View Full Version : FAI cup final - Sligo Rovers vs Sporting Fingal 22/11/09
dublinred
13/11/2009, 10:39 PM
Where do the FAI members sit? Getting a few tickets off a member of the FAI and don't know how he's getting them, Will it be a Fingal one?
There are 2 stands in tallaght , one is dedicaed rovers (east stand)the other is Fingal, rovers fans living in fingal , neutrals and the FAI given that fingal have 2 fans on here and max 1000 there is going to be plenty of red and white in the west stand also.
sligofan4ever
13/11/2009, 10:43 PM
Is the north stand where the bucket seats are going behind one of the goals ?
Redkenrover
13/11/2009, 10:50 PM
There are 2 stands in tallaght , one is dedicaed rovers (east stand)the other is Fingal, rovers fans living in fingal , neutrals and the FAI given that fingal have 2 fans on here and max 1000 there is going to be plenty of red and white in the west stand also.
On that note will anyone with tickets for the west stand be able to sit with other SRFC supporters or is it divided into sections. what i mean is will you have to stay in the section your ticket is for, or will you be able to go wherever?
dublinred
13/11/2009, 11:17 PM
On that note will anyone with tickets for the west stand be able to sit with other SRFC supporters or is it divided into sections. what i mean is will you have to stay in the section your ticket is for, or will you be able to go wherever?
Still a block system but expect they will be at least 75% rovers .
Real Rover
13/11/2009, 11:51 PM
I think Eoin Doyle can really get at their right full...seems to model himself on Foyzer so Doyle should have him for pace every time.
14/11/2009, 1:01 AM
They are mercenaries, id be more worried if we were playing Shels or Waterford. All they care about is money, they have huge names that are willing to play in the first division, I cant understand that. They are the underdogs but they are souless. I am not worrying about the final, there will only be one result, a Rovers win
Jesus H Christ, what planet are you living on?. It will take the performance of the season for Rovers to win this game without Conor O'Grady. Who the hell is going to run midfield? If we play the first half like we did against Waterford and they play the first half like they did against Bray, the game could be over at half time. This is going to take some 90 minutes from us.
Boo_Boy
14/11/2009, 2:54 AM
Anyone know if Boco will be playing for Benin tomorrow/today (Saturday) v Sudan or did he withdraw with the final coming up?
Benin have already qualified for the ANC so he might have.
Guts&Glory
14/11/2009, 8:02 AM
Just looking at the FAI Cup Final ticket promo on the FAI website.
Why is the Fingal crest covering some of the Rovers crest???.....How dare they, why not just have them side by side.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100502:fai-ford-cup-final-ticket-information&catid=18:fai-ford-senior-cup&Itemid=51
prodsc
14/11/2009, 8:34 AM
Just looking at the FAI Cup Final ticket promo on the FAI website.
Why is the Fingal crest covering some of the Rovers crest???.....How dare they, why not just have them side by side.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100502:fai-ford-cup-final-ticket-information&catid=18:fai-ford-senior-cup&Itemid=51
And they can't even get the ticket onsale time right- I could have had more time in bed:mad:
Well Red
14/11/2009, 9:44 AM
Looked at the Bray v Fingal match last night played on a waterlogged pitch and it was a joke it was ever played. Must have taking a lot out of the players and they now face another game on Monday, not ideal preparation for Fingal and a Cup Final. Fingal lads got a few yellow cards but I was very inmpressed with Darren Quigley who made some great blocks in terrible condidions, he did get a yellow card late in the game, will have to watch himself on Monday night. Hard to judge how good they were in these comditions but I still think Sligo will have too much all round for them.
14/11/2009, 11:54 AM
Yellow cards irrelevant in these games. They will be carried into next season as panel won't meet until end of month.
14/11/2009, 12:29 PM
I think Eoin Doyle can really get at their right full...seems to model himself on Foyzer so Doyle should have him for pace every time.
