View Full Version : Foot.ie Music Exchange Version 3.0 (looking for sign ups)

25/10/2009, 12:33 PM
10 participants, one CD to go out every 2 weeks (one week doesn't really work, people fall behind on listening and sending them out).

So far

Jebus
Stann
Monzo
Park Lane
Noby
Kindom Hoop
Davey

Park_Lane
25/10/2009, 7:09 PM
would love to be included in this, count me in!

noby
25/10/2009, 10:31 PM
While I haven't been around as much lately, I'd still like to be on this.

kingdom hoop
25/10/2009, 11:30 PM
Excellent, a nice revival at the time of year when nature begins to wilt. So I suppose I may as well follow Park Lane and Super Tax (sorry Noby) on the board. That makes me Mayfair then. How wonderfully affluent!

Anyway... I don't think I've many suggestions for improvement - now if we could just bloody enforce the current rules! So sticking to the dates is important. I'm happy to go soon enough, just can't do either this week or next.

26/10/2009, 6:14 PM
4 spots left so, as soon as they're filled we'll work out dates

kingdom hoop
30/10/2009, 5:05 PM
Kinda surprised there hasn't been much of an uptake on this. Ye don't know what ye're missing. (Excellent new music is the answer by the way.)

Is there a level at which this thing becomes inefficient? More than 10 is probably too many, but the question arises: Is 6 too little? I'm not sure. Hopefully one or two more will land in soon...... any day now. :)

davey
01/11/2009, 4:13 PM
Haven't been on for ages, but having read the thread from previous exchange, this sounds great. Count me in. I'm UK based - problem?

01/11/2009, 5:31 PM
Not for me, how about the others?

If it's UK based Bluebeard and his vast knowledge of catchy tunes might be persuaded to sign on?

Park_Lane
01/11/2009, 6:05 PM
Haven't been on for ages, but having read the thread from previous exchange, this sounds great. Count me in. I'm UK based - problem?

Not a problem for me either. Looking forward to this getting started.

stann
01/11/2009, 8:20 PM

Not for me either Davey. We'll all only have to send one (or two maybe) to the UK, you'll have to send (almost) all yours to Ireland. If that's OK with you it's grand with me anyway! :)

01/11/2009, 8:24 PM
Grand, well 7 is enough but we'll leave it go til Wednesday in case anyone else wants on and close it then and make out a schedule

Sound alright?

davey
01/11/2009, 8:58 PM
Grand, well 7 is enough but we'll leave it go til Wednesday in case anyone else wants on and close it then and make out a schedule

Sound alright?

Sounds great, already thinking of possible tunes! Don't mind postage costs if i'm going to get a few cracking cds :)

06/11/2009, 10:13 PM
Right lads shall we get this started so?

Anyone have any preference for their placing on the list?

davey
06/11/2009, 10:18 PM
No preference for me - don't mind going early on if others are busy

Park_Lane
07/11/2009, 9:59 AM
Yeah I'm ready to get started aswell. Can go early on too if required. I hope you boys like your guitars!;)

monzo
07/11/2009, 11:10 AM
I'm ready as well, my only preference would be not to be the first to send them out as I wouldn't have time this week or next week.

07/11/2009, 12:01 PM
Does the order of

Davey
Park Lane
Monzo
Jebus

for the first four work? we can see how the other three are set then and put them in. I can move up or down the list as well if people need it

davey
07/11/2009, 12:06 PM
No Problem. I'll get on the case tonight. Wife is out tonight, got a few beers in- ideal time to start

07/11/2009, 12:15 PM
Nice, right lads PM Davey the addresses so

stann
07/11/2009, 1:48 PM
Grand with me anyway, I'll go 5th if you like?

PM sent Davey.

noby
07/11/2009, 3:11 PM
I'm easy - I'll take sixth I guess.

pm sent.

Park_Lane
07/11/2009, 9:14 PM
Pm sent

monzo
07/11/2009, 11:39 PM
PM delivered to davey. I used my college address in order to have easy access to the CDs, but hopefully they don't get nicked or anything, the place I'm staying at could probably do with a postbox.

