View Full Version : New Dundalk Manager
gufc2000
04/12/2009, 4:28 PM
We are taking legal action against Dundalk
Doomofman
04/12/2009, 4:31 PM
Just what the league needs... Galway should just get over it and move on... A manager has gone to a better team.. no surprise there... The league doesn't need any more bad press...
gufc2000
04/12/2009, 4:35 PM
Just what the league needs... Galway should just get over it and move on... A manager has gone to a better team.. no surprise there... The league doesn't need any more bad press...
Look, I'm not angry with Foster, I don't think we can have too many complaints, because he has been f**ked about with for the year.
But he, and Dundalk, were refused permission to speak with one another today, so therefore we are entitled to fight our corner, and get compensation
Look, I'm not angry with Foster, I don't think we can have too many complaints, because he has been f**ked about with for the year.
But he, and Dundalk, were refused permission to speak with one another today, so therefore we are entitled to fight our corner, and get compensation
Damn right , Dundalk have a hard neck poaching your manager ! Its funny how far they have fallen mind you , struggling to get a manager in the first place and ending up with there 3rd or 4th choice :confused:
Doomofman
04/12/2009, 4:40 PM
Oh come on... none of you would be complaining if you were on the opposite end of this...
gufc2000
04/12/2009, 4:41 PM
Oh come on... none of you would be complaining if you were on the opposite end of this...
You would know all about this anyway, with the Kenna affair last year. Whats it like? Do tell us all
Doomofman
04/12/2009, 4:43 PM
You would know all about this anyway, with the Kenna affair last year. Whats it like? Do tell us all
I'm pretty sure you's threatened legal action too...
galwayhoop
04/12/2009, 4:44 PM
doubt it will go to court. tough words from leeson but to be honest he will be delighted with a compo payment.
gufc2000
04/12/2009, 4:44 PM
I'm pretty sure you's threatened legal action too...
We got a compensation package of ye, and I'm sure we will again
mcgonigle
04/12/2009, 4:58 PM
Not sure if there will be compo. Not paying him on several occassions is a breach of contract. Should be an interesting couple of weeks
gufc2000
04/12/2009, 5:01 PM
Not sure if there will be compo. Not paying him on several occassions is a breach of contract. Should be an interesting couple of weeks
What are you on about?
We did pay him
mcgonigle
04/12/2009, 5:08 PM
What are you on about?
We did pay him
Just saying what I heard, it will all come to light soon. If we pay compo you have paid him, if we don't pay compo well then you know what that means!
Patrick Dunne
04/12/2009, 5:12 PM
Whatever happens, the 'Daw won't be too quick to pay out.
Remeber Dave Rogers !
weecountyman
04/12/2009, 5:13 PM
This is a very positive signing for the club, it's tough on Galway but until the city cop on and support their sports clubs it will continue this way.
Dillonman
04/12/2009, 5:25 PM
Damn right , Dundalk have a hard neck poaching your manager ! Its funny how far they have fallen mind you , struggling to get a manager in the first place and ending up with there 3rd or 4th choice :confused:
How is the 3rd of 4th choice, Alan Matthews was never officially announced by the club as a front runner or around the town, it was papers billing that up esp when there where rumours amponsgt the press in July that he was been lined up to replace Connor then! Yes Foster is not number 1, that was Kenny, but who's to say he was never number two, three or four.
Dillonman
04/12/2009, 5:26 PM
Jaysus, what did Pats do now that ye are looking for money off them. Leave them alone!:D
galwayhoop
04/12/2009, 5:30 PM
Jaysus, what did Pats do now that ye are looking for money off them. Leave them alone!:D
we got 12 points worth of compensation!!
truth be told if it went to court they would probably have had a decent shot at compensation off us for how it worked out for them..
GUFCghost
04/12/2009, 5:54 PM
where did ya here that??
boneym
04/12/2009, 5:55 PM
What are you on about?
