View Full Version : Sporting Fingal - Bray Wanderers Play-Off Final
tippex
13/11/2009, 8:23 PM
not the bar again ffs
13/11/2009, 8:23 PM
The pitch is a joke at this stage. I don't think the ref would have let it start on this pitch.
Blue Bear
13/11/2009, 8:24 PM
easily could have had 3 or 4!!
gufc2000
The pitch is a joke at this stage. I don't think the ref would have let it start on this pitch.
This is the LOI, anything is possible
tippex
we should be level
tippex
13/11/2009, 8:25 PM
how the **** could paisley get booked for that?
tippex
13/11/2009, 8:38 PM
balls would have been relatively happy with a 2-1 will be tough on monday
13/11/2009, 8:43 PM
Dreadful game, dreadful stadium, hard to watch.
And I'd rather have Bray at the top level than Fingal any day.
At least we'll get to visit the Carlisle in the Discover Ireland Division next year.... :)
tippex
13/11/2009, 8:49 PM
certainly not looking forward to trying to get out of the first next season if things dont go our way on monday
HarpoJoyce
13/11/2009, 9:01 PM
Quigley had a superb game. Three important stops in the second half.
Bray deserved more tonight but should still give Fingal another long game on Monday.
Paisley's goal came after six corners in a row.
One of the most amazing matches I've ever been at conditions, chances, importance. As has been said the match would not have gone ahead but for the pressure on the fixture list.
tippex
13/11/2009, 9:12 PM
I still cant get over how the hell the played the game. even buckley said after the game that the pitch was unplayable.
Have to say the lads played a hell of a lot better tonight than for a while and only for the lapses in defence we would be very confident for monday.
But hopefully we give it a right go.
13/11/2009, 9:43 PM
Just back from game, christ my chest is COLD:(
I think it was a good game, enjoyed it a lot, considering the awful conditions. Wondering if a lot of ye guys are football fans at all:rolleyes:
also good crowd considering the conditions
14/11/2009, 10:11 AM
Quite a game last night considering the conditions and id have to prise both sets of players. In the 1st place the game should have never went ahead, TV actually didn't do how bad the weather and the pitch actually were.
Bray were the better side on the night, bar a 5 minute spell for Fingal when they got their 1st goal, but as i said other than that Bray created all the chances but just had no luck what so ever on the night, they couldn't have bought a goal with the luck they had.
If we can be 1 up going into the last 20 minutes on Monday then i think we have a chance.
Attendance was 740 according to the PA - NOT a hope in hell their was that many there, why unearth do they give false figures ? Both sets of fans were in the stand and it was'nt even 3/4s full. 3 of us hardly sould braved the rain on the open side so had an excellent view.
tippex
14/11/2009, 10:17 AM
your a braver man than I am roo.
I totally wussed out and watched from the comfort of my sitting room :)
But even on the TV you could see that the conditions were Dangerous.
eelmonster
14/11/2009, 10:25 AM
Your club are playing in a relegation play-off on the other side of Dublin and you stay at home to watch it on TV!? :confused:
tippex
14/11/2009, 10:30 AM
Your club are playing in a relegation play-off on the other side of Dublin and you stay at home to watch it on TV!? :confused:
Yep work commitments meant there was no way I would have been able to make the start of the game either wouldve been lucky to make the last half hour.
Took Tuesday off to go to Drogheda and couldnt take any time off yesterday.
Yeah I know jesus what the hell am I doing putting my job before my club (suppose I coulda had a water proof laptop with me while I was watching the game)
14/11/2009, 10:32 AM
Ah sure it had to be done :D
Honest to god the weather was just shocking, went to to the club house at half time and was watching the highlights of the 1st have and it did not do it justice of how bad it was.
eelmonster
14/11/2009, 10:35 AM
Yep work commitments meant there was no way I would have been able to make the start of the game either wouldve been lucky to make the last half hour.
Took Tuesday off to go to Drogheda and couldnt take any time off yesterday.
Yeah I know jesus what the hell am I doing putting my job before my club (suppose I coulda had a water proof laptop with me while I was watching the game)
Ah, that's what you meant when you said you totally wussed out and stayed at home to watch it on TV. Tough shift. I've got to go watch some TV now, I mean work, you're right, it is confusing!
tippex
14/11/2009, 10:43 AM
it was easier than going into details about work n stuff :)
14/11/2009, 1:17 PM
Come on Bray. It's not over yet. Do your bit to save us all from franchise football!
14/11/2009, 1:25 PM
13, 15, 26, 26, 32 and 34
3 and 4 are the lucky stars.
Beat you to it Sligoman.It's actually 25 & 26, not 26 & 26. You got there before me but at least my updates be correct;).
Will fans from other clubs in the Dublin area be coming out to the match on Monday evening ?
brianw82
14/11/2009, 2:05 PM
Will fans from other clubs in the Dublin area be coming out to the match on Monday evening ?
Voluntarily going to the Carlisle in mid-November? Are you mad?! :p
I thought it was a good match given the conditions. Bray definitely deserved something from it. Hopefully they can do the business in the 2nd leg.
JC_GUFC
14/11/2009, 2:10 PM
Do away goals count for Monday's match?
I think not but not certain...
14/11/2009, 2:39 PM
They never used to in the play offs so I doubt that's changed. We wouldn't have had to endure penalties against Harps in 2002 if they counted then.
Fuming here, to think that there could be a serious emergency, and they are clearing the water off a pitch. Now the people from the Fingal area can see where there bin/water/taxes are going.
Just to clarify, you dont need to fume. The firefighters at Fingal games are volunteers from Civil Defence, as are the First Aiders. They only cost the price of the fuel for the vehicles. The fire crew were available to go to floods after the match if required.
Back on topic could I just say the fans from both sides were true fans to turn up on such a night and I was pleased to see the decision to put the Bray fans in the covered stand.
As to the players they put up a good performance in impossible conditions.
Good luck to both teams on Monday - as long as Sporting Fingal win !!
15/11/2009, 3:51 PM
Voluntarily going to the Carlisle in mid-November? Are you mad?! :p
Agreedm a twice yearly penance is more than enough ;)
15/11/2009, 7:34 PM
The firefighters at Fingal games are volunteers from Civil Defence, as are the First Aiders. They only cost the price of the fuel for the vehicles.
Semantics, but an ambulance at a game doesn't cost the price of fuel. Minimum going rate would be a E150 donation or so, depending on the organisation.
I don't want to take up space on a forum which should be about the game, but need to clarify Civil Defence are a service of the Local Authority, in this case Fingal Co.Co. and therefore supply the service as requested. CD on the Sth side do the same for South Dublin Co.Co. in Tallaght. Hope this clears up the matter. Civil Defence is a statutory agency attached to each local authority.
16/11/2009, 9:20 AM
Hm. I'm involved in the voluntaries, and can say that E150 or so would be normal (maybe cheap) for a game. So at least we can quantify how much of the rate-payer's money is being wasted keeping Fingal games safe. ;)
LeixlipRed
16/11/2009, 10:57 AM
Any chance of a crowd over 500 tonight?
16/11/2009, 12:06 PM
Any chance of a crowd over 500 tonight?
Hard to tell really, just depends on the weather. If it stays dry then yes.
We'll be without Pender and most likely McCabe, 2 big losses for us. Mulcah is back though.
eelmonster
16/11/2009, 1:53 PM
Hard to tell really, just depends on the weather.
It's on the telly, you know ;) :D
COME ON BRAY!!
monsexile
16/11/2009, 3:15 PM
I thought the game was very entertaining in the conditions.
Was gona do McCabe to score anytime
He had an ankle injury in the run up to the Drogheda game and was only a sub that night, it looked like he took a really heavy knock in the first leg against Fingal and was taken off with about 15 minutes to go. It looked like he was struggling leaving the pitch and my first thought was that he was out of the 2nd leg. I reckon it will be a last minute decision, possibly start from the bench.
According to the fixture list in today's Irish Indo the relegation/promotion game tonight is between Drogheda and Shelbourne:rolleyes:.
GalwayRed
16/11/2009, 7:01 PM
It doesn't feel right wanting fingal to get promoted here.
galwayjames
16/11/2009, 7:02 PM
It doesn't feel right wanting fingal to get promoted here.
You want Fingal to be promoted? :confused:
Fair play to ya ;)
GalwayRed
16/11/2009, 7:08 PM
You want Fingal to be promoted? :confused:
Fair play to ya ;)
Yeah simply because they will have a big budget again next year and I don't want us to be up against that next season.
Super save there.
galwayjames
16/11/2009, 7:18 PM
Yeah simply because they will have a big budget again next year and I don't want us to be up against that next season.
Super save there.
Ye finished above them this year, do it again next year and I'd say ye'll be champions. (That's if Bray win tonight, which is as likely as Ireland winning on Wednesday)
GalwayRed
16/11/2009, 7:20 PM
Ye finished above them this year, do it again next year and I'd say ye'll be champions. (That's if Bray win tonight, which is as likely as Ireland winning on Wednesday)
True enough but I would still expect if they didn't go up then they would be too strong for us next season.
Bray are doing quite well here in fairness. Cant completly rule it out
peadar1987
16/11/2009, 7:22 PM
It doesn't matter if we go down, seeing Foran's Zidane spin has made my season regardless!
The attendance at the Carlisle is crap by the way, considering the importance of this game to football in Bray.
Dillonman
16/11/2009, 7:24 PM
It doesn't matter if we go down, seeing Foran's Zidane spin has made my season regardless!
The attendance at the Carlisle is crap by the way, considering the importance of this game to football in Bray.
Some double save from Quigley from Flood and Byrne's shots!
peadar1987
16/11/2009, 7:36 PM
Some double save from Quigley from Flood and Byrne's shots!
The fecking internet decided to break about 5 minutes before kickoff, so I missed it live! Just caught it on the replay there.
From the TV pictures, I'd guess the Bray attendance at about 400, and maybe 100 from Fingal. Very, very poor.
16/11/2009, 7:39 PM
tbf the second one wasn't really a save - he just happened to be getting up and the ball hits him on the shoulder
Scrufil
16/11/2009, 7:40 PM
Bray just don't seem to have any luck at all going their way. Any other match and they would be at least 2 up at half time. It does make me wonder though if Bray score will the floodgates open and will they go on and score 3.
peadar1987
16/11/2009, 7:41 PM
Bray just don't seem to have any luck at all going their way. Any other match and they would be at least 2 up at half time. It does make me wonder though if Bray score will the floodgates open and will they go on and score 3.
Fingers firmly crossed!
Dillonman
16/11/2009, 7:41 PM
When was the last time Bray scored 3 in a match, was in Galway at the start of the season?!3-3 draw or sumit?
galwayjames
16/11/2009, 8:02 PM
When was the last time Bray scored 3 in a match, was in Galway at the start of the season?!3-3 draw or sumit?
Nah that was 2-2