View Full Version : Sporting Fingal - Bray Wanderers Play-Off Final
Boo_Boy
16/11/2009, 8:03 PM
1-0 Fungal
Feck it anyway.
sligofan4ever
bad defending yet again. So do away goals count ? You can here about 4 or 5 voices singing from Fingal section :D.
Dillonman
Bye bye Bray, ye will be missed!
peadar1987
16/11/2009, 8:04 PM
GalwayRed
16/11/2009, 8:04 PM
When was the last time Bray scored 3 in a match, was in Galway at the start of the season?!3-3 draw or sumit?
When they beat cork 3-2 in the last series of games?
bad defending yet again. So do away goals count ?
No they dont but its pretty much game over anyway.
galwayjames
16/11/2009, 8:08 PM
Bye bye Bray, ye will be missed!
NOT!!!!!
Only messin. If UCD can come straight back up on their budget then so can Bray.
Dillonman
16/11/2009, 8:08 PM
bad defending yet again. So do away goals count ? You can here about 4 or 5 voices singing from Fingal section :D.
Theres actually about 50 of them there!
galwayjames
16/11/2009, 8:09 PM
Theres actually about 50 of them there!
Dillonman
16/11/2009, 8:11 PM
Yup it shoudl them all before the game, they have flags and everthing, next seaosn they will have an additional 100 Id say as a few Shels fans seem to be peed that Dermot Keely is re-appointed as their manager!
HarpoJoyce
16/11/2009, 8:14 PM
Just to clarify, you dont need to fume. The firefighters at Fingal games are volunteers from Civil Defence, as are the First Aiders. They only cost the price of the fuel for the vehicles. The fire crew were available to go to floods after the match if required.
Back on topic could I just say the fans from both sides were true fans to turn up on such a night and I was pleased to see the decision to put the Bray fans in the covered stand.
As to the players they put up a good performance in impossible conditions.
Good luck to both teams on Monday - as long as Sporting Fingal win !!
Proof if proof needs be that Sporting Fingal and Fingal County Council get the very best value from their Emergency Service Providers.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/38083317@N08/sets/72157622810732162/
We have the St. John's Ambulance at the UCD Bowl do you think some of their members would help the club at half-time..... would they Hell.
placid casual
16/11/2009, 8:22 PM
delighted for Fingal & Liam buckley in particular.:ball:
They will get some decent signings in the close season( B Murphy, crowe and others) and may even make some new fans.
Pity the santysiro is a horror show of a ground.
hopefully bucko can do the double and beat the sligs in the cup final next week. will be funny as fook if they win.:p
Liamo ! Liamo!
sligofan4ever
16/11/2009, 8:30 PM
Bray have scored.
Boo_Boy
16/11/2009, 8:34 PM
Ahhhhhh the keeper scored!!!
16/11/2009, 8:34 PM
Chris O Connor :D
GalwayRed
16/11/2009, 8:35 PM
Some ending to this game.
16/11/2009, 8:36 PM
Foul on the keeper there - planting studs into the goalkeeper's thigh now no longer a free kick it seems
Dillonman
16/11/2009, 8:36 PM
Actually turned out to be a good game!
sligofan4ever
16/11/2009, 8:38 PM
You really got to feel sorry for Bray. The keeper gives a glimmer of hope and there dashed when he tries to show more skills.
16/11/2009, 8:40 PM
Farewell Bray - was nice having you in the Prem - but we have to think of the needs of the shiny new plastic clubs these days.
It feels like a little bit of the soul and character of this shell of a League died tonight out by the seaside
God forbid if they win the Cup and get into Europe next season...
Boo_Boy
16/11/2009, 8:41 PM
Disappointing, hope ye come straight back up lads. Love the trip to bray.
Sorry to see Bray go down,they stuck to the rules all season even trimmed their squad UNLIKE SOME TEAMS when they were in danger of going over 65%.If this was a properly run league Bray would survive because Cork would be down aswell as Derry,FACT.
16/11/2009, 8:41 PM
Foul on the keeper there - planting studs into the goalkeeper's thigh now no longer a free kick it seems
Agree it should have been a free but what the buck was O'Connor thinking? Should have put it as far up the pitch as he could first day.
GalwayRed
16/11/2009, 8:44 PM
Sorry to see Bray go down,they stuck to the rules all season even trimmed their squad UNLIKE SOME TEAMS when they were in danger of going over 65%.If this was a properly run league Bray would survive because Cork would be down aswell as Derry,FACT.
You cant rule out Cork not getting a licence just yet I wouldn't think. Hard luck Bray, I hope you don't go straight back up though.;)
LOI_Fanatic
16/11/2009, 9:00 PM
chris o connor super keeper!
sorry to see you go lads :(
GlasnevinRed
16/11/2009, 9:07 PM
Yup it shoudl them all before the game, they have flags and everthing, next seaosn they will have an additional 100 Id say as a few Shels fans seem to be peed that Dermot Keely is re-appointed as their manager!
Yeah we've all decided that Fingal are the way to go now that they're in the premier.:rolleyes:
16/11/2009, 9:08 PM
good header my o' connor but what the hell was he at for two of the goals!!? was an afwul game to watch up until bray scored tbh....... class after that :)
peadar1987
16/11/2009, 9:09 PM
Fecking defensive mistakes costing us again. The second goals shouldn't have counted after the studs to Skippy's nads, but he should have just lamped it upfield as soon as he got it.
