View Full Version : Foot.ie Music Exchange Version 3.0 (looking for sign ups)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

stann
09/12/2009, 10:26 AM
Late with this Park Lane, sorry 'bout that, was away the weekend. :)
Loved it though, some great stuff on there.
Excellent start with my third favourite Clash song, The Sonics which is a real gem, Paul Westerberg and the New York Dolls who I also know very little of.
Some real favourites throughout too from Big Star, The Stones, John Lee Hooker, and Fugazi.
And some brilliant new tunes for me to check out from Cursive (fave of the whole CD I think), Bob Mould, Soulsavers, Minutemen and Cat Power, very happy about that!

monzo
12/12/2009, 4:05 PM
Can either Davey or Park Life PM me the names and addresses, thanks.

Park_Lane
12/12/2009, 7:39 PM
Can either Davey or Park Life PM me the names and addresses, thanks.

PM sent

noby
17/12/2009, 10:05 AM
Got your cd yesterday monzo. Have it on now and really liking it. A fair sprinkling of stuff I'm not familiar with, which is good.

monzo
19/12/2009, 12:53 AM
Gave the first two albums another few listens and I really the like the following in particular:

Spaceman 3 - Bright Lights, Big City 1990 - somehow it's really catchy.. I take it that it's a play (cover?) on the Animals song
Orbital – Belfast/Wasted 1992 (vocals Grant Fulton)
Julian Cope – Upwards at 45 Degrees 1992 - definitely gonna check out more of his work
Elliot Smith – Bled White 1998
Tindersticks – Can We Start Again? 1999 - inspired me to pick up tindersticks II - great stuff
Velvet Underground – Foggy Notion 1969 - classic
Tim Buckley – Sweet Surrender 1972 - same as j cope track
Aretha Franklin – How I Got Over 1972
Underworld – Dirty Epic 1994
The Verve – One Way To Go – 1995
Curtis Mayfield – Back To The World – 1973
Zerben R Hicks & The Dynamics – Lights Out 1967

Complete Control (live) - The Clash - 1981
Strychnine - The Sonics - 1965 - it's no psycho but it's still cool
I Will Dare - The Replacements - 1984
Vampires & Failures - Paul Westerberg (Grandapaboy) - 2003 - excellent
Personality Crisis - New York dolls - 1973 - class, definitely delving into their catalogue
I’m In Love with a girl - Big Star - 1974 - same as above
Hey Negrita - The Rolling Stones - 1976 - hadn't heard this one before, very nice
Boom boom - John Lee hooker - 1961
Very Temporary - Bob Mould - 2008
Man in Decline - Mission of Burma 2006 - picked up Vs., the other day, lookin forward to it on the basis of this track
Waiting Room - Fugazi 1989
Unbalanced Pieces - Soulsavers - 2009
When It's Cold I’d like to Die - Moby - 1995 - definitely gonna acquire an album by this guy, been meaning to for a while.
History Lesson Part II - Minutemen - 1984 - love this song
Cross Bones Style - Cat Power - 1998
That's Just How that Bird Sings - The Twilight Singers 2000
The Last Kind Words - David Johansen 2005

------------------------------------
Apologies for the delay in posting up my own tracklist, the inclusions derived mostly from what I've been listening to in the past two months or so.

1. Pere Ubu - Nonalignment Pact
2. Sugar - Gee Angel
3. Eels - Fresh Feeling
4. George Harrisson - What Is Life
5.Stars - Your Ex-Lover Is Dead
6. Angst - I Could Never Change Your Mind
7. Eleventh Dream Day - Rose of Jericho
8. The Raveonettes - Last Dance
9. Suburban Kids With Biblical Names - Loop Duplicate My Heart
10. Family - The Weaver's Answer
11. The Royal Alberta Advantage - Don't Haunt This Place
12. The Dream Syndicate - Tell Me When It's Over
13. Rory Gallagher - Edged In Blue
14. Grand Duchy - Black Suit
15. Loudon Wainwright III - Dead Skunk
16. Jason Anderson - July 4, 2004
17. The Airborne Toxic Event - Sometime Around Midnight
18. Micah P Hinson - Patience