Third in the list will do for me, Jebus. It means I won't spend several months gruelling over what tracks I should include (in total, there must have been around 100 different tracks in my provisional playlists). :o

davey
08/11/2009, 11:06 AM
Ok. Jobs a good un - did it last night and CDs burned.Once I get PM from Kingdom Hoop, I'll post them on. If there's a theme, its a retro one. Newest track is 10 years old ! Mostly well established artists but hopefully quite a few tracks people haven't heard before (kinda the point I suppose). Haven't been spending the time chasing new music that I used to over the last few years, family committments etc so hoping to get re-inspired by some of you guys.

Once posted, I'll put playlist up.

kingdom hoop
08/11/2009, 7:58 PM
Once I get PM from Kingdom Hoop, I'll post them on.

Sorry lads, was away for a while. I'll send the PM once I submit this post...

davey
12/11/2009, 7:12 PM
Had a really busy week so only got round to posting CDs this evening. Coming from Glasgow so based on plenty of past experience will take anything from 3-7 days ! Here's the playlist to wet your appetite - hope you enjoy it.

1) Spaceman 3 - Bright Lights, Big City 1990
2) Orbital – Belfast/Wasted 1992 (vocals Grant Fulton)
3) Julian Cope – Upwards at 45 Degrees 1992
4) Elliot Smith – Bled White 1998
5) Tindersticks – Can We Start Again? 1999
6) Velvet Underground – Foggy Notion 1969
7) Tim Buckley – Sweet Surrender 1972
8) Aretha Franklin – How I Got Over 1972
9) Bessie Banks – Go Now 1964
10) The V.I.P.s – I Wanna Be Free 1966
11) Underworld – Dirty Epic 1994
12) The Verve – One Way To Go – 1995
13) Curtis Mayfield – Back To The World – 1973
14) Zerben R Hicks & The Dynamics – Lights Out 1967

noby
12/11/2009, 10:15 PM
Excellent stuff. A few favourites of mine there; looking forward to listening to it.

13/11/2009, 9:44 PM
Tim Buckley + Orbital + velvet Underground + Curtis Mayfield + Tindersticks + Aretha = win for me anyway :)

monzo
14/11/2009, 12:09 AM
Possibly my favourite VU track, well done. (Y).

16/11/2009, 5:57 PM
Got the CD today man, will give it a spin and be back in the next few days

Park_Lane
16/11/2009, 8:46 PM
CD arrived today, thanks Davey. Gave it a listen there and its quality I know most of the bands on it but haven't heard hardly any of those songs before. That Julian cope song is class. Definately going to check out some more of his stuff.

Park_Lane
16/11/2009, 8:47 PM
By the way lads if yous want to PM me your addresses and I'll send out my cd at some stage next week.

noby
16/11/2009, 8:53 PM
What works best is if Davey pm's the full list of addresses to you, then you send it on to the next person etc. etc.

Will give the cd a spin later, or in the morning, thanks.

17/11/2009, 5:14 PM
Fantastic kick off to the new round of CDs Davey, top marks

You now have me dusting off my old Tindersticks, VU, Verve and Orbital CDs and tracking down work by Julian Cope, Zerben Hicks and the VIPs all three of which I'd never listened to before (and in the case of Zerben and the VIPs never evn heard of)

Favourite track goes to Orbital's Belfast/Wasted, had forgotten what a gem of a track this is :)

davey
17/11/2009, 7:51 PM
Fantastic kick off to the new round of CDs Davey, top marks

You now have me dusting off my old Tindersticks, VU, Verve and Orbital CDs and tracking down work by Julian Cope, Zerben Hicks and the VIPs all three of which I'd never listened to before (and in the case of Zerben and the VIPs never evn heard of)

Favourite track goes to Orbital's Belfast/Wasted, had forgotten what a gem of a track this is :)

Glad a couple of yis have enjoyed it so far. Be very careful with the Julian Cope back catalogue as there is some rubbish! Peggy Suicide is the masterpiece and the obvious place to start. Jehovahkill, the follow up, and from where Upwards At 45 Degrees comes from, is excellent too. For all Pre 1991 Cope, buy or burn Floored Genius - an superb pre 91 Best of collection.