Coly James is a pretty decent defender, he's big and strong and has a handy right foot. He's Premier Division pedigree. Doyle would want to start getting stuck in from the start.
roversforever
14/11/2009, 1:06 PM
They are mercenaries, id be more worried if we were playing Shels or Waterford. All they care about is money, they have huge names that are willing to play in the first division, I cant understand that. They are the underdogs but they are souless. I am not worrying about the final, there will only be one result, a Rovers win
You are clueless. Sporting Fingal are much better than shels or waterford. Their squad is full of lads that should be playing in the premier division. The reason for them being there is irrelevant,the fact is they are their and if we were to go up to dublin with you're attitude they would absolutely murder us. I feel the play offs could work as an advantage for them. When you're winning games as they are its better to keep playing right up to the final.We won't have played in two weeks and i think thats definately an advantage for them. Add to that the fact that its a cup final and im telling you now they will fight to the death. If we're going to win the cup they'll make us earn it. We need to have everybody at the top of their game.
CF1989
15/11/2009, 7:07 PM
any idea who the ref will be?
RoversInn
15/11/2009, 8:33 PM
Teams anyone? I'd like to see us with
Kelly
Keane - Peers - Ventre - Kendrick
Morrision - Boco - Cash - Doyle
Raf - Blinky
sligofan4ever
15/11/2009, 8:50 PM
Kelly
Raf - Blinky
I like the idea, but id have Morrison in the centre and Cash on the right, Morrison can offer alot more going through the centre.
15/11/2009, 10:46 PM
I like the idea, but id have Morrison in the centre and Cash on the right, Morrison can offer alot more going through the centre.
---------Brush
Boco Peers Keane Kendrick
--------Ventre
Cash--Morrison---Doyle
----Blinkhorn Raf
dublinred
16/11/2009, 8:17 AM
---------Kelly
Cash Peers Keane Kendrick
--------Ventre
Morrison--Boco---Doyle
----Blinkhorn Raf[/QUOTE]
Not sure if Brush would be up for it having just returned from injury , another option would be just to put Ryan in Midfield and Boco back to right back with Cash/Morrision starting in right midfield , I don't think Morrison could last 90mins and defo not in the centre as he can't run.
Only1Rovers
16/11/2009, 10:02 AM
Not sure if Brush would be up for it having just returned from injury , another option would be just to put Ryan in Midfield and Boco back to right back with Cash/Morrision starting in right midfield , I don't think Morrison could last 90mins and defo not in the centre as he can't run.
I'd stick with Kelly for the final. Confidence might be what it should be coming back off an injury.
CF1989
16/11/2009, 10:23 AM
if brush is ready for it, its a big call for cook which one to choose
CarrickFan
16/11/2009, 1:08 PM
Brush played a huge part in us getting past Cork,Derry and Bohs and deserves a place as much as anyone..it is tough coming back from injury tho...wasnt overly imppressed with Kelly so its a big call alright.
CF1989
16/11/2009, 1:22 PM
i think kellys been brilliant.
Shedzer
16/11/2009, 1:24 PM
Kelly
Raf - Blinky
Are you snorting blocks of concrete? Do you realise how out of position and shape that team would be?
Thats such a bad post i feel like taking legal action ..
Boo_Boy
16/11/2009, 1:32 PM
i think kellys been brilliant.
This.
I don't think it's worth the risk bringing Brush into the lineup after a month out.
CF1989
16/11/2009, 1:41 PM
This.
I don't think it's worth the risk bringing Brush into the lineup after a month out.
bring him on in stoppage time :o
Well Red
16/11/2009, 2:00 PM
bring him on in stoppage time :o
Do you mean bring him on with 3 or 4 minutes to go just for the celebration, wow. Maybe if we are three up, then I could see your point.:confused:
Shedzer
16/11/2009, 2:10 PM
There is only a few options really.
It will be Kelly, assuming that Brush isnt ready and able to take his place. Even if he was, he wouldnt be as sharp as he should be im sure.
The back 4 needs no thought whatsoever in my opinion. Boco at right full excells, his best games for Rovers have come at that position, offers an attacking threat and is fit enough to get up and down the flank all day. Kendrick will be left back, has had good and bad games, knows the big game stage im sure by now, should be dependant on the day.
