View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2010
pixiehead
12/04/2010, 2:42 PM
Fahy Lads
I hear we will now play you next week!!!! What happenend the wedding Bells? Is it on towns pitch??
FahyForever
12/04/2010, 4:30 PM
Fahy Lads
I hear we will now play you next week!!!! What happenend the wedding Bells? Is it on towns pitch??
That was last weekend! It's on town's pitch alright. See you then..
pixiehead
19/04/2010, 3:23 PM
Cant believe theres no movement on this forum after the weekend?
What did you think of Game yeasterday Fahy Lads
Draw was a fair result i think?
Looks like Swinford mean Buisness this year!!!
robben 11
19/04/2010, 5:46 PM
wow seriously no interest at all this year.. celtic 0-2 straide& foxford fair result paul moran and ashley atkinson with the goals in 1st half. celtic young and fit will cause teams problems but didnt really cause our keeper much trouble at all lot of possession no end product... fahy next always tough game..
GoodFootball
19/04/2010, 9:12 PM
Cant believe theres no movement on this forum after the weekend?
What did you think of Game yeasterday Fahy Lads
Draw was a fair result i think?
Looks like Swinford mean Buisness this year!!!
Thought we were very rusty in the first half, didn't work as hard as we could've but still had the better chances. Was harsh penalty seen as the ball was won before the man was taken. Not many chances for Fahy and no shots to save for our keeper either.
Second half was different, we came out fresher looking and got the goal back, again the ref gave a dodgy penalty to Snugboro, keeper and striker both took eye off ball and clashed, no. 9 again making a meal out of it and winning his second peno. We showed battling qualities in a very physical game after that and deserved to get the equaliser. Probably had more chances, but goals win games and we didn't take enough of them to win.
Having played in the game, I was not happy leaving the pitch with less than 3 points, thought we deserved it, but maybe a draw was a fair result from an unbiased point of view.
Were ye happy with draw?
GoodFootball
19/04/2010, 9:16 PM
wow seriously no interest at all this year.. celtic 0-2 straide& foxford fair result paul moran and ashley atkinson with the goals in 1st half. celtic young and fit will cause teams problems but didnt really cause our keeper much trouble at all lot of possession no end product... fahy next always tough game..
Looking forward to game with S & F, hopefully we can improve on a poor record against ye, tough one indeed ;)
Thought we were very rusty in the first half, didn't work as hard as we could've but still had the better chances. Was harsh penalty seen as the ball was won before the man was taken. Not many chances for Fahy and no shots to save for our keeper either.
Second half was different, we came out fresher looking and got the goal back, again the ref gave a dodgy penalty to Snugboro, keeper and striker both took eye off ball and clashed, no. 9 again making a meal out of it and winning his second peno. We showed battling qualities in a very physical game after that and deserved to get the equaliser. Probably had more chances, but goals win games and we didn't take enough of them to win.
Having played in the game, I was not happy leaving the pitch with less than 3 points, thought we deserved it, but maybe a draw was a fair result from an unbiased point of view.
Were ye happy with draw?
Draw was a fair result in the end. both keepers had very little to do throughout the game really. On the first Pen little bit harsh but he did come through the back off him. As the ref gave the pen it should have been red for the defender as he was last man. ref wasnt the best anyway, making up his own rules in the game. Ask for a foul throw and he gives ye a free kick, whatever thats about.
it was a good but fair battle and a good kick start to the season for both teams. thats a point more from last seasons total for us anyway so were happy out :o
pixiehead
21/04/2010, 7:11 AM
Were ye happy with draw?