19/12/2009, 1:34 PM
Got the cd as well Monzo, haven't given it a whirl yet but i'll be back when I have

I'll get mine out next week but what with the Christmas post it might be delayed a bit

monzo
22/12/2009, 2:32 PM
Did everyone else get theirs? Wondering if my obscurities went down like a lead balloon... :D

22/12/2009, 2:54 PM
Did everyone else get theirs? Wondering if my obscurities went down like a lead balloon... :D

I'd say it's more to do with Christmas than anything else :)

I've given it a couple of spins and the standout tracks that I hadn't heard for me are Micah P. Henson, Stars, the Raveonettes, Sugar, Dream Syndicate and Rory Gallagher (do you know this is probably only the second that I've knowingly listened to one of his tracks :o), alongside the ones I already liked like George Harrison, Eels, Louden and Suburban Kids.

Another good compilation though, this batch is working out very nicely, sadly I'm up next to end that run

Speaking of which I have mine ready to burn, not sure if I'll have it posted before Christmas though

monzo
22/12/2009, 3:08 PM
Ha yeah should have taken into account that it's xmas time! If you're wanting to explore some more Rory Gallagher I recommend Calling Card (http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=10:0ifrxqy5ldte). There's not as many acoustic tracks on it compared to other albums but I think I prefer his 'hard rock' to that anyway. Alternatively, check out Irish Tour (http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=10:kifexqy5ldte) - shows what an amazing live artist he was.

kingdom hoop
22/12/2009, 3:51 PM
Yeah sorry Monzo, got it alright but haven't had a spare minute the past week, so the lead balloon remains afloat for the time being, though its sharp plummet may occur this evening as I'm over the worst of torrid working hours.

stann
22/12/2009, 4:48 PM

Yeah sorry Monzo, have been caught up in the Christmas merry-go-round too. Will be doing a bit of driving over the next few days though so it should get a good spin then. Looks good though, and what a cracking start, haven't heard that Pere Ubu song in donkey's years! :)

01/01/2010, 5:58 PM
Hey guys could someone go ahead of me?

My housemate in her festive spirits spilt a glass of red wine on my open laptop the other night and the thing is completely dead so I've lost my playlist and 40g of music :mad:

stann
02/01/2010, 11:11 PM
Ouch!
Just... ouch! :eek:

Hope you can salvage something out of it Jebus!
I was going to be starting to put stuff together this week anyway, so I'll step in if that's OK with everyone?

Monzo, that CD is the business lad, am loving it!
Brilliant start, first three tunes are just outstanding, and all the way through there are gems everywhere.
Easiest to say I'm not too gone on the George Harrison one, and Family are just a bit too hippy, but every other tune is a cracker.
Highlights for me: Pere Ubu, Sugar, Eels, Ravonettes (never kept up with them after Chaingang of Love), Rory Gallagher, Airborne Toxic Event and Grand Duchy, but the top tune, somewhat improbably maybe, is definitely Dead Skunk, I love it! :D

davey
03/01/2010, 10:26 PM
but the top tune, somewhat improbably maybe, is definitely Dead Skunk, I love it! :D

"Shoulda looked left and it shoulda looked right" :D Loved this one too. Great work Monzo all round. Big love for the following

Pere ubu - Hope I didn't scare the good people of Magherafelt this weekend as I seemed to have this tune on every time I drove through it. Not normally my cup of tea but just loved the demented vocal delivery - You better sign it !

Rural Alberta Advantage - lo-fi loveliness

Rory Gallagher - a man I've been meaning to tune into for a while - edged in blue is fantastic.

Loved most of the rest too, been a great xmas soundtrack as I've been doing lots of driving - this has hit the spot:)

monzo
04/01/2010, 1:41 AM
Glad yis liked the mix lads. Dead Skunk is a great song alright - I've actually been meaning to check out more of Loudon Wainwright's work but I never remember (someone post another song of his, 'The Acid Song', on a previous mix).