Keane and Peers, no need for an explanation there.
The midfield is an area that will be up for debate and there are a few different options (in comes Andy Gray with his fridge magnets on the coffee table)
The likely line up firstly is Cash-Ryan-Ventre-Doyle. Thats going on how Cook has picked the team in general.
I personally think that midfield is very poor however and would not be suprised to see a change in it. Ventre will play in the centre, thats a given, O'Grady missing means he will need a big game in there, lots of work and controled aggression needed, break up play as he has done all season and give it simple is his job..if he does that is his job done.
His centre partner is up for discussion though. As said, Cook has picked Ryan for many games this season and he seems to be in line again here. However i think he is a weak link, doesnt cover the ground well, reads the game poorly off the play and leaves gaps and is off the pace. Ryan is average on the ball in truth, he gives it simple, spreading it from left to right easy but lacking the ability and vision to create or be out playmaker.
Alternative options to Ryan are limited in temrs of centre midfield experience, the only two other options i can see are Meehan and Morrision, both for different reasons.
As long a shot as it is to see Meehan line up, i feel he is similar to O'Grady, puts in work, pressures players and if you want a direct replacement for O'Grady in terms of play style it would be Meehan. But he is young and green so unlikely to figure.
The only other partner for Ventre could be Morision. I dont know if he is familiar with the central role, but on his day he certainly has the ability and class to be in there and control a game, create chances for the front two and put on a show. I dont know if he has the positional sense to risk him there nor the stamina to last it, but he would creat much more than any other player available in that position. Its certainly an option, given that Ryan doesnt have good positional sense and creates little, would Morision be such a big risk or would it just be a canny move by Cook?
Im pretty sure that Doyle will play left wing, always puts in a decent shift and covers Kendrick also..hasnt excelled in a traditional winger sense but does a job and will play.
On the right wing we have options also, Cash will be likely to start but to be honest i can only describe him as uninspiring for the most part. Unless he puts in a performance which he can about 1 in 20 games he is usually one of the players you go home wonder 'what did he do today?'... Another option to Cash is Morrison if Cook is going with Ryan-Ventre in the centre.
If Cook is going with either Ryan-Ventre or Morrison-Ventre then he could also pick Marshall who offers more going forward than Cash but is again unlikely to figure from the start.
Id be suprised if even Cook himself has made his decision with 110% confidence on the midfield four.
Raf and Blinkhorn will play up front, not much chat needed about this either. Id love if Blinkhorn got the winning goal, his work this year has been great and he has been a great signing. Id settle for a hometown winner in Raf also
CF1989
16/11/2009, 3:02 PM
There is only a few options really.
It will be Kelly, assuming that Brush isnt ready and able to take his place. Even if he was, he wouldnt be as sharp as he should be im sure.
The back 4 needs no thought whatsoever in my opinion. Boco at right full excells, his best games for Rovers have come at that position, offers an attacking threat and is fit enough to get up and down the flank all day. Kendrick will be left back, has had good and bad games, knows the big game stage im sure by now, should be dependant on the day.
Keane and Peers, no need for an explanation there.
The midfield is an area that will be up for debate and there are a few different options (in comes Andy Gray with his fridge magnets on the coffee table)
The likely line up firstly is Cash-Ryan-Ventre-Doyle. Thats going on how Cook has picked the team in general.
I personally think that midfield is very poor however and would not be suprised to see a change in it. Ventre will play in the centre, thats a given, O'Grady missing means he will need a big game in there, lots of work and controled aggression needed, break up play as he has done all season and give it simple is his job..if he does that is his job done.
His centre partner is up for discussion though. As said, Cook has picked Ryan for many games this season and he seems to be in line again here. However i think he is a weak link, doesnt cover the ground well, reads the game poorly off the play and leaves gaps and is off the pace. Ryan is average on the ball in truth, he gives it simple, spreading it from left to right easy but lacking the ability and vision to create or be out playmaker.
Alternative options to Ryan are limited in temrs of centre midfield experience, the only two other options i can see are Meehan and Morrision, both for different reasons.
As long a shot as it is to see Meehan line up, i feel he is similar to O'Grady, puts in work, pressures players and if you want a direct replacement for O'Grady in terms of play style it would be Meehan. But he is young and green so unlikely to figure.
The only other partner for Ventre could be Morision. I dont know if he is familiar with the central role, but on his day he certainly has the ability and class to be in there and control a game, create chances for the front two and put on a show. I dont know if he has the positional sense to risk him there nor the stamina to last it, but he would creat much more than any other player available in that position. Its certainly an option, given that Ryan doesnt have good positional sense and creates little, would Morision be such a big risk or would it just be a canny move by Cook?
Im pretty sure that Doyle will play left wing, always puts in a decent shift and covers Kendrick also..hasnt excelled in a traditional winger sense but does a job and will play.
On the right wing we have options also, Cash will be likely to start but to be honest i can only describe him as uninspiring for the most part. Unless he puts in a performance which he can about 1 in 20 games he is usually one of the players you go home wonder 'what did he do today?'... Another option to Cash is Morrison if Cook is going with Ryan-Ventre in the centre.
If Cook is going with either Ryan-Ventre or Morrison-Ventre then he could also pick Marshall who offers more going forward than Cash but is again unlikely to figure from the start.
Id be suprised if even Cook himself has made his decision with 110% confidence on the midfield four.
Raf and Blinkhorn will play up front, not much chat needed about this either. Id love if Blinkhorn got the winning goal, his work this year has been great and he has been a great signing. Id settle for a hometown winner in Raf also
i'll buy ya a lager top if we win cooky
CF1989
16/11/2009, 3:03 PM
Do you mean bring him on with 3 or 4 minutes to go just for the celebration, wow. Maybe if we are three up, then I could see your point.:confused:
no throw him on in the midfield, loves taking on players, well able to get by one. after that though....
RoversInn
16/11/2009, 3:26 PM
Morrision out wide can put in some dangerous balls, Fingal will see Raf as a massive threat and may not be so tight on Blinkhorn who can get on the end of them.
Boco in midfield is a must for me, Can beat men and one through ball could send Raf through.
Marshall will get 15-20 minutes if Cash is feeling tired aswell.
16/11/2009, 3:55 PM
Are you sure these Meehan and Morision fellas we signed today aren't cup tied.?
Only1Rovers
16/11/2009, 3:56 PM
Morrision out wide can put in some dangerous balls, Fingal will see Raf as a massive threat and may not be so tight on Blinkhorn who can get on the end of them.
Boco in midfield is a must for me, Can beat men and one through ball could send Raf through.
Waste of time putting Boco in midfield. It's been proven he's most affective coming forward from the back. If the game turns into a hoof fest Boco becomes ineffective.
CF1989
16/11/2009, 4:35 PM
ventre pulling the strings in the midfield please, his through ball against drogheda was the best ive seen in years, the cruyff turn topped off a great season for the lad, not to mention the goings on in derry.
Sligo Rovers 1-0 Sporting Fingal
Ventre 89'
i will then retire from going to games
red_away
16/11/2009, 4:39 PM
---------Brush/Kelly
--------Ventre
Cash--Morrison---Doyle
----Blinkhorn Raf
I would go with this as well
bingoballs
16/11/2009, 5:46 PM
No balance with Boco in midfield, Fingal would have a field day. I would love to see Morrison in midfield with Ventre too. His vision is class and his distribution is on. I think Kendrick needs to start going past Doyle when we are going forward too and give us more of a threat on the left wing. He did this a couple of times against Drogs and put in a few decent balls.
Shedzer
16/11/2009, 6:00 PM
So your telling me that Brian Cash should partner Ventre in the centre yes?
Also, Boco in midfield is a ridiculas suggestion, tried it and it doesnt work. See Waterford in the semi final.
If you didnt see the issue with Ventre RB and Boco in the centre then there is no helping you.
---------Brush/Kelly
--------Ventre
Cash--Morrison---Doyle
----Blinkhorn Raf
I would go with this as well
Agreed, this is the best option.
You would have to worry about that midfield though.
sligofan4ever
16/11/2009, 6:50 PM
Agreed, this is the best option.
You would have to worry about that midfield though.
If Morrison can be as effective as the semi final, then I can imagine he'll be having, as well as setting up chances, and on the end of those chances are goals a plenty hopefully! I wouldn't worry once all players play at their best.
mint sauce
16/11/2009, 7:00 PM
just watching the fingal v bray play off, we certainly cant be complacent at the weekend, fingal look like a handy side, plus they have the match fitness
dublinred
16/11/2009, 7:43 PM
just watching the fingal v bray play off, we certainly cant be complacent at the weekend, fingal look like a handy side, plus they have the match fitness
Watching also the number 7 on the right wings looks like a handful certainly will keep kendrick busy, bayly in midfield is good also but prone to swinging the odd headbutt if wound up a bit, hopefully Raf can dance around the big paisley guy at the back and we dont lump balls onto his head all day.
oldrover
16/11/2009, 7:43 PM
I agree if we are complacent or over confident we could easily lose.Nedd to avoid being distracted by build up to game. Sporting Fingal will be very sharp
sligofan4ever
16/11/2009, 7:50 PM
Any pictures of Tallaght Stadium and how it should look for the Final ?
Just while im thinking of it. Theres about 50 people in Fingal section tonight, including those, anyone know how many tickets they've sold yet ?
DonalE
16/11/2009, 9:08 PM
Bit like yourself
Brian Boru
16/11/2009, 9:41 PM
Any pictures of Tallaght Stadium and how it should look for the Final ?
Just while im thinking of it. Theres about 50 people in Fingal section tonight, including those, anyone know how many tickets they've sold yet ?
A friend of mine from Sligo bought 3 from Fingal.I'd say he wasn't the only Rovers fan to get tickets that way. I'd say we also took most of the ticketmaster ones too. It will be better than a home game. Fingal worry me though. I'd pick:
Kelly
Boco. Peers. Keane. Kendrick.
Morrison. Ventre. Ryan. Doyle
Blinkhorn. Cretaro.
srfc1928
16/11/2009, 9:58 PM
A friend of mine from Sligo bought 3 from Fingal.I'd say he wasn't the only Rovers fan to get tickets that way. I'd say we also took most of the ticketmaster ones too. It will be better than a home game. Fingal worry me though. I'd pick:
Kelly
Blinkhorn. Cretaro.
I think that will be the team aswell.
We need Richie Ryan to play to his undoubted potential.
16/11/2009, 9:59 PM
Theres about 50 people in Fingal section tonight, including those, anyone know how many tickets they've sold yet ?
Heard from a Fingal official that they've sold 1000 so far.
srfc1928
16/11/2009, 10:14 PM
Heard from a Fingal official that they've sold 1000 so far.
Id say they have. But an awful lot were bought by Sligo people I'd say
600 tickets went on sale on saturday morning, a large crowd were queing before the place opened and were gone by 1 oclock. People were then being advised that they could buy tickets in Dublin throught the outlets selling fingal tickets
16/11/2009, 10:28 PM
Kelly
Blinkhorn. Cretaro.
I'd also say that'd be the team the only talking point would be Cookie might go for Cash over Morrison
prodsc
16/11/2009, 10:29 PM
Id say they have. But an awful lot were bought by Sligo people I'd say
600 tickets went on sale on saturday morning, a large crowd were queing before the place opened and were gone by 1 oclock. People were then being advised that they could buy tickets in Dublin throught the outlets selling fingal tickets
Is that ticketmaster you're talkin bout? Weren't available at 10am but by 10.20am they were sold out! Heard there was only 100 available through TM countrywide!!
srfc1928
16/11/2009, 10:36 PM
Is that ticketmaster you're talkin bout? Weren't available at 10am but by 10.20am they were sold out! Heard there was only 100 available through TM countrywide!!
Yeah. They were on sale on Saturday morning in 3rd wave music. Not sure how many though. I went by at 8.30 and there were some young lads queing at that time, fair play to them, hope they got sorted.:ball: