View Full Version : FAI cup final - Sligo Rovers vs Sporting Fingal 22/11/09
Blowin_Rover
25/10/2009, 8:51 PM
In the 70s and 80s at Arsenal on the back page of every programme there was a voucher in the bottom corner that you cut out to prove that you were going to the games.The vouchers were attached to a sheet that come the end of the season and you were in a final you could send off the sheet and were given first preference for a ticket for the match.This stopped the sunshiners getting preference for tickets and rewarded the loyal fans with a final ticket for all the support during the season....might be a good idea for the future?
forza rovers
26/10/2009, 7:13 AM
found this is there something the fai aren't telling us (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100465)
read the first line
Rovers Maniac
26/10/2009, 8:42 AM
found this is there something the fai aren't telling us (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100465)
read the first line
Ha ha that threw me for a sec, it mentions Tallaght further down the page.
26/10/2009, 11:04 AM
read the first line
A few radio stations announced it yesterday as the cup final being at the RDS, i'd put it down to the stations just being lazy and guessing it will be in Donnybrook, as the last few finals have been there.
Jeebus
26/10/2009, 11:30 AM
A few radio stations announced it yesterday as the cup final being at the RDS, i'd put it down to the stations just being lazy and guessing it will be in Donnybrook, as the last few finals have been there.
Christ, I see your Dublin geographical knowledge still hasnt improved one bit. The RDS is in Ballsbridge.... ya loo laa!!:p How do u manage to find your way to college every day?? wait until Rory leaves the house and then follow him?? :D;)
26/10/2009, 11:57 AM
Christ, I see your Dublin geographical knowledge still hasnt improved one bit. The RDS is in Ballsbridge.... ya loo laa!!:p How do u manage to find your way to college every day?? wait until Rory leaves the house and then follow him??
There all in D4 though, yes? I don't go out there too often, bit too upper-class for a culchie like me:o
Sure i couldnt even find me way to Messers the day of the Cliftonville game! As for college, as long as i take a left at the garden gate...i'm sorted!
red_away
26/10/2009, 12:02 PM
Everyone on this forum will be ok for tickets - buy them immediately after they go on sale and you will be ok!!!
Fingal will take up 1500 tickets and that means very roughly 1500 +3000 for SRFC?
if there was huge demand then bucket seats could be put in but you would need to get that arranged sharpish!!
Still travel problems, ticket problems....nice problems to have!!!!!!!!!!
red bellied
26/10/2009, 12:27 PM
Limiting the crowd to 6,000 for a cup final if it happens is ridicoluous. Even with small Fingal support they might muster up a few thousand on the day. I know the sunshiners arent coming out in the same numbers as previous cup campaigns but on the day we could get 6 or 7,000 to this one. Hopefully the O Grady situation gets sorted. Rovers wont win the cup without a Sligoman as club captain.
clubman
26/10/2009, 1:16 PM
Lads don't underestimate the pulling power of a club like Fingal. Remember the population of the area is 250,000 so I'd imagine they'll fill out the venue on their own. Remember a number of years ago when St Francis made the final and it was the best attended final in years. I'd imagine the interest in this one will be huge so anyone worring about getting their hand on a ticket, especially anyone living outside of Sligo, has every right to be. The only answer is, as someone else has stated, get to the showgies as soon as they go on sale as I'd say they'll be snapped up in record time.
26/10/2009, 2:55 PM
Lads don't underestimate the pulling power of a club like Fingal. Remember the population of the area is 250,000 so I'd imagine they'll fill out the venue on their own. Remember a number of years ago when St Francis made the final and it was the best attended final in years. I'd imagine the interest in this one will be huge so anyone worring about getting their hand on a ticket, especially anyone living outside of Sligo, has every right to be. The only answer is, as someone else has stated, get to the showgies as soon as they go on sale as I'd say they'll be snapped up in record time.
Clubman, you are dead right. When Bray played St. Francis there was 23.5000 in Lansdowne. I know because I had the score right in a cruise to Italia 90 competition and lost out on the attendance. I've never been the same since. Recommend you guys pick ip the first ticket that comes into view.
26/10/2009, 6:40 PM
Clubman, you are dead right. When Bray played St. Francis there was 23.5000 in Lansdowne. .
23 and a half? Wtf?
26/10/2009, 7:33 PM
23 and a half? Wtf?
Jesus, Brewer, I thought you were dead.
27/10/2009, 10:27 AM
I think there were a large number of free tickets for the game distributed locally on the day though that bumped up the attendance
Nathan
27/10/2009, 1:38 PM
Heard from a good source that Rovers are to get 5000 tickets for the final & the club have heard nothing about a change of venue.
There were 900 at the semi final on Sunday anything more than 1000 tickets for Fingal would be a disgrace.
prodsc
27/10/2009, 7:50 PM
Heard a rumour it will be €25 a ticket, anyone else heard this?
Tony Soprano
27/10/2009, 8:45 PM
why is the final being held in tallaght instead of RDS, Dalymount or Tolka ?
srfc1928
27/10/2009, 9:51 PM
Heard a rumour it will be €25 a ticket, anyone else heard this?
€25 is a decent price for a cup final. I doubt most people will be too bothered about the price, we've had 15 years to save up for it !!
Well Red
27/10/2009, 11:01 PM
why is the final being held in tallaght instead of RDS, Dalymount or Tolka ?
Rovers getting a good deal at Tallagh, RDS, Dalymount and Tolka not considered for good reasons. Sligo will have the main stand to themselves facing the cameras. With all due respect to Waterford and they played well against us, had they got through then the final would have been a disaster for the promotion of football in Ireland in a showcase event such as the Cup Final and sponsors would walk away for the future.
From what I know the FAI have got it spot on in the selection of Tallagh and Rovers will get in excess of 4000 tickets, the capacity will be 6,200 . Next years event will present a different problem when the final will be at the Lansdowne Road and its 50k capacity. Without the BOR in this final it would have been a disaster for all concerned. Floating figures of 10,000 suppporters from Sligo is unreal, lets get in excess of 4000 into Tallagh to prove how strong and loyal our support is.
rovers100%
09/11/2009, 12:41 PM
so lads 2 weeks till the big day, im excited already. how do ye think we will fair out. fingal will give us a real game i fear and have some quality players and have one of the best strikers in the league in eamon zayed. looks like most of the support will be the bit o red so we will have our 12th man with us. pity o grady is out so its up to richie ryan to step up and prove he can do more than go backwards......... in raf and blinkhorn we now have our best strikeforce in years so hopefully fingals defence will be run ragged. it would be great for the county to bring the trophy back and hopefully get some more money for the club and some new fans along the way. who will be captain on the day now ??? its also tough on brush being injured, himself and o grady are a big loss but replacements will have to step up to the mark. COME ON THE BIT O RED !!!
red bellied
09/11/2009, 12:51 PM
Cretaro should be captain for the day.
d rovers
09/11/2009, 12:54 PM
really looking forward to this game. with a big crowd supporting the rovers it should be like a home game. fingal have a very good squad & tore bray apart in the semi final, so one thing we won't be is over confident.
rovers100%
09/11/2009, 12:55 PM
ya be nice to give it to a local lad, peers would be a good choice either. but raf sounds good be nice to see him and connor go and lift it together
sligored
09/11/2009, 12:58 PM
Brushie said last week that he expects to be back for the final - I think Ciaran Kelly has done very well as a replacement so far-i think Gavin Peers should be captain but it is really tough on Conor - we will just have to win it in 2010 so that he can have his day of glory. I think he will be asked up to pick up the trophy anyway in Tallaght.
agree with you 100%
red bellied
09/11/2009, 1:04 PM
Wasn't Peers club captain for awhile and gave it up. Rovers won't lift the cup unless a Sligoman is captain.
CarrickFan
09/11/2009, 1:06 PM
Cretaro should be captain for the day.
Not if he's going to leave....Conor O is the captain and deservedly so.
Boo_Boy
09/11/2009, 1:06 PM
Rovers won't lift the cup unless a Sligoman is captain.
There's multiple Sligomans? :eek:
red bellied
09/11/2009, 1:20 PM
There's multiple Sligomans? :eek:
He's captain of the stewards for the day.
Brushie said last week that he expects to be back for the final - I think Ciaran Kelly has done very well as a replacement so far-i think Gavin Peers should be captain but it is really tough on Conor - we will just have to win it in 2010 so that he can have his day of glory. I think he will be asked up to pick up the trophy anyway in Tallaght.
agree with you 100%
That will be a major boost if he is:)
rovers100%
09/11/2009, 4:20 PM
Not if he's going to leave....Conor O is the captain and deservedly so.
thats a bit unfair on raf, we will all hate to see him leave but he has always given 110% for the club and loves sligo rovers. if he leaves it will be to better himself and challenge himself at a higher level plus if he is offered twice what he can get in sligo isnt he right. lets not forget there is a recession and raf has prob only 5 years left and then he will be out of football. i think anyone who says raf does not love the rovers and will leave with a heavy heart is talking sh1t. i think we need a local lad captaining the team and if it is rafs last game what better way to leave than leading his home town out on cup final day.
09/11/2009, 7:47 PM
thats a bit unfair on raf, we will all hate to see him leave but he has always given 110% for the club and loves sligo rovers. if he leaves it will be to better himself and challenge himself at a higher level plus if he is offered twice what he can get in sligo isnt he right. lets not forget there is a recession and raf has prob only 5 years left and then he will be out of football. i think anyone who says raf does not love the rovers and will leave with a heavy heart is talking sh1t. i think we need a local lad captaining the team and if it is rafs last game what better way to leave than leading his home town out on cup final day.
Hope, if he leaves, only 100% of him goes. 10% of Raf on the bench could be handy.
oldrover
09/11/2009, 9:09 PM
Read today of Rafs interst in staying with the bitored. Wish him well in whatever he does but club should strive to build on this season and retain players if at all possible. Lets be ambitious as well as prudent.
In the meantime lets show just how well the club is supported with a display of colour and wholehearted support for the bitored on 22 November.
sligored
09/11/2009, 9:50 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/cretaro-seeking-new-sligo-deal-1937946.html
please stay raf
rob mcdonald
10/11/2009, 4:47 PM
Sean Dohery mascot
10/11/2009, 4:54 PM
Sean Dohery mascot
Kevin Julian already has that position filled.
rob mcdonald
10/11/2009, 4:56 PM
Maybe they cud hold hands with Mary McGowan...
dublinred
10/11/2009, 8:44 PM
Fingal brushed aside Shels @ tolka tonite and have got further target practice lined up against Bray now.
prodsc
10/11/2009, 8:46 PM
Fingal brushed aside Shels @ tolka tonite and have got further target practice lined up against Drogheda now.
Target practice is against Bray(again) on Friday and Monday.
redarmyfaction
10/11/2009, 8:47 PM
^Fingal play Bray surely. A Fingal win was the best result for us they have to play Friday night and Monday night in their play offs. How big is their squad? gotta be getting tired, they picked some yellows tonight too.
prodsc
10/11/2009, 8:55 PM
^Fingal play Bray surely. A Fingal win was the best result for us they have to play Friday night and Monday night in their play offs. How big is their squad? gotta be getting tired, they picked some yellows tonight too.
Don't think yellows will count for the final..the committee have to sit before suspensions kick in like O'Grady's for the final. I may be wrong though.
dublinred
10/11/2009, 8:58 PM
Would of preferred them to lose as they are going to gain match fitness , target practice , momentum and confidence now yellows won't matter till the FAI meet again next month , Fingal are a well funded project circa 17k a week they have got a big squad of quality premier division class players and an excellent manager.
redarmyfaction
10/11/2009, 9:04 PM
Would of preferred them to lose as they are going to gain match fitness , target practice , momentum and confidence .
A lot of that depends on them getting past Bray, they are not supermen they could only finish 3rd in a their division
CF1989
10/11/2009, 10:16 PM
they finished 3rd in the first division and they are a full time professional club, we should be beating them comfortably
11/11/2009, 10:50 AM
This will be our toughest game of the season. Fingal are a very good side, and i'd expect them to beat Bray, especially if they've a fully fit team. At least we will have had 2 weeks+ off. They've still to play Bray twice.
sligored
11/11/2009, 11:35 AM
This will be our toughest game of the season. Fingal are a very good side, and i'd expect them to beat Drogheda, especially if they've a fully fit team. At least we will have had 2 weeks+ off. They've still to play Drogs twice.
are they not playing bray or did i miss something
11/11/2009, 11:36 AM
are they not playing bray or did i miss something
Sorry, it is Bray. :o
oldrover
13/11/2009, 9:27 PM
We need to focus on the match and avoid complacency or overconfidence. It looks now as if Fingal will be promoted and they will be very difficult opponents. We must remember they defeated Shams in Tallaght and I think the extra matches they are now having will keep them very sharp.This will be a very difficult challenge and the team would not need to be distracted with the build up.
sligored
13/11/2009, 10:06 PM
I dont see Fingal as a threat
wise up-have you supported rovers for long
dublinred
13/11/2009, 10:10 PM
I dont see Fingal as a threat
FFS -Fingal are a full time professional council funded outfit (my bin tags) on a budget of 17k a week with a class manager and a team full of premier division players they are one of the few teams to have beaten Shams in tallaght this season and are hitting a bit of form at the moment , we were blessed to beat them in the league cup Brush produced a masterclass in goalkeeping that night given that we have a big hole in midfield with O,Grady suspended its going to be an uphill task to beat them.
Redkenrover
13/11/2009, 10:13 PM
I know this is off topic but can anyone help me. I am looking for the contact details for the photographers who take the photos on matchday at the showgrounds? Any help would be appreciated if someone could PM me. Thanks
RoversInn
13/11/2009, 10:29 PM
Where do the FAI members sit? Getting a few tickets off a member of the FAI and don't know how he's getting them, Will it be a Fingal one?