Also, spot on about the vocals by Pere Ubu's frontman, Davey. Frantic and completely in sync with the music. I think Roger Chapman, Family's singer, has a fairly impressive vocal range too (sounds like a goat at times :D).

stann
05/01/2010, 11:09 AM
Nearly ready to start burning now, bit rushed but I'll keep that as a handy excuse. :D
Gonna be somewhat different to the first few I think. A few gentler grooves at the start, some silliness in the middle, couple of bouncers towards the end, and relatively fewer guitars. :)
Need a PM from whoever has the list though.

monzo
05/01/2010, 2:34 PM
Just after PMing you the addresses stann.

kingdom hoop
05/01/2010, 2:57 PM
A few gentle grooves at the start, some silliness in the middle, couple of bouncers towards the end...

Sounds more like a typical night-out for Jebus than a CD.... :p

Monzo, I absolutely loved your latest offering - great, raucous opening duo; a dip into some luscious milk and honey with Eels; ... ... mmm, I'm tempted to describe each song in lovely, if overly wordy, language and how they each moved me greatly, but maybe I won't. Perhaps it is enough to say: I enjoyed it more than any other over all the series combined.

Not that the others were bad, indeed they were<------------------------a very, very long distance -------------------------->from bad.
But particularly pleasing here were not alone the tracks of themselves but also the general mood and ordering of the tracks - nice 'n' smooth progression making it work really well as a unified work. Mind you, from Stann's pre-release blurb it seems his may be a close rival in that regard. :)

05/01/2010, 4:43 PM
:D at Kingdom Hoop

Good news on my laptop is that the housemate's boyfriend is a bit of a whizz at fixing up computers so he reckons he can get a new motherboard put in for only 70 quid

The hard drive is fine anyway so should be able to retrieve my music even if not

monzo
05/01/2010, 9:50 PM
Good to hear that your laptop's possibly on the mend jebus. And KH - I spent relatively little time on the ordering of the tracks compared to all the agonizing I did over my debut effort, so I'm glad it turned out ok then. :D

stann
06/01/2010, 7:57 AM
Mind you, from Stann's pre-release blurb it seems his may be a close rival in that regard. :)

Feck, why do I keep writing cheques I can't cash like that??!! :D
Anyway, rush job though it is, it's all done now, reasonably pleased with it, so Another Hastily-Compiled Stanned In should be getting packed and posted later today after I finish work. Cheers for the PM Monzo!
Tracklist to follow a suitable distance behind as per.

And just to whet the appetite a bit further, no, number 6 is not Dido! :p

kingdom hoop
07/01/2010, 12:35 PM
Well, Another Hastily-Compiled Stanned In fell in the letterbox a short time ago, frosted cover belying the warmth inside. The first three songs have been a treat, the soundtrack to my dancecleaning the kitchen (dancing while cleaning). (New verb required to describe this activity I think.) Anyway, just on the fourth song now (also fantastic) and, whether hasty or otherwise, enjoying it immensely so far.

More to follow I suppose....

stann
07/01/2010, 1:17 PM
Christ that was quick, they only went out late yesterday afternoon. Good to know at least one part of society doesn't go to pieces under a couple of cms of snow!
Cheers for that KH, hope the rest goes as well for ya. :)
(Clopping maybe? Cleaning and bopping? :D)

May go ahead with the track listing so...

1. The Herbaliser – The Turnaround [2002]
2. A Skillz & Krafty Kuts feat Real Elements – Simple Things [2004]
3. The Dream Warriors – Wash Your Face In My Sink [1990]
4. G Love & Special Sauce – Blues Music (Slow Version) [1994]
5. Goloka – Give Me Lovin’ (Mantra Mix) [2007]
6. Frou Frou – Breathe In [2002]
7. Lazyboy – Left Rev [2004]
8. Barnes & Barnes – Fish Heads [1979]
9. The Jack Rubies – Lobster [1988]
10. Jethro Tull – Skating Away (On The Thin Ice Of The New Day) [1974]
11. Elvis Costello & The Attractions – Watching The Detectives [1977]
12. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – Gentle Sons [2009]
13. My Bloody Valentine – The Things I Miss [1987]
14. Pet – Superpet [2004]
15. Midwest Product – Dead Cat [2003]
16. Gomez – Shot Shot (Freelance Hellraiser ElectroCash Remix) [2002]
17. Rennie Pilgrem - Gladiator [2004]
18. Mylo – Mars Needs Women [2005]
19. The Fuze – It’s A Sunday Morning [1981]

07/01/2010, 5:08 PM
Got it as well, weather be damned says An Post it seems :)

Like the look of this, in general Stann's compilations have been the pick so far so looking forward to giving this a whirl later

Park_Lane
07/01/2010, 9:03 PM
Looks like a good one alright, looking forward to getting it.