Jebus - You'll do well to find any Zerben R Hicks. One of these Detroit Northern Soul guys who sang with a band called the Dynamics for a while and then disappeared. Became obsessed with Lights Out for a while a few years ago after hearing it on a Dave Godin Deep Soul Treasures Comp (cannot recommend too highly if you love slow/mid tempo 60s soul). The Bessie Banks number on the CD came from a similar compilation.

Glad you liked the Orbital track Jebus - Its a bizarre one because its not really an official Orbital release. It was released on a Volume compilation from early 90s. Any Indie fans around from that era might remember them. The original Belfast tune was a dance chillout classic, but the vocal on this adds a completely different dimension to it. I quite the dance tune with good lyrics vibe as the inclusion of the Underworls track from the same era attests.

davey
17/11/2009, 7:54 PM
Have PMd Park Lane the addresses

monzo
19/11/2009, 6:44 PM
Got the CD this morning and got to spin most of the tracks (had to rush off towards the end). A ruddy bloody good start. The following were immense songs which I hadn't heard before (apart from the VU one):

1) Spaceman 3 - Bright Lights, Big City 1990
3) Julian Cope – Upwards at 45 Degrees 1992
5) Tindersticks – Can We Start Again? 1999
6) Velvet Underground – Foggy Notion 1969
7) Tim Buckley – Sweet Surrender 1972
8) Aretha Franklin – How I Got Over 1972
11) Underworld – Dirty Epic 1994

I'll give a more comprehensive review once I get to listen to the final tracks.

stann
22/11/2009, 8:00 PM
Got it late too Davey, but it got a good few spins over the weekend, and it's an excellent kick off to the new series. :)
Brilliant opener, forgot how much I really love that Spacemen 3 tune! Recurring is getting the CD swap treatment the next batch I get.
The Orbital track is likewise a gem, an extra dimension alright, and was very, very impressed with the Elliot Smith tune - a fella whose work I've always meant to check out, and definitely will now, yet another sale chalked up to the foot.ie exchange!
The Velvets song I have to admit to not knowing, but again it's just excellent. From VU did I see? That worth a look?
Tindersticks' song is my favourite of theirs, and Underworld, Aretha Franklin, Verve, loads of highlights, top work!

Park_Lane
25/11/2009, 8:28 AM
Lads, I've posted out my CD this morning, you should receive by next week hopefully. Heres the tracklist:

Complete Control (live) - The Clash - 1981
Strychnine - The Sonics - 1965
I Will Dare - The Replacements - 1984
Vampires & Failures - Paul Westerberg (Grandapaboy) - 2003
Personality Crisis - New York dolls - 1973
I’m In Love with a girl - Big Star - 1974
Lower down - Jeff Klein - 2000
Halcyon days (Live) - Lir -2006
We’re Going To Hell - Cursive - 2009
Hey Negrita - The Rolling Stones - 1976
Boom boom - John Lee hooker - 1961
Very Temporary - Bob Mould - 2008
Today Your Love Tomorrow the World - Ramones 1976
Man in Decline - Mission of Burma 2006
Waiting Room - Fugazi 1989
Chemical feat. Josh Homme - UNKLE 2008
Unbalanced Pieces - Soulsavers - 2009
When It's Cold I’d like to Die - Moby - 1995
History Lesson Part II - Minutemen - 1984
Cross Bones Style - Cat Power - 1998
That's Just How that Bird Sings - The Twilight Singers 2000
The Last Kind Words - David Johansen 2005

I didnt have any specific theme in mind just compiled tunes that I think are good. Mostly alternative bands with a bit of punk attitude thrown in.

kingdom hoop
26/11/2009, 10:21 AM
Looks tasty Park Lane, I'm looking forward to it.

Davey, I should mention that I've been really enjoying your offering this past week - it hasn't been displaced from the car CD. Great stuff, very consistent. I like all the songs, and love some of them! Great work.

monzo
26/11/2009, 3:27 PM
The Velvets song I have to admit to not knowing, but again it's just excellent. From VU did I see? That worth a look?

