View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2010

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

SalthillLegend
26/05/2010, 10:06 AM
Jeez arent we all guns blazing Mr 2 posts!!!! With regard to Celtic I was talking to a mate who played the game so Im just relaying what I was told if you would read my post properly.Im sure this selection and tactics were also to the fore. I never said swinford would win the league or anything just that they are showing their worth for mid table. Now relax in future and dont introduce yourself on to a forum like a baby with nappy rash! Legend ehh? :sarcastic:

Am sorry...Im just getting used of how this thing works. My post wasnt in relation to Swinford as such but all teams baring Westport,Ballina and Erris. All other teams can go down in my opinion and i think it will go to the wire with 4-5 teams battling the drop

pixiehead
26/05/2010, 11:33 AM
Am sorry...Im just getting used of how this thing works. My post wasnt in relation to Swinford as such but all teams baring Westport,Ballina and Erris. All other teams can go down in my opinion and i think it will go to the wire with 4-5 teams battling the drop

No worries kid. Whats your connection to salthill anyhow? Or connection to Mayo league? :monkey:

footie2008
26/05/2010, 10:04 PM
I think if you pick up a point in your first game thats away from home its not bad. Credit for the moneen surface it was the best ive seen it in a long time if not quite hard under foot! By the way Notts County are still looking for their crest back Fahy :laugh:

Credit to Anthony McDonald for the pitch.Long time no blog Pixie,your having a tough start to the season.Best of luck for the rest of season but it looks fairly clear which four or five clubs are going to drop.

sinabhuil
28/05/2010, 10:09 AM
Lads how many teams organise insurance cover for their players over and above the league cover. Personal accident type cover. Asking as one of our players suffered a serious injury last year which has prevented him working.

robben 11
28/05/2010, 7:26 PM
TO every club in the Super League did the mayo league ask any club to play there game on sunday at 11 am..?? please reply

pixiehead
28/05/2010, 7:54 PM
TO every club in the Super League did the mayo league ask any club to play there game on sunday at 11 am..?? please reply

No not us

pixiehead
28/05/2010, 7:56 PM
Well Footie, thanks. Ya its a tough ask for the bottom four but their have been a few upsets so far so untill the fat lady sings!

thekop
31/05/2010, 8:55 AM
Straide & Foxford 1-3Iorras Aontaithe
Manulla 5-2Castlebar Celtic
Snugboro United 1-3Swinford
Fahy Rovers 1-4Westport United
Ballina Town 3-2Ballyheane

No major surprizes this weekend. How did the league fair out with the shortage of refs this weekend?????

13/06/2010, 3:54 PM
Snugboro United 3-3 Castlebar Celtic

My biased opinion is that Snugboro were slightly the better of two bad teams. Had they converted a penalty at 3-2 and not finished the game with 8 men then they would've shaded it.

But i shouldn't really be talking about the game. On evidence, the 22 men playing football don't really matter. The game revolves around one man, the referee . Normall an affable chap, and I appreciate that he's doing the best he can. But I've never seen anyone get more decisions incorrect in my life. And he should'nt be reffing in the top division.

Excuses can be made for someone blindly not seeing an incident, but on at least 5 occasions, The ref completely made the wrong decision. Celtic, who weren't a dirty side on the day, had 3 straight red card offences. Yet finished the game with 11 men. It came to a point, where the Snugboro bench were giving out about decisions going for them.
The ref had refereed a game in Snugboro 3 days before hand and quite plainly had a biased

pixiehead
13/06/2010, 5:41 PM
Ill agree with most of what you said. However the thing that will continue to baffle me is that in all the history of football ive never seen a ref to change his mind and yet... players continue to argue with him as if he will magicaly change his mind so the two have no-one to blame but them selfs. The two decisions he made were shocking but sadly the dissipline of a few of snugboro will expel any arguments we might have into oblivion. We certainly havent had the rub of the green this season and im sure Celtic will feel they got off lightly but a few monkeys couldnt keep their heads and its sad that ive to lambast our own today when the focus should be elsewhere

13/06/2010, 5:51 PM
Fair enough, Snugboro players got the red cards, and I'm not disputing whether to deserve it or not. But its a fine line between naivety and stupidity. When the referee is as shocking as your man today, whats the point. Somebody could of picked up the ball and ran into the net and he'd of given a corner!