We did pay him
No you didnt all will come out soon
gufc2000
04/12/2009, 5:55 PM
where did ya here that??
Nick Leeson said it on GBFM
Haha, as if Dundalk could lecture anybody about contracts...
No you didnt all will come out soon
A member of my family is on the board of directors, and he has told me time and time again, that everyone was always paid on time and in full. What your posting is total rubbish. :rolleyes:
blackholesun
04/12/2009, 6:44 PM
Unambitious appointment by Dundalk in my oponion. There are alot of better, more experienced managers available.
bhs
Unambitious appointment by Dundalk in my oponion. There are alot of better, more experienced managers available.
bhs
that wouldnt be to hard seeing as he only had one season as manager. The year before was his first year as an assistant manager also, as his jobs before joining GUFC from Kidderminister was as a physio and player.
04/12/2009, 6:49 PM
Yeah I thought they'd have gone for someone with more experience personally but maybe money was an issue. I'm not slating Foster by the way, he seems to have done a decent job in Galway but it was only one season.
Doomofman
04/12/2009, 7:01 PM
Press conference delayed... :S
Infadel
04/12/2009, 7:12 PM
Press conference delayed... :S
Foster had a change of heart at the last minute and decided to stay with Galway;)
Dillonman
04/12/2009, 7:13 PM
Nah he got lost and ended up in Drawda!
Doomofman
04/12/2009, 7:14 PM
Lol actually stuck in traffic haha... Not a great start, being late for your own unveiling...
Dillonman
04/12/2009, 7:20 PM
Lol actually stuck in traffic haha... Not a great start, being late for your own unveiling...
What traffic...all the traffic is down in Newry shopping!;)
Dillonman
04/12/2009, 7:21 PM
Ah actually see what you mean now!:o
Doomofman
04/12/2009, 7:23 PM
"8.08 pm - Welcome folks - The press conference has been delayed because, apparently, the new Dundalk manager (whoever he is) has been delayed in traffic. Plus, too many people have turned up for the room that was booked...so it's been moved into another room that will delay it further. Very good crowd here for it. We will update more when we get something to report."
That's the only update on Dundalk's site at the moment.. Does the traffic thing make sense now? :p
Dillonman
04/12/2009, 7:27 PM
15-20 mins delay!
Doomofman
04/12/2009, 7:28 PM
"8.23 pm - Latest update from Colm Crosson is that we are 15-20 minutes away from the start of the conference."
So really a 45 minute delayed in total
Celdrog
04/12/2009, 7:35 PM
No you didnt all will come out soonAny facts for this fairly serious allegation?
Accusing a club of failing to pay its manager.........
Doomofman
04/12/2009, 7:48 PM
Confirmed now anyway
mcgonigle
04/12/2009, 8:39 PM
Any facts for this fairly serious allegation?
Like was said earlier, we will know it is fact or fiction if any compo is paid or not. Sit back and relax ;)
grayzer1888
04/12/2009, 8:40 PM
Any facts for this fairly serious allegation?
Its on the GUST forum and he also said he was well within his rights to leave for Dundalk during the press conference.
http://dundalkfc.com/news/091204_Conference.asp
CSFShels
04/12/2009, 9:18 PM
If it turns out that Foster was being paid in full, he has acted disgracefully, and Dundalk will be worse off from having a man of his level of class at the club.
GUFCghost
04/12/2009, 9:35 PM
If it turns out that Foster was being paid in full, he has acted disgracefully, and Dundalk will be worse off from having a man of his level of class at the club.
Hes a very good manager IMO,the best we have had in years.
Ezeikial
04/12/2009, 10:19 PM
Nick Leeson is doing a good job of shouting this up, and distracting attention from the fact that Galway have lost successive managers.