I can't bring myself to hope another football club goes bust, but I do hope that the FAI enforce their standards on any clubs that may have broken the rules.
roinuj
16/11/2009, 9:18 PM
i think its ashame to have another club in the prem who cant string 100 fans together.
makes a joke of the whole league.
carrickharp
16/11/2009, 9:19 PM
I have almost lost total intrest in this league now (apart from Harps) with the new Dublin City in the Premier Divison it is turning out to be a joke was it the FAI's plan to make it a regional league because that is the way it is heading. I know there are plenty more who are losing intrest also.
Riddickcule
16/11/2009, 9:19 PM
We'll be back...
GlasnevinRed
16/11/2009, 9:21 PM
We'll be back...
Hopefully not too soon.:p
bray boy
16/11/2009, 9:22 PM
Btid.
roinuj
16/11/2009, 9:27 PM
Btid.
Blues till i die :D
Crazy ending to the game, i thought Bray were going to complete the comback when Chris O'Connor scored but then he went and threw it away. Bray had plenty of chances but did'nt take them and that bwas probably the main reason why Fingal won the game tonight.
16/11/2009, 9:31 PM
Crazy ending to the game, i thought Bray were going to complete the comback when Chris O'Connor scored but then he went and threw it away. Bray had plenty of chances but did'nt take them and that bwas probably the main reason why Fingal won the game tonight.
you could say the same of fingal?
16/11/2009, 9:32 PM
i think its ashame to have another club in the prem who cant string 100 fans together.
makes a joke of the whole league.
http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1272323&postcount=1873
Averages of 688 and 635 in their two seasons so far (more than Waterford's in the corresponding seasons, which was 434 & 670). I also heard tonight that they've sold over 1000 tickets for the cup final so far. They did have a decent enough crowd tonight, as much as most other Premier sides (apart from Bohs, Pats, Rovers and Dundalk) brought to the Carlisle this year.
They might not have great crowds by Premier standards but they had the sceond-best average in the First this year, better than established clubs like Harps, Limerick, Athlone and Waterford.
Please, don't over-exaggerate about how "poor" their crowds are. It's very boring at this stage.
srfc1928
16/11/2009, 9:33 PM
Sorry to see Bray go down. Hopefully they can bounce back.
I dont fancy traveling to Morton next season.
More atmosphere at local junior football games.
16/11/2009, 9:35 PM
A horrible day for Irish football
Dillonman
16/11/2009, 9:35 PM
Its the same old story, once a team i doing well, the fans will come out...FACT! If they started off well and pettered away in the seond half of next season you will see they will have above average crowd for the first half but a drop in the second half, happens with every club, apart from Rovers who are a bunch of Aliens(crowds actually got higher and higher)!!:D
gufc2000
16/11/2009, 9:48 PM
Comiserations to Bray, sorry to see ye go.
Well done Fingal. People may slate them for their crowds and lack of atmosphere at matches, but they certainly play good football
Hairy Bowsie
16/11/2009, 9:55 PM
Oh Good Lord!!! How on earth did you come to that conclusion?
Correct. This is a victory for John Delaney and the completely out of touch FAI, who see Franchise as the model club.
brayfan08
16/11/2009, 10:01 PM
we will be back
Hairy Bowsie
16/11/2009, 10:06 PM
Why, is that what someone has said?
16/11/2009, 10:09 PM
It is the usual whinefest of Shels anyway. Ye have had the opportunities to get out of this festering ****hole that is the first and by god it is that. Fingal have gotten promoted and fair play to them. Their ability to sustain the wages will be interesting assuming they do not get a jump in attendance and the Sugar daddies run into financial disaster but until that time they have gone and done what is needed.
time will tell if they suffer the same fate as Shels, Derry, Longford to a degree et al.
Hairy Bowsie
16/11/2009, 10:16 PM
Nice deleting of your previous post :rolleyes: Granted i'm a Shels fan and i'm moaning, so what about all the fans of other clubs who think Franchise going up is disgusting?
oriel
16/11/2009, 10:17 PM
Spot on. There is simply no place in the league for them, a waste of everyone`s time.
Best of luck Sligo for sunday.
16/11/2009, 10:18 PM
Nice deleting of your previous post :rolleyes: Granted i'm a Shels fan and i'm moaning, so what about all the fans of other clubs who think Franchise going up is disgusting?
ah hell i dont care to be honest....
let them have there fun
16/11/2009, 10:20 PM
I was deleting it as it served no purpose to the thread really but sure here we are :)
I could not give a **** if they are moaning. Let them, this entire league has **** all to get on the high horse about.
Eoingull
16/11/2009, 10:20 PM
Man, I'm gutted...watching your team get relegated twice in under three weeks is hard to take...I went through the misery of it all up in the Brandywell, and now again in front of my laptop...
Cheers to TG4 for showing the two play-off games anyway...
MickNolan
16/11/2009, 10:30 PM
Just back from the game, was a brilliant 2nd half and felt so sorry for Bray. Fingal has a nice support with them! Anyways I hope they come back up. Love going down to Bray with loads of drink and getting slightly drunk on Bray head before the game :D