Monzo's cd is excellent already know and love the songs by Sugar(Bob Mould is th most underratted songwriter of his generation), Eels, Rory Gallagher, Micah P Hinson and Loudon Wainwright - all winners.

Loved hearing loads of new tracks and Bands that I'd never heard of before my favourites being:

Pere Ubu - brilliant stuff, right up my street never heard of these before defo checking them out soon

Jason Anderson - love the male/female harmony on the corus, great song.

The Airborne Toxic Event - really cool slow building song liking this one a lot also.

All in all not a bad song on there and loads of new bands to check out!

monzo
07/01/2010, 10:58 PM
Just after sticking your album into the computer stann, a lovely opener and yet more proof that I need to explore some more of A Skillz' and Krafty Kuts's catalogue (still love 'Tricka Technology' from the last compilation). I'll post again when I've listened to the mix fully.

Pere Ubu - brilliant stuff, right up my street never heard of these before defo checking them out soon

Jason Anderson - love the male/female harmony on the corus, great song.

The Airborne Toxic Event - really cool slow building song liking this one a lot also.

Spot on about Bob Mould PL. I have only one Pere Ubu album (The Modern Dance) and I'd warn you before getting it that Nonalignment Pact isn't really reflective of the album as a whole. It's a bit Beefheartian but if you like the Captain then I'd suggest getting it. Massively influential. As for Jason Anderson, he's released a ton of stuff for free on his website (http://www.jasonandersonswebsite.com/). A lot of it is great in a raw Replacements sort of way.

davey
14/01/2010, 9:40 PM
Only listened to the once Stann but sounds great. On first listen, i give particular praise to the opening 5 tracks. Heard none of them before but started of my wednesday morning brilliantly. I will say though that you really scared my car share buddy with Fishheads. She was screaming "Get it off, get it off" as we drove through East Kilbride :D

Will post more after a couple more listens

stann
15/01/2010, 1:13 AM
:D Haha, very good! It's as well she never saw the video then, it was a regular on 120 Minutes on MTV back when Paul King used to do it, and was quite a bit odd and creepy, as well as a wee bit arty, though am sure it was a p**s-take! :D
On youtube if you fancy a look. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTpUVAcvWfU)

Monzo, both those tunes are from the A Skillz & Krafty Kuts album that's actually called Tricka Technology, and I would very much recommend that as a starting point if you were so inclined. Have a look about your local record shop though, as it's gone a bit dear on Amazon marketplace lately!

17/01/2010, 3:49 PM
Excellent contribution as usual Stann, loved it from start to finish, even the Fish Heads song :)

Top highlight for me was the Pains of Being Pure At Heart track as I'd never heard of them and now can't stop listening to their stuff on youtube, excellent new band for me to sink my teeth into!

Also would pick out the always brilliant Herbaliser as well as the Dream Warriors, Frou Frou, Elvis Costello and Lazyboy tracks as being highlights but really the whole album was wall to wall greatness

My laptop is still out of commission (should be good this week hopefully) so can someone go ahead of me again lads?

noby
17/01/2010, 10:47 PM
Have yours Stann, but haven't got to listen to it yet. In fact I've a bit of catching up to do on the last couple. I'm kind of up to my ears here at the moment.

Anyhoo, enough excuses, I think I'm next up, so I'll throw something together, but it might be later in the week before I get them done.

kingdom hoop
28/01/2010, 11:23 PM
Anyhoo, enough excuses, I think I'm next up, so I'll throw something together, but it might be later in the week before I get them done.

Any white smoke whirling out of Casa Noby yet?

Not that I'm impatient, just wondering. I'm up next then I believe. I'm thinking of confining mine to music from one (non-English-speaking) country. Might be a bit risky but sure what harm. :)

noby
28/01/2010, 11:54 PM
Sorry, I started but just didn't get back to it. I'll hopefully sort it out over the weekend.

monzo
29/01/2010, 11:02 PM
the A Skillz & Krafty Kuts album that's actually called Tricka Technology, and I would very much recommend that as a starting point if you were so inclined. Have a look about your local record shop though, as it's gone a bit dear on Amazon marketplace lately!