The reality is that privately Nicky boy has absolutely no problem with Foster leaving - with the resultant salary saving. I don't know if Fosters contract has been honoured fully by Galway, but I seriously doubt if the angry public words by Nick are for anyone's consumption other then the dwindling Galway Utd supporters.
Foster resigned, Dundalk appointed him - it happens, accept it and move on Galway
CSFShels
04/12/2009, 11:22 PM
Hes a very good manager IMO,the best we have had in years.
Theres a pretty high chance he would have had you relegated had Derry not cheated.
Now I'm not saying that makes him a terrible manager given the limited resources at his disposal, but if you've a manager, who has only managed for one season, and in that season, finishes in the relegation positions, above only the 2 sides that were tipped by anyone with half a brain to be fighting for bottom spot, how does this chap get considered a very good manager?
Seriously think theres something in the water out in Galway.
04/12/2009, 11:36 PM
Cryptosporidium is what it was called.
05/12/2009, 1:30 AM
Pretty much everything at the moment.
The Lilywhites
05/12/2009, 3:34 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/1205/1224260144372.html
Galway may take action over Foster
EMMET MALONE
GALWAY UNITED are believed to be considering legal action in the event they are refused compensation from Dundalk after the Louth club unveiled Ian Foster as their new manager at a press conference last night.
Foster and Dundalk officials had approached the United board for permission to hold talks as the Englishman had another year to run on his contract with the Terryland Park club but the requests had been turned down.
By yesterday afternoon it became apparent a deal had been done anyway and Foster said last night he would be “astonished” if the matter was pursued by his former employers as there had been a “fundamental breach” of his contract, relating to payments he was due, and that he had been free to leave on that basis.
Whatever happens between the clubs now, Foster has a busy few weeks ahead of him as he seeks to put together a squad for next year. He inherits just one player under contract – Scottish goalkeeper Peter Cherrie – and says he will start talks with a number of the club’s other players from last year as soon as possible.
“I know who the good players from last year were because Galway played Dundalk four times,” he said. “The team did well but the budget’s been cut for next season so I’ll see who might be willing to come back on reduced terms and then work from there.
“We also need to address the image of the club because certain things happened over the last year that raised a few eyebrows and that’s something I also want to get going on very quickly.”
Patrick Dunne
05/12/2009, 8:43 AM
Theres a pretty high chance he would have had you relegated had Derry not cheated.
Now I'm not saying that makes him a terrible manager given the limited resources at his disposal, but if you've a manager, who has only managed for one season, and in that season, finishes in the relegation positions, above only the 2 sides that were tipped by anyone with half a brain to be fighting for bottom spot, how does this chap get considered a very good manager?
Thanks, CSFShels. Foster has achieved nothing at Galway, a similar season at Dundalk and he will be out on his ear.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/12/2009, 9:47 AM
Nick Leeson is doing a good job of shouting this up, and distracting attention from the fact that Galway have lost successive managers.
The reality is that privately Nicky boy has absolutely no problem with Foster leaving - with the resultant salary saving. I don't know if Fosters contract has been honoured fully by Galway, but I seriously doubt if the angry public words by Nick are for anyone's consumption other then the dwindling Galway Utd supporters.
Foster resigned, Dundalk appointed him - it happens, accept it and move on Galway
Doesn't work like that though. You can't just break a contract and go wherever you want. Galway are entitled to compensation unless they were in breach of the contract
If Foster was so convinced he was free to talk to Dundalk, why did he seek permission from the club?
05/12/2009, 11:15 AM
Maybe he was being nice?
It happens. Sometimes. Or, well...
How is the 3rd of 4th choice, Alan Matthews was never officially announced by the club as a front runner or around the town, it was papers billing that up esp when there where rumours amponsgt the press in July that he was been lined up to replace Connor then! Yes Foster is not number 1, that was Kenny, but who's to say he was never number two, three or four.
The dogs on the street know you wanted matthews to become your new manager .Youve ended up with a very inexperienced young manager , seems like a strange call for you to make .