Fair Play
13/06/2010, 9:47 PM
Come on 12th Man, it's time to do your duty and not allow individuals to be named on this site and be castigated in such a manner. The referee bashing has to stop when people's names are mentioned.

14/06/2010, 12:21 AM
Come on 12th Man, it's time to do your duty and not allow individuals to be named on this site and be castigated in such a manner. The referee bashing has to stop when people's names are mentioned.

Fair enough

SalthillLegend
14/06/2010, 7:58 AM
I was at the match and I felt the referee maybe made one or 2 bad decisions for both teams but in relation to the sendings off he was spot on. Players think they can abuse officials and get away with it. Snugboro were lucky not to have another man sent off when one of your defenders grabbed a Celtic player by the neck and refused to release him. The attitude from the Snugboro management team was disgraceful. Running onto the pitch and ordering his players from it. From the sideline it looked like Celtic were the only team to try and play football with Snugboro using a hit and hope tactic.

onlyonephilbabb
14/06/2010, 9:15 AM
Fair enough

I have to say that yeterday I witnessed this game as I have not attended a Super League match this year.I had heard the the standard was poor and with what I saw yesterday I have to agree.The two teams was well up for the game with it being a local derby but there was not a whole lot of football played.Celtic huffed and puffed there way through the game whilst Snugboro played well at times.On this evidence the two of them are looking like they will both be relegated.
This was not a dirty game in any way but the man in the middle made a lot of dubious calls.I really do not know why two of the Snugboro players got the line it had to be dissent as I was not close enough and they were not for tackles.One end of the pitch it looked like he denyied Snugboro a blatant penalty and two minutes later a blatant handball in the Snugboro box he denied Celtic a Penalty.
Nobody minds the odd mistake and Please remember that the man in the middle is only human but there were so many decisions that were wrong it beggared belief.I really felf sorry for both teams as It was not a dirty physical game,they were both honest in thier endeavour.

Fish-Head
14/06/2010, 9:36 AM
If somebody wanted to find out who the ref in question is it would hardly be rocket science.

rava
14/06/2010, 9:56 AM
He is normally a good ref, but had a shocker yesterday. Snugboro players (even though it was understandable why)should have kept their heads and probably would still have won game. It is unfair to name people on the forum but Fair play please spare us the lectures.

etoo
14/06/2010, 10:10 AM
He is normally a good ref, but had a shocker yesterday. Snugboro players (even though it was understandable why)should have kept their heads and probably would still have won game. It is unfair to name people on the forum but Fair play please spare us the lectures.

awful hard on the players who have being battling against the odds all season to have a ref that wouldnt give them anything. celtic players diving(not blaming them), throw ins, corner kicks everything to celtic. he might as well of kicked the ball into the net himself.
Mayo league have to stop the same referree reffing the same team for 2 games in a row as he was shocking on thursday night and alot was said to him then as well. so on Sunday we were going to get nothing form him and that was obvious from the start. i was surprised he gave us the penalty in the first place. could go on about him all day, just shocking.
alot of fines to come for us id say but nothing can be done about him which is a joke. everybody knows its a hard job but when your like that theres no point in playing at all.

theboy
14/06/2010, 10:12 AM
Sounds like an interesting game between snugboro and celtic. who was sent off for the boro? any reports on any of the other games?? Looks like ballina back on track again, big win against erris.

Round Tower
14/06/2010, 10:50 AM
The referee in question has a no of personal problens, his son fell down the stairs and broke his neck only 29. I have not met for a couple of weeks, at that time he was going to be paralised and loose his left leg. He is normaly a very good ref and refereed at the very top in Northern Ireland.

14/06/2010, 11:35 AM
I think we've seen enough posted about the ref lads,move on.

pixiehead
14/06/2010, 4:11 PM
I was at the match and I felt the referee maybe made one or 2 bad decisions for both teams but in relation to the sendings off he was spot on. Players think they can abuse officials and get away with it. Snugboro were lucky not to have another man sent off when one of your defenders grabbed a Celtic player by the neck and refused to release him. The attitude from the Snugboro management team was disgraceful. Running onto the pitch and ordering his players from it. From the sideline it looked like Celtic were the only team to try and play football with Snugboro using a hit and hope tactic.

Very Childish post
1)If you took your time to read the previous posts there is no-one arguing that the players shouldnt have been sent off

2)The Snugboro Assitant went to calm things down

3) Celtic played some nice passing football at times but where found wanting in some areas. Unlike you I can see the good and bad sides to both teams instead of posting immature favortisims. At times Snugboro did indeed play a long ball but it certainly seemed to work as i can remember certain defenders being caught for pace

4) The rules of the game state that your Keeper should have walked after he took the last Man

Boro Behaviour towards the ref was unacceptable and the Play acting from some of the celtic players was at best humourous. I cant say it didnt make for entertainment but the whole game was the prime example of the way football has gone in this county. A few years ago there would have been 80-100 people at that game. Only a handful showed up yesterday and can you blame people when the circus was already in town this month !!!! Can anyone say that was a classic derby game? ............Didnt think so :sick:

onlyonephilbabb
28/06/2010, 11:22 AM
How did all the games go at the weekend in the superleague?

28/06/2010, 1:45 PM
How did all the games go at the weekend in the superleague?

Straide & Foxford Utd. 0 v 2 Castlebar Celtic
Snugboro Utd. 0 v 6 Fahy Rovers
Manulla 0 v 3 Ballina Town
Swinford 2 v 1 Ballyheane
Iorras Aontaithe 3 v 0 Westport Utd.
Useful win for Celtic in effort to avoid the drop. Ballina and Iorras both jump ahead of Westport with Iorras getting revenge for a defeat on Thursday. Swinford continue good form.

And finally, Snugboro embarrassed by Fahy. Can't get much worse....can it?
But I actually didn't see any of the games.

Norm
28/06/2010, 3:06 PM
Straide & Foxford Utd. 0 v 2 Castlebar Celtic
Snugboro Utd. 0 v 6 Fahy Rovers
Manulla 0 v 3 Ballina Town
Swinford 2 v 1 Ballyheane
Iorras Aontaithe 3 v 0 Westport Utd.
Useful win for Celtic in effort to avoid the drop. Ballina and Iorras both jump ahead of Westport with Iorras getting revenge for a defeat on Thursday. Swinford continue good form.

And finally, Snugboro embarrassed by Fahy. Can't get much worse....can it?
But I actually didn't see any of the games.

I was at the Snugboro v Fahy match, it was a pretty dismal showing from Snugboro alright. They dropped the heads early in the second half and didn't play at all for the last 20-25 minutes.
On a more positive note, as I have mentioned here before, your pitch and overall facilities are a credit to the club. One bad season in the S.L. shouldn't hamper the progress you are making as a club overall.

thekop
28/06/2010, 3:06 PM
Pos Name PTS L D W P
1 Iorras Aontaithe 24 2 0 8 10
2 Ballina Town 23 1 2 7 10
3 Westport United 22 1 1 7 9
4 Swinford 16 4 1 5 10
5 Manulla 15 4 0 5 9
6 Straide & Foxford 11 5 2 3 10
7 Castlebar Celtic 11 5 2 3 10
8 Fahy Rovers 9 5 3 2 10
9 Ballyheane 7 7 1 2 10
10 Snugboro United 2 8 2 0 10

With most teams having 8 games left things are getting tight.

Not that it makes a difference but the S&F game finished 2-1 to celtic.

swinfordfc
28/06/2010, 3:42 PM
Pos Name PTS L D W P
1 Iorras Aontaithe 24 2 0 8 10
2 Ballina Town 23 1 2 7 10
3 Westport United 22 1 1 7 9
4 Swinford 16 4 1 5 10
5 Manulla 15 4 0 5 9
6 Straide & Foxford 11 5 2 3 10
7 Castlebar Celtic 11 5 2 3 10
8 Fahy Rovers 9 5 3 2 10
9 Ballyheane 7 7 1 2 10
10 Snugboro United 2 8 2 0 10

With most teams having 8 games left things are getting tight.

Not that it makes a difference but the S&F game finished 2-1 to celtic.

Actually it does makes a difference - the table above is correct but on the Mayo football website - its wrong because of that goal - Celtic up to sixth when actually they are seventh.

3 horse race for the title
Snugboro gone but as above - the facilities are excellant.
Every one else is in the relegation battle

Westport v Manulla is an important match for both teams on thursday night

thekop
28/06/2010, 3:54 PM
Ya if manulla can get a win against westport on thursday it'll put them in a better position. everyone else i agree is in a battle now to avoid the drop. it's all about who can pull 2 or 3 results together now. Swinford and Celtic seem to be in slightly better form than the others.

Fish-Head
28/06/2010, 9:36 PM
Actually it does makes a difference

Goal difference is irrelevant is the Mayo League.

swinfordfc
29/06/2010, 3:48 PM
Goal difference is irrelevant is the Mayo League.

True but Celtic now are in 7th placed not 6th as the league table now shows :)

onlyonephilbabb
30/06/2010, 10:34 AM
Actually it does makes a difference - the table above is correct but on the Mayo football website - its wrong because of that goal - Celtic up to sixth when actually they are seventh.

3 horse race for the title
Snugboro gone but as above - the facilities are excellant.
Every one else is in the relegation battle

Westport v Manulla is an important match for both teams on thursday night

Just looking at the last few results,Swinford and Fahy are doing pretty well.It is tight looking at the league table and I doubt that celtic will get much change against a very good erris team at the weekend,Fahy I think will beat S n F,Bally heane and Manulla Could be a draw,It will be hard for Snugboro to get a result down in Ballina and Westport might find it a bit tough against Swinford.

Anyone with any thoughts on this

taztkblue
01/07/2010, 2:07 PM
Just looking at the last few results,Swinford and Fahy are doing pretty well.It is tight looking at the league table and I doubt that celtic will get much change against a very good erris team at the weekend,Fahy I think will beat S n F,Bally heane and Manulla Could be a draw,It will be hard for Snugboro to get a result down in Ballina and Westport might find it a bit tough against Swinford.

doubt if you'll get much response as you chose to go under the title of "onlyonephilbabb" anyway good luck

GoodFootball
02/07/2010, 11:24 AM

Fahy doing well lately alright, could beat SnF. Manulla should beat Ballyheane, Ballina and Westport should win and Erris and Celtic might be a draw.

Any score from last nights game?

FahyForever
04/07/2010, 4:59 PM
Fahy bet S+F 3-1, which I heard takes them out of the bottom four. Must mean Celtic drew at very best. Anyone got the scores please?

swinfordfc
04/07/2010, 6:14 PM
Fahy bet S+F 3-1, which I heard takes them out of the bottom four. Must mean Celtic drew at very best. Anyone got the scores please?

Celtic lost 2-0 to Erris

ARFCtoCC07
05/07/2010, 9:57 AM
Erris United were average yesterday. A sloppy first goal and a late second, celtic should have got a draw at least.

theboy
05/07/2010, 11:23 AM
Looks like both ends of the table are getting interesting, 3 horse race at the top, westports game in hand could make a big difference. At the other end looks like its between s&f and fahy for the last 4th spot. the boro and ballyheane look gone, celtic might put pressure on fahy and s&f and climb out of the bottom 4.

GoodFootball
05/07/2010, 12:45 PM

Watched Fahy and SnF yesterday, Fahy completely dominated them and the scoreline probably looks good for SnF. Fahy have turned the corner now and if they play as well against Celtic this weekend should beat them at home.