I think if you pick up a point in your first game thats away from home its not bad. Credit for the moneen surface it was the best ive seen it in a long time if not quite hard under foot! By the way Notts County are still looking for their crest back Fahy :laugh:
pixiehead
21/04/2010, 7:25 AM
I think if you pick up a point in your first game thats away from home its not bad. Credit for the moneen surface it was the best ive seen it in a long time if not quite hard under foot! By the way Notts County are still looking for their crest back Fahy :laugh:
THIEFS!!!! :messed:
GoodFootball
22/04/2010, 9:05 AM
THIEFS!!!! :messed:
That's got yellow background, ours has white ;)
They can't afford to go after us anyway...
FahyForever
22/04/2010, 12:21 PM
That's got yellow background, ours has white ;)
They can't afford to go after us anyway...
And it was exposed on this same thread last year anyway. Huge scandal that it is. :rolleyes:
murphs jewels
23/04/2010, 10:13 AM
Westaro Cup 2010
A.Swinford v Iorras Aontaithe
B.Straide & Foxford Utd v Westport Utd
C.Castlebar Celtic v Manulla
D.Snugboro Utd v Ballyheane
E.Ballina Town v Fahy Rovers
R2
D v E
pixiehead
23/04/2010, 8:27 PM
And it was exposed on this same thread last year anyway. Huge scandal that it is. :rolleyes:
You will always be exposed by Pixiehead investigates!! :cool2:
FahyForever
26/04/2010, 10:28 AM
Erris 4 - Celtic 1
Swinford 1 - Westport 3
Manulla 3 - Ballyheane 2
Snugboro 0 - Ballina 2
S+F 1 - Fahy 1
No big surprises so far in the league I think, unless you consider Swinford beating Ballyheane last week a surprise, which I dont. I actually think the league is basically the way it will stay, in terms of there being three distinct groups. The first has Ballina Westport and Erris, who will battle for the top three spots. The second group contains Manulla and S+F, who are between the top group and the bottom group of five, four of whom will be relegated (unless a B Team comes in the top two in the Premier league). Anyone have an opinion on that assessment? Do you agree that it looks like Fahy, Snugboro, Celtic, Ballyheane and Swinford will fight for survival? Or might S+F or Manulla become involved? I think S+F are strong enough to pull free of this group and also have some players coming back, or so I'm told. Manulla are traditionally good enough to avoid any difficulty but I have no idea what they are like this year to be honest. Be nice to get some debate going though, this thread is on it's arse.
GoodFootball
26/04/2010, 12:24 PM
Erris 4 - Celtic 1
Swinford 1 - Westport 3
Manulla 3 - Ballyheane 2
Snugboro 0 - Ballina 2
S+F 1 - Fahy 1
No big surprises so far in the league I think, unless you consider Swinford beating Ballyheane last week a surprise, which I dont. I actually think the league is basically the way it will stay, in terms of there being three distinct groups. The first has Ballina Westport and Erris, who will battle for the top three spots. The second group contains Manulla and S+F, who are between the top group and the bottom group of five, four of whom will be relegated (unless a B Team comes in the top two in the Premier league). Anyone have an opinion on that assessment? Do you agree that it looks like Fahy, Snugboro, Celtic, Ballyheane and Swinford will fight for survival? Or might S+F or Manulla become involved? I think S+F are strong enough to pull free of this group and also have some players coming back, or so I'm told. Manulla are traditionally good enough to avoid any difficulty but I have no idea what they are like this year to be honest. Be nice to get some debate going though, this thread is on it's arse.
I agree except I'm not convinced that S & F are good enough not to be involved in the relegation battle.
Back n the game
30/04/2010, 12:01 PM
Swinford v Iorras Aontaithe Home
Straide & Foxford Utd v Westport Utd Home
Castlebar Celtic P v P Manulla
Snugboro Utd v Ballyheane Away
Ballina Town v Fahy Rovers Home
pixiehead
05/05/2010, 7:58 AM
................tumbleweed..................:dead-flower:
05/05/2010, 10:28 AM
................tumbleweed..................:dead-flower:
Well why don't you post something and try and get it going again?
Ballyheane seem to have got a few players back in action and should be allright if they can keep them playing all season.