Definitely worth a look. It's probably my favourite Velvets CD. I included a track off it for my first submission (was either Lisa Says or Stephanie Says...).

Ha Park Lane's CD is right up my street (but damn you for including I Will Dare - I had lined that up as a potential opener for my compilation-to-come! :D). I've yet to stick it on but I already know and love those Mould, Minutemen, Replacements, Hooker songs. :)

Park_Lane
26/11/2009, 4:46 PM
Ha Park Lane's CD is right up my street (but damn you for including I Will Dare - I had lined that up as a potential opener for my compilation-to-come! :D) :)

It nearly didnt make the cut as Left of the dial is probably my favourite Mats song so was going to include that instead.

monzo
27/11/2009, 8:56 PM
It's another classic alright. Listened to Pleased to Meet Me last night for the first time, seemed good but I think I need another listen before I can rank it anywhere near the likes of Tim and Let It Be.

Park_Lane
29/11/2009, 3:25 PM
It's another classic alright. Listened to Pleased to Meet Me last night for the first time, seemed good but I think I need another listen before I can rank it anywhere near the likes of Tim and Let It Be.

Yeah PTMM is good but suffers from the fact that its the first album without Bob Stinson. Also the producer that was used really made an arse of the record giving it a real squeaky clean sound which is not what the mats were about, Some quality songs on it though. If you've want to hear what PTMM should of sounded like you should track down the demos which have a much more punky feel to them.

01/12/2009, 11:10 AM
Got my copy on Friday Park Lane and gave it a spin straight away, sounded very very good as well but I've been up the walls this weekend so thats all the plays it's gotten

Gonna throw it on later on and be back tomorrow with my favourites though

davey
02/12/2009, 8:40 PM
Had Park Lane's CD a few days and has been on the car stereo ever since. Really really enjoyed it. Loads of artists I'd never heard before.
My faves

The Replacements - Boing ! What an insanely bouncy and catchy bass line.

Jeff Klein - lovely stuff

Big Star - delicate, charming song. Been meaning to get some of their stuff for ages, this confirms why.

Cat Power - Bought a lot of albums in late 90s - Can't believe I missed out on this gem.

Bob Mould - Still delivering the goods

The Twilight Singers - Unusual, you don't expect the Maxwell style Mmmmm at the start on this kind of track - It works!

This exchange thing is such a good idea - Can't wait for the next one:)

Park_Lane
04/12/2009, 11:15 AM
Nice one Davey, glad you enjoyed those tracks. Are the punkier tracks not your thing?:)

Big Star - delicate, charming song. Been meaning to get some of their stuff for ages, this confirms why.

If you're planning on a Big Star purchase, may I reccommend the recent compilation 'Keep an eye on the sky'. It has everything you need plus a couple of quality live recordings to boot.

04/12/2009, 2:17 PM
Another excellent album for the collection Park Lane :)

Had a few favourites of mine on there like Big Star, Cat Power, UNKLE, Fugazi and the Clash but a lot of new stuff for me as well

Really enjoyed that Moby track, as well as the Sonics, Minutemen, Cursive and David Johansen.

Have always meant to check out the New York Dolls as well and this confirms that I should, any recommendations?

monzo
04/12/2009, 2:27 PM
I still haven't had a proper chance to listen to Park Lane's compilation (essays, exams, etc.) so I'll give it a few spins next week. I'll (hopefully) have my own one sent out next Thursday or Friday.

Park_Lane
04/12/2009, 2:54 PM
Have always meant to check out the New York Dolls as well and this confirms that I should, any recommendations?

I'd recommend the debut album 'New York Dolls' its really a great album start to finish and its the one that that song 'personality crisis' comes from. Also if any of you are into your music documentarys I'd highly recommend 'New York Doll', its about the Bass player Arthur 'Killer' Kane and the reunion of the New York Dolls for Morrisseys meltdown fesitval in 2004. Its a touching film and has some great moments captured that would break your heart.