View Full Version : Turner's future
Kevin L
30/01/2010, 10:15 PM
Hi Inside Man,
We all make mistakes in life and the Club I'm sure has made a few last year as well.
I'm also sure you have made one or two also.
There is quite a number of the present committee stepping down at the AGM, so there is nothing to stop you becoming a member of the committee and adding your 2p worth at the meetings. There is no harm in constructive criticism and if you really have Sligo Rovers interests at heart, why dont you join up and give us a hand?
rovers100%
30/01/2010, 10:55 PM
i was not having a dig at you kevin, just this whole situation is like watching lost on the tv.
Kevin L
30/01/2010, 11:31 PM
Rovers 1,
This leads me on to our next Fundraiser.
We are charging 5 euro into the AGM and 100 euro to get out!
You will have to wait for the AGM but a lot will depend on tomorrow night.
Rovers 100% - no problem.
redarmyfaction
01/02/2010, 9:43 PM
I was never very happy about Turner signing, the man is a headcase and I doubt he had the wit to come up with a scheme to defraud us of wages and signing on fee until Sham's were ready to sign him. However as he seems to have been paid, trained and under contract we should do quite nicely out of the farce. A third party has no right of veto i.e. the FAI over the right of Sligo Rovers to make enforceable contracts. If the FAI ruled had ruled that Turncoat could not play for Rovers this year for whatever reason according to their rules it would not free the club from their obligations to him, the club would be legally obliged to pay him until he was signed by someone else and compensate him for annoyance, costs expended etc. Turner would not have to suffer for the imcompetence or negligence practiced by Sligo Rovers that is the whole point of contract law, so he is clear breach of his contract, the FAI registration thing is the merest figleaf I am suprised the New Model Army would be so reckless to engage in such a project and if our club has an inkling of balls they will nail the smug so and so's.
akearins
08/02/2010, 9:02 PM
Anyone hear anything about what happening/happened with Turner and the whole Shams move. He was in Abbottstown with Shams on Wednesday last according to a shams fan. So what happened? Why the silence? Did anything happen?
Shedzer
08/02/2010, 10:31 PM
I know one thing the dubs will win the situation over Turner there is no way the FAI will back againist the so called big clubs. Shams will get thier way and I for one will hate them for it.
08/02/2010, 11:27 PM
I know one thing the dubs will win the situation over Turner there is no way the FAI will back againist the so called big clubs. Shams will get thier way and I for one will hate them for it.
Jaysus, i hope you hadn't to wait for this to happen to start hating Shams.
Shedzer
08/02/2010, 11:52 PM
Jaysus, i hope you hadn't to wait for this to happen to start hating Shams.
Only a young rovers fan I am not blessed with your experiences But I know that Shamrock Rovers are not to be liked by Rovers fans.
Guts&Glory
09/02/2010, 12:08 PM
Only a young rovers fan I am not blessed with your experiences But I know that Shamrock Rovers are not to be liked by Rovers fans.
You are young.....but you will learn Danielson......
09/02/2010, 12:58 PM
Please ! Shams. There's only one Rovers.
Only1Rovers
09/02/2010, 4:36 PM
Rovers Chairman Kelly said the club would let us know when the whole thing had played out and that the club couldn't comment on the matter until it was all settled. He did add, he wouldn't let Shams or the FAI walk over Rovers. (There was tears in my eyes at this stage.... Kelly for Ireland!)
sligofan4ever
09/02/2010, 7:58 PM
This forum was alot better while you were banned.
Edit: Have you heard what might happen to Turner or is that all you've heard for now ?
sligorover
09/02/2010, 8:17 PM
This thread has become completley demeaning.
Its very simple. Sligs dropped the ball on his registration using incorrect forms. He was never a Sligs player, and whats worse is you all knew there was an issue. Rovers approached an out of contract player and offered him a contract, which he accepted. All this talk of 'tapping up' and banning Turner might make you feel better, but your club was fully aware he was in a limbo and didn't do anything to secure the registration properly.
If you guys can't lodge a standard contract, thats not Rovers or Turners problem.
That just isn't true. If he had no contract here it wouldn't be going to mediation. Shamrock Rovers and Chris f*cking Turner tried to pull a fast one assuming that the FAI, as always, would do their best to allow the Dublin club away with breaking rules. Hopefully both parties will be adequatly punished for this.
red bellied
09/02/2010, 8:25 PM
Turner for ban?
red bellied
09/02/2010, 8:30 PM
Wait and see....
Dixie Dean
09/02/2010, 8:34 PM
If he was a free agent then why didnt the FAI simply register him when he "signed" for shams?
redbuli
09/02/2010, 8:42 PM
Turner will play for Rovers, and push hard for silveware. Sligs will learn a valuable lesson about getting players to sign the standard contracts and registering them appropriately.
If your fans turn this into a victimhood issue rather than ask why their club allowed this to happen, thats your problem.
Any issue here is between your club and him over money you paid him, but that was your own foolishness in my opinion.
banned on this forum for "winding up the sligs" and the whats the first thing you do when you come back
surely thats another ban? moderators?
laughable
sligofan4ever
09/02/2010, 8:48 PM
banned on this forum for "winding up the sligs" and the whats the first thing you do when you come back
surely thats another ban? moderators?
Time for sligoman to do what he does best and moderate :)
Cant understand how one can be as stupid as to do that on a public forum, say they were winding people up, thats just getting yourself a straight ban. The worst thing about this pre-season is not only did stolen kits and broken windows take away from funds, but also the fact Turner has pretty much pulled a fast one on us and ****ing off elsewhere with alot of money he got here, for both the fee he was signed on and the wages he was on while he was here.
09/02/2010, 8:55 PM
If he was a free agent then why didnt the FAI simply register him when he "signed" for shams?
They did."However, the player's contractual situation is disputed by a second club and the FAI will not be in a position to register the player until this issue has been resolved."
http://www.loi.ie/index.php/about/press-office/1388-fai-statement-regarding-chris-turner
So they didn't register him...
redbuli
09/02/2010, 8:57 PM
So you agree that this is between you and Turner over paying him in absence of a contract?
So why try and block his move after it happened?
if Shams were stupid enough to try and register a player who has a contract with another club, what do u expect?.. maybe u should go ask your club why the move hasnt gone through
redbuli
09/02/2010, 9:06 PM
Read what I said. He was registered, then there was an objection, which the FAI are obliged to investigate.
If the objection had not happened he would be a Rovers player, if the FAI thought he was ever a Sligs player, they would have blocked it under the three clubs rule, not because of the Sligs complaint.
You made a balls of this, stop looking for people to blame.
"This rule dictates that a player can be registered with a maximum of three clubs during one season but can only play for two of them"
he never played for rovers, try and keep up with the actual rules if your gonna use them in your argument
sligorover
09/02/2010, 9:16 PM
Its been well established he didn't have a contract with Sligs. You all knew this months before Rovers signed him.
No, we were unsure about clauses in the contract due to his statement about signing for Seanie. He is under contract here, this will be shown in coming days. Yes he will play for Shams, hes a f*cking disgrace to the game of football and a joke of a man, he'll fit in well there.
CarrickFan
09/02/2010, 9:26 PM
No, we were unsure about clauses in the contract due to his statement about signing for Seanie. He is under contract here, this will be shown in coming days. Yes he will play for Shams, hes a f*cking disgrace to the game of football and a joke of a man, he'll fit in well there.
Exactly....let him go to Shams the player and club are well matched..lets get the best revenge by getting the 3 points when we meet.
10/02/2010, 10:18 AM
BYCTWD is banned. Get over it and get back on topic.
dublinred
10/02/2010, 10:18 AM
I heard ages ago that Turner ws signed according to the offical documents in place at the time and these were sent into the FAI , at a later date the FAI changed the forms so not our problem otherwise every player registered in the league last year would be a free agent.
thesilverfox
10/02/2010, 12:13 PM
can everyone just stop talkin about turner, he's gone, he wont be playing for us, who gives a s**t if he's playing for shams or not. worry aboout the players we have working hard for the club now in pre season and wanting to play for us. let the management committee/chairman deal with the situation and lets talk about the players who want to be with the club
somebody got out of bed the wrong side this morning:D
can everyone just stop talkin about turner, he's gone, he wont be playing for us, who gives a s**t if he's playing for shams or not. worry aboout the players we have working hard for the club now in pre season and wanting to play for us. let the management committee/chairman deal with the situation and lets talk about the players who want to be with the club
Fair enough CF, but people are concerned, and legitimately so imo, about the monies paid to Turner over the period he was "signed" to the club and how is this going to be recouped.
This is a subtantial amount of money I would imagine, so if it has been lost then supporters have a right to ask questions about what happened.
I know the club has said it is being dealt with but the club also told us that he was a Sligo Rovers player and that hasn't exactly proved to be the case.
Fabrizio
10/02/2010, 4:46 PM
CF is 100% correct, CT will not be playing for Sligo Rovers this year! its old news! I think the Shamrock Rovers fan on here made so interesting points which could very well be true. I think we need to question why he wasnt signed to a water tight contract in the first place! This would have solved everything, Rovers might get small compensation but the fact of the matter is someone let the ball drop, and although CT has no integrity nor trustworthy-ness, something went wrong behind the scenes!
Well Red
10/02/2010, 4:58 PM
It would leave a very bad taste in my mouth if I thought part of the money I contribute to Lottery, Season Ticket and other fund raising, had gone to Turner in the off season and no way for the Rovers to get it back. It raises a serious question as to how the whole Turner thing was handled, I am not accusing anyone at this stage as we do not know what actually happened but if it turns out that we were led up the garden path by Turner, then an internal inquiry would need to take place to see that such an event never happens again. As I have not seen an official acccount of the situation from Rovers (dont think I missed it) I am prepared to hope for the best. Ideally we would have liked to have him on board with no strings attached but if as reported that he is gone to the Shams, then glad we have nothing got to do with him other than get some money back from someone.
Guts&Glory
12/02/2010, 12:12 PM
CF is 100% correct, CT will not be playing for Sligo Rovers this year! its old news! I think the Shamrock Rovers fan on here made so interesting points which could very well be true. I think we need to question why he wasnt signed to a water tight contract in the first place! This would have solved everything, Rovers might get small compensation but the fact of the matter is someone let the ball drop, and although CT has no integrity nor trustworthy-ness, something went wrong behind the scenes!
Turner signed the 2009 forms that were available last November after his Dundalk contract had run out. Rovers can hardly be expected to get him to sign a 2010 form that didn't exist at the time.
If Rovers were so wrong why haven't the FAI told them tough cheese Sligo he is a Shams player now ? As for BYCTWD making some interesting points - your having a laugh right? Theres a reason he is banned!!
neutrino
12/02/2010, 1:00 PM
When the club signed Turner, there was no indication that he was going to "change his mind" and turn his back on us. We all agreed it was a good piece of business getting him signed well before this season. The club have been shafted by Turner, who obviously used Sligo Rovers to supplement his pay between contracts, and I wouldnt lay any sort of blame with the club. If there was an inkling he was not committed to playing for us then the club would not have signed him. I ask myself, why he didnt sign for shams in the first place ? - all i can suggest his shams contract would have only started in pre-season while we would pay him straight away.
As has been said it's not cut and dry as it's taking the FAI a while to sort it out. It is galling that our contributions may have gone into turners pay packet but how was anyone to know this would happen. I expect the result of this will be Shamrock Rovers paying a transfer fee which should cover monies spent on turner. He wont ever play for us again and sure we'll get on fine without him. Should be a spicy encounter in the showgies when shams come to play. altho turner will prob bottle it and feign injury to avoid the forza wrath :D
altho turner will prob bottle it and feign injury to avoid the forza wrath :D
I'm sure that wrath will be partly in the form of a banner, which will be deemed offensive for some reason and result in another fine for the club a la the Boco/McGuinness incident.
lads, even though i know you dont particularly want him at the club at this stage, but i hope you take Turner and Shams to the cleaners.
There was a contract. They tapped him up, trying to pull a fast one. He broke the contract. Signing a contract is one thing, the FAI registering the contract is an entirely different matter, it doesnt invalidate the contract or the consideration you have paid on the contract. Surely Shams cant get away scot free AGAIN!
Congrats on the second banning by the way.
lads, even though i know you dont particularly want him at the club at this stage, but i hope you take Turner and Shams to the cleaners.
What's this? a Bohs fan wants us to take Shams to the cleaners??
I'm shocked and apalled!
Whatever about us taking them to the cleaners Stu, as far as I can see we must have a good case to recoup our losses.
What's this? a Bohs fan wants us to take Shams to the cleaners??
I'm shocked and apalled!
Whatever about us taking them to the cleaners Stu, as far as I can see we must have a good case to recoup our losses.
haha, purely in the interest of justice, Dong..... ;)
shamrock rovers, cleaners... an unintentional joke there too!
prodsc
12/02/2010, 10:46 PM
When the club signed Turner, there was no indication that he was going to "change his mind" and turn his back on us. We all agreed it was a good piece of business getting him signed well before this season. The club have been shafted by Turner, who obviously used Sligo Rovers to supplement his pay between contracts, and I wouldnt lay any sort of blame with the club. If there was an inkling he was not committed to playing for us then the club would not have signed him. I ask myself, why he didnt sign for shams in the first place ? - all i can suggest his shams contract would have only started in pre-season while we would pay him straight away.
As has been said it's not cut and dry as it's taking the FAI a while to sort it out. It is galling that our contributions may have gone into turners pay packet but how was anyone to know this would happen. I expect the result of this will be Shamrock Rovers paying a transfer fee which should cover monies spent on turner. He wont ever play for us again and sure we'll get on fine without him. Should be a spicy encounter in the showgies when shams come to play. altho turner will prob bottle it and feign injury to avoid the forza wrath :D
Club shafted is right, a fee is necessary, let's hope it is more than the wages.
Rumour has it, believe I heard it here first, that we've got Shams at home first game!!! Hope he doesn't do wot he did last game at Showgies!!
bingoballs
13/02/2010, 12:05 PM
It looks as though shams are holding out because they know he can't play for us now and we can't afford to pay his wages to just sit on the bench. Their behaviour has been disgraceful in this whole episode and the FAI should make an example out of them over it. Doubt it will happen though.
13/02/2010, 2:28 PM
It looks as though shams are holding out because they know he can't play for us now and we can't afford to pay his wages to just sit on the bench. Their behaviour has been disgraceful in this whole episode and the FAI should make an example out of them over it. Doubt it will happen though.
Why can't he play for us now?
bingoballs
13/02/2010, 2:55 PM
Would you welcome him back? I think he is a quality player and I was delighted we signed him but he has tried to make a pr*ck out of us and his commitment has to be questioned.
13/02/2010, 6:23 PM
The point is that, as things stand, we are the only team he can play for.
bingoballs
14/02/2010, 7:41 PM
Well hopefully shams pay us our compo and we can spend the money on a player that actually wants to play for us
Sean South
15/02/2010, 5:03 PM
I'm sure that wrath will be partly in the form of a banner, which will be deemed offensive for some reason and result in another fine for the club a la the Boco/McGuinness incident.
He isn't worth the effort.
if the FAI lets Turner away with his shenannigans, they will have lost all credibility. John Delaney was up on his high horses with the Henry saga preaching fair play. Let him show fair play to Rovers and the door to Turner. That kind of behaviour would not be tolerated in any place of employment.
He isn't worth the effort.
You're dead right. Scumbag.
Only1Rovers
16/02/2010, 9:04 AM
Nobody was as big a fan of Turner as I was.... I was over the moon when I heard he signed.... but he can go take a running jump at this stage... If I was a manager of any other club I'd now question whether he'd be a good signing. In a era when top (European) clubs are losing respect from their own fans because of players who show no commitment to the cause, I'm delighted we've the likes of Conor O'G part of Sligo Rovers... He may not have the ability or natural talent of Turner but I'd sooner finish mid-table with squad players who want to represent our club than someone like Turner who's gonna walk at the sign of a slightly better offer.
Guts&Glory
16/02/2010, 12:41 PM
Nobody was as big a fan of Turner as I was.... I was over the moon when I heard he signed.... but he can go take a running jump at this stage... If I was a manager of any other club I'd now question whether he'd be a good signing. In a era when top (European) clubs are losing respect from their own fans because of players who show no commitment to the cause, I'm delighted we've the likes of Conor O'G part of Sligo Rovers... He may not have the ability or natural talent of Turner but I'd sooner finish mid-table with squad players who want to represent our club than someone like Turner who's gonna walk at the sign of a slightly better offer.
Seanie C might arm wrestle you on that one!!!
any developments on this? Has Sligo lodged a complaint with the FAI over this?
well if he plays for Shams then surely it would be a case of them fielding an ineligible player (unless i took your post up incorrectly) and thus the FAI needing to deduct points (or whatever)? Has the FAI registered his Rovers or Shams contract?
My take: any court in the land would say that Rovers have a legally binding contract with Turner. It doesnt matter if the contract was the template used last year. The court would only look as to whether there was an agreement between Sligo and Turner. There certainly was. There is technically not even a need to reduce the terms to writing. The least Rovers can expect, if this is pursued through the courts, is that Shams will have to buy out his contract.
sligorover
19/02/2010, 9:48 PM
well if he plays for Shams then surely it would be a case of them fielding an ineligible player (unless i took your post up incorrectly) and thus the FAI needing to deduct points (or whatever)? Has the FAI registered his Rovers or Shams contract?
My take: any court in the land would say that Rovers have a legally binding contract with Turner. It doesnt matter if the contract was the template used last year. The court would only look as to whether there was an agreement between Sligo and Turner. There certainly was. There is technically not even a need to reduce the terms to writing. The least Rovers can expect, if this is pursued through the courts, is that Shams will have to buy out his contract.
Thats more or less my thinking on this aswell, we'll have to be getting something out of this. Far as I know he hasn't been registered for either club.
Thanks for refering to us as Rovers by the way, good to see a Dub getting the names right ;)
hey, im on your turf here... i play by your rules.... ;)