View Full Version : France away 18 November 2009 - flights

Pages : 1 [2] 3

francesco_1
19/10/2009, 6:26 PM
Hate to tell you this but three of us also flying shannon - beauvais for €0.2 cents per head. - out tue back thurs. Took a chance with ryanair free flights offer (after panorama programme) and used my new virtual visa electron card (no payment charge) and hit the jackpot!
Actually booked a total of 15 return flights diff combinations to uk for 3 of us to cover as many angles as possible.
Only downside is 4 hour drive to shannon.
God bless ryanair.

I did the same :) that sale was very good and it was even extended so im supprised many more people didnt take a chance there was noting to lose only a few cents

Greenforever
19/10/2009, 6:27 PM
Hate to tell you this but three of us also flying shannon - beauvais for €0.2 cents per head. - out tue back thurs. Took a chance with ryanair free flights offer (after panorama programme) and used my new virtual visa electron card (no payment charge) and hit the jackpot!
Actually booked a total of 15 return flights diff combinations to uk for 3 of us to cover as many angles as possible.
Only downside is 4 hour drive to shannon.
God bless ryanair.

Where do you get the Visa electron card??

francesco_1
19/10/2009, 6:29 PM

WWW.entropay.com thats what i use. 4.9% service charge but much cheaper.

ptegan
19/10/2009, 6:29 PM

From MBNA. (https://wwwa.mbna.ie/apply/IRMPapp/Ctl/redirect?CV_sourceCode=1ryanvgdban_mp)

Mad Moose
19/10/2009, 6:44 PM
Try Ryanair Dublin/Knock/Cork (not sure if they fly to EMA) TO East Midlands Airport/Nottingham and BMI Baby flight is £83 at the minute. The cheapest I can get.Flying 18th and return 19th. Though thats a late flight at 5 in the evening so pushing it a bit.

http://www.bmibaby.com

East Midlands to Paris (CDG)

blobbyblob
19/10/2009, 7:16 PM
Flights to Heathrow from cork on Tuesday 17th 4pm - 80 quid return
Tube to St. Pancras at 5.30pm- 5 quid
Leave there on Eurostar at 8pm 100 return
Paris at 11.30pm
Staying in http://www.vintage-hostel.com
€30 a night - grand spot

For everything else theres Trapatoni

head the ball
19/10/2009, 8:30 PM
WWW.entropay.com thats what i use. 4.9% service charge but much cheaper.

Yes, same here. very easy to set up even for me who isnt great with this sort of stuff. Just put the name on card as "entropay user" and post code "eire". then just transfer money (in stg) from your usual credit/laser card.
Now I use it all the time for ryanair, aer lingus easyjet. If surplus you can transfer funds back into your laser etc.
Anyone know if that irish pub is still there beside ryanair bus stop in paris?
Might try to stay near there.

finbarrk
19/10/2009, 9:07 PM
How long does it take to get from Heathrow to the train station for the eurostar??
It's about 50 - 60 mins direct on the Picadilly line. St Pancras is the stop for the Eurostar.

19/10/2009, 9:10 PM
Ok Just booked for Tuesday the 17th Knock - Luton for 10euro including everything with Ryanair, then train to St Pancras 10euro, train return to paris is 64euro, and return flight on the thursday back from Gatwick to Knock for 25euro with aer lingus.

Happy enough with that, just need a ticket now. Oh and the hotel was 150 for two nights between two of us.

19/10/2009, 9:40 PM
Got €157 return per head dub to paris cdg, tues to friday at 1.30pm. . Didn last long as word spread cause they shot up to 300.

Any more suggestions from dublin on lads who missed out on the early flights. . . .

Cheapest flight out on the Monday with Aer Fungus has shot up by €40 since the start of the day. Everything else is in 3 figures.

Beavis
19/10/2009, 9:45 PM
Flying to London (Aerlingus) then Eurostar out 8pm Tuesday back Thursday, flying back with Ryanair. €170.
Seems to be a lot going on the Eurostar, should be good craic.
Sing song under the sea anyone? Definitely a round of Octopuses Garden anyway:)

kingdomkerry
19/10/2009, 11:09 PM
flying dublin london on tuesday evening. stayin with a mate in london tue night. early flight luton to charles de gaulle on wed, back to dublin thursday CDG via luton €150 all in

ChemicalBrother
19/10/2009, 11:19 PM
London St Pancras to Paris Nord
Outward journey: Wed 18th Nov 2009 - 12:29 - 15:50
Inbound journey: Thu 19th Nov 2009 - 12:13 - 13:28

£59 all-in with Eurostar.

Let's hope they don't move it to Marseille.
TGV to Marseille isn't that expensive anyway, one of the easiest ways to get there from Ireland is through Paris

19/10/2009, 11:36 PM
Stuck in the back of beyond all day with no internet.

Just booked there

BMI DUB-LHR Tuesday
Eurostar Tue evening
Eurostar Thur morning 6.43am :)
DUB-LHR 11.20

Frequent flyer miles for the flights so my cost was £59 odd for the Eurostar and whatever it costs me to get to and from Heathrow.

Back in work for Thursday afternoon......

EastTerracer
20/10/2009, 12:09 AM
Air France Dublin Paris out tuesday back Thursday €289.00 . Ryanair actually had the prices to the Roof before the draw as I checked first thing this morning *******s.

I booked Dublin to Beauvais (Tuesday to Thursday) on Ryanair just after the draw for EUR 226 (inlcuding all the check-in and credit card charges). They did move up pretty quickly after that though.

I also had to book New York-Dublin for the week but wasn't going to miss out on either game. Just relieved I didn't have to book New York-Moscow-Dublin-New York.;)

M@ttitude
20/10/2009, 12:11 AM
Too much choice!! What to do...Got off work Tue, Weds,Thurs, whats the best trip for the 150 mark? Was looking at the Heathrow, eurostar.. your talking 210 all in at the mo because I dont fancy leaving paris at 4am thurs morning! Hmm ill sleep on it.

skimcg
20/10/2009, 12:17 AM
flying wed morning, booked belfast sity to cdg, return - cdg to manchester and from there to belfast city on thursday evening for 140 euro

20/10/2009, 6:18 AM
Eurostar Thur morning 6.43am :)

Hello friend! I shall hopefully be on that train myself.

Mise Le Mas
20/10/2009, 6:23 AM
Just heard on Tv3 that Ryanair cancelled everyone's cheap booking to Paris for the 17th and 18th and that all passengers will have to pay the Full, Inflated price, Fu#kers, I don't know how true that is, but anyone who has booked those cheap flights should check, i can't believe they could do that?

aidz1
20/10/2009, 9:32 AM
We are flying via luton.
got at cheap price, which was welcome.

flights from luton-london still very cheap (£54 rtn tues-thurs).

20/10/2009, 9:41 AM
Booked Eurostar 7.27am from London on 18th, back late morning on 19th.

Was originallly 58 quid but in paying my session timed out and 5 minutes later it had gone up by 30 quid.

All I need now is a match ticket and somewhere to stay.

casso36
20/10/2009, 9:51 AM
Have Booked Dublin - Gatwick Return €20.00 + €6.00 For priority Boarding:o
Now just have to book Eurostar.

Junior
20/10/2009, 10:27 AM
Manchester > Paris CDG

Out Weds 06:40
Rtn Thurs 09:55

£136 GBP all taxes and fees with flybe

A couple of early flights but I was lucky to get the 'pass out' from the mrs at all - so Im delighted with that!!!

finbarrk
20/10/2009, 10:43 AM
Flying to London (Aerlingus) then Eurostar out 8pm Tuesday back Thursday, flying back with Ryanair. €170.
Seems to be a lot going on the Eurostar, should be good craic.
Sing song under the sea anyone? Definitely a round of Octopuses Garden anyway:)
We went on the Eurostar the time we played Belgium in Brussells in the play off for the 98 WC and it was great craic. The bar was sold out after a while so it would be an idea to buy cans before you board. a load of London lads just went out for the fun and there was mighty singing as we pulled into Brussels.

SuperDave
20/10/2009, 10:53 AM
Just heard on Tv3 that Ryanair cancelled everyone's cheap booking to Paris for the 17th and 18th and that all passengers will have to pay the Full, Inflated price, Fu#kers, I don't know how true that is, but anyone who has booked those cheap flights should check, i can't believe they could do that?

No F***ing way! I'm not on that flight but that is disgraceful if true. Maybe Panorama should have waited until this week to make their program. I mean, Ryanair made a massive mistake not having inflated the prices to Paris in advance of the playoff draw and now they expect the punters to pay for their mistake?

M@ttitude
20/10/2009, 10:56 AM
Have Booked Dublin - Gatwick Return €20.00 + €6.00 For priority Boarding:o
Now just have to book Eurostar.

Whats the crack with getting to the Eurostar from Gatwick?

Drumcondra 69er
20/10/2009, 11:26 AM
Just booked via Birmingham, just under €200, out Tuesday afternoon, back Thursday afternoon. Aer Lingus and Air France.

Flight Info. Departing Arriving Fare
AER LINGUS EI272
non-stop Dublin
13:10 Tue 17 Nov 2009 Birmingham
14:10 Tue 17 Nov 2009 LowFare

AF5139 - Voyageur17:25 Birmingham, Birmingham Intl (BHX) - United Kingdom - TERMINAL T1 19:45 Paris, Charles de Gaulle (CDG) - France - TERMINAL 2E Operated by : CityJetAircraft : Avro RJ85Inflight meal served : snack Class : Eduration : 01h20mn non stopBaggage allowance : 20 kg
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your return flight : Paris - Birmingham Thursday 19 November 2009 AF5134 - Voyageur12:55 Paris, Charles de Gaulle (CDG) - France - TERMINAL 2E 13:25 Birmingham, Birmingham Intl (BHX) - United Kingdom -

AER LINGUS EI273
non-stop Birmingham
14:45 Thu 19 Nov 2009 Dublin
15:45 Thu 19 Nov 2009 LowFare

finbarrk
20/10/2009, 11:39 AM
Gatwick Express to Victoria and the Tube to St. Pancreas I'd say.
Make sure you give yourself enough of time.

JT,New'09
20/10/2009, 11:40 AM
Just booked via Birmingham, just under €200, out Tuesday afternoon, back Thursday afternoon. Aer Lingus and Air France.

Flight Info. Departing Arriving Fare
AER LINGUS EI272
non-stop Dublin
13:10 Tue 17 Nov 2009 Birmingham
14:10 Tue 17 Nov 2009 LowFare

AF5139 - Voyageur17:25 Birmingham, Birmingham Intl (BHX) - United Kingdom - TERMINAL T1 19:45 Paris, Charles de Gaulle (CDG) - France - TERMINAL 2E Operated by : CityJetAircraft : Avro RJ85Inflight meal served : snack Class : Eduration : 01h20mn non stopBaggage allowance :

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Finally sorted

Booked dublin - stansted wed Morning 1st thing, the Euro star from St Pancres station to Paris !! cant wait now

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your return flight : Paris - Birmingham Thursday 19 November 2009 AF5134 - Voyageur12:55 Paris, Charles de Gaulle (CDG) - France - TERMINAL 2E 13:25 Birmingham, Birmingham Intl (BHX) - United Kingdom -

AER LINGUS EI273
non-stop Birmingham
14:45 Thu 19 Nov 2009 Dublin
15:45 Thu 19 Nov 2009 LowFare

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Finally sorted

Booked dublin - stansted wed Morning 1st thing, the Euro star from St Pancres station to Paris !! cant wait now

brendy_ιire
20/10/2009, 12:31 PM
For getting back, there's a £25 flight from CDG on the Thursday morning to Liverpool with Easyjet. Then it's a fiver to get to Belfast City with Ryanair.

Drumcondra 69er
20/10/2009, 1:58 PM
If you're budgeting for around €200 lads then there's plenty of Air France/KLM flights from Heathrow going out Tuesday and back Thursday for €140/€150, you can get there for around €60 with Aer Lingus still.

20/10/2009, 2:24 PM
Just heard on Tv3 that Ryanair cancelled everyone's cheap booking to Paris for the 17th and 18th and that all passengers will have to pay the Full, Inflated price

I'm no legal expert, but surely that's a breach of contract between the passenger and the airline?

If you could and did pay the original fare, I can't see how they can cancel your payment and demand more for it.

20/10/2009, 2:43 PM

There is a train straight ot london bridge and then the underground ( northern line black line on tube map), which is cheaper than the gatwick express and just as quick, the gatwick express however goes to victoria and you change for the victoria(lighter blue line on map) undergound line.

Sometimes the thameslink will bring you right to st pancras station from gatwick where you can change for a 5 min walk to the eurostar.

M@ttitude
20/10/2009, 4:31 PM
Cheers, Just booked Aer lingus to Heathrow, then Eurostar to Paris.. Tues - Thurs. €208, paid the extra for a lie in on the Thursday.. Bit expensive but hassle free (hopefully).

If anyone wants to do it for €130. Fly to Rome with Ryanair 6am. Rome to Paris 4pm with easyjet. Arrive in Paris 6pm. Bit shorter timewise on return..

M@ttitude
20/10/2009, 4:51 PM
Is there enough time in two hours. arriving from the eurostar to get to heathrow for a flight. no bag check in..

ccfcgirl
20/10/2009, 4:57 PM
I booked Cork to Heathrow 115 euro return and the eurostar 90 sterling return.I dont have accomadation booked yet...should be great craic cant wait.

20/10/2009, 5:56 PM
Is there enough time in two hours. arriving from the eurostar to get to heathrow for a flight. no bag check in..Should be 90% fine if you get the Heathrow Express. No chance if you get the Tube and if the Eurostar is late or the public transport in London is on the blink..........you're smoked.

Its tight.

captkeen
20/10/2009, 11:31 PM
Hi Guys, try the bristol route. At time of print Dublin bristol on tuesday 4.99 ryanair ,bristol dublin easy jet £52 ,only bad part you have to stay overnight in Bristol on the way back.Burt if you dont have to work what the hell.cheap accomadation near airpot.

captkeen
20/10/2009, 11:32 PM
Bristol -paris £52 return....

markmc
21/10/2009, 9:15 AM
Seems to be a nightmare all round,the last game in Paris we flew to Charoloi for 80 quid return and got a bus to Paris for 20 quid. At the moment is 180 return to Charloi.A couple of sites to help, one for accomodation

http://www.easytobook.com/

and this is handy for checking flights and it gets all the options to/from various cities.

http://www.quoteclub.ie/flights.php

blobbyblob
21/10/2009, 10:14 AM
http://www.skyscanner.net/

This might prove to be a useful site. It will search all the budget airlines and you can select a country to fly from and too rather than a specific airport. Just think outside the box and you may be able to knock a fair few quid off.

21/10/2009, 10:20 AM
I think ryanair took skyscanner to court and they aren't included anymore.

so much for michael oleary and his patriotism, skying up the price of flights, high prices would definitely put people off going, the maybes just wont bother. Cheap and easy would add on at least a couple of thousand support.

SuperDave
21/10/2009, 10:37 AM
we're flying to frankfurt and hiring a car

500kms, we land at 1130 on wed morning.... game will probably be 2100 paris time, so no bother!

flight out (ryanair) was 20 quid and back (aer lingus, different airport) was 65, plus car hire is about 25 quid each among the five of us, so not too pricey.... except for the whole five hour drive thing.

blobbyblob
21/10/2009, 10:57 AM
Not sure of the times but check out Dublin - Madrid Ryanair and then Madrid to Paris CDG. on Tuesday

I think it should come in under the €100

21/10/2009, 11:01 AM
fair play blob helping the others out.

Check out dublin - new york, new york cdg, its probably cheaper at this stage than flying direct.

GreatDaithi, that drive (if the airport is hahn) through the mountains onto luxenbourg, is not a motorway if i remember correctly for about 2 hours! It will take nice speed to do it in 5. NO **** stops etc on the way!

SuperDave
21/10/2009, 12:07 PM
fair play blob helping the others out.

Check out dublin - new york, new york cdg, its probably cheaper at this stage than flying direct.

GreatDaithi, that drive (if the airport is hahn) through the mountains onto luxenbourg, is not a motorway if i remember correctly for about 2 hours! It will take nice speed to do it in 5. NO **** stops etc on the way!

It's motorway now, by the look of google maps.

Junior
21/10/2009, 12:18 PM
Lhads and Lhassies,

With Flybe.com You can get a return Manchester > Paris CDG for about £132 STG either Tues - Thurs (plenty of the cheaper flights out on the Tues) or Weds - Thurs (though the cheap flight on Weds is a very early flight so ud prob need to stay somewhere in Mcr).

Aer Aran, BMIbaby, Ryanair and Aerlingus all fly to Manchester from around the country (Galway, Knock, Dublin, Cork, Shannon off the top of my head) so Im sure you could get a v cheap connecting flight to Mcr.

Just checked Aerlingus DUB > MAN on those dates. FOC - just taxes and charges to pay so around 50euro a head. All in circa E200 pp for the flights.

Ryanair are doing deals with taxes and online checkin FOC - so you could possibly get that down to E30 - though Ive not checked.

Good luck!!

Junior
21/10/2009, 12:29 PM
Also just checked Airfrance.co.uk

Manchester - Paris Wednesday 18 November 2009 AF1669 - 09:50 Arr 12:20
Paris - Manchester Thursday 19 November 2009 AF2268 - 13:15 Arr 13:45

£168 STG

Flight Times are pretty good. Could get a cheap early flight in to MAN from Ireland, Only need one nights accomadation in Paris. Get a reasonable lie in, in Paris and a late flight home from Manchester should see you right!

Could probably get all flights for circa 200-220 Euros + 1 Nights accomadation of E50.

Not bad going..............

markmc
21/10/2009, 1:05 PM
I think ryanair took skyscanner to court and they aren't included anymore.

so much for michael oleary and his patriotism, skying up the price of flights, high prices would definitely put people off going, the maybes just wont bother. Cheap and easy would add on at least a couple of thousand support.

No, it was some other crowd who were reselling the flights and adding on a fee. O'Leary said he has no issue with price comparison websites that just display the prices.

Paulie
21/10/2009, 1:37 PM
Before the draw was done, a mate of mine who lives in France sent me the information below, in case we drew them.

Dublin-Karlsruhe (Baden Baden) on Tuesday November 17th currently costs
38.37 Euros all taxes included. And there is a direct 3 hour TGV train
from Karlsruhe-Paris.

Thankfully I was able to get a direct flight but for those that have yet to book, this may be an option. The return flight is now €105 with decent flying times. You'll need to check up where the train goes from as it may go from Karlsruhe itself and not the airport. If this is the case check how far the airport is from the city as knowing Ryanair, it could be miles away. If this is ok though, and the times match up, it could be a very good option.