View Full Version : FAI cup final - Sligo Rovers vs Sporting Fingal 22/11/09
dublinred
17/11/2009, 9:07 AM
Thought Fingal looked very good against Bray last night but they tired badly in the last 15mins Bray missed a lot of good chances ,great header by the bray goalie to setup a dramatic final few minutes then he ruined it getting caught out showboating a minute late , the fingal goalie Quigley made a few good saves also.
CF1989
17/11/2009, 5:31 PM
not looking good for brushy for sunday
sligofan4ever
17/11/2009, 5:33 PM
not looking good for brushy for sunday
Aggrevate injury or just not looking like he'll recover in time anyways from his original injury ?
bingoballs
17/11/2009, 7:14 PM
Thought Fingal looked very good against Bray last night but they tired badly in the last 15mins Bray missed a lot of good chances ,great header by the bray goalie to setup a dramatic final few minutes then he ruined it getting caught out showboating a minute late , the fingal goalie Quigley made a few good saves also.
That was one of the funniest things I have ever seen. He got awful stick the last time we met Bray at the Showgrounds and he rose to it, he started slagging us saying we will always be from Sligo. I wasn't surprised to see him get caught out like that. I read last week that Bohs are supposed to be interested in signing him! Good luck to them trying to win the league with that clown between the posts!!
As for the Fingal keeper, he is a good shot stopper alright. He was man of the match for the first leg of the play off. He looked like he might be a bit dodgey on crosses though. They are a decent side and will be hard beat.
dublinred
17/11/2009, 8:56 PM
any idea who the ref will be?
Heard its Kelly one of the better ones.
Mayo Red
18/11/2009, 8:16 AM
Id stab a guess at Kelly, it is on tv.........
He'll have to get the highlights touched up again so!!!:D
DaveyCakes
18/11/2009, 1:23 PM
The rte webcast is available worldwide, isn't it?
sligored
18/11/2009, 4:28 PM
from donegal democrar
Published Date: 10 November 2009
By Alan Foley
Donegal's Terence Moyne will be the assistant referee for this month's FAI Cup final between Sligo Rovers and Sporting Fingal at Tallaght Stadium.
A native of Muff in Inishowen, Moyne will carry the flag along with fellow assistant Alan Lynch, while Alan Kelly is in charge and Neil Doyle is the fourth official for the contest that is the highlight of the Irish sporting calendar. Moyne has been in the League of Ireland ranks for 13 seasons now, and is delighted with his appointment.
"The cup final is the biggest game of the season for the clubs involved and the supporters and it's the exact same for the officials," he said. "We were informed of our appointments almost immediately after the semi-finals last month and it's a huge honour to get chosen to officiate at it. I suppose I've been on the scene for quite a while now, and you might saw that it's a case of lucky number 13 for me. It has to be the highlight of any official's career when they get a chance like this."
Moyne was in action over the weekend, as he was the assistant referee in Finn Harps' final game of the season, which resulted in a 2-0 loss at Monaghan United's hands. The last Donegal man to be involved in an FAI Cup final was Raphoe native Wilfred Wallace, who was the fourth official for the 1996 meeting of St Patrick's Athletic and Shelbourne at Lansdowne Road. That game, ironically, was refereed by Pat Kelly, who is Alan's father.
bingoballs
18/11/2009, 5:32 PM
Chris O Connor is class.
Quigley was the best keeper in Ireland his last season with UCD. He has gone downhill since
I dont rate him at all, i think he is one of the worst keepers I have seen in the LOI to be honest.
18/11/2009, 6:33 PM
I dont rate him at all, i think he is one of the worst keepers I have seen in the LOI to be honest.
O'Connor, or Quigley?
redarmyfaction
18/11/2009, 9:44 PM
from donegal democrar
Published Date: 10 November 2009
By Alan Foley
Donegal's Terence Moyne will be the assistant referee for this month's FAI Cup final between Sligo Rovers and Sporting Fingal at Tallaght Stadium.
A native of Muff in Inishowen,
No going down too easy on Sunday lads, their not too fond of divers in Muff.
Well Red
19/11/2009, 9:43 AM
He is a *****, if he is infront of us we should abuse him from the off, not going to get anything off him either way
What a well thought provoking plan you have come up with, should get him on our side ok!!
sligored
19/11/2009, 9:55 AM
in fairness alan kelly is the best ref in the league of ireland by a long way.
I hope i dont live to regret those words.
Redie
19/11/2009, 10:20 AM
A compliment akin to being told you are the tallest dwarf:)
dublinred
19/11/2009, 10:45 AM
Best of a bad lot , at least there is no sign of Winter , McKeon, Buttimer or Hilda in the other officals either.
red bellied
19/11/2009, 11:22 AM
Ventre is captain for the final.
CF1989
19/11/2009, 11:54 AM
being captain and scoring the winner, some day for danny
sligored
19/11/2009, 12:53 PM
I only picked up bits and pieces on the radio this morning but ogrady said that brushie would not make the final- morrison said that he would probably be used as an impact sub.
dublinred
19/11/2009, 12:58 PM
being captain and scoring the winner, some day for danny
Thats a big ask , his first objective should be to avoid a red card.
CF1989
19/11/2009, 1:29 PM
Thats a big ask , his first objective should be to avoid a red card.
naw, sure he's great in a tackle. mistimed rather than wreckless!
19/11/2009, 6:12 PM
Was out in Tallaght earlier, pitch is in a poor condition, in particulary one corner of it. Hopefully the weather will pick up over the weekend or the game could be in doubt. Should be ok. There is temporary seating behind both goals, thought it would just be one. Work is just about to finish on it. So the FAI did have time to put up temporary seating
No badder. Tierry Henry is coming over to give them a hand.
It's ok. Got my coat.
bingoballs
19/11/2009, 6:15 PM
O'Connor, or Quigley?
O Connor, he's cat imo
srfc1928
20/11/2009, 2:02 PM
Good buzz around town today, atmosphere really starting to build.
20/11/2009, 5:18 PM
http://www.loi.ie/index.php/clubs/premier-division/sligo-rvs/latest-news/1328-blinkhorn-expecting-close-contest
sligobhoy67
20/11/2009, 7:57 PM
right its official!!! The weekend is here, the missus is ironing a few pieces and packin a bag for me (good gurtl yerself!), passports out, euros are changed and ready for an early dart tommorrow.
So yeah its official alright - I cant Frickin wait for the Cup Final!!
Se Woovas!!! Se Woovas!!!
20/11/2009, 9:05 PM
Audio with Peers (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1117/peersg_av.html?2650326,null,209).
CF1989
20/11/2009, 9:18 PM
such a bad moderator
20/11/2009, 9:25 PM
He's no gustavo thats for sure
20/11/2009, 9:40 PM
He's no gustavo thats for sureSoundly beaten (http://www.googlefight.com/index.php?lang=en_GB&word1=sligoman&word2=gustavo). Now people can stop singing songs about me and move onto gustavo:).
20/11/2009, 11:13 PM
Seamie was interviewd on ocean about it
The new song?
MarkyH
21/11/2009, 10:19 AM
IMO the team will be:
Kelly
Boco Keane Peers Kendrick
Cash Ventre Ryan Doyle
Raf Blinkhorn
With conditions likely to be difficult, I can see us playin very direct. I think Raf can get at the 2 big centre halfs for Fingal. Ventre is going to have to put in a big shift in the middle of the park as we all know Ryan is not as mobile as Connor.
I would say it will be a very tight game, possibly going into extra time. I just hope the weather doesn't play too much of a factor in the final outcome.
MMVIII
21/11/2009, 10:50 AM
Can't wait for this. Feels a bit surreal tbh. Things like this don't happen to us. Singing section will be unreal as will the entire stand hopefully.
sligofan4ever
21/11/2009, 7:09 PM
Tis only hours away before we all depart on our buses. Never been as excited about a game in ages :).
Mayo Red
21/11/2009, 7:19 PM
I wouldn't dare predict a scoreline as I wouldn't want to jinx it but hopefully we'll bring the Cup West again, probably in a small boat mind you, but West nonetheless!!:)
21/11/2009, 9:02 PM
Nervous..
As am I.
redarmyfaction
21/11/2009, 9:23 PM
Early start hope I can sleep I don't have the luxury for a night on the town to be put me out to sleep.
oldrover
21/11/2009, 9:55 PM
this will need 100% from the team and the fans
21/11/2009, 10:15 PM
yay....
All the red and white in the town looks brilliant, hopefully a few of the flags stay up for a while. Cannot wait for tomorrow, I dont remember much of the '94 cup final,(was my first ever Rovers game and had no interest in it, being 6 years old) just the people in front of me jumping up and down when Gerry scored. Will be unbelievable if we win it.
COME ON ROVERS!!
Boo_Boy
21/11/2009, 10:20 PM
Really hope we win. What a horrible week and weekend It would be for me sporting-wise if we lose. :(
Bed time now, up early tomorrow.
G'wan the Rovers.
southern red
21/11/2009, 10:58 PM
nerves are kicking in now,, , cant wait to get started though,, tis gonna be tough, we've had the toughest route to a final ever,,i hope we still have the hunger we had in earlier rounds, c,mon rovers...if the floods dont get ya, THE TORNADO WILLL , .VIVA CRETARO..:ball:...:ball:.;).
CarrickFan
21/11/2009, 10:59 PM
Really hope we win. What a horrible week and weekend It would be for me sporting-wise if we lose. :(
Bed time now, up early tomorrow.
G'wan the Rovers.
You said it...a win 2mor would really help make up for Wednesday.....have enjoyed the season as always..drama as usual with us...some great games,great goals,poor runs of results,good/poor signings and the usual money troubles!!....its great to round off the season with a Cup Final appearance..players,staff and fans deserve to bring the cup home....
C'MON THE BIT O' RED!!
RoversInn
21/11/2009, 11:56 PM
Our season has really come down to this. Playing a team with no fans, a franchaise, But a very very good team.
I just hope to good we settle quickly and can do the business up front.
COME ON ROVERS!
THE ROVERS!
sligofan4ever
22/11/2009, 12:02 AM
Jaysus the nerves are shot. Sleepless in Seattle has nothing on Sleepless in Sligo!
22/11/2009, 12:45 AM
This WILL be the best day of all time
**** the day of the Big Bang like..
reddynamite
22/11/2009, 1:55 AM
**** the day of the Big Bang like..
the big bang is on its way
Boo_Boy
22/11/2009, 4:29 AM
I can't sleep, I'm so nervous/excited!
the big bang is on its way
Maybe I'm not thinking right because it's 5.30am..but huh?
life long red
22/11/2009, 4:38 AM
2 nil to the rovers
d rovers
22/11/2009, 5:37 AM
Looking forward to the game now, fingers crossed for a win. Its going to be tough. Viva Cretaro!
bingoballs
22/11/2009, 6:26 AM
hittin the road now, i can't feckin wait. c'mon the Rovers
22/11/2009, 6:27 AM
Ah jays lads.
The fooking nerves on me head man.