I was able to get it off eMusic (as part of an unwanted subscription), haven't listened to it yet, must burn it onto a disc.

Anyway, I've given Another Hastily-Compiled Stanned In two or three listens and I've thoroughly enjoyed it each time. I think the (general) absence of loud guitars was welcome considering their prevalance in the opening three compilations. Apart from maybe the MBV track, I don't think I had heard any of the tracks. Highlights include The Turnaround, Wash Your Face In My Sink (really like this), Breath In, Pet's Superpet (another band I've to check out since I love 'Monza' as well [nothing to do with its similarity to my username, honest :D]), Watching The Detectives (shamefully, I've no Elvis Costello on my iTunes, apart from Oliver's Army), and Blues Music.

Goloka's Give Me Lovin would be the pick of the bunch though; top, top stuff.

noby
01/02/2010, 8:52 PM
Currently burning cds (finally!). Can someone pm me the addresses and I'll get them out tomorrow.

noby
02/02/2010, 9:22 AM
Ok, unless anyone has moved I have the addresses from the last time, with the exception of Park Lane and Davey.

stann
02/02/2010, 3:47 PM
Excellent contribution as usual Stann, loved it from start to finish, even the Fish Heads song :)

Top highlight for me was the Pains of Being Pure At Heart track as I'd never heard of them and now can't stop listening to their stuff on youtube, excellent new band for me to sink my teeth into!

Also would pick out the always brilliant Herbaliser as well as the Dream Warriors, Frou Frou, Elvis Costello and Lazyboy tracks as being highlights but really the whole album was wall to wall greatness

Cheers Jebus!
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart album (same name) really is well worth getting hold of, bit derivative maybe, but when the nods are going to the likes of MBV, Field Mice, Jesus & Mary Chain, Sundays and so on then that's no problem at all!

Anyway, I've given Another Hastily-Compiled Stanned In two or three listens and I've thoroughly enjoyed it each time. I think the (general) absence of loud guitars was welcome considering their prevalance in the opening three compilations. Apart from maybe the MBV track, I don't think I had heard any of the tracks. Highlights include The Turnaround, Wash Your Face In My Sink (really like this), Breath In, Pet's Superpet (another band I've to check out since I love 'Monza' as well [nothing to do with its similarity to my username, honest :D]), Watching The Detectives (shamefully, I've no Elvis Costello on my iTunes, apart from Oliver's Army), and Blues Music.

Goloka's Give Me Lovin would be the pick of the bunch though; top, top stuff.

Ta Monzo, the MBV one is from Ecstasy & Wine, an album made up of a couple of EPs released just before they really hit form with Isn't Anything. The Pet stuff is all off the album Player One Ready which is another I'd wholeheartedly recommend. :)

PM sent noby.

noby
03/02/2010, 2:51 PM
To mumblings of 'about time too', I finally dropped the cds into the postbox about half an hour ago.
Expect to receive 'An Animal Collective' in the next couple of days or so.

stann
04/02/2010, 8:37 PM
Got it today noby, hope to give it a spin or two over the weekend. Looks good, some fine selections on there. Interesting theme also! :D

monzo
10/02/2010, 1:12 PM
Got it during the week noby; I forgot to bring it down to college with me though so it might be a while before I get to hear it.

kingdom hoop
16/02/2010, 1:35 PM
I believe I'm next to submit a collection of music to make you go whay, whoo, yeuu and other assorted satisfied noises that may or may not suggest a spiritual metamorphosis is taking place somewhere deep inside you. Well, you know - believe and it might just happen.

