defence in 2nd half with skilfu play so don't know where you are going with the hoofball.

Kildareman
06/03/2010, 1:48 PM
16 yellow cards and 3 red cards in only 8 games.
Whats gone wrong, the players, the officials or both?

06/03/2010, 2:32 PM

Maybe they were all merited? 19 cards in 8 games is less than 3 per game. How is "wrong"?

de bowez
06/03/2010, 2:33 PM

The ref was terrible throughout, Powells booking was inexplicable

The Lep
06/03/2010, 2:43 PM
Just watched it back and the ref seriously didnt have a clue. A bohs player getting booked for being fouled, McFaul winning a free kick with a dive, Bohs getting a peno after quinn breathed on Murphy, the Linesman flagging for a foul when he was looking away and only flagged after turning round and seeing a bohs lad on the ground. Shocking stuff. In all, a draw would have been a fair result but we cant really complain as we have scored after some soft peno decisions have gone our way in the past so pleased with the performance over all and looking forward to our next game.

Dillonman
06/03/2010, 3:00 PM

Best thing is we hav'nt contributed to any of those cards!!!!!

5ForKeeps
06/03/2010, 4:24 PM
What a load of rubbish. Ye were totally out played and already 1-0 down when your player was sent off . It was a definite foul, he could have got away with a yellow maybe but ref went for red and was looking straight at it. Liam Kearney ran rings around your defence in 2nd half with skilfu play so don't know where you are going with the hoofball.

Late in the game when were pushing forward looking for an equaliser with ten men he came more into the game Kearney did, he did nothing up till the last 20 mins. The hoof ball was up to Vinny Sullivan almost everytime as our midfield had your number even with ten men. 2 of your 3 goals were because of hoof balls, the first goal was played from your own half over the top, for the peno same story.

If Danny had of taken that chance just after we went down to ten men the game would have being different, we chased the game with ten men as we had too of course and yourselves exploited that with hoof ball from your centre halves.

06/03/2010, 4:46 PM
Interviewing the managers as the game is going on is something I've rarely seen before,Interesting,Didn't look a penalty either

well according to the tabloids today its going to be a regular thing rte are also considerin havin cameras in the dressing room at half time but understandably the loi mgrs are objecting!

06/03/2010, 4:51 PM
[QUOTE=Blue Bear;1330008]

Doh!!! Meds, blondness and fact that that game traumatised me beyond belief means it was blanked out!!! But no offence to Longford, Shels are a much tougher prospect than Longford were last season so its a higher level of a point if you get my drift!

were you not at the match magicme???:confused:

06/03/2010, 4:55 PM
some serious good attendances there last nite.. derry cork attracted 3500 people the best of the night followed by bohs fingal which attracted 3000.. i am amazed that derry has had a good a crowd since the paris st germain game..amazing aint it?

06/03/2010, 4:59 PM
were you not at the match magicme???:confused:

not sure if magicme was at the game last night cos she was feeling sick and wasnt too sure if she should take some antibiotics to cure it cos it would appear that she might have an allergy to such medication and well, she just wasnt sure if she should take the chance or not....

or so i heard.

06/03/2010, 5:05 PM
not sure if magicme was at the game last night cos she was feeling sick and wasnt too sure if she should take some antibiotics to cure it cos it would appear that she might have an allergy to such medication and well, she just wasnt sure if she should take the chance or not....

or so i heard.

thats what I was thinkin too skstu she must be savin her energies for next weeks game against us!!:eek:

Dillonman
06/03/2010, 6:26 PM
1nil Athlone. Not the best of starts for Salthill.

blue til i die
06/03/2010, 6:46 PM
Rovers game delayed! Crowd trouble!

CSFShels
06/03/2010, 6:51 PM
No prizes for guessing which side's support is causing that.

blue til i die
06/03/2010, 6:55 PM

I'd say Rovers :cool:

Game on now!

06/03/2010, 6:55 PM

I'm blaming Rovers.;)

happydays97
06/03/2010, 6:57 PM
Harps 1 up away to Longford

06/03/2010, 7:02 PM
Rovers game delayed! Crowd trouble!

inside or outside the ground?

blue til i die
06/03/2010, 7:05 PM
....and www.extratime.ie is back up and running :)

Hibs4Ever
06/03/2010, 7:17 PM
Sligo 1-0 Shamrock

06/03/2010, 7:19 PM
Sligo 1-0 Shamrock

Eoin Doyle

monkey9
06/03/2010, 7:32 PM
Is there any commentary on the Rovers/Shams match? Are any supporters providing it?

06/03/2010, 7:41 PM
Longford equalise 1-1

blue til i die
06/03/2010, 7:46 PM
and then take the lead! 2-1

06/03/2010, 7:46 PM
Longford now winning 2-1

First goal was JP McDonagh and the second from Ptere Hynes

06/03/2010, 7:56 PM