The Don
05/05/2010, 12:27 PM
Ballyheane seem to have got a few players back in action and should be allright if they can keep them playing all season.
Ballyheane are masters of just doing enough and looking at their team sheet against Snugboro they looked stronger than previous weeks, I hope they can go on and string a few good results together.
Bestie
05/05/2010, 10:48 PM
Ballyheane are masters of just doing enough and looking at their team sheet against Snugboro they looked stronger than previous weeks, I hope they can go on and string a few good results together.
I would say that Ballyheane need to win another couple of games if they are to survive in the Super league, but looking at the paper it would appear as if they are getting back some more of their players. Has Sean Fahy and Peter Burke finished playing.
Manulla could be the surprise packet this season although it is hard to see anyone toppling Ballina again this season. They have a lot of scoring power in Duffy and Lavelle.
I would say that Ballyheane need to win another couple of games if they are to survive in the Super league, but looking at the paper it would appear as if they are getting back some more of their players. Has Sean Fahy and Peter Burke finished playing.
Peter Burke did not even finish last season with them & I hadnt noticed Sean Fahy missing. Two players that would make any superleague side and hard for Ballyheane to replace I imagine.
Joe and Pixie are ye getting a little worried about things yet or have ye more players to return.
10/05/2010, 4:03 PM
Joe and Pixie are ye getting a little worried about things yet or have ye more players to return.
A little worried. I didn't see the Ballina or Ballyheane games but the Westport result was fully expected. Don't think we have anyone to come back. The team on Sunday was patched up though, couple had flu, puking at half time. Finished with 10 because of injuries. The only bright spot, is looking at the table, a win puts us up to 6th. Where that win comes from is the question.
Back n the game
10/05/2010, 4:18 PM
A little worried. I didn't see the Ballina or Ballyheane games but the Westport result was fully expected. Don't think we have anyone to come back. The team on Sunday was patched up though, couple had flu, puking at half time. Finished with 10 because of injuries. The only bright spot, is looking at the table, a win puts us up to 6th. Where that win comes from is the question.
Just going to be a major scrap with everyone around ye by all accounts. Still, looking at the Boro squad they have several players from last years 'B' side and they struggled in Division 2 let alone in the SL. A bit like Celtic 'B' last year. It's a huge ask for guys who have to step up to a mighty bigger stage than playing in the lower tiers of Mayo football. Like you Joe, can't see where ye are going to pick up many points, only thing is that ye are in similar company at the bottom without too much to choose between the bottom 4-5 teams
theboy
10/05/2010, 4:21 PM
With 4 or 5 games played now at this stage, is the league startin to take shape of how it'll finish?? of is it to early. i no there's a few teams to play a couple of game so maybe by then it'll be easier to see. by the half way mark of the season i think things will be pretty clear.
pixiehead
10/05/2010, 4:23 PM
Look its no secret that we have lost almost all of last years Squad bar 5-6. The rest of the squad is last years B team. There are a couple of clubs in similar situations. Nobody expects us to get off the bottom anyway. The gaffer and the lads are doing their best but the odds are stacked against us. Sometimes you know its not going to be a nice day :thunder: but you put on your hat :hat: and jacket and get the fcuk on with it :arrogant:
Just going to be a major scrap with everyone around ye by all accounts. Still, looking at the Boro squad they have several players from last years 'B' side and they struggled in Division 2 let alone in the SL. A bit like Celtic 'B' last year. It's a huge ask for guys who have to step up to a mighty bigger stage than playing in the lower tiers of Mayo football. Like you Joe, can't see where ye are going to pick up many points, only thing is that ye are in similar company at the bottom without too much to choose between the bottom 4-5 teams
its basically a B team we have but theres no point in complaining about it. we knew what it was going to be like for the season ahead and we deserve to be were we are now. its just up to the whole team to stick together and fight for survival. most games are won in Mayo if you get stuck into other teams and thats something we havent been doing as yet. but we are still working in training and numbers are still high so we just need to keep working at it and see what happens.
theboy
11/05/2010, 8:18 AM
Fair play for stickin at it lads, alot would have pulled the plug when they knew it was goin to be tough. but there's along way to go yet for alot of teams, so who knows how it'll finish at the bottom assuming that this 8 team league goes ahead, as no one seems to no what the story is..