Anyway, can someone please send me the addresses and I'll send mine out this week. Thanks.

noby
17/02/2010, 9:59 AM
pm sent, Kingdom Hoop.

noby
18/02/2010, 10:47 AM
Track list, by the way:

An Animal Collective

1 Elephants Mean Death - The Factory Owners 2006
2 Dogs Are Everywhere - Pulp 1986
3 Tiger Mountain Peasant Song - Fleet Foxes 2008
4 Plastic Bird - Galaxie 500 1989
5 Dragonflies - Red House Painters 1993
6 Octopus - Syd Barrett 1969
7 Surfin' Bird - The Trashmen 1964
8 Hungry Dog - Nick Gilroy Kombo 1999
9 Chicken Payback - The Bees 2004
10 Funny Little Frog - Belle & Sebastian 2006
11 Rock Lobster - The B-52's 1979
12 Orang outan - Jane Birkin / Serge Gainsbourg 1969
13 Elephant Stone - The Stone Roses 1988
14 Polar Bear - Charlatans 1990
15 Bring Down The Birds - Herbie Hancock 1966
16 Funky Mule - Ike Turner & The Kings Of Rhythm 1969
17 Superfly - Curtis Mayfield 1972
18 Bulldog - The Shangri-Las 1965
19 The Snake - Al Wilson 1968
20 Snake In The Grass - Jimmy Shondell (aka Eugene Paul) 1972
21 Monkey Man - The Maytals 1970
22 Sheep - The Housemartins 1986
23 Nellie The Elephant - Toy Dolls 1984

davey
18/02/2010, 7:30 PM
Haven't been on for a little while - time to post my verdict on last 2 offerings I think :)

Stann
Lot of new stuff here for me - virtually all of it worked. Have to say the tracks flowed very well, best yet in this regard. It really felt like it had a beginning, middle and end - 3 very different phases. My favourite part was the beginning phase, tracks 1 to about 7. Special shout to "Blues Music" - intoxicating mellowness. Adored Frou Frou effort too. Hebaliser is always a winner too. From the rest of this fine work, I'd highlight Pet,Rennie Pilgrim and The Pains of being Pure at Heart. Lot of new stuff to check out. Brilliant !

Noby

What can I say ? Definitely the funnest compilation so far. Great idea with the animal theme. I'd probably heard more of the tracks on this than other offerings but not in this context - weirdly made me think of them a bit differently. Never thought I'd see Red House Painters (huge fan myself) and Curtis Mayfield on the same CD ! This compilation probably made me smile more than any other.
Always hated Pink Floyd so never checked out any Syd Barrett but loved Octopus. Al Wilson's The Snake is a work of genius, put me in mind of OC Smiths Hickory Hollers Tramp. You've also had me dusting off my copy of "Now Thats what I Call Quite Good" - A fantastic album that I hadn't heard in maybe 15 years. Sheep is brilliant.

Can I repeat how good I think this whole idea is ? Looking forward to Kingdom Hoops work

noby
20/02/2010, 1:05 PM
Yeah, a lot of the tracks are probably familiar to most - I can't remember the last time I put the Stone Roses on a compilation - and a few others didn't make it for that same reason, e.g. the Pixies. Glad you liked it anyway.

Park_Lane
22/02/2010, 9:48 PM
Right, been busy with work so only getting to post on the last two offerings now. Here goes:

Another Hastily compiled stanned in

Really good compilation also loving the lack of guitars very chilled vibe about it and very beat heavy.
My favourites on this include
The Dream Warriors � Wash Your Face In My Sink this reminds me of De La soul/Tribe called quest, quality tune.
G Love & Special Sauce � Blues Music - Favourite song on this compliation love the double bass sound will definately be checking these out.
All in all a very interesting compilation loads of stuff i never heard before and an going to check out.

An Animal collective

I already knew The Bees, Shangri-La�s, Maytals, Curtis Mayfield,Roses, charlatans, Ike Turner all excellent tracks ang got me digging out some old stuff that I havent listened to in a while.
Highlights on this compilation for me are B52�s - I bought the bands first album on the back of hearing this track
galxie 5000 - Love the bassline on this
Syd Barrett- don�t know much material by him apart from early Floyd, but was pleasently surprised
Elephant stone with the extended intro � legendary makes the hairs stand up on the back of yer neck!!!!!!

kingdom hoop
25/02/2010, 4:10 PM
Right well I finally got the chance (or gave myself the chance I suppose) to put mine together. So all songs are now selected, burnt, enumerated, typed and packaged. A few stamps and they'll be flying. Yep, Hoop There It Is: A Kingdom of Rhythm 'n' Beats will be going through a good letterbox near you soon.

