View Full Version : Ireland ask FIFA to be 33rd team in WC
Pages :
[
6]
02/12/2009, 11:07 AM
(Agree other than that obviously)
Never a truer word, I have never come across a LOI fan moan ad nauseum about the injustice of a bad decision affecting their club, an outrageous undeserved defeat due to a cheat or moan about the FAI administration of the league. The good fellowship of the LOI clubs and aspiration to win on the field of play is evident to all. Their good grace coming from a superior intelligence is an example to all people who aspire to be called supporters.
02/12/2009, 11:16 AM
A leprechaun suit wearer who gets to 6 games a year and reckons they are a 'charachter' and an expert on football and ridiculed by those who are actually involved in football. See Davy Keogh as an extreme example of the phenomenon. Generally lacking the actual football experience and intellegence to chalk a bad decision down and move on. Which LoI fans have no choice but to do.
what blinkered delusions of granduer LOI fans have. Davy Keogh is heavily involved in junior football week in / week out in this country as are a lot of other posters here. to me that contributes far more to real football in this county than a LOI supporter sitting in a stand somewhere patting himself on the back for being a "real fan" :rolleyes:
02/12/2009, 11:25 AM
I was ridiculously hammered at the start of that match (weather sobered me up fairly quick though :p) - remind me again? Do remember a banner alright.
Did he say hello?From memory, it was a hastily prepared banner that said something along the lines of
"Where the f**k is Davy Keogh?....... On the [47] bus"
02/12/2009, 11:36 AM
Is Davy Keogh not a Bohs fan? Hazy memory of meeting him after a match in Dalymount once.
(Agree other than that obviously)
Pretty sure he is - seen his famous flag in Dalymount a few times for League games.
Just think what the course of events might have been if Ollie Byrne (RIP) had been the CEO of the FAI and this had happened under his leadership.
02/12/2009, 11:38 AM
But it is telling that most people still bleating on about this are the barstoolers.
Its a legitimate point.
sorry but how on earth do you know what their involvement in Irish football is?
02/12/2009, 11:57 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1202/blatters.html
i think that proves the point i was making, the fai realise that people haven't seen through blatter and are making them and the country looks like fools. Good to release this statement and also the point about "commercial or otherwise" i.e. seeding done to ensure adidas etc dont miss out.
02/12/2009, 11:59 AM
A leprechaun suit wearer who gets to 6 games a year and reckons they are a 'charachter' and an expert on football and ridiculed by those who are actually involved in football. See Davy Keogh as an extreme example of the phenomenon. Generally lacking the actual football experience and intellegence to chalk a bad decision down and move on. Which LoI fans have no choice but to do.
Good that the Ole Ole'rs have people like you to inform them and set them straight.
Maith an fear.
02/12/2009, 12:13 PM
Main thing that press release does for me is confirm that the FAI did moot the possibility ofa 33-team World Cup. Morons.
(And Blatter's a moron too)
02/12/2009, 12:21 PM
Excellent reponse by the FAI.
Wolfie
02/12/2009, 12:30 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1202/blatters.html
i think that proves the point i was making, the fai realise that people haven't seen through blatter and are making them and the country looks like fools. Good to release this statement and also the point about "commercial or otherwise" i.e. seeding done to ensure adidas etc dont miss out.
Strong and dignified response by FAI.
Blatter's deliberate attempts to belittle our situation is despicable.
In hindsight, any request regarding the 33rd team, no matter how informal should not have arisen - but Blatter's ploy to use this to discredit us is infuriating.
In fairness though, things are discussed/suggested/thrown out there in meetings in general and are never recorded in minutes/summary documents.
The key things one might take out of the release are that the:
1. Request was not made formally in writing.
2. The meeting was held in private.
Absolutely. But the FAI sat down with FIFA and at one stage suggested this. What sort of idiot suggests increasing the World Cup to a ridiculously awkward figure when the real issue - i.e. a ban for Henry - has been completely overlooked.
the key to this, which no one has said yet, and the FAI could legally challenge on is if in the meeting they SPECIFICALLY asked that it not be recorded in the minutes, but unfrotunately im assuming they did since it was going to be brought up at the meeting, unless of course they were like "well we dont want it recorded in the minutes but can you see what the other delegates think".
Great response by the FAI. They really are taking on the bully in the playground here, who looks for those scared to approach him and just agree. letting this drag on for as long as possible is a good thing, lets just hope that the FAIs response is seen in as many quarters as Blatters reponse. Again unfortunately I doubt it.
God Id love to get in a room with a few of those delegates and blatter and challenge them on all fronts. They come across as petulant impulsive kids who missed out on their formative teenage years....
02/12/2009, 12:35 PM
Absolutely. But the FAI sat down with FIFA and at one stage suggested this. What sort of idiot suggests increasing the World Cup to a ridiculously awkward figure when the real issue - i.e. a ban for Henry - has been completely overlooked.
Stu, dont know if you have any involvement on management committee or such, but you can request something not to be recorded in the minutes of a meeting, this goes back to spanners point above as well. The FAI never confirmed that they did or did not do this.
I can see it all now, blatter pushing a switch under the table that recorded delaney in the middle of saying informally that we be put in as a 33rd team and hoodwinks and smiles at delaney all the time. Then replays it 5 minutes before he stands in front of the room and regurgitates ad lib what delaney requested without actually mentioning the pretext to the dialogue.
02/12/2009, 12:37 PM
I heard there were over 20 possible scenarios discussed, of which this was one.
Where did you hear this? In the "LOI Supporters - No Room for inferior infidels that wave plastic hammers" forum?
02/12/2009, 12:47 PM
but you can request something not to be recorded in the minutes of a meeting
Mayhap, but I've no bothers with Blatter making a public fool out of Delaney, and I don't see why anyone else does either.
I'd love to hear the other solutions. Bump us up in seeding for the next World Cup? Pay us half the World Cup cash anyway?
Leeside Swagger
02/12/2009, 12:56 PM
Its just closing the stable door after the horse has bolted by the FAI. If they had came out with these 5 points a week ago they would had maintained their credibility. Complete joke of an association.
02/12/2009, 1:04 PM
Close. From a football journo. You might meet one or two and get talking to them if you can remove yourself from your barstool.
Unfortunately the games that i go to the journos are inaccessible, as are most of the players.
And before you come back with the obvious tired LOI retort, no I'm not talking about Ireland games.
02/12/2009, 1:04 PM
Close. From a football journo. You might meet one or two and get talking to them if you can remove yourself from your barstool.
in my experience a barstool is exactly where you will find most of our fottball journos..... allegedly
02/12/2009, 1:14 PM
Long experience. The Ole Ole by definition shows up twice a year in his Man Utd jersey and demands world class football while refusing stoically to do anything to assist in its development.
And I smell them on this thread.
Had to laugh, me too - isnt it so obvious:p:)
Greenforever
02/12/2009, 1:21 PM
This comment and using the name of someone you obviously dont know shows you up to be a prize fool.
Davy would not be seen dead in a leprechaun suit
Davy is very heavily involved with Iveagh Celtic
Davy is a Bohs follower and a regualr at Dalymount
And having been talking to him after the match his attitude then was it's over, move on.
Davy was around, like myself, long before the Leprechauns and Ole brigade, so I suggest you crawl back under your LOI rightous blanket and stay there, or research your post better the next time.
eaststand85
02/12/2009, 1:34 PM
Mods, can we please have a separate 'Fan Police' thread where whoevers wants to discuss the old 'What constitutes a real fan?' chestnut can do so without hijacking random threads on a regular basis as is currently the case? :rolleyes:
02/12/2009, 1:39 PM
The hero of those rancid chestnut lovers, Sepp Blatter, hits the International sports pages again.
FAI- blattered but not broken (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/dec/02/ireland-anger-sepp-blatter-33rd)
02/12/2009, 1:55 PM
Never a truer word, I have never come across a LOI fan moan ad nauseum about the injustice of a bad decision affecting their club, an outrageous undeserved defeat due to a cheat or moan about the FAI administration of the league. The good fellowship of the LOI clubs and aspiration to win on the field of play is evident to all. Their good grace coming from a superior intelligence is an example to all people who aspire to be called supporters.Ah now I wouldn't go that far.
Uncle_Joe
02/12/2009, 2:36 PM
That looks to be a fairly good response from the FAI. No one has any real idea in what context the request for the 33rd team was made, although its very mention left the FAI vulnerable to FIFA's response.
Too little too late it may be, but at least Blatter doesnt get away looking as smug.
Alf Honn
02/12/2009, 2:46 PM
Strong and dignified response by FAI.
Blatter's deliberate attempts to belittle our situation is despicable.
In hindsight, any request regarding the 33rd team, no matter how informal should not have arisen - but Blatter's ploy to use this to discredit us is infuriating.
Can't believe how people are buying this classic FAI back-tracking in their statement.
FAI today state the 33rd nation madness was 'explored only fleetingly' yet FIFA man makes it clear in his statement that it was an official request.
"Valcke said that, as Ireland had made an official request, the matter would have to go before Wednesday's organising committee meeting in Cape Town."
It was only after Blatter publicised the suggestion on Monday morning that the FAI decided to withdraw the request for it to be heard at Wed's convention.
There was no mention from Brady yesterday that the FAI withdrew this request.
The real issue here is that our overpaid and incompetent CEO went to meet Fifa and either he, or one of his colleagues who he's responsible for, was stupid enough to float this absurd idea.
The depiction of him in the Star as Oliver Twist begging was spot-on.
02/12/2009, 2:51 PM
'This is a matter of the disciplinary committee and it's not a question of this player or another - it was a blatant unfair playing and was shown all around the world, but I don't know what the outcome will be.'
Basically, because we were found out and it went all over hte world we will have to do something to show that em our eh fair play thingie is still intact,however if you can get away with it and you aren't shown all around the world then its ok to cheat. Its all fair play like.
And they aren't going to implement 5 officials or use video technology for the world cup.
YA well done lads, the eejits on here saying ah sure delaney and co should have used it to lobby fifa or to make a lasting chagne. Fifa are a law onto themselves they do not care about a small country like ireland missing out on the world cup due to cheating. Get over it, ya i think its not a case of get over it, its a case of accept the hypocrisy of it all. The final chapter indeed.
Junior
02/12/2009, 3:08 PM
'This is a matter of the disciplinary committee and it's not a question of this player or another - it was a blatant unfair playing and was shown all around the world, but I don't know what the outcome will be.'
Did he do a little snigger at that point?
dr_peepee
02/12/2009, 3:13 PM
Very concise well written statement. However it won't get the pedestal Blatter got. We need to fight fire with fire. The Official Statement should be pinned to the back of a volotile inciting statement from a sacrificial lamb in the FAI, And by that I mean someone should openly question the integrity of Blatter and FIFA as a man and organisation. No requesting of replays or asking for anything..... No ambiguity. Straight out. Blatter is corrupt... FIFA is corrupt.. Addidas.. Mafia... Fat Cats... Greco Roman... back Scratching.. Henry's a coward.. And finish up by citing that Paris will not be the last example of the corruption of the game...
Then face the sanctions knowing they'll never work in an official cappacity in the sport again... I vote Don Givens..
I'm serious about the first paragraph though.
02/12/2009, 3:17 PM
I'm serious about the first paragraph though.I'm serious about the second...:D
dr_peepee
02/12/2009, 3:21 PM
I'm serious about the second...:D
Ha!!:D There's many a true word said in jest!!!
02/12/2009, 3:30 PM
Thats because, many words are not actually spoken in jest ;)
02/12/2009, 4:18 PM
what blinkered delusions of granduer LOI fans have. Davy Keogh is heavily involved in junior football week in / week out in this country as are a lot of other posters here. to me that contributes far more to real football in this county than a LOI supporter sitting in a stand somewhere patting himself on the back for being a "real fan" :rolleyes:
You are of course 100% correct in your assertion that no LOI supporter is involved in junior football.
These crock of excrement arguments are pointless.
02/12/2009, 4:21 PM
You are of course 100% correct in your assertion that no LOI supporter is involved in junior football.
These crock of excrement arguments are pointless.
where is that assertion?
02/12/2009, 4:23 PM
Where did you hear this? In the "LOI Supporters - No Room for inferior infidels that wave plastic hammers" forum?
Yeah.
Meetings are held in Non Irish bars on away trips.
02/12/2009, 4:32 PM
where is that assertion?
pg. 15
I refer you to my earlier post about how pointless 'I'm a Superfan' arguments are.
Greenforever
02/12/2009, 4:58 PM
Can't believe how people are buying this classic FAI back-tracking in their statement.
FAI today state the 33rd nation madness was 'explored only fleetingly' yet FIFA man makes it clear in his statement that it was an official request.
"Valcke said that, as Ireland had made an official request, the matter would have to go before Wednesday's organising committee meeting in Cape Town."
It was only after Blatter publicised the suggestion on Monday morning that the FAI decided to withdraw the request for it to be heard at Wed's convention.
There was no mention from Brady yesterday that the FAI withdrew this request.
The real issue here is that our overpaid and incompetent CEO went to meet Fifa and either he, or one of his colleagues who he's responsible for, was stupid enough to float this absurd idea.
The depiction of him in the Star as Oliver Twist begging was spot-on.
Does Blatters apology change your view?
Even if the muppet apologised to the Irish Football Association instead of the FAI, and his announcement that the Henry incident will be referred to the disciplinary committee, a big change in his attitude in a short space of time.
It's about time people copped on the only culprits in this are the French Football Federation and FIFA for not condoning what happened and pledging to prevent it happening again.
02/12/2009, 5:07 PM
Yeah.
Meetings are held in Non Irish bars on away trips.
Does ORA chair them?
Alf Honn
02/12/2009, 5:23 PM
Does Blatters apology change your view?
Even if the muppet apologised to the Irish Football Association instead of the FAI, and his announcement that the Henry incident will be referred to the disciplinary committee, a big change in his attitude in a short space of time.
It's about time people copped on the only culprits in this are the French Football Federation and FIFA for not condoning what happened and pledging to prevent it happening again.
Not at all.
You're missing the point. It's nothing got to do with Blatter, what he said or what he's saying now.
On official request was made by the FAI to FIFA for us to be handed an extra place in the WC2010.
Desperate stuff and we'll continue to be the laughing stock of World football for many years to come.
02/12/2009, 5:30 PM
Does ORA chair them?
No chairs, only stools.
02/12/2009, 5:32 PM
Not at all.
You're missing the point. It's nothing got to do with Blatter, what he said or what he's saying now.
On official request was made by the FAI to FIFA for us to be handed an extra place in the WC2010.
Desperate stuff and we'll continue to be the laughing stock of World football for many years to come.
well they'd be even more of a laughing shock if they just lay down and said nothing. If you don't ask you don't get.
02/12/2009, 5:33 PM
No chairs, only stools.
Id say ORA would do a lot of "stooling" at these meetings alright ;)
02/12/2009, 5:36 PM
Not at all.
According this it wasn't:
"'The FAI has already clarified that this matter was peripheral, was not raised in any of its formal written submissions to FIFA "
Which goes back to my original point. IF this was a meeting and minutes were taken, it could have been requested to have this not on it. Either the FAI are lying or they are not. BUt blatter coming out publicly apologising makes me think they might actually be right in this case.
Again, if its not a WRITTEN request, ad lib, off the record its not a formal request and for blatter to come out and do what he did shows the man in his true light. He is obvious aware of the (legal and otherwise) consequences of such a matter and thats why he has come out and apologised. I think some people are missing the main point here.
02/12/2009, 5:45 PM
get a grip. some on here would love that but it'll be yesterdays news by the time the finals draw is made tomorrow
Razors left peg
02/12/2009, 5:49 PM
Does the the fact that I watch other football(from my barstool and comfortable sofa) make me less of a proper fan even though I have been going up to Terryland for over 20 years? Im also part of the "Ole Ole" brigade so I must be a total sellout. Some LOI fans need to get over this superiority complex they have.And why in the name of God do people who obviously dont give a toss about the national team spend so much time posting in the International Section of this website.Im not a Shamrock Rovers or Drogheda fan so I dont bother posting in there because I have no interest in them
On a more relevant note I thought the statement today from the FAI was excellent. It made exactly the right points about the disgraceful behaviour of Blatter.They are totally right about keeping the issue in the public eye and I hope that it will lead to changes in the attitude towards technology being used in future.
As for lads telling us to get over it and move on, there is alot of Irish fans rightly still angry over that happened to Eoin Hands Irish team in Belguim in 81 and I suspect that in 20 years from now I will still be angry about what happened in Paris.
Greenforever
02/12/2009, 5:56 PM
Not at all.
Obviously you are so anti FAI that you cant even read statements of fact, the FAI never officially requested a 33rd spot, it was a fleeting comment made during a 90 minute meeting. Blatter has apologised for his comments. I dont recall Blatter issuing too many formal apologies in the past.
It is purely because so much of the football world is outraged at Blatters comments that he was forced into his apology.
Alf Honn
02/12/2009, 6:11 PM
Obviously you are so anti FAI that you cant even read statements of fact, the FAI never officially requested a 33rd spot, it was a fleeting comment made during a 90 minute meeting. Blatter has apologised for his comments. I dont recall Blatter issuing too many formal apologies in the past.
It is purely because so much of the football world is outraged at Blatters comments that he was forced into his apology.
Really? This is what I and the whole world read from the FAI statement on Mon:
'A lot was discussed at the meeting and at one stage the FAI asked if Ireland could be accommodated into the World Cup 2010.'
Is there any other way we could be accommodated?
weldoninhio
02/12/2009, 6:25 PM
1. Keane did handle the ball several times in the match, sometimes deliberately, sometimes accidently, but at all times he was punished for it, and you can be sure if he had scored a goal as a result it would have been disallowed.
2. I accept that the ref did not deliberately swing it for France. A combination of factors happened. He was unsighted by the malee of players in the penalty area, however having said that, he was very poorly positioned. I also think Henry took advantage of this poor positioning. The linesman was also probably watching for an offside and after that, that players who were returning from offside weren't interfering with play. Handballs in the penalty area are very rare, whereas offsides happen almost every attack, so he was focused on the offside.
3. While I am able to move on, the way I will always see the result is that France could not score a legitimate goal over 120 minutes and had to nick one illigimately. Henry showed no fair play, there are litterly tons of examples if you look up youtube of players holding up their hands when the ref gives a bad decision and saying to him immediately that it wasn't a penalty or a free or a yellow card.
4. It's ironic that while most people have moved on, the people who are still obsessed with this and dragging the issue up are those who keep saying the FAI are an embarrassment and all that. Maybe it's time for the 'move-on' brigade to actually, you know, move on themselves.
If Robbie Keane scored the exact same goal, how could the ref disallow what he didn't see, as per point 2??
Greenforever
02/12/2009, 6:39 PM
Really? This is what I and the whole world read from the FAI statement on Mon:
'A lot was discussed at the meeting and at one stage the FAI asked if Ireland could be accommodated into the World Cup 2010.'
Is there any other way we could be accommodated?
Yes but yet again we do not know in what context it was said, as I've already said Blatter was embarrassed into making an apology.
Given that the meeting went on for 90 minutes and Blatter has chosen to ignore all other items discussed I know who's version of events I'd believe. It was meant to be a confidential meeting and if you have ever attended long business meetings Im sure someone has suggested something a bit whacky to lighten the tone, not execting it to be taken seriously or quoted publically when it has been agreed to keep the contnets of the meeting private.
Delany has behaved in a dignified manner in all the correspondence unlike Blatter who went missing for 2 weeks before condoning Henry's behaviour, breaching the confidentiality of a meeting before being forced into a humble uturn in apologising and refering Henry to a disciplinary hearing.
02/12/2009, 6:56 PM
No chairs, only stools.
Sounds like a really 5hitty meeting.
Doire Abu
02/12/2009, 7:14 PM
I'm glad that Blatter has said sorry, but that doesn't mitigate the damage that his original comments have made. His version of events were twice around the world long before Delaney put his shoes on. The FAI should never have given him anything to spin with, but they did. I can see why Blatter is so good at staying in power, no matter what a reprehensible piece of human effluent he is.