Cloggs
14/05/2010, 8:47 PM
its basically a B team we have but theres no point in complaining about it. we knew what it was going to be like for the season ahead and we deserve to be were we are now. its just up to the whole team to stick together and fight for survival. most games are won in Mayo if you get stuck into other teams and thats something we havent been doing as yet. but we are still working in training and numbers are still high so we just need to keep working at it and see what happens.
maybe this has already been explained but why are yee missing so many of last years squad?apologies if so-just curious
Back n the game
16/05/2010, 7:54 PM
No major shocks this weekend Swinford with a Credible draw with S n F, Big two playing out a stalemate, Iorras still with 100% start and Boro fall to another defeat, failing to score again. Only 3 goals so far this season and 2 of them comming from the penalty spot, only so much any group of players can take, will be harder and harder to keep any level of morale without guys throwing in the towel.
maybe this has already been explained but why are yee missing so many of last years squad?apologies if so-just curious
From last years A squad:
Stevie G and Wally and Johnny Maloney went to Celtic
Niall Gallagher went to Westport.
Polish Dave went back to Polond
Paul Flanagan moved back to Dublin.
Kevin Curry and Mark McGreal went travelling.
Johnny Griffin wouldnt pay the membership so he was told to go.
All of these bar 1 would have been on the starting 11.
Cloggs
18/05/2010, 11:26 AM
From last years A squad:
Stevie G and Wally and Johnny Maloney went to Celtic
Niall Gallagher went to Westport.
Polish Dave went back to Polond
Paul Flanagan moved back to Dublin.
Kevin Curry and Mark McGreal went travelling.
Johnny Griffin wouldnt pay the membership so he was told to go.
All of these bar 1 would have been on the starting 11.
jaysus thats rough.it wouldn't have been so bad if just a few of those lads had left but with so many gone it does decimate the team.hopefully yee'll be able to get over that and string a few results together(obviously hopefully not at our expense!!)
yellowmonkey
18/05/2010, 5:51 PM
No major shocks this weekend Swinford with a Credible draw with S n F, Big two playing out a stalemate, Iorras still with 100% start and Boro fall to another defeat, failing to score again. Only 3 goals so far this season and 2 of them comming from the penalty spot, only so much any group of players can take, will be harder and harder to keep any level of morale without guys throwing in the towel.
Everybody thats here now knew it was going to be tough and they actually all want to play for Snugboro or they wouldnt be here so why would they throw in the towel. I rather have lads that will stick with you through thick and thin, at the club then the few who just used our club and p***ed off again!
theboy
18/05/2010, 10:49 PM
Everybody thats here now knew it was going to be tough and they actually all want to play for Snugboro or they wouldnt be here so why would they throw in the towel. I rather have lads that will stick with you through thick and thin, at the club then the few who just used our club and p***ed off again!
Is it true that your manager has stepped down?
galactico
19/05/2010, 11:07 AM
boro having a rough time and the rumours are flying already.......can someone from snugboro confirm or deny that your managers has left?????
Mick is still in charge
pixiehead
19/05/2010, 1:24 PM
Is it true that your manager has stepped down?