I toyed with a few different themes but bottled them all in favour of songs and genres I've been enjoying the fcuk out of this past while. Other filter criteria included trying to keep away from mainstream (I'll be at once disappointed and delighted if anyone knows more than a few of the songs), and I tried to generally keep the vibe rhythmic and beat-y. It's all very much immediately pleasing anyway - something I won't apologise for. I do apologise for being late though. Maybe we'll do an exchange of time-keeping tips next.

Anyway, enjoy. And be sure to let me know how **** my taste is, before I then tell you how terrible your taste is, and then things start escalating to the stage where eventually I order Mikey Graham to start singing outside your house at 6am.

stann
25/02/2010, 6:52 PM
Cheers Davey and Park Lane, too kind. :)

On An Animal Collective, only just now got to listen to it a couple of times through, Noby, it was more than a little temperamental in my car CD player, happens a bit with CD-Rs, so it got chucked to the back seat a few times. :D

Great fun compo though, enjoyed it immensely! Knew more of them than previous ones of course, but all the better for revisiting a few old faves - Surfin' Bird, Chicken Payback (just put than on a comp myself), B-52s, Stone Roses, Herbie Hancock, Superfly, Sheep, all class, all highlights.
Surprisingly hadn't heard that Charlatans one before though, or Red House Painters, or Belle & Sebastian, shameful out of me on all counts! Like Park Lane was also pleasantly surprised by Syd Barratt. :)
Class of the lot for me though has to be Toots, what a tune that is, love it!

monzo
25/02/2010, 8:49 PM
Took me an awful long time to play the mix (and an equally long time in submitting some feedback!) but I enjoyed An Animal Collective quite a bit in the two times I've listened to it. Anyway the following were the tracks I enjoyed a lot (with *indicating the ones I had heard before):

1 Elephants Mean Death - The Factory Owners 2006
2 Dogs Are Everywhere - Pulp 1986
3 Tiger Mountain Peasant Song - Fleet Foxes 2008*
5 Dragonflies - Red House Painters 1993
7 Surfin' Bird - The Trashmen 1964
8 Hungry Dog - Nick Gilroy Kombo 1999
10 Funny Little Frog - Belle & Sebastian 2006 *may have heard this before, sounds familiar
11 Rock Lobster - The B-52's 1979
15 Bring Down The Birds - Herbie Hancock 1966 *
16 Funky Mule - Ike Turner & The Kings Of Rhythm 1969
17 Superfly - Curtis Mayfield 1972
19 The Snake - Al Wilson 1968
20 Snake In The Grass - Jimmy Shondell (aka Eugene Paul) 1972
22 Sheep - The Housemartins 1986
23 Nellie The Elephant - Toy Dolls 1984

Love the B-52s track, hadn't heard it before, and I noticed it being played by Peter Griffin of Family Guy soon afterwards... which is odd considering my sister has been constantly replaying the clips of Peter singing Surfin' Bird...also included in the list! I dunno if I prefer it to the Ramones' version but it's always cool to hear originals.

In particular, Dogs Are Everywhere, Hungry Dog, Rock Lobster and The Snake are all excellent. Must check out some more Nick Gilroy.

The last song was a great closer btw!

noby
26/02/2010, 10:16 PM
Thanks for the comments, guys. Yeah I guessed most would be familiar, but went for it anyway.

Stann, the Charlatans one is from their debut, so really goes hand in hand with the Roses for me (their early t-shirts/fanzine quoted it: 'Looking fr the orange one')

In particular, Dogs Are Everywhere, Hungry Dog, Rock Lobster and The Snake are all excellent. Must check out some more Nick Gilroy.

A couple of personal favourites there too.

The guitarist on Nick Gilroy Combo is none other than Boz Boorer, going back to his roots.

I spent a great weekend at a scooter rally in Tenby about five years ago where The Snake became the anthem for the weekend. It was in every Northern Soul set, and the crowd went mad every time it came on.

Looking forward to KH's effort.

noby
03/03/2010, 9:45 AM
KH, your cd arrived this morning. I think it's safe to say I'll be hearing a lot of new stuff when I throw this on.