View Full Version : Turner's future
Captain2007
25/01/2010, 2:43 PM
Obviously, you've never seen him play.
played with and against him ;) obviously.........
Good luck to him, great player or not he has handled this whole situation in a poor way and shown zero respect for our club.
I'll be giving him plenty of abuse when he lines out against us for the dirty shams next year and I doubt I'll be on my own.
Jumped up nordie *****.
25/01/2010, 4:27 PM
Good luck to him, great player or not he has handled this whole situation in a poor way and shown zero respect for our club.
I'll be giving him plenty of abuse when he lines out against us for the dirty shams next year and I doubt I'll be on my own.
Jumped up nordie *****.
I do wish that posters on this board would get down off the fence.
Sure where's the fun in that.:D
redbuli
25/01/2010, 7:41 PM
serious amount of chinese whispers happening here, Shams just signed Dennehy up on website today, no mention of Chris Turner so that says to me the earlier rumour on here that he signed for Shams at the weekend isnt true, lets wait and see what happens, who knows could be a turner, russell midfield this season
Heard he is gone ! Signed for Shams Saturday.........Mercenary is polite term for this fella Im afraid.Good Riddenance to him!
rovers100%
25/01/2010, 8:44 PM
i find it hard to believe he has signed and not one shams fan on here gloating. if he had signed im sure we wud have loads of them on here telling us we are a small club and so on...... the tossers. if he stays i will be delighted and if he goes, he can go fuc himself the money grabbing nordie.
Guts&Glory
25/01/2010, 8:59 PM
A comment or press release from the club would nip any rumours in the bud - by not doing so they are allowing the situation drag on.
rovers100%
25/01/2010, 9:07 PM
id say we will be waiting till sundays forum, if he gone just come out with it. the longer they leave it the worse it will be on the club because they should be keeping their fans updated. hopefully no news is good news. maybe they are not releasing a statement as he is still a rovers player. wishfull thinking from me.....
akearins
25/01/2010, 9:30 PM
Got a text froma shams fan yesterday saying he was up but hadnt signed (said if he had isgned he'd know) today got another text saying he was up along with 3 Cork players and signed.Said Turner said he "didnt undertsnad what he was signing with us" figue that whatever way you want.
So lets wait and see.Maybe we will get a definite Sunday.
Is he here is he there, who knows ,anyway we are set up nicely regardless.
Jus keeping ye informedish
Any word on Russell?
25/01/2010, 10:07 PM
Turner said he "didnt undertsnad what he was signing with us"
I'd say there's a few things Chris doesn't understand.
red arrow
25/01/2010, 10:24 PM
the one question that needs to be answered is did he sign a contract for sligo rovers last november. if he put pen to paper & signed a contract then he is a sligo rovers player (according to the law of contract). if he now wants away as far as i know we are entitled to put a price on his head & if shams want to sign him then they pay for him. what needs to be answered is have the club offically got his signature on paper, if so then we can negotiate. please correct me if i'm wrong.
sligorover
25/01/2010, 10:35 PM
Yeah your right there. If Turner has agreed a two year contract then Rovers are entitled to keep him to it unless an agreement is reached with another club or a mutual termination is agreed. There may be a clause in the contract so that he can buy it out, but that should be set quite high anyways.
I'm a bit disappointed by the amount of abuse the lad is getting on here. As far as we know hes our player. If and when he leaves I'll be the first to condemn him, but its a bit uncalled for until then.
blackholesun
25/01/2010, 11:14 PM
Might well be confirmed tomorrow officially that he is Tallaght bound from what Ive heard!
bhs
CF1989
26/01/2010, 12:33 AM
hopefully he's gone. dont need tossers like him at the club....
Red 4 Eva...do you still have that banner you made for connor? X out the connor part and throw turner in i reckon
26/01/2010, 9:50 AM
like that banner lads.. what game did that make its debut in?
Redzer
26/01/2010, 9:55 AM
( From Rovers website. They couldn't have lied to us, could they???:rolleyes:)
Wednesday, 11 November 2009 16:55
Sligo Rovers are delighted to announce the signing of Chris Turner on a two-year-contract. Turner joins after a year at Dundalk and previous spells with Partick Thistle, Bohemians and the Bit o' Red.
Turner had a very successful 18-month spell with Rovers between January 2006 and July 2007. The midfielder was recently named in the PFAI team of the year for 2009. He will be unable to play in the FAI Cup final with Sporting Fingal due to being cup-tied.
Redie
26/01/2010, 10:35 AM
Why would they have to? You never registered him or his contract.... If your club was paying an unregistered player AFTER the FAI told you they had issues with the contract and rejected it, more fool you.
Far be it for me to question the word of someone who obviously knows everything about the affairs of every club in league but with my very limited knowledge of such matters it is my suspicion that registering a player and signing a contract with a player are two different processes and IF he signed a contract with us last November for two years then he has signed a contract -being registered to play is a another argument.
Its my understanding you didn't register that contract with the FAI for various reasons and as such he was never a Sligo player either contractually or registered.
Think about it - if he is announced at Rovers today as expected - that would mean he was with 3 clubs in a year and he couldn't sign. We know he signed for Dundalk, so that means that he was never officially at Sligo or Rovers have signed a player they can't play until June. I'll let you decide for yourself which scenario is more likely...
A contract is a contract, whether it was registered with the FAI is totally irrelevant, it is still binding on both parties after an offer and acceptance.
Redie
26/01/2010, 11:23 AM
Its my understanding you didn't register that contract with the FAI for various reasons and as such he was never a Sligo player either contractually or registered.
Think about it - if he is announced at Rovers today as expected - that would mean he was with 3 clubs in a year and he couldn't sign. We know he signed for Dundalk, so that means that he was never officially at Sligo or Rovers have signed a player they can't play until June. I'll let you decide for yourself which scenario is more likely...
God you've lost me there. He was signed with Dundalk last year/season I agree with you, that's one club.
When last season finished he signed a contract with Rovers for this year/season and next year/season and we can only assume at that time he was out of contract with Dundalk but anyway make that two clubs for last year/season.
Are you saying that if he now signs for Shams he will be with three clubs in the same year/season?:confused:
26/01/2010, 11:50 AM
Got a text froma shams fan yesterday saying he was up but hadnt signed (said if he had isgned he'd know) today got another text saying he was up along with 3 Cork players and signed.Said Turner said he "didnt undertsnad what he was signing with us" figue that whatever way you want.
So lets wait and see.Maybe we will get a definite Sunday.
Is he here is he there, who knows ,anyway we are set up nicely regardless.
Jus keeping ye informedish
Any word on Russell?
In England on trial with Chesterfield. Bohs are favourites to sign him if he returns although Sean Connor was talking to him over the phone about playing one more season in Galway also.
red arrow
26/01/2010, 12:33 PM
russell n the showgrounds today
26/01/2010, 1:33 PM
like that banner lads.. what game did that make its debut in?
For Sean Connor, in Dalymount '06. Think the Bohs stewards took it off the lad that made it. Might have to make something similiar for Tallaght;)
I'm very cleary saying he was never a Sigo player.
This can't be news to you....
It most certainly is, I've no involvement with Sligo Rovers F.C. apart from loving them to death.
Anyway reading between the lines of an article in one of our local newspapers today we will not see Turner lining out for us this season. We move on.
red_away
26/01/2010, 4:05 PM
I dont understand that with standard players contracts and documented regulations how this sort of debacle could happen?
fack turner!!!
We all agreed here that he was useless anyway.....we got Sir Danny Ventre!!!!
CF1989
26/01/2010, 4:51 PM
we got Sir Danny Ventre!!!!
alleluia!!
bingoballs
26/01/2010, 6:09 PM
We will see later, but keep telling yourself that..... :D
Your managers public courting of the player through the press was disgraceful in this whole episode. My contempt for him and shamrock rovers is growing by the minute.
rovers100%
26/01/2010, 6:11 PM
t’s understood midfielder Chris Turner is currently considering his options, with a possible move to a well-respected Dublin team. this is whats wrote in todays sligo weekender !!! when will we get a pre season without some sort of shambles appearing. how a lad apparantely on a 2 year contract can consider his options is beyond me.......
Shedzer
26/01/2010, 7:29 PM
t’s understood midfielder Chris Turner is currently considering his options, with a possible move to a well-respected Dublin team. this is whats wrote in todays sligo weekender !!! when will we get a pre season without some sort of shambles appearing. how a lad apparantely on a 2 year contract can consider his options is beyond me.......
And me can we not just have a ****ing quiet pre season like everyone else. Sign players, release player play a few friendlies is that to much to ****ing ask.
CarrickFan
26/01/2010, 7:43 PM
So he's not going to Shams then??
sligorover
26/01/2010, 7:45 PM
We will see later, but keep telling yourself that..... :D
You clearly have misunderstood how contract law works. If the player signed a contract with Sligo Rovers he is bound to it. Talking about about needing to register contracts with the league is bullsh1t of the highest order. This would mean treating footballers differently to other types of workers, which is illegal under European Law. A precedent for this kind of thing was set by the Bosman case.
Now...back in your box ;)
26/01/2010, 9:26 PM
You clearly have misunderstood how contract law works. If the player signed a contract with Sligo Rovers he is bound to it. Talking about about needing to register contracts with the league is bullsh1t of the highest order. This would mean treating footballers differently to other types of workers, which is illegal under European Law. A precedent for this kind of thing was set by the Bosman case.
Now...back in your box ;)
Well, it depends what's in the contract. Sometimes a contract doesn't kick in until registration. Put it this way, if Brittany promises to meet you in The Belfry on Saturday night and her Mammy won't let her out of the house 'cos she thinks your not good enough, would you not be better off looking for Kylie than chasing Brittany.
dublinred
26/01/2010, 9:49 PM
Well, it depends what's in the contract. Sometimes a contract doesn't kick in until registration. Put it this way, if Brittany promises to meet you in The Belfry on Saturday night and her Mammy won't let her out of the house 'cos she thinks your not good enough, would you not be better off looking for Kylie than chasing Brittany.
What happens if Brittany refuses to go to The Belfry?
Any else getting peed off with the whole turner situation , time to move on and focus on other quality new players we have signed.
MMVIII
26/01/2010, 10:12 PM
I'll await my judgement till its confirmed he's gone. Extremley poor form but its a job. No loyalties anywhere.
redbuli
26/01/2010, 10:32 PM
nothings confirmed yet which is odd, think he will eventually go to Shams though, bit bored of it now ..think Russell would be ideal replacement as well, bring on the new season
bingoballs
27/01/2010, 7:05 AM
This is a joke. I just feel like we are being walked over by shams and turner. Our own fault I suppose if his "contract" isnt what it should be but we need a quality central midfielder or it will be another season of mediocrity!
jamie m
27/01/2010, 10:16 AM
According to the Champion Turner is in pre-season training with Rovers but Cook is none the wiser as to whether Turner will still be the there at the start of the season. Responding to the speculation about the players future he said the stories are "perhaps not without foundation".
CF1989
27/01/2010, 1:06 PM
I think we're better off to f**k him.
keep your feelings to yourself
red_away
27/01/2010, 3:16 PM
This thread should be closed and await official confirmation of the situation!
Kevin L
28/01/2010, 10:51 PM
For the record, as I said before, Chris Turner has signed a contract with Sligo Rovers and is a Sligo Rovers player.
If there are any further developements, we will let you all know.
hoops1
29/01/2010, 12:50 PM
Turner has signed a 2 year deal with us.
Brian Boru
29/01/2010, 1:11 PM
Just when you thought you couldn't hate the shams any more.........
jamie m
29/01/2010, 1:17 PM
If this is true at least it brings some closure to the subject and the club can move on and concentrate on players who actually do want to play for the club. Do you know if a fee was involved?
Only1Rovers
29/01/2010, 1:25 PM
If this is true at least it brings some closure to the subject and the club can move on and concentrate on players who actually do want to play for the club. Do you know if a fee was involved?
It's fact, just spoke to Shams
Just when you thought you couldn't hate the shams any more.........
I know that's possibly tongue in cheek but much as I hate them they have done very little wrong in all this.
I hope we got something for him. The questions about all the wages we have paid him and the big signing on fee need to be answered.
Most worryingly, we are desperately short of quality in the centre of the pitch.
In my opinion our squad at the moment is much weaker than last season.
jamie m
29/01/2010, 1:38 PM
confirmed here
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1153-turner-a-walsh-sign-for-hoops
29/01/2010, 1:43 PM
Now that it's confirmed.
What an arsehole. Way I see it, he was whoring himself out to a club because he had a child on the way. Got a sweet signing on fee,that was him sorted, now he turns his back on the club who have helped him out big style. No loyalty at all.
Shame on you Chris.
Boo_Boy
29/01/2010, 1:53 PM
It's funny that he signed a contract with us but then suddenly ''his girl and child do not want to move to Sligo''.
Family meetings - Out of style since 98'.
F**k you Chris.
CarrickFan
29/01/2010, 2:02 PM
Very disappointed with this whole affair...disappointed with the player although i shouldnt be suprised..and also with the lack of information from the club!!...anyway as has been said its over now and we can move on...cant wait for the fixture list now to see when we get the chance to get the best revenge possible!!
I can only assume Forza are already at the drawing board for one of their brilliant banners and that it will feature Chris and Seanie.