View Full Version : France away 18 November 2009 - flights

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Junior
21/10/2009, 1:41 PM
Similar to Paulies post.....

I checked out a train from Cologne on day of the game or day before and it was 3hrs 55m journey direct and between 25-35 euros (special pay in advance fare). I am working in Cologne on the Tuesday.

I think you can get decent cheap flights to Cologne form Ireland/UK or if not try Dussledorf and the train from there.

A bit of hassle but definitely a cheap way of doing it if time is not at a premium.

In the end I booked return from Mcr as it was a similar price but one night less away (Brownies Points with her indoors)

21/10/2009, 3:32 PM
Monday flight with Aer Fungus to Paris has increased €80 from Monday's draw.

Sunday's is now the cheapest.

markmc
21/10/2009, 5:26 PM
Does this happen in other countries or are we the only place that has to bend over and take it from behind if we want to support our country?

Mayo_Bhoy
21/10/2009, 6:10 PM
Does this happen in other countries or are we the only place that has to bend over and take it from behind if we want to support our country?

And why would it not happen in other countries. All airlines operate on the same principle. The amount of moaning about this issue every time we play away is pathetic.

IsMiseSean
21/10/2009, 6:39 PM
Should I pre book the eurostar tickets or just purchase them when I arrive at the station??

finbarrk
21/10/2009, 7:01 PM
Should I pre book the eurostar tickets or just purchase them when I arrive at the station??
Advance would be advisable. You will get screwed at the station as the trains will be very full.

wexfordman
21/10/2009, 7:55 PM
flying out with aer lingus to birmingham on monday, and birmingham to paris with air france return thursday. total cost €188

dep Arr
Dublin to Birmingham
13.10-----14.10

Birmingham to Paris
17.25--------19.45

return Thursday

Dep Arr
Paris Birmingham
12.55-----13.25

Birmingham Dublin
14.45-------15.45

the aer lingus return flights cost €50
and the air france return cost €138

not to bad

philliyk
21/10/2009, 8:01 PM

HA - wait till we all try & get flights to South Africa, from what I would guess the english, germans, italians etcc... have booked all the cheapo flights & we'll be left flying half way round the world on connection flight's!!!

21/10/2009, 9:08 PM
Advance would be advisable. You will get screwed at the station as the trains will be very full.

and more importantly a lot more expensive.

Claret Murph
22/10/2009, 6:10 AM
HA - wait till we all try & get flights to South Africa, from what I would guess the english, germans, italians etcc... have booked all the cheapo flights & we'll be left flying half way round the world on connection flight's!!!

Yer I would say a few have booked flights but not knowing where in SA your team is playing will stop most . Now after the draw is made then you could see a free for all .:)

Sligo Hornet
22/10/2009, 6:18 AM
Before the draw was done, a mate of mine who lives in France sent me the information below, in case we drew them.

Dublin-Karlsruhe (Baden Baden) on Tuesday November 17th currently costs
38.37 Euros all taxes included. And there is a direct 3 hour TGV train
from Karlsruhe-Paris.

Thankfully I was able to get a direct flight but for those that have yet to book, this may be an option. The return flight is now €105 with decent flying times. You'll need to check up where the train goes from as it may go from Karlsruhe itself and not the airport. If this is the case check how far the airport is from the city as knowing Ryanair, it could be miles away. If this is ok though, and the times match up, it could be a very good option.

Get him to go and buy up some french end tickets!

Drumcondra 69er
22/10/2009, 9:20 AM
flying out with aer lingus to birmingham on monday, and birmingham to paris with air france return thursday. total cost €188

dep Arr
Dublin to Birmingham
13.10-----14.10

Birmingham to Paris
17.25--------19.45

return Thursday

Dep Arr
Paris Birmingham
12.55-----13.25

Birmingham Dublin
14.45-------15.45

the aer lingus return flights cost €50
and the air france return cost €138

not to bad

Doing the same out on the Tuesday, mayl see you on the return leg!

Paulie
22/10/2009, 10:43 AM
Get him to go and buy up some french end tickets!

That had occurred alright. Going on what I've read, I don't think the French will snap up their tickets that quickly, so I reckon I'll hang on to see how many, if any, tickets I get for the Irish end. If that fails I'll be calling in a favour!

JT,New'09
22/10/2009, 1:46 PM
That had occurred alright. Going on what I've read, I don't think the French will snap up their tickets that quickly, so I reckon I'll hang on to see how many, if any, tickets I get for the Irish end. If that fails I'll be calling in a favour!

Flight prices dropping right left and centre. Knew I should of waited , calm after the storm of Monday & Tuesday , would rather of waited to today to book would of got out easier and cheeper

I really dont think there with 20k travelling Id say more like 6-10 ,

Think F.A.I, news etc all went bit mental this week

22/10/2009, 8:07 PM
Flight prices dropping right left and centre. Knew I should of waited , calm after the storm of Monday & Tuesday , would rather of waited to today to book would of got out easier and cheeper

I really dont think there with 20k travelling Id say more like 6-10 ,

Think F.A.I, news etc all went bit mental this week

Dont know where your checking the prices as the cheapest Direct is €329 while the route i booked is €160 dearer now.

kingdomkerry
22/10/2009, 8:38 PM
lads im flying dublin gatwick, luton paris.
Does anyone know how to get from gatwick to luton, how long does it take and how much?

EastTerracer
22/10/2009, 8:43 PM
Does anyone know how to get from gatwick to luton, how long does it take and how much?

You're crossing London from South to North but there is a train connection that takes about 80 minutes. See the link below - seems to be about £25 return off-peak.

http://www.londontoolkit.com/travel/gatwick_luton_train.htm

dublinred
22/10/2009, 8:55 PM
Seen a day trip advertised in a travel agents today for e279 out weds@8am returning at 1am arriving@1.40am , not bad if you could only get the one day off work also no hotels required , travel agent was on talbot street think it was airtours or skytours.

22/10/2009, 8:57 PM

We get it worse cos we're an island though. All the Continentals can just jump on trains to other countries.

22/10/2009, 8:59 PM

you need to get the thameslink(first capital connect) to luton, but you need to switch to get it, as the train from gatwick will bring you into london bridge. Sometimes you can get a direct train.

try tfl.gov.uk:

Departing: PUT_YOUR_DATE_HERE
To: Luton Airport Parkway Rail Station

eaststand85
22/10/2009, 9:03 PM

What flight you on from Luton Kingdom? We're on the 15.25 on Tue & I owe you a pint.

kingdomkerry
22/10/2009, 10:23 PM
What flight you on from Luton Kingdom? We're on the 15.25 on Tue & I owe you a pint.

Heres my itenery

Ryanair From Dublin (DUB) to London Gatwick (South Terminal) (LGW)
Tue, 17Nov09 Flight FR 118 Depart DUB at 20:10 and arrive LGW at 21:30 €15

Easyjet London Luton To Paris Charles de Gaulle (Terminal 2B )
flight 2431 ;dep. 18 Nov 2009 06:05
arr. 18 Nov 2009 08:25

Easyjet Paris Charles de Gaulle ( Terminal 2B ) To London Luton
flight 2432 ;dep. 19 Nov 2009 08:55
arr. 19 Nov 2009 09:10 €97 for both easyjet

AER LINGUS EI 237 Z/ECONOMY CLASS LOW FARE CONFIRMEDDEP LONDON/GATWICK THU 19NOV09 12.40PMLGW -TERMINAL S - SOUTH TERMINAL ZONE BARR DUBLIN THU 19NOV09 2.00PM €38

JT,New'09
23/10/2009, 8:25 AM
Dont know where your checking the prices as the cheapest Direct is €329 while the route i booked is €160 dearer now.

My 1st flight Ryanair London standstead has droped by 80 euro now !!

Even if i was to book new could get out evening before for 10 euro no taxes
Only thing that seems to be on the up is the euro star prices,

spin
23/10/2009, 8:31 AM
Lads,

Another avenue worth exploring is the eurostar. My da got easyjet flights from belfast to gatwick then eurostar from london to paris for half nothing yesterday...well 160€ return all in...cannae beat it wi a big stick

blobbyblob
23/10/2009, 8:47 AM
According to reports, between Ryanair and Aer lingus, it looks like were flying about 3,500 in direct on match day alone. I would say at least another 2,000 will come in the day before direct to Paris by air and then whatever you have travelling through the UK from Ireland, from the UK directly and from the continent.

The eurostar has been heaveing since Monday evening and prices continue to rise. 17 services daily and 558 seats on board. Its not inconceivable that another 3,000 could travel this way over the two days leading up to the match.

I think we will exceed 10,000 at this stage.

JT,New'09
23/10/2009, 8:49 AM
Lads,

Another avenue worth exploring is the eurostar. My da got easyjet flights from belfast to gatwick then eurostar from london to paris for half nothing yesterday...well 160€ return all in...cannae beat it wi a big stick

Hey ,

This is a good webiste to use for for getting from airports or railways stations to your hotels etc.

Log onto www.ratp.info/touristes/index.php (http://www.ratp.info/touristes/index.php)

Its a webside like our A A Route planner ,
Its in english and gives you all ways to get to and from an area in pairs , the simplist of ways , any airport / railways station / street name etc.
Simply go to Finding your way and the Itinearly put it where your coming from and where your going too , and it will plan it the quickest and easiest giving you metro and platform numbers etc

23/10/2009, 9:26 AM
According to reports, between Ryanair and Aer lingus, it looks like were flying about 3,500 in direct on match day alone. I would say at least another 2,000 will come in the day before direct to Paris by air and then whatever you have travelling through the UK from Ireland, from the UK directly and from the continent.

The eurostar has been heaveing since Monday evening and prices continue to rise. 17 services daily and 558 seats on board. Its not inconceivable that another 3,000 could travel this way over the two days leading up to the match.

I think we will exceed 10,000 at this stage.

You aren't including hte london based lads there either. Everyone i know, which isn't many, but im an example as im sure others know too, are going via eurostar(thats about 15 in total who dont normally go to games), so lets say 100 others know those going via Eurostar in around the same amount thats 1500 people on the eurostar alone.

If what you are saying about direct flights is correct i can see us easily having 10k in the stadium(between all those scattered around the stadium with Froggie tickets etc)

Ro81
23/10/2009, 12:19 PM
Were flying from Dublin to Luton with Ryanair and then getting an Easyjet Flight from Luton to Paris. Arrives in Paris at 17.45 hope we have enough time to get to the game! All the flights cost €180! There are still some available as far as I know.

23/10/2009, 2:02 PM
Were flying from Dublin to Luton with Ryanair and then getting an Easyjet Flight from Luton to Paris. Arrives in Paris at 17.45 hope we have enough time to get to the game! All the flights cost €180! There are still some available as far as I know.

CDG, I assume? It is enough time, aye. Just pray you're not delayed.

23/10/2009, 2:16 PM
CDG, I assume? It is enough time, aye. Just pray you're not delayed.

think easyjet fly in and out of orly which is on the south side of paris i think. excellent transport from the airport to the city centre. ko is 9pm french time i heard so should be ok

eaststand85
23/10/2009, 2:24 PM
think easyjet fly in and out of orly which is on the south side of paris i think. excellent transport from the airport to the city centre. ko is 9pm french time i heard so should be ok

We're flying Easyjet from Luton to CDG on the Tue but maybe they fly to both

23/10/2009, 2:32 PM
We're flying Easyjet from Luton to CDG on the Tue but maybe they fly to both

youre probably correct. CDG is quite close to the stadium i think

Junior
23/10/2009, 6:12 PM
youre probably correct. CDG is quite close to the stadium i think

Stade de France Is enroute to the City Centre - Id say a third of the way between the Airport and City Centre at a guess.

shaneker
23/10/2009, 9:42 PM
If it's any help to anyone, you can get a return flight with bmibaby (flying into Paris tuesday morning, flying out thursday evening) from East Midlands for around £35 sterling.

I was looking into this for a friend in the area so I've no idea if the connections are convenient coming from Ireland, but it's a good deal if anyone can get a cheap flight to East Midlands on those days. Hope it's helpful to someone.

25/10/2009, 11:12 AM
For anyone going back with Easyjet on the Thursday morning to Liverpool, who got their flight moved, making the connection to Belfast a did tight, Ryanair have reduced their midday flight from Liverpool-Derry to £6, which will give ye enough time between flights.

supasparx
25/10/2009, 1:33 PM
This website: http://short-breaks.com/quickbook_eurostar.asp are doing return eurostar packages with one nights accomodation for as little as £145.

Sligo Hornet
26/10/2009, 7:41 AM
This website: http://short-breaks.com/quickbook_eurostar.asp are doing return eurostar packages with one nights accomodation for as little as £145.

Is this the option you are taking Supa?

Junior
26/10/2009, 7:57 AM
Eurostar are doing an offer with The Times - 2 return tickets from £90.

Two return tickets from £90

Dear xxxxxxx,

Eurostar and The Times are bringing you an exclusive offer: sample winter delights on the continent with two return tickets from only £90*. You can enjoy ice skating outside Paris's Hôtel de Ville, admire the Christmas lights in Lille or sample mussels in Brussels (at the right time of year).

To take advantage of this offer simply collect 3 passwords. You’ll see your first two below, so you just need to find 1 more in The Times / Sunday Times before 25 October.

Exclusive Password 1: Wine
Exclusive Password 2: Relax

http://www.eurostar.com/UK/uk/leisure/latest_deals/Times/times_promo.jsp

Could be useful for someone.............

26/10/2009, 8:52 AM
junior it might be a little too late!

Junior
26/10/2009, 12:30 PM
junior it might be a little too late!

Yeah the final password would have been in yesterdays Sunday Times.

Also Im sure the trains that would be required are probably almost fully booked by now - but might be worth a check.

26/10/2009, 2:01 PM
I looked into it on the very first day Junior and it wasn't offering any £90 deals for going out Tuesday and coming back Thursday.

If anybody wants to try out different days then the final password is indulge.

Mad Moose
27/10/2009, 12:32 PM
Flying BMI Baby to Charles De Gaulle. Making a few days out of it in Paris but got my flights for £54 from East Midlands.

Still plenty of flights available.

28/10/2009, 4:46 AM
This website are doing return eurostar packages with one nights accomodation for as little as £145.

There'll always be loads of flights available, the question is, are the prices affordable.

supasparx
28/10/2009, 2:40 PM
Is this the option you are taking Supa?

Still holding off booking due to work commitments, but don't be too surprised if I'm there knocking beer all over yis, a la mainz!! :o

Closed Account 2
29/10/2009, 1:57 AM
anyone thinking of driving from the UK/London ? is it worth setting up a car pool to share costs of petrol and ferry / channel shuttle ?

also has anyone heard anything from the FAI about sucessfull applications yet? or anyone know when we might start hearing ?

29/10/2009, 8:25 AM
anyone thinking of driving from the UK/London ? is it worth setting up a car pool to share costs of petrol and ferry / channel shuttle ?

also has anyone heard anything from the FAI about sucessfull applications yet? or anyone know when we might start hearing ?

i posted elsewhere that i was told by the ticket office that we will hear by end of the week

JT,New'09
29/10/2009, 12:19 PM
i posted elsewhere that i was told by the ticket office that we will hear by end of the week

I got a phone call last Thursday to confirm request. and was told will also know by end of this week what im been allocated for both home and away tickets

roboyle
30/10/2009, 11:05 AM
I'm sure this is probably too late to help anyone but we're going Dublin - London Luton with Ryanair on the day of the match then Luton - CDG (getting in at 17.45, three hours before kickoff). CDG and Stade de France are on the same train line into the city so there's minimal travelling involved. Coming back we're getting the first train in the morning to London (leaves around 6am, arriving at 8am) and then flying Aer Lingus to Dublin at 10am. Passing up on accomodation costs and will only be in Paris for 12 hours but it's enough to see the game and celebrate afterwards! It cost € 130 return each for all that at the start of the week, haven't check again since.