Good to see Declan Tigue back at the game, hope to see him back on the pitch again soon too :ball:

pinero
05/07/2010, 9:00 PM
iorras did what they had to do wind ruined the game and the balls that were used were like balloons all over the place neither side could judge where ball would end up.

onlyonephilbabb
06/07/2010, 4:18 PM
Watched Fahy and SnF yesterday, Fahy completely dominated them and the scoreline probably looks good for SnF. Fahy have turned the corner now and if they play as well against Celtic this weekend should beat them at home.

Good to see Declan Tigue back at the game, hope to see him back on the pitch again soon too :ball:

Id have to agree with your comments re Fahy,they have had a few good results lately and are now out of the dreaded bottom four,I think Straide will find it tough as will ballyheane and celtitic.Celtic are a litlle bit jekyll and hyde,you do know what to expect from them.Big Game v fahy next week for them.I have to say that with fahy being at home that they will take the three points.

FahyForever
06/07/2010, 5:11 PM
It's interesting to see the season run-ins the teams struggling for survival have. I think it will be a very close run thing between Fahy and S+F for the safety spot. Both teams have to play the top five in their last seven games. The two games against Swinford may be pivotal. Celtic have arguably the easiest run in.

theboy
12/07/2010, 8:41 AM
It's interesting to see the season run-ins the teams struggling for survival have. I think it will be a very close run thing between Fahy and S+F for the safety spot. Both teams have to play the top five in their last seven games. The two games against Swinford may be pivotal. Celtic have arguably the easiest run in.

These are the remaining fixtures for the Celtic, Fahy, S&F

Celtic:
swinford,ballina,manulla,ballyheane,snugboro,westp ort

S&F:
ballyheane, westport, erris, swinford, manulla, snugboro

Fahy:
ballina, ballyheane,westport,erris,swinford, manulla

all 3 have some of the top teams to play so i can this goin to the last 2 games.

GoodFootball
12/07/2010, 12:37 PM
These are the remaining fixtures for the Celtic, Fahy, S&F

Celtic:
swinford,ballina,manulla,ballyheane,snugboro,westp ort

S&F:
ballyheane, westport, erris, swinford, manulla, snugboro

Fahy:
ballina, ballyheane,westport,erris,swinford, manulla

all 3 have some of the top teams to play so i can this goin to the last 2 games.

Ballyheane have SnF, Fahy, Ballina, Celtic, Westport and Erris...could potentially still stay up as they have to play all the teams round them

theboy
12/07/2010, 1:07 PM
Thats true. goin to be interesting to see what happens. ballina at the other end seem to be in a good run of form. westport play manulla this thursday so a win for them would put them back in pole position.

thekop
12/07/2010, 3:41 PM
Ballyheane have SnF, Fahy, Ballina, Celtic, Westport and Erris...could potentially still stay up as they have to play all the teams round them

Its goin to be a tight finish for the 4 teams involved, ballyheane, s&f, fahy and celtic. 2 wins or 2 loss's will make the difference. time will tell...

Round Tower
16/07/2010, 10:11 AM
Why was last nights Super league and the Weastaro cup games abanened last night.

16/07/2010, 12:02 PM
Why was last nights Super league and the Weastaro cup games abanened last night.
I imagine because of the torrential rain around the West of the County.

onlyonephilbabb
17/07/2010, 4:08 PM
Its goin to be a tight finish for the 4 teams involved, ballyheane, s&f, fahy and celtic. 2 wins or 2 loss's will make the difference. time will tell...

Id have to agree with you that it will be a tight finish,If any team wins two or loses two I would not rule manulla or swinford out of the equation

onlyonephilbabb
19/07/2010, 10:17 AM
Id have to agree with you that it will be a tight finish,If any team wins two or loses two I would not rule manulla or swinford out of the equation

Any Results from the weekend

Explicit
25/07/2010, 1:58 PM
Anyone know why the Celtic/Ballina game was postponed last night?