Typical castlebar rumour mill. Id expect nothing less from the west anyhow :lying:
Back n the game
19/05/2010, 3:06 PM
Well done to the lads and i hope ye can get a couple points on the board. I was only suggesting that if things kept going against ye that i would be hard to keep guys motivated and keep them interested. Iorras away will be a tough one but as you say "i'd rather have the lads that stick with you" instead of the free loaders and guys looking for an easy ride
galactico
19/05/2010, 4:07 PM
Mick is still in charge
only asking! heard it in town saturday night that he had gone.:confused:
yellowmonkey
20/05/2010, 3:52 PM
only asking! heard it in town saturday night that he had gone.:confused:
You heard it town saturday nite.......Sure that explains everything :rolleyes::can:
Just thinking we should start a few loaders league and how many pretty boys are on it.
Lets start with the Heane's Alan Mchugh.
Got through three clubs already but still has a lot of catching up to do to outdo his old lad.
Any others? The Boro must have a pretty boy league of their own by now surely.
In all seriousness though it does may our game look amateurish with all the promiscuity doing the rounds.:)
pixiehead
21/05/2010, 2:14 PM
Just thinking we should start a few loaders league and how many pretty boys are on it.
Lets start with the Heane's Alan Mchugh.
Got through three clubs already but still has a lot of catching up to do to outdo his old lad.
Any others? The Boro must have a pretty boy league of their own by now surely.
In all seriousness though it does may our game look amateurish with all the promiscuity doing the rounds.:)
Well the clubs arent exactly turning them away either! No pretty boys at the Boro now but quite a few came along for the publicity 2 years ago and fecked off when the novelty wore off :disdain:
galactico
23/05/2010, 3:24 PM
it was one of your own players that mentioned it to me ...wont give his name but he was sure of what he was saying,i, like everybody else would like to see boro get a few points on board{not at the expense of my own club} the amount of players you have lost since last season would cripple most teams .fair play to ye if its your B team thats togging out every week.meet ye in a couple of weeks.;)
23/05/2010, 6:43 PM
it was one of your own players that mentioned it to me ...wont give his name but he was sure of what he was saying,i, like everybody else would like to see boro get a few points on board{not at the expense of my own club} the amount of players you have lost since last season would cripple most teams .fair play to ye if its your B team thats togging out every week.meet ye in a couple of weeks.;)To be fair to Mick, most people, myself included, would of walked by now.
He walked into an impracttible situation with all the players leaving. That combined with 4 being relegated means that if he manages to keep the club in the Super League, it'd be on a par with winning the damned thing. Hopefully, fingers crossed, he stays for the remainder of his contract. Yesterday will of been tough, 2-0 up away to Iorras and to lose 3-2 thanks to a contestible penalty. Sickener
pixiehead
24/05/2010, 3:23 PM
Biggest shock of weekend Celtic beating ballina 2-0 with only 11 players and no bench! Heard their new manager gave a great speech before the game which was key to the win.
Snugboro Robbed of a point down in Erris
Swinford mean business with win over Manulla. Dont think they get the credit they deserve
swinfordfc
24/05/2010, 3:42 PM
Biggest shock of weekend Celtic beating ballina 2-0 with only 11 players and no bench! Heard their new manager gave a great speech before the game which was key to the win.
Swinford mean business with win over Manulla. Dont think they get the credit they deserve
Who's Celtic new manager pixiehead?
SalthillLegend
25/05/2010, 11:44 AM
Yeah....the managers speech won the game all right. Not the eleven players who ran their ***** off.
In relation to Swinford and prob the rest of the teams they should all be judged at the end of the season.
SalthillLegend
25/05/2010, 12:46 PM
I would imagine the Mangers speech would have maybe 10% to do with the win. The rest was down to the players and his selection and tactics.
pixiehead
26/05/2010, 7:21 AM
Jeez arent we all guns blazing Mr 2 posts!!!! With regard to Celtic I was talking to a mate who played the game so Im just relaying what I was told if you would read my post properly.Im sure this selection and tactics were also to the fore. I never said swinford would win the league or anything just that they are showing their worth for mid table. Now relax in future and dont introduce yourself on to a forum like a baby with nappy rash! Legend ehh